Hey gang, I'm trying to wrap my head around these 3 rules as they pertain to a player who has a weapon in their main hand and another weapon in their off hand (so to speak).
Two-Weapon Fighting (the standard that every character gets):
When you take the Attack action on your turn and attack with a Light weapon, you can make one extra attack as a Bonus Action later on the same turn. That extra attack must be made with a different Light weapon, and you don't add your ability modifier to the extra attack's damage unless that modifier is negative. For example, you can attack with a Shortsword in one hand and a Dagger in the other using the Attack action and a Bonus Action, but you don't add your Strength or Dexterity modifier to the damage roll of the Bonus Action unless that modifier is negative.
When you make an extra attack as a result of using a weapon that has the Light property, you can add your ability modifier to the damage of that attack if you aren’t already adding it to the damage.
Dual Wielding (feat):
Enhanced Dual Wielding. When you take the Attack action on your turn and attack with a weapon that has the Light property, you can make one extra attack as a Bonus Action later on the same turn with a different weapon, which must be a Melee weapon that lacks the Two-Handed property. You don’t add your ability modifier to the extra attack’s damage unless that modifier is negative.
The TWF fighting style clearly adds the benefit of your modifiers, which Dual Wielding and the default TWF. All good there.
But default TWF and Dual Wield (the substantive portion of it) seem to duplicate each other, practically speaking - other than, perhaps, that if you take Dual Wield you can wield one weapon that doesn't have the Light property, and use your Bonus Action to attack with it. Is that the key distinction?
But default TWF and Dual Wield (the substantive portion of it) seem to duplicate each other, practically speaking - other than, perhaps, that if you take Dual Wield you can wield one weapon that doesn't have the Light property, and use your Bonus Action to attack with it. Is that the key distinction?
When you make the extra attack of the Light property, you can make it as part of the Attack action instead of as a Bonus Action. You can make this extra attack only once per turn.
For example, a character dual-wielding Nick and Light weapons (e.g., Scimitars) with the Dual Wielder feat and Weapon Mastery class feature can perform 3 attacks at level 4:
One from the Attack Action.
One from Nick’s Mastery Properties (within the Attack Action).
One from the Enhanced Dual Wielding (Bonus Action via the Dual Wielder feat).
At level 5+(e.g., Fighter), with the Extra Attack class feature, this increases to 4 attacks:
Three from the Attack Action (including Nick).
One from the Bonus Action (Enhanced Dual Wielding).
Notably, the Bonus Action attack can use a non-Light weapon (e.g., Rapier or even Lance if Mounted Combat) if it lacks the Two-Handed property. This is achieved via Equipping and Unequipping Weapons rules:
After the final Attack Action strike, sheathe the Light weapon (See Attack [Action]).
Draw the non-Light weapon for the Bonus Action attack (one free interaction per turn).
When you take the Attack action on your turn and attack with a Light weapon, you can make one extra attack as a Bonus Action later on the same turn. That extra attack must be made with a different Light weapon, and you don’t add your ability modifier to the extra attack’s damage unless that modifier is negative. For example, you can attack with a Shortsword in one hand and a Dagger in the other using the Attack action and a Bonus Action, but you don’t add your Strength or Dexterity modifier to the damage roll of the Bonus Action unless that modifier is negative.
Additionally, the Two-Weapon Fighting rule from the 2014 PHB has been removed in 2024, replaced by the Light property mechanics. This likely caused your confusion. For further debates on this change, refer to:
Treantmonk Update on today's video: Monty from the Dungeon Dudes contacted me to let me know he had asked Jeremy Crawford about Dual Wielder at Gencon, and here's how it works: It provides a single bonus action attack, so if you are using a weapon with the Nick Mastery that's one more attack. Two Weapon Fighting does add your ability score modifier to the damage of the extra attack.
