"Through intense focus, training, and dedication, you’ve harnessed the techniques of rapid spellcasting. When you use your bonus action to cast a spell of 1st level or higher, you can also use your action to cast another spell of 1st level or higher. However, if you cast two or more spells in a single turn, only one of them can be 3rd level or higher."
So does this change the cast time of all 3rd level or lower spells to a bonus action?
Or does it only allow you to cast 3rd level and lower only if the original cast time is a Bonus Action?
I'm pretty sure both of your interpretations are wrong. This is what the feat does: When you cast a spell as a bonus action, you can cast a 2nd leveled spell, providing an exception to the one spell slot per turn rule. But the feat has the limitation that you can only cast one 3rd+ level spell per turn.
From what I am reading in the Feat's description, you have "harnessed the techniques of rapid spellcasting" meaning that you can now cast a leveled spell as a Bonus Action. This means that you increased the casting time of that spell, on that specific cast to a Bonus Action. Per the Feat description, this is due to your "intense focus, training and dedication", and is not changing the casting time, but once per turn, you can cast a little faster. This leaves your Action open for all kinds of other options.
Although, if you decided to cast a spell as your action on that same turn, you can still do that as normal, and can cast a Cantrip or Leveled Spell.
The only restriction is that if you plan to cast a leveled spell as your Bonus Action & Full Action, then one of them needs to be no higher than a Level 2 Spell.
Side note: The RaW doesn't say this, but I assume the authors of this 3rd party book were talking about single action leveled spells being cast as a bonus action. I can't imagine they meant that a spell like Galder's Tower that has a casting time of 10 Minutes, or Awaken that has a casting time of 8 Hours can be cast as a bonus action.
Hope this helps :)
Cheers!
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
Breathe, dragons; sing of the First World, forged out of chaos and painted with beauty. Sing of Bahamut, the Platinum, molding the shape of the mountains and rivers; Sing too of Chromatic Tiamat, painting all over the infinite canvas. Partnered, they woke in the darkness; partnered, they labored in acts of creation.
From what I am reading in the Feat's description, you have "harnessed the techniques of rapid spellcasting" meaning that you can now cast a leveled spell as a Bonus Action. This means that you increased the casting time of that spell, on that specific cast to a Bonus Action. Per the Feat description, this is due to your "intense focus, training and dedication", and is not changing the casting time, but once per turn, you can cast a little faster. This leaves your Action open for all kinds of other options.
No, the text does NOTsay that. It doesn't change the casting times of any spells or what kind of action economy it uses, it just allows you to ignore the limitations on the number of levelled spells you can cast on a turn (just as @Maruntoryx said above).
It is worth noting that the Tal'dorei Reborn book is written for the 2014 rules-set and the bonus action spell limitation it had. But you should be able to use it with the 2024 limit too.
From what I am reading in the Feat's description, you have "harnessed the techniques of rapid spellcasting" meaning that you can now cast a leveled spell as a Bonus Action. This means that you increased the casting time of that spell, on that specific cast to a Bonus Action. Per the Feat description, this is due to your "intense focus, training and dedication", and is not changing the casting time, but once per turn, you can cast a little faster. This leaves your Action open for all kinds of other options.
No, the text does NOTsay that. It doesn't change the casting times of any spells or what kind of action economy it uses, it just allows you to ignore the limitations on the number of levelled spells you can cast on a turn (just as @Maruntoryx said above).
The Feat description does not state that the spell cast as a 'Bonus Action' has to have a 'casting time' of "Bonus Action". It also specifically does not state that it can't be a spell that requires a 'Full Action' to cast.
Are you saying that the spell cast as a Bonus Action has to have a casting time of a 'Bonus Action' (so no full action spells)?
I ask, as the Feat description specifically states that character has "harnessed the techniques of rapid spellcasting" insinuating that they can now cast faster. I also understand that casting two leveled spells in one turn, even if one is only a casting time of 'Bonus Action' is still 'casting faster', as a normal caster cannot cast two leveled spells in a single turn (other than features like twin-spell, action surge, etc.).
Just curious,
Cheers!
