Maybe I'm misunderstanding the issue here, but you Counterspell the spell cast through Divine Intervention, and only the Magic action used to cast it is wasted. The rest of the features are not affected:
- Level 10: Divine Intervention: You can’t use this feature again until you finish a Long Rest.
- Level 20: Greater Divine Intervention: If you do so, you can’t use Divine Intervention again until you finish 2d4 Long Rests.
Divine Intervention: replicate any cleric spell of 5th level or lower with a casting time of one action or bonus action. If used to replicate a spell with a costly and expended material component, this feature cannot be used again until that cost is repaid by a suitable offering.
I would probably do something similar but more complicated for wish.
1- Any where in the description say that part is out
Yes. The part where it says that you cast the spell as part of the same action that you used to invoke Divine Intervention.
As always with things like this, it's important to ask: if the intent was for the spell to take its normal casting time instead, would they have worded it the way that they did?
That description sau that you CAST as part of the same action, nowere say that CAST of the spell has any change
Wis has another description
"The basic use of this spell is to duplicate any other spell of level 8 or lower. If you use it this way, you don't need to meet any requirements to cast that spell, including costly components. The spell simply takes effect."
If the intention was the same they would use the same description
Casting time isn't a "requirement".
where is say it isn't?
In the PHB there isn't a separate part that say "requeriments" in spell entry, description even in the part about Casting Spells
In "Casting Time" the PHB say:
"Most spells REQUIRE the Magic action to cast, but some spells require a Bonus Action, a Reaction, or 1 minute or more. A spell's Casting Time entry specifies which of those is required."
In "Longer Cast Time" the PHB say:
"Certain spells—including a spell cast as a Ritual—REQUIRE more time to cast: minutes or even hours. While you cast a spell with a casting time of 1 minute or more, you must take the Magic action on each of your turns, and you must maintain Concentration while you do so. If your Concentration is broken, the spell fails, but you don't expend a spell slot. To cast the spell again, you must start over."
If were only requeriments components that Wish spell wouldn't need to be write this way
1- Any where in the description say that part is out
Yes. The part where it says that you cast the spell as part of the same action that you used to invoke Divine Intervention.
As always with things like this, it's important to ask: if the intent was for the spell to take its normal casting time instead, would they have worded it the way that they did?
That description sau that you CAST as part of the same action, nowere say that CAST of the spell has any change
Wis has another description
"The basic use of this spell is to duplicate any other spell of level 8 or lower. If you use it this way, you don't need to meet any requirements to cast that spell, including costly components. The spell simply takes effect."
If the intention was the same they would use the same description
Casting time isn't a "requirement".
where is say it isn't?
Components: A spell’s components are physical requirements the spellcaster must meet to cast the spell.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
Active characters:
Carric Aquissar, elven wannabe artist in his deconstructionist period (Archfey warlock) Lan Kidogo, mapach archaeologist and treasure hunter (Knowledge cleric) Mardan Ferres, elven private investigator obsessed with that one unsolved murder (Assassin rogue) Xhekhetiel, halfling survivor of a Betrayer Gods cult (Runechild sorcerer/fighter)
And for a trickery domain cleric an Invisibility is a cleric spell for them... so in that case that's a cleric spell, and the article does not says I cant pick other domain-spells. https://xender.vip/
And for a trickery domain cleric an Invisibility is a cleric spell for them... so in that case that's a cleric spell, and the article does not says I cant pick other domain-spells.
While it does not explicitly spell it out, I’d say it’s pretty clear the RAI is to draw from the class spell list rather than subclass features, and I expect most DMs would support that interpretation.
And for a trickery domain cleric an Invisibility is a cleric spell for them... so in that case that's a cleric spell, and the article does not says I cant pick other domain-spells.
While it does not explicitly spell it out, I’d say it’s pretty clear the RAI is to draw from the class spell list rather than subclass features, and I expect most DMs would support that interpretation.
I would disagree. Conceptually, the domain spells are specifically granted to the Cleric by their deity because those spells are associated with their particular divine domain - that’s why they count as Cleric spells. Divine Intervention is the same deity stepping on their behalf in a tough spot; why wouldn’t they make those same spells available?
While it does not explicitly spell it out, I’d say it’s pretty clear the RAI is to draw from the class spell list rather than subclass features, and I expect most DMs would support that interpretation.