And from the also top comment, since it reads so easily.
tomislavtomic5085 I'm pretty sure we're overcomplicating things regarding dual wielding. My interpretation: Everyone may take an offhand attack as a bonus action without adding the ability modifier. Nick allows it without using up the bonus action. The dual wielder feat allows 2 offhand attacks (one from Nick and one from the bonus action). The two weapon fighting style allows us to add the ability score modifier to any offhand attack we may have. That's logical and balanced progression IMO and probably what the designers intended.
TLDR: Yeah the feat let's your 'offhand' be any non-two-hander instead of needing to be light.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
I'm probably laughing.
It is apparently so hard to program Aberrant Mind and Clockwork Soul spell-swapping into dndbeyond they had to remake the game without it rather than implement it.
[...] At level 5+(e.g., Fighter), with the Extra Attack class feature, this increases to 4 attacks:
Three from the Attack Action (including Nick).
One from the Bonus Action (Enhanced Dual Wielding).
Notably, the Bonus Action attack can use a non-Light weapon (e.g., Rapier or even Lance if Mounted Combat) if it lacks the Two-Handed property. This is achieved via Equipping and Unequipping Weapons rules:
After the final Attack Action strike, sheathe the Light weapon (See Attack [Action]).
Draw the non-Light weapon for the Bonus Action attack (one free interaction per turn). [...]
I'd like to add a couple of comments:
- If you have more than one attack, you can also take advantage of that to equip or unequip once per attack as part of the Attack action:
Equipping and Unequipping Weapons. You can either equip or unequip one weapon when you make an attack as part of this action. You do so either before or after the attack. If you equip a weapon before an attack, you don’t need to use it for that attack. Equipping a weapon includes drawing it from a sheath or picking it up. Unequipping a weapon includes sheathing, stowing, or dropping it.
- Not everybody agrees that kind of weapon juggling follows the spirit of Light + DWF when combined with Nick, so I'd recommend asking your DM before assuming it's allowed at your table.
In addition, the dual wielder opens up using a one handed weapon alongside a light weapon - so battleaxe and handaxe or longsword and shortsword. As long as one attack is made with the light weapon, the rest can be made with the bigger weapon if you have extra attack. Allows you to mix and match vex/sap/topple/push
The nick mastery allows for the additional extra attack but the downside is that both weapons need to be light to make this work and you lose the variety of some of the other masteries.
In addition, the dual wielder opens up using a one handed weapon alongside a light weapon - so battleaxe and handaxe or longsword and shortsword. As long as one attack is made with the light weapon, the rest can be made with the bigger weapon if you have extra attack. Allows you to mix and match vex/sap/topple/push
The nick mastery allows for the additional extra attack but the downside is that both weapons need to be light to make this work and you lose the variety of some of the other masteries.
You don't have to make all attacks with Light weapons to get to mix and match your non-light weapons. With Dual Wielder, you can equip/unequip 2 weapons at a time, so as a level 5 fighter with Dual Wielder and a love for swords, you could have an attack sequence that looks like this:
(Draw Shortsword/Scimitar) First Attack with Shortsword -> Nick Attack with Scimitar (Stow Shortsword/Scimitar) -> (Draw Longsword/Greatsword) Bonus Action Attack with Longsword 1-Handed -> (Stow Longsword) Extra Attack with Greatsword
This can actually work because you can hold a 2-handed weapon in one hand while attacking with a different weapon - you just have to stow the other weapon so you can use both hands for the two-handed weapon attack. As an alternative, you could just use a Versatile weapon in two hands for the last two attacks.
For a different set of weapon masteries, you could use the combination Club -> Light Hammer -> Warhammer -> Maul for the combination of Slow/Nick/Push/Topple.
In addition, the dual wielder opens up using a one handed weapon alongside a light weapon - so battleaxe and handaxe or longsword and shortsword. As long as one attack is made with the light weapon, the rest can be made with the bigger weapon if you have extra attack. Allows you to mix and match vex/sap/topple/push
The nick mastery allows for the additional extra attack but the downside is that both weapons need to be light to make this work and you lose the variety of some of the other masteries.
