They can cast Prestigidation in 10 minutes, creating a tiny clockwork device. How do you play them, can these devices move or are they just lying around?
Under the Rules As Written, no, they can't move around on their own.
But when I'm DMing I tend to be pretty permissive in interpreting things like this, so if a player wanted to make some kind of clockwork whatsit that moved around like a windup toy, I might allow it on a case-by-case basis.
As written, the objects have to be activated with a bonus action and a touch, so it's basically "you can carry around this device to cast a specific prestidigitation effect as a bonus action", and while you can describe the way the item behaves as you like (so an item that generates marks might move around on its own, inscribing marks), it's not going to do anything after the end of the activator's turn. That said, the DM can certainly allow effects beyond that, being able to create a wind-up device that walks across the floor is unlikely to cause major balance issues.
If the player really wants it, I'd allow for some simple movement, like in the case of a clockwork toy, similar to how it was written in 2014:
Clockwork Toy. This toy is a clockwork animal, monster, or person, such as a frog, mouse, bird, dragon, or soldier. When placed on the ground, the toy moves 5 feet across the ground on each of your turns in a random direction. It makes noises as appropriate to the creature it represents.
We decided to leave them immobile in the specific campaign. But I keep the suggestions in mind. Have them move in a limited way could make some real fun, a toy-doggy walking randomly into the gala of the upper crust and fart on touch to create a diversion for the rogue ...
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
They can cast Prestigidation in 10 minutes, creating a tiny clockwork device. How do you play them, can these devices move or are they just lying around?
Under the Rules As Written, no, they can't move around on their own.
But when I'm DMing I tend to be pretty permissive in interpreting things like this, so if a player wanted to make some kind of clockwork whatsit that moved around like a windup toy, I might allow it on a case-by-case basis.
pronouns: he/she/they
As written, the objects have to be activated with a bonus action and a touch, so it's basically "you can carry around this device to cast a specific prestidigitation effect as a bonus action", and while you can describe the way the item behaves as you like (so an item that generates marks might move around on its own, inscribing marks), it's not going to do anything after the end of the activator's turn. That said, the DM can certainly allow effects beyond that, being able to create a wind-up device that walks across the floor is unlikely to cause major balance issues.
If the player really wants it, I'd allow for some simple movement, like in the case of a clockwork toy, similar to how it was written in 2014:
Thanks all :-)
We decided to leave them immobile in the specific campaign. But I keep the suggestions in mind. Have them move in a limited way could make some real fun, a toy-doggy walking randomly into the gala of the upper crust and fart on touch to create a diversion for the rogue ...