I made a mistake in quoting the correct sentences, so I will rephrase in this EDIT (24 Aug 2025 14:33 CET). I will leave the original post underneath, so the early responses make sense.
---- NEW POST ----
I am not able to find the answer anywhere, so I will ask here. I am confused about the difference between the Strength saving throws and Strength check of Maximilian’s Earthen Grasp.
For starters, I think I get this part: "..5 feet of it. The target must make a Strength saving throw. On a failed save, ..." (1) I assume with the printed PDF character sheet, that the target rolls a d20 and adds the modifier stated under the large STRENGTH banner, thus not any modifier mentioned in the skills.
However, the 1st and 2nd paragraph Strenght saving throw do not mention what the Strength number is checked against. (2) The spell does not mention a "Save number" (like e.g. Frostbite that mentions CON 13), so I can only assume this is against my spell save DC? If the roll (+ modifier(s)) described under (1) is equal to or larger than my spell save DC, the safe succeeded. Right?
Then the spell mentions that a Strength check (so not saving throw) can be used. "To break out, the restrained target can use its action to make a Strength check against your spell save DC." Here it gets really confusing for me, I see forums stating this difference is important and beneficial, but I don't get why. (3a) Let's assume the spell is used on me. The only Strength skill is Athletics, so I would use the modifiers on an Athletics check. If I have proficiency in Athletics, my modifier would likely be higher than on a safe and thus actually a disadvantage to the caster. (b) As far as I know, NPCs, party members, etc. will never have a lower modifier for their skill than for their save, as a save never includes proficiency, while a check can. (4) Do I understand it correctly that if the DM needs to execute this for a Monster that there generally will be no modifiers, unless "Athletics +modifier" is mentioned under Skills?
Thank you in advance!
---- OLD POST ----
I am not able to find the answer anywhere, so I will ask here. I am confused about the difference between the Strength saving throws and Strength check of Maximilian’s Earthen Grasp.
For starters, I think I get this part: "To break out, the restrained target can use its action to make a Strength check against your spell save DC." (1) I assume with the printed PDF character sheet, that the target rolls a d20 and adds the modifier stated under the large STRENGTH banner, thus not any modifier mentioned in the skills. If that roll (+ modifier(s)) is equal to or larger than my DC, the safe succeeded. Right?
However, in the first paragraph, when the spell is initiated, it does not mention what the Strength check is against. "The target must make a Strength saving throw." (2) The spell does not mention a "Save number", so I can only assume this is also against my spell save DC?
Then the spell mentions that a Strength check (so not saving throw) can be used. "...use its action to make a Strength check against your spell save DC." Here it gets really confusing for me, I see forums stating this difference is important and beneficial, but I don't get why. (3a) Let's assume the spell is used on me. The only Strength skill is Athletics, so I would use the modifiers on an Athletics check. If I have proficiency in Athletics, my modifier would likely be higher than on a safe and thus actually a disadvantage to the caster. (b) As far as I know, NPCs, party members, etc. will never have a lower modifier for their skill than for their save. (4) Do I understand it correctly that if the DM needs to execute this for a Monster that there generally will be no modifiers, unless "Athletics +modifier" is mentioned under Skills?
I am not able to find the answer anywhere, so I will ask here. I am confused about the difference between the Strength saving throws and Strength check of Maximilian’s Earthen Grasp.
Strength check refers to a Strength ability check.
For starters, I think I get this part: "To break out, the restrained target can use its action to make a Strength check against your spell save DC." (1) I assume with the printed PDF character sheet, that the target rolls a d20 and adds the modifier stated under the large STRENGTH banner, thus not any modifier mentioned in the skills. If that roll (+ modifier(s)) is equal to or larger than my DC, the safe succeeded. Right?
Yes, that's correct.
However, in the first paragraph, when the spell is initiated, it does not mention what the Strength check is against. "The target must make a Strength saving throw." (2) The spell does not mention a "Save number", so I can only assume this is also against my spell save DC?