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
Breathe, dragons; sing of the First World, forged out of chaos and painted with beauty. Sing of Bahamut, the Platinum, molding the shape of the mountains and rivers; Sing too of Chromatic Tiamat, painting all over the infinite canvas. Partnered, they woke in the darkness; partnered, they labored in acts of creation.
From what I am reading in the Feat's description, you have "harnessed the techniques of rapid spellcasting" meaning that you can now cast a leveled spell as a Bonus Action. This means that you increased the casting time of that spell, on that specific cast to a Bonus Action. Per the Feat description, this is due to your "intense focus, training and dedication", and is not changing the casting time, but once per turn, you can cast a little faster. This leaves your Action open for all kinds of other options.
No, the text does NOTsay that. It doesn't change the casting times of any spells or what kind of action economy it uses, it just allows you to ignore the limitations on the number of levelled spells you can cast on a turn (just as @Maruntoryx said above).
The Feat description does not state that the spell cast as a 'Bonus Action' has to have a 'casting time' of "Bonus Action". It also specifically does not state that it can't be a spell that requires a 'Full Action' to cast.
Are you saying that the spell cast as a Bonus Action has to have a casting time of a 'Bonus Action' (so no full action spells)?
This is exactly the problem that I am trying to understand, because once again, when making 5e rules, they make it as vague as possible.
From what I am reading in the Feat's description, you have "harnessed the techniques of rapid spellcasting" meaning that you can now cast a leveled spell as a Bonus Action. This means that you increased the casting time of that spell, on that specific cast to a Bonus Action. Per the Feat description, this is due to your "intense focus, training and dedication", and is not changing the casting time, but once per turn, you can cast a little faster. This leaves your Action open for all kinds of other options.
No, the text does NOTsay that. It doesn't change the casting times of any spells or what kind of action economy it uses, it just allows you to ignore the limitations on the number of levelled spells you can cast on a turn (just as @Maruntoryx said above).
This is absolutely correct.
It is worth noting that the Tal'dorei Reborn book is written for the 2014 rules-set and the bonus action spell limitation it had. But you should be able to use it with the 2024 limit too.
Yeah, it'll work fine even with the new "one pell slot" rule.
It should also be very useful for Sorcerers, since it also overrides the limitations on quickened spell. (IMO, and check with your DM, but it's as solid a ruling as you can get when dealing with two features interacting like this.)
This is exactly the problem that I am trying to understand, because once again, when making 5e rules, they make it as vague as possible.
It isn't vague. My advise for this is simple, stop over-interpreting flavour text. Both in-house and other creators commonly start texts with a descriptive part and then follows up with a rules mechanics part.
The part that says "Through intense focus, training, and dedication, you’ve harnessed the techniques of rapid spellcasting." has no rules meaning. It doesn't use any sort of standard rules language or concepts or traits or anything, it is just fluff.
The part that says "When you use your bonus action to cast a spell of 1st level or higher, you can also use your action to cast another spell of 1st level or higher. However, if you cast two or more spells in a single turn, only one of them can be 3rd level or higher." does use rules language and refers to several common rules concepts and words. This is the mechanical rule.
Don't get me wrong, I would love it if they did a better job at being clear at the difference but this is the way they do so I'm not expecting big changes (though the 2024 rules have less of the descriptive part which means less ways to misinterpret).
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
"Through intense focus, training, and dedication, you’ve harnessed the techniques of rapid spellcasting. When you use your bonus action to cast a spell of 1st level or higher, you can also use your action to cast another spell of 1st level or higher. However, if you cast two or more spells in a single turn, only one of them can be 3rd level or higher."
So does this change the cast time of all 3rd level or lower spells to a bonus action?
Or does it only allow you to cast 3rd level and lower only if the original cast time is a Bonus Action?
Thank you
If you want sugar coating, go buy a dessert....
I'm pretty sure both of your interpretations are wrong. This is what the feat does: When you cast a spell as a bonus action, you can cast a 2nd leveled spell, providing an exception to the one spell slot per turn rule. But the feat has the limitation that you can only cast one 3rd+ level spell per turn.
Hope this helps!
