RAW Twinned spell specifies only that "When you cast a spell that can be cast with a higher-level spell slot to target an additional creature, you can spend 1 Socery Point to increase the spell's effective level by 1." Does that mean if I say upcast Hold Person to 3rd-level, I can use Twinned Spell on it to target a third creature, as if I upcasted it to 4th- level?
RAW Twinned spell specifies only that "When you cast a spell that can be cast with a higher-level spell slot to target an additional creature, you can spend 1 Socery Point to increase the spell's effective level by 1." Does that mean if I say upcast Hold Person to 3rd-level, I can use Twinned Spell on it to target a third creature, as if I upcasted it to 4th- level?
To make it twinnable, the upcast must specify something like "... can target one additional creature ...", so some examples are Bane, Bless, Charm Person, Jump or the one you mentioned, Hold Person.
There are debatable cases like Chain Lightning, Chromatic Orb, Grasping Vine or Scorching Ray, which have been discussed in the past. I don't think they are twinnable for the same reason I mentioned, but for fairness, I'll link some threads:
The confusion seems to stem mostly from the fact that they kept the title of the MM when it's no longer a great description of what it does. They probably should have gone the route of "Twinned Spell is now called Bolstered Spell [or something like it] and has the following effect..."
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
RAW Twinned spell specifies only that "When you cast a spell that can be cast with a higher-level spell slot to target an additional creature, you can spend 1 Socery Point to increase the spell's effective level by 1." Does that mean if I say upcast Hold Person to 3rd-level, I can use Twinned Spell on it to target a third creature, as if I upcasted it to 4th- level?
Yes. Nothing in the rules appears to prevent it.
To make it twinnable, the upcast must specify something like "... can target one additional creature ...", so some examples are Bane, Bless, Charm Person, Jump or the one you mentioned, Hold Person.
There are debatable cases like Chain Lightning, Chromatic Orb, Grasping Vine or Scorching Ray, which have been discussed in the past. I don't think they are twinnable for the same reason I mentioned, but for fairness, I'll link some threads:
The confusion seems to stem mostly from the fact that they kept the title of the MM when it's no longer a great description of what it does. They probably should have gone the route of "Twinned Spell is now called Bolstered Spell [or something like it] and has the following effect..."