Yes, you're right. This is the rule:
Many spells specify that a target makes a saving throw to avoid some or all of a spell’s effects. The spell specifies the ability that the target uses for the save and what happens on a success or failure. Here’s how to calculate the DC for your spells:
Spell save DC = 8 + your spellcasting ability modifier + your Proficiency Bonus
Then the spell mentions that a Strength check (so not saving throw) can be used. "...use its action to make a Strength check against your spell save DC." Here it gets really confusing for me, I see forums stating this difference is important and beneficial, but I don't get why. (3a) Let's assume the spell is used on me. The only Strength skill is Athletics, so I would use the modifiers on an Athletics check.
It's not a Strength (Athletics) check, it's just an ability check using Strength. Same as point (1) you mentioned.
To agree and try to explain more it is just your strength modifier to break free. A save may include your proficiency bonus if the monster/character is trained in it. For example barbarians have Strength & Constitution saves trained. So they get their stat modifier and proficiency bonus. Where as a wizard has intelligence and wisdom trained for their saves so they would only get their strength stat modifier. So for example the barbarian with a 16 strength at level 1 has a +3 from strength and +2 from proficiency for a total of +5. The wizard with a 8 strength has a -1 as its just their stat modifier and no proficiency.
So if cast at the fighter above initially they would have a +5 to try and resist the spell in the first place. If they fail they are restrained and can use an action to break free where they would just roll +3.
So if cast at the fighter above initially they would have a +5 to try and resist the spell in the first place. If they fail they are restrained and can use an action to break free where they would just roll +3.
I am still confused. This is counterintuitive to what I described in my post, which I now see I made a HUGE mistake in.... I will rephrase my question in an edit, such that quotes still make sense.
As far as I know, a check includes the ability modifier + proficiency modifier. --> a check is executed on a skill, initiated by the target in this case. As far as I am aware, proficiencies can only be added to skills (thus sub-abilities so to say), not abilities (then it is called an "ability score improvement", not proficiency). PHB (2014) chapter 1: "proficiency with certain weapons or tools, proficiency in one or more skills, or the ability to use minor spells. " PHB (2014) chapter 7, paragraph Ability Checks only describes the ability modifier, I see no mention of the proficiency modifier: "To make an ability check, roll a d20 and add the relevant ability modifier. As with other d20 rolls, apply bonuses and penalties, and compare the total to the DC." PBH (2014) chapter 7, paragraph Skills:"Sometimes, the DM might ask for an ability check using a specific skill — for example, “Make a Wisdom (Perception) check.” At other times, a player might ask the DM if proficiency in a particular skill applies to a check. In either case, proficiency in a skill means an individual can add his or her proficiency bonus to ability checks that involve that skill. Without proficiency in the skill, the individual makes a normal ability check."
While, in my understanding, a save only consists of the ability modifier --> the larger STRENGTH banner modifier on the PDF, it is something that is initiated by the caster on the target. In that case, the fighter in the quote would resist the spell with a +3 (Strength saving throw) and try to get out of the restrain with +5 (Strength check).
The spell essentially use Strength saving throw to resist damage and effect, and a Strength check to break free, which is the Ability check alone described here
So if cast at the fighter above initially they would have a +5 to try and resist the spell in the first place. If they fail they are restrained and can use an action to break free where they would just roll +3.
I am still confused. This is counterintuitive to what I described in my post, which I now see I made a HUGE mistake in.... I will rephrase my question in an edit, such that quotes still make sense.
As far as I know, a check includes the ability modifier + proficiency modifier. --> a check is executed on a skill, initiated by the target in this case. As far as I am aware, proficiencies can only be added to skills (thus sub-abilities so to say), not abilities (then it is called an "ability score improvement", not proficiency). PHB (2014) chapter 1: "proficiency with certain weapons or tools, proficiency in one or more skills, or the ability to use minor spells. " PHB (2014) chapter 7, paragraph Ability Checks only describes the ability modifier, I see no mention of the proficiency modifier: "To make an ability check, roll a d20 and add the relevant ability modifier. As with other d20 rolls, apply bonuses and penalties, and compare the total to the DC." PBH (2014) chapter 7, paragraph Skills:"Sometimes, the DM might ask for an ability check using a specific skill — for example, “Make a Wisdom (Perception) check.” At other times, a player might ask the DM if proficiency in a particular skill applies to a check. In either case, proficiency in a skill means an individual can add his or her proficiency bonus to ability checks that involve that skill. Without proficiency in the skill, the individual makes a normal ability check."