Greetings Ronll,
I was not familiar with the Spelldriver Feat as I have not read the Tal'Dorei: Reborn setting book.
From what I am reading in the Feat's description, you have "harnessed the techniques of rapid spellcasting" meaning that you can now cast a leveled spell as a Bonus Action.
This means that you increased the casting time of that spell, on that specific cast to a Bonus Action.
Per the Feat description, this is due to your "intense focus, training and dedication", and is not changing the casting time, but once per turn, you can cast a little faster.
This leaves your Action open for all kinds of other options.
Although, if you decided to cast a spell as your action on that same turn, you can still do that as normal, and can cast a Cantrip or Leveled Spell.
The only restriction is that if you plan to cast a leveled spell as your Bonus Action & Full Action, then one of them needs to be no higher than a Level 2 Spell.
Side note: The RaW doesn't say this, but I assume the authors of this 3rd party book were talking about single action leveled spells being cast as a bonus action.
I can't imagine they meant that a spell like Galder's Tower that has a casting time of 10 Minutes, or Awaken that has a casting time of 8 Hours can be cast as a bonus action.
Hope this helps :)
Cheers!
Breathe, dragons; sing of the First World, forged out of chaos and painted with beauty.
Sing of Bahamut, the Platinum, molding the shape of the mountains and rivers;
Sing too of Chromatic Tiamat, painting all over the infinite canvas.
Partnered, they woke in the darkness; partnered, they labored in acts of creation.
No, the text does NOT say that. It doesn't change the casting times of any spells or what kind of action economy it uses, it just allows you to ignore the limitations on the number of levelled spells you can cast on a turn (just as @Maruntoryx said above).
It is worth noting that the Tal'dorei Reborn book is written for the 2014 rules-set and the bonus action spell limitation it had. But you should be able to use it with the 2024 limit too.
The Feat description does not state that the spell cast as a 'Bonus Action' has to have a 'casting time' of "Bonus Action".
It also specifically does not state that it can't be a spell that requires a 'Full Action' to cast.
Are you saying that the spell cast as a Bonus Action has to have a casting time of a 'Bonus Action' (so no full action spells)?
I ask, as the Feat description specifically states that character has "harnessed the techniques of rapid spellcasting" insinuating that they can now cast faster.
I also understand that casting two leveled spells in one turn, even if one is only a casting time of 'Bonus Action' is still 'casting faster', as a normal caster cannot cast two leveled spells in a single turn (other than features like twin-spell, action surge, etc.).
Just curious,
Cheers!
Breathe, dragons; sing of the First World, forged out of chaos and painted with beauty.
Sing of Bahamut, the Platinum, molding the shape of the mountains and rivers;
Sing too of Chromatic Tiamat, painting all over the infinite canvas.
Partnered, they woke in the darkness; partnered, they labored in acts of creation.
This is exactly the problem that I am trying to understand, because once again, when making 5e rules, they make it as vague as possible.
If you want sugar coating, go buy a dessert....
This is absolutely correct.
Yeah, it'll work fine even with the new "one pell slot" rule.
It should also be very useful for Sorcerers, since it also overrides the limitations on quickened spell. (IMO, and check with your DM, but it's as solid a ruling as you can get when dealing with two features interacting like this.)
It isn't vague. My advise for this is simple, stop over-interpreting flavour text. Both in-house and other creators commonly start texts with a descriptive part and then follows up with a rules mechanics part.
The part that says "Through intense focus, training, and dedication, you’ve harnessed the techniques of rapid spellcasting." has no rules meaning. It doesn't use any sort of standard rules language or concepts or traits or anything, it is just fluff.
The part that says "When you use your bonus action to cast a spell of 1st level or higher, you can also use your action to cast another spell of 1st level or higher. However, if you cast two or more spells in a single turn, only one of them can be 3rd level or higher." does use rules language and refers to several common rules concepts and words. This is the mechanical rule.
Don't get me wrong, I would love it if they did a better job at being clear at the difference but this is the way they do so I'm not expecting big changes (though the 2024 rules have less of the descriptive part which means less ways to misinterpret).