I'm pretty sure it's RAI that domain spells are treated as cleric spells for you, though as far as I can tell it's actually not spelled out, meaning a light cleric can't use a holy symbol to cast fireball because it's not actually a cleric spell.
If another Cleric feature gives you spells that you always have prepared, those spells don’t count against the number of spells you can prepare with this feature, but those spells otherwise count as Cleric spells for you.
Therefore you can use domain spells with divine intervention.
If another Cleric feature gives you spells that you always have prepared, those spells don’t count against the number of spells you can prepare with this feature, but those spells otherwise count as Cleric spells for you.
Therefore you can use domain spells with divine intervention.
Yeah, RAW, you don't have access to any domain spells with Divine Intervention. Except your own, because it calls on a Cleric spell and those are Cleric spells for you.
However, as a DM, I'd probably allow the player to pull from the domain spells of any domain covered by the god they follow, if they do. I feel like it would fit. Just note that would be my house rule at that point, not a statement on RAW.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
Maybe I'm misunderstanding the issue here, but you Counterspell the spell cast through Divine Intervention, and only the Magic action used to cast it is wasted. The rest of the features are not affected:
- Level 10: Divine Intervention: You can’t use this feature again until you finish a Long Rest.
- Level 20: Greater Divine Intervention: If you do so, you can’t use Divine Intervention again until you finish 2d4 Long Rests.
My instinct for house rules would be
I would probably do something similar but more complicated for wish.
where is say it isn't?
In the PHB there isn't a separate part that say "requeriments" in spell entry, description even in the part about Casting Spells
In "Casting Time" the PHB say:
"Most spells REQUIRE the Magic action to cast, but some spells require a Bonus Action, a Reaction, or 1 minute or more. A spell's Casting Time entry specifies which of those is required."
In "Longer Cast Time" the PHB say:
"Certain spells—including a spell cast as a Ritual—REQUIRE more time to cast: minutes or even hours. While you cast a spell with a casting time of 1 minute or more, you must take the Magic action on each of your turns, and you must maintain Concentration while you do so. If your Concentration is broken, the spell fails, but you don't expend a spell slot. To cast the spell again, you must start over."
If were only requeriments components that Wish spell wouldn't need to be write this way
Components: A spell’s components are physical requirements the spellcaster must meet to cast the spell.
Active characters:
Carric Aquissar, elven wannabe artist in his deconstructionist period (Archfey warlock)
Lan Kidogo, mapach archaeologist and treasure hunter (Knowledge cleric)
Mardan Ferres, elven private investigator obsessed with that one unsolved murder (Assassin rogue)
Xhekhetiel, halfling survivor of a Betrayer Gods cult (Runechild sorcerer/fighter)
And for a trickery domain cleric an Invisibility is a cleric spell for them... so in that case that's a cleric spell, and the article does not says I cant pick other domain-spells. https://xender.vip/
While it does not explicitly spell it out, I’d say it’s pretty clear the RAI is to draw from the class spell list rather than subclass features, and I expect most DMs would support that interpretation.
I would disagree. Conceptually, the domain spells are specifically granted to the Cleric by their deity because those spells are associated with their particular divine domain - that’s why they count as Cleric spells. Divine Intervention is the same deity stepping on their behalf in a tough spot; why wouldn’t they make those same spells available?
pronouns: he/she/they
I'd agree on Domain Spells being valid choices too.
Thanks for all the replies though, glad to see I'm not the only one not 100% sure on this!
I'm pretty sure it's RAI that domain spells are treated as cleric spells for you, though as far as I can tell it's actually not spelled out, meaning a light cleric can't use a holy symbol to cast fireball because it's not actually a cleric spell.
It seems pretty clear to me:
Therefore you can use domain spells with divine intervention.
Your own Domain spells, sure. Not ones from another subclass. I was addressing the "other" part in the previous post.
Ah, I missed that sentence.
Oh, yeah, sorry, I misunderstood that. That's very obviously not allowed under RAW or RAI.
pronouns: he/she/they
Yeah, RAW, you don't have access to any domain spells with Divine Intervention. Except your own, because it calls on a Cleric spell and those are Cleric spells for you.
However, as a DM, I'd probably allow the player to pull from the domain spells of any domain covered by the god they follow, if they do. I feel like it would fit. Just note that would be my house rule at that point, not a statement on RAW.