You don't have to make all attacks with Light weapons to get to mix and match your non-light weapons. With Dual Wielder, you can equip/unequip 2 weapons at a time, so as a level 5 fighter with Dual Wielder and a love for swords, you could have an attack sequence that looks like this:
(Draw Shortsword/Scimitar) First Attack with Shortsword -> Nick Attack with Scimitar (Stow Shortsword/Scimitar) -> (Draw Longsword/Greatsword) Bonus Action Attack with Longsword 1-Handed -> (Stow Longsword) Extra Attack with Greatsword [...]
The "(Draw Longsword/Greatsword)" is possible to the Time-Limited Object Interactions rule, right? Since Equipping and Unequipping weapons is not allowed with a Bonus Action.
If so, it's a good combo, but maybe you won't be in the ideal setup for the next round.
You wouldn't be able to draw the Longsword and Greatsword at the same time because dual wielder only lets you draw or stow two weapons without the two-handed property. [...]
In addition, the dual wielder opens up using a one handed weapon alongside a light weapon - so battleaxe and handaxe or longsword and shortsword. As long as one attack is made with the light weapon, the rest can be made with the bigger weapon if you have extra attack. Allows you to mix and match vex/sap/topple/push
The nick mastery allows for the additional extra attack but the downside is that both weapons need to be light to make this work and you lose the variety of some of the other masteries.
You don't have to make all attacks with Light weapons to get to mix and match your non-light weapons. With Dual Wielder, you can equip/unequip 2 weapons at a time, so as a level 5 fighter with Dual Wielder and a love for swords, you could have an attack sequence that looks like this:
(Draw Shortsword/Scimitar) First Attack with Shortsword -> Nick Attack with Scimitar (Stow Shortsword/Scimitar) -> (Draw Longsword/Greatsword) Bonus Action Attack with Longsword 1-Handed -> (Stow Longsword) Extra Attack with Greatsword [...]
The "(Draw Longsword/Greatsword)" is possible to the Time-Limited Object Interactions rule, right? Since Equipping and Unequipping weapons is not allowed with a Bonus Action.
If so, it's a good combo, but maybe you won't be in the ideal setup for the next round.
You wouldn't be able to draw the Longsword and Greatsword at the same time because dual wielder only lets you draw or stow two weapons without the two-handed property. The sequence works if you just use a Longsword or another versatile weapon and since the last attack is part of the attack action you can set up properly for the next turn. Even if you don't interrupt the attack action with the bonus action this sequence should work.
(Draw Shortsword/Scimitar) First Attack with Shortsword -> Nick Attack with Scimitar (Stow Shortsword/Scimitar) -> (Draw Longsword) Second Attack with Longsword two-handed [one-handed would be better if you have dueling] -> Bonus Action attack with Longsword one-handed (stow longsword/draw shortsword as object interaction).
The "(Draw Longsword/Greatsword)" is possible to the Time-Limited Object Interactions rule, right? Since Equipping and Unequipping weapons is not allowed with a Bonus Action.
If so, it's a good combo, but maybe you won't be in the ideal setup for the next round.
You wouldn't be able to draw the Longsword and Greatsword at the same time because dual wielder only lets you draw or stow two weapons without the two-handed property. The sequence works if you just use a Longsword or another versatile weapon and since the last attack is part of the attack action you can set up properly for the next turn. Even if you don't interrupt the attack action with the bonus action this sequence should work.
Oops, I forgot that detail about Quick Draw. I've edited my reply.
(Draw Shortsword/Scimitar) First Attack with Shortsword -> Nick Attack with Scimitar (Stow Shortsword/Scimitar) -> (Draw Longsword) Second Attack with Longsword two-handed [one-handed would be better if you have dueling] -> Bonus Action attack with Longsword one-handed (stow longsword/draw shortsword as object interaction).
