"You know three Ist-level wizard spells of your choice, two of which you must choose from the enchantment and illusion spells on the wizard spell list."
Does this imply that the arcane trickster must select at least one of each from enchantment and illusion or do most people treat that "and" as and/or? I could make a pretty strong case for reading that either way.
(Obviously this is not of game-shattering importance.)
I've always treated it as an inclusive or not exclusive. I see it as saying you must choose two of your spells from only the enchantment and illusion spell lists.
I don't see a "pretty strong case" for it being exclusive in that you must choose one of each, without doing some backflip in English.
I've always treated it as an inclusive or not exclusive. I see it as saying you must choose two of your spells from only the enchantment and illusion spell lists.
I don't see a "pretty strong case" for it being exclusive in that you must choose one of each, without doing some backflip in English.
The only difference between the two interpretations of the sentence is whether the reader construes "from the enchantment and illusions spells" to mean one set of spells or two sets of spells. If one reads the sentence and construes it to mean that "enchantment and illusions spells" is a single pool of spells from which to choose two, we have the interpretation on which we seem to agree. If, however, the reader construes "enchantment and illusion spells" as two pools of spells, "must chose from enchantment and illusion spells" will imply one of each. It's simply another instance in which the RAW are less clear than they could be, leaving interpretation up to the DM and players, which is a situation I prefer, frankly. I am simply curious to know how others interpret the rule since a player recently selected the arcane trickster archetype and engaged me in a discussion about this topic. (My ruling was "either way is fine with me.")
My interpretation is that there is a list, the list contains all Enchantment and Illusion wizard spells. This is the primary spell list for an Arcane Trickster, both at level 1 and at several other levels where their choice is restricted. This is the simpler interpretation, and if they were trying to say this then what they have written is almost the clearest possible way to write it. If they meant to convey your other interpretation then they could have done a much better job by saying something like "one spell from the Enchantment list and one spell from the Illusion list." I think we have to assume they weren't superbly lazy in this case.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
Greetings all.
How do you interpret this:
"You know three Ist-level wizard spells of your choice, two of which you must choose from the enchantment and illusion spells on the wizard spell list."
Does this imply that the arcane trickster must select at least one of each from enchantment and illusion or do most people treat that "and" as and/or? I could make a pretty strong case for reading that either way.
(Obviously this is not of game-shattering importance.)
Just curious.
Thanks.
Recently returned to D&D after 20+ years.
Unapologetic.
I've always treated it as an inclusive or not exclusive.
I see it as saying you must choose two of your spells from only the enchantment and illusion spell lists.
I don't see a "pretty strong case" for it being exclusive in that you must choose one of each, without doing some backflip in English.
The only difference between the two interpretations of the sentence is whether the reader construes "from the enchantment and illusions spells" to mean one set of spells or two sets of spells. If one reads the sentence and construes it to mean that "enchantment and illusions spells" is a single pool of spells from which to choose two, we have the interpretation on which we seem to agree. If, however, the reader construes "enchantment and illusion spells" as two pools of spells, "must chose from enchantment and illusion spells" will imply one of each. It's simply another instance in which the RAW are less clear than they could be, leaving interpretation up to the DM and players, which is a situation I prefer, frankly. I am simply curious to know how others interpret the rule since a player recently selected the arcane trickster archetype and engaged me in a discussion about this topic. (My ruling was "either way is fine with me.")
Recently returned to D&D after 20+ years.
Unapologetic.
My interpretation is that there is a list, the list contains all Enchantment and Illusion wizard spells. This is the primary spell list for an Arcane Trickster, both at level 1 and at several other levels where their choice is restricted. This is the simpler interpretation, and if they were trying to say this then what they have written is almost the clearest possible way to write it. If they meant to convey your other interpretation then they could have done a much better job by saying something like "one spell from the Enchantment list and one spell from the Illusion list." I think we have to assume they weren't superbly lazy in this case.