I'm not sure about the last interaction. I read Quick Draw as letting you draw two weapons or stow two weapons, not one of each.
and from the also top comment, since it reads so easily.
tomislavtomic5085 I'm pretty sure we're overcomplicating things regarding dual wielding. My interpretation: Everyone may take an offhand attack as a bonus action without adding the ability modifier. Nick allows it without using up the bonus action. The dual wielder feat allows 2 offhand attacks (one from Nick and one from the bonus action). The two weapon fighting style allows us to add the ability score modifier to any offhand attack we may have. That's logical and balanced progression IMO and probably what the designers intended.
If it helps, I broke down the progression of attacks on a potential dual-wielding barbarian build that MC's into fighter for TWF, wielding two scimitars:
Level 1-2: Barb. Two scimitar attacks per rd (Light/Nick) with Rage bonus, but only one with STR bonus Level 3: Path of the Wild Heart, reskinning the animal totems as desert ones Level 4: Dual Wielder feat. Three scimitar attacks using BA (so 2nd rd on after Rage is up), one w/STR, three w/Rage Level 5: Extra Attack. Four scimitar attacks using BA, two w/STR, four w/Rage
Level 6-7: multiclass into Fighter. TWF makes it four scimitar attacks using BA w/STR and Rage Level 8: probably Battle Master (Push/Trip/Riposte) Level 9: Feat/ASI
Level 10: back to Barb the rest of the way
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
Active characters:
Carric Aquissar, elven wannabe artist in his deconstructionist period (Archfey warlock) Lan Kidogo, mapach archaeologist and treasure hunter (Knowledge cleric) Mardan Ferres, elven private investigator obsessed with that one unsolved murder (Assassin rogue) Xhekhetiel, halfling survivor of a Betrayer Gods cult (Runechild sorcerer/fighter)
You can't draw/stow as part of the Bonus Action, only as part of an Attack taken during the Attack Action.
You can't take a Bonus Action in the middle of an Attack Action ("One Thing At A Time").
Object interaction involves minor interactions with your environment, not replicating other game mechanic activity. You cannot draw/stow a weapon as 'object interaction' any more than you can disarm a trap as 'object interaction' or wave a wand to cast a spell as 'object interaction'.
You can do something like suggested, but it requires a convoluted two phase rotation:
Draw Shortsword/Scimitar, attack with them.
Light/Nick Attack with the weapon not used in Step #1, stow both weapons.
Draw Longsword, use Extra Attack with Longsword.
Use Bonus Action Attack with Longsword.
At this point, you have a Longsword in hand. On your next round, you can't simultaneously draw your Light weapons and stow your Longsword, so:
Attack with Longsword, stow Longsword.
Draw Shortsword/Scimitar, attack with them.
Light/Nick Attack with the weapon not used in Step #2.
Bonus Action Attack with the weapon not used in Step #2.
This resets you to the first rotation, although you already have your Light weapons in hand and don't need to draw them.
That being said, we can do better. Let's grab Dual Wielder and Shield Master as feats with Two Weapon Fighting and Dueling as Fighting Styles. We'll equip a Scimitar and Shield:
Attack with Scimitar (+2 damage from Dueling), stow Scimitar.
Shield Bash.
Draw a different Scimitar, Light/Nick attack with that different Scimitar (+2 damage from Dueling).
Extra Attack with that different Scimitar (+2 damage from Dueling).
Bonus Action attack with that different Scimitar (+2 damage from Dueling).
Much simpler rotation while also giving us a free Shield Bash and +2 AC. I submit that a build which involves "two weapon fighting" as a S&B fighter who only has two hands is a counter-intuitive use of the rules.
You can't draw/stow as part of the Bonus Action, only as part of an Attack taken during the Attack Action.
You can't take a Bonus Action in the middle of an Attack Action ("One Thing At A Time").
Object interaction involves minor interactions with your environment, not replicating other game mechanic activity. You cannot draw/stow a weapon as 'object interaction' any more than you can disarm a trap as 'object interaction' or wave a wand to cast a spell as 'object interaction'. [...]
The second point was debated in other threads (*), but if it were true, you wouldn't be able to use Shield when an OA is triggered between your attacks, cast Smite spells on the first attack, or apply Great Weapon Master and Polearm Master feats in the middle of them.
Also for me, the third point is different. I think it's possible to equip/unequip weapons with your free interaction. But again, there's no consensus (one of the latest threads on this topic: Draw and Stow Weapon 2024 Clarification)
Reactions are outside the scope of the "One Thing At A Time" rule by their very nature.
In terms of Smite/Great Weapon Master/Polearm Master, my reading is that the "immediately" refers to the fact that you need to take the Bonus Action after the Attack Action, not that you need to cast that spell in the middle of another Action. It seems to me that if that were the intent, they would have been Reactions rather than Bonus Actions.
If we can just do our Bonus Action whenever:
Attack an enemy with our Staff.
Wild Shape into Black Bear using our Bonus Action midway through our Attack action (even with only a single attack, we still have the option to move).
Multi-attack with our claws
End the Attack Action.
Multi-attack isn't Extra Attack, so that Staff attack doesn't subtract from the attacks you get. As far as I can tell, the only reason you can't attack with a weapon and Multi-attack in the same Attack action is that you don't normally have both capabilities during the same Attack action.
For many of these rules interpretations, "simple is better" should be the solution. If one interpretation leads to potentially complex, non-intuitive interactions while another interpretation leads to simple, intuitive ones, you go with the simple, intuitive ones.
Not that this would solve the "dual wield" Scimitar & Shield example above.
Object interaction involves minor interactions with your environment, not replicating other game mechanic activity. You cannot draw/stow a weapon as 'object interaction' any more than you can disarm a trap as 'object interaction' or wave a wand to cast a spell as 'object interaction'.
The rules for Interacting with Objects clarify what is an object, listing sword among other things.
If the trap involve a lever or door, you could move it being example of object slisted, potentially triggering it. Disarming is another thing though, it may require a specific action to do so.
Interacting with Objects
Interacting with objects is often simple to resolve. The player tells the DM that their character is doing something, such as moving a lever or opening a door, and the DM describes what happens. Sometimes, however, rules govern what you can do with an object, as detailed in the following sections.
What Is an Object?
For the purpose of the rules, an object is a discrete, inanimate item like a window, door, sword, book, table, chair, or stone. It isn’t a building or a vehicle, which are composed of many objects.
Time-Limited Object Interactions
When time is short, such as in combat, interactions with objects are limited: one free interaction per turn. That interaction must occur during a creature’s movement or action. Any additional interactions require the Utilize action, as explained in “Combat” later in this chapter.
Reactions are outside the scope of the "One Thing At A Time" rule by their very nature.
That's the thing. It seems odd to me that you're applying the rule for some types of actions (Bonus Action), but not to others (Reactions).
I read One Thing at a Time as it applies to the main Actions (previous paragraph in the rules), while still allowing Bonus Actions and Reactions to be used in the middle of other actions "unless the Bonus Action’s timing is specified" or "unless the Reaction’s description says otherwise".
Basically, this seems fine to me if you have Extra Attacks: Attack #1, Bonus Action (e.g. Flurry of Blows), Attack #2.
In terms of Smite/Great Weapon Master/Polearm Master, my reading is that the "immediately" refers to the fact that you need to take the Bonus Action after the Attack Action, not that you need to cast that spell in the middle of another Action. It seems to me that if that were the intent, they would have been Reactions rather than Bonus Actions.
But the rule says you can choose, and "immediately" can also be read as "the next thing you do":
You choose when to take a Bonus Action during your turn unless the Bonus Action’s timing is specified. Anything that deprives you of your ability to take actions also prevents you from taking a Bonus Action.
(a similar case was also debated in Nick debate SOLVED [EDIT#2: with Polearm Master])
If we can just do our Bonus Action whenever:
Attack an enemy with our Staff.
Wild Shape into Black Bear using our Bonus Action midway through our Attack action (even with only a single attack, we still have the option to move).
Multi-attack with our claws
End the Attack Action.
Multi-attack isn't Extra Attack, so that Staff attack doesn't subtract from the attacks you get. As far as I can tell, the only reason you can't attack with a weapon and Multi-attack in the same Attack action is that you don't normally have both capabilities during the same Attack action.
Not sure I understand this part. The next rule is from the new MM: for using the creature's Multiattack you need to take the Attack action.
Multiattack Some creatures can make more than one attack when they take the Attack action. Such creatures have the Multiattack entry in the “Actions” section of their stat block. This entry details the attacks a creature can make, as well as any additional abilities it can use, as part of the Attackaction.
VerilyRaze just to add, I'm not saying my understanding is the right one. It's just how I interpret the rules and the possible outcomes depending on which way you take. I think this topic should be clarified through errata or an updated SAC.
I'm not sure about the last interaction. I read Quick Draw as letting you draw two weapons or stow two weapons, not one of each.
But that's not what it says. By rephrasing it like this you change the meaning.
Quick draw says "You can draw or stow two weapons that lack the Two-Handed property when you would normally be able to draw or stow only one." If it was supposed to be as you read it then they would have used the verbage you did. This only says that you can use the draw/stow object interaction with 2 weapons instead of 1.
Hey gang, I'm trying to wrap my head around these 3 rules as they pertain to a player who has a weapon in their main hand and another weapon in their off hand (so to speak).
Two-Weapon Fighting (the standard that every character gets):
When you take the Attack action on your turn and attack with a Light weapon, you can make one extra attack as a Bonus Action later on the same turn. That extra attack must be made with a different Light weapon, and you don't add your ability modifier to the extra attack's damage unless that modifier is negative. For example, you can attack with a Shortsword in one hand and a Dagger in the other using the Attack action and a Bonus Action, but you don't add your Strength or Dexterity modifier to the damage roll of the Bonus Action unless that modifier is negative.
Two-Weapon Fighting Style (fighters, rangers, etc):
When you make an extra attack as a result of using a weapon that has the Light property, you can add your ability modifier to the damage of that attack if you aren’t already adding it to the damage.
Dual Wielding (feat):
Enhanced Dual Wielding. When you take the Attack action on your turn and attack with a weapon that has the Light property, you can make one extra attack as a Bonus Action later on the same turn with a different weapon, which must be a Melee weapon that lacks the Two-Handed property. You don’t add your ability modifier to the extra attack’s damage unless that modifier is negative.
The TWF fighting style clearly adds the benefit of your modifiers, which Dual Wielding and the default TWF. All good there.
But default TWF and Dual Wield (the substantive portion of it) seem to duplicate each other, practically speaking - other than, perhaps, that if you take Dual Wield you can wield one weapon that doesn't have the Light property, and use your Bonus Action to attack with it. Is that the key distinction?
Yes.
This distinction is tied to the Weapon Properties and Mastery Properties introduced in the PHB 2024.
For example, a character dual-wielding Nick and Light weapons (e.g., Scimitars) with the Dual Wielder feat and Weapon Mastery class feature can perform 3 attacks at level 4:
One from the Attack Action.
One from Nick’s Mastery Properties (within the Attack Action).
One from the Enhanced Dual Wielding (Bonus Action via the Dual Wielder feat).
At level 5+(e.g., Fighter), with the Extra Attack class feature, this increases to 4 attacks:
Three from the Attack Action (including Nick).
One from the Bonus Action (Enhanced Dual Wielding).
Notably, the Bonus Action attack can use a non-Light weapon (e.g., Rapier or even Lance if Mounted Combat) if it lacks the Two-Handed property. This is achieved via Equipping and Unequipping Weapons rules:
After the final Attack Action strike, sheathe the Light weapon (See Attack [Action]).
Draw the non-Light weapon for the Bonus Action attack (one free interaction per turn).
Additionally, the Two-Weapon Fighting rule from the 2014 PHB has been removed in 2024, replaced by the Light property mechanics. This likely caused your confusion. For further debates on this change, refer to:
TLDR: Yeah the feat let's your 'offhand' be any non-two-hander instead of needing to be light.
I'm probably laughing.
It is apparently so hard to program Aberrant Mind and Clockwork Soul spell-swapping into dndbeyond they had to remake the game without it rather than implement it.
I'd like to add a couple of comments:
- If you have more than one attack, you can also take advantage of that to equip or unequip once per attack as part of the Attack action:
- Not everybody agrees that kind of weapon juggling follows the spirit of Light + DWF when combined with Nick, so I'd recommend asking your DM before assuming it's allowed at your table.
In addition, the dual wielder opens up using a one handed weapon alongside a light weapon - so battleaxe and handaxe or longsword and shortsword. As long as one attack is made with the light weapon, the rest can be made with the bigger weapon if you have extra attack. Allows you to mix and match vex/sap/topple/push
The nick mastery allows for the additional extra attack but the downside is that both weapons need to be light to make this work and you lose the variety of some of the other masteries.
You don't have to make all attacks with Light weapons to get to mix and match your non-light weapons. With Dual Wielder, you can equip/unequip 2 weapons at a time, so as a level 5 fighter with Dual Wielder and a love for swords, you could have an attack sequence that looks like this:
(Draw Shortsword/Scimitar) First Attack with Shortsword -> Nick Attack with Scimitar (Stow Shortsword/Scimitar) -> (Draw Longsword/Greatsword) Bonus Action Attack with Longsword 1-Handed -> (Stow Longsword) Extra Attack with Greatsword
This can actually work because you can hold a 2-handed weapon in one hand while attacking with a different weapon - you just have to stow the other weapon so you can use both hands for the two-handed weapon attack. As an alternative, you could just use a Versatile weapon in two hands for the last two attacks.
For a different set of weapon masteries, you could use the combination Club -> Light Hammer -> Warhammer -> Maul for the combination of Slow/Nick/Push/Topple.
The "(Draw Longsword/Greatsword)" is possible to the Time-Limited Object Interactions rule, right? Since Equipping and Unequipping weapons is not allowed with a Bonus Action.
If so, it's a good combo, but maybe you won't be in the ideal setup for the next round.
EDIT: thanks MeatLuggin for the correction:
You wouldn't be able to draw the Longsword and Greatsword at the same time because dual wielder only lets you draw or stow two weapons without the two-handed property. The sequence works if you just use a Longsword or another versatile weapon and since the last attack is part of the attack action you can set up properly for the next turn. Even if you don't interrupt the attack action with the bonus action this sequence should work.
(Draw Shortsword/Scimitar) First Attack with Shortsword -> Nick Attack with Scimitar (Stow Shortsword/Scimitar) -> (Draw Longsword) Second Attack with Longsword two-handed [one-handed would be better if you have dueling] -> Bonus Action attack with Longsword one-handed (stow longsword/draw shortsword as object interaction).
Oops, I forgot that detail about Quick Draw. I've edited my reply.
I'm not sure about the last interaction. I read Quick Draw as letting you draw two weapons or stow two weapons, not one of each.
This is very clarifying, thanks gang!
Honestly, this right here.
If it helps, I broke down the progression of attacks on a potential dual-wielding barbarian build that MC's into fighter for TWF, wielding two scimitars:
Active characters:
Carric Aquissar, elven wannabe artist in his deconstructionist period (Archfey warlock)
Lan Kidogo, mapach archaeologist and treasure hunter (Knowledge cleric)
Mardan Ferres, elven private investigator obsessed with that one unsolved murder (Assassin rogue)
Xhekhetiel, halfling survivor of a Betrayer Gods cult (Runechild sorcerer/fighter)
You can do something like suggested, but it requires a convoluted two phase rotation:
At this point, you have a Longsword in hand. On your next round, you can't simultaneously draw your Light weapons and stow your Longsword, so:
This resets you to the first rotation, although you already have your Light weapons in hand and don't need to draw them.
That being said, we can do better. Let's grab Dual Wielder and Shield Master as feats with Two Weapon Fighting and Dueling as Fighting Styles. We'll equip a Scimitar and Shield:
Much simpler rotation while also giving us a free Shield Bash and +2 AC. I submit that a build which involves "two weapon fighting" as a S&B fighter who only has two hands is a counter-intuitive use of the rules.
The second point was debated in other threads (*), but if it were true, you wouldn't be able to use Shield when an OA is triggered between your attacks, cast Smite spells on the first attack, or apply Great Weapon Master and Polearm Master feats in the middle of them.
Also for me, the third point is different. I think it's possible to equip/unequip weapons with your free interaction. But again, there's no consensus (one of the latest threads on this topic: Draw and Stow Weapon 2024 Clarification)
(*) Equip or Unequip a weapon - once per attack or once per Attack [Action]?
Nick debate SOLVED
Reactions are outside the scope of the "One Thing At A Time" rule by their very nature.
In terms of Smite/Great Weapon Master/Polearm Master, my reading is that the "immediately" refers to the fact that you need to take the Bonus Action after the Attack Action, not that you need to cast that spell in the middle of another Action. It seems to me that if that were the intent, they would have been Reactions rather than Bonus Actions.
If we can just do our Bonus Action whenever:
Multi-attack isn't Extra Attack, so that Staff attack doesn't subtract from the attacks you get. As far as I can tell, the only reason you can't attack with a weapon and Multi-attack in the same Attack action is that you don't normally have both capabilities during the same Attack action.
For many of these rules interpretations, "simple is better" should be the solution. If one interpretation leads to potentially complex, non-intuitive interactions while another interpretation leads to simple, intuitive ones, you go with the simple, intuitive ones.
Not that this would solve the "dual wield" Scimitar & Shield example above.
The rules for Interacting with Objects clarify what is an object, listing sword among other things.
If the trap involve a lever or door, you could move it being example of object slisted, potentially triggering it. Disarming is another thing though, it may require a specific action to do so.
That's the thing. It seems odd to me that you're applying the rule for some types of actions (Bonus Action), but not to others (Reactions).
I read One Thing at a Time as it applies to the main Actions (previous paragraph in the rules), while still allowing Bonus Actions and Reactions to be used in the middle of other actions "unless the Bonus Action’s timing is specified" or "unless the Reaction’s description says otherwise".
Basically, this seems fine to me if you have Extra Attacks: Attack #1, Bonus Action (e.g. Flurry of Blows), Attack #2.
But the rule says you can choose, and "immediately" can also be read as "the next thing you do":
(a similar case was also debated in Nick debate SOLVED [EDIT#2: with Polearm Master])
Not sure I understand this part. The next rule is from the new MM: for using the creature's Multiattack you need to take the Attack action.
EDIT: clarify example.
VerilyRaze just to add, I'm not saying my understanding is the right one. It's just how I interpret the rules and the possible outcomes depending on which way you take. I think this topic should be clarified through errata or an updated SAC.
But that's not what it says. By rephrasing it like this you change the meaning.
Quick draw says "You can draw or stow two weapons that lack the Two-Handed property when you would normally be able to draw or stow only one." If it was supposed to be as you read it then they would have used the verbage you did. This only says that you can use the draw/stow object interaction with 2 weapons instead of 1.
I read it the same way TarodNet does. Various game features effectively becomes;