While, in my understanding, a save only consists of the ability modifier --> the larger STRENGTH banner modifier on the PDF, it is something that is initiated by the caster on the target. In that case, the fighter in the quote would resist the spell with a +3 (Strength saving throw) and try to get out of the restrain with +5 (Strength check).
You're getting a lot wrong here. First, an ability check is just a d20 + your ability modifier. You only add your proficiency bonus if it's a skill check (e.g. a Wisdom (perception)) check, AND you have proficiency in the skill.
You're right that you can't have proficiency in ability checks, but an ability score improvement is in no way related to proficiency.
When you make a saving throw, you get to add your proficiency bonus ONLY IF you have proficiency in the saving throw. For example, a Monk is proficient in dexterity saves, so they add their proficiency bonus to Dex saves, but a wizard isn't proficient in Dex saves, so they can't.
The example fighter would make the Strength saving throw with a + 5 (3 from Strength score and 2 from proficiency bonus), but the check to get out would only have a + 3 bonus (no proficiency because it isn't a skill check.
[...] PHB (2014) chapter 7, paragraph Ability Checks only describes the ability modifier, I see no mention of the proficiency modifier: "To make an ability check, roll a d20 and add the relevant ability modifier. As with other d20 rolls, apply bonuses and penalties, and compare the total to the DC." PBH (2014) chapter 7, paragraph Skills:"Sometimes, the DM might ask for an ability check using a specific skill — for example, “Make a Wisdom (Perception) check.” At other times, a player might ask the DM if proficiency in a particular skill applies to a check. In either case, proficiency in a skill means an individual can add his or her proficiency bonus to ability checks that involve that skill. Without proficiency in the skill, the individual makes a normal ability check." [...]
Basically this part.
The spell isn't asking for an ability check using a specific skill. It's just a raw or straight Strength check. No particular skill (like Athletics) is mentioned in the spell.
If you need to compare spells with similar checks where ability checks are used without a specific skill (I think you're using the 2014 rules), a couple of examples:
Entangle: "A creature restrained by the plants can use its action to make a Strength check against your spell save DC. On a success, it frees itself.
Telekinesis: "Make an ability check with your spellcasting ability contested by the creature's Strength check"
So if cast at the fighter above initially they would have a +5 to try and resist the spell in the first place. If they fail they are restrained and can use an action to break free where they would just roll +3.
I am still confused. This is counterintuitive to what I described in my post, which I now see I made a HUGE mistake in.... I will rephrase my question in an edit, such that quotes still make sense.
As far as I know, a check includes the ability modifier + proficiency modifier. --> a check is executed on a skill, initiated by the target in this case. As far as I am aware, proficiencies can only be added to skills (thus sub-abilities so to say), not abilities (then it is called an "ability score improvement", not proficiency). PHB (2014) chapter 1: "proficiency with certain weapons or tools, proficiency in one or more skills, or the ability to use minor spells. " PHB (2014) chapter 7, paragraph Ability Checks only describes the ability modifier, I see no mention of the proficiency modifier: "To make an ability check, roll a d20 and add the relevant ability modifier. As with other d20 rolls, apply bonuses and penalties, and compare the total to the DC." PBH (2014) chapter 7, paragraph Skills:"Sometimes, the DM might ask for an ability check using a specific skill — for example, “Make a Wisdom (Perception) check.” At other times, a player might ask the DM if proficiency in a particular skill applies to a check. In either case, proficiency in a skill means an individual can add his or her proficiency bonus to ability checks that involve that skill. Without proficiency in the skill, the individual makes a normal ability check."
While, in my understanding, a save only consists of the ability modifier --> the larger STRENGTH banner modifier on the PDF, it is something that is initiated by the caster on the target. In that case, the fighter in the quote would resist the spell with a +3 (Strength saving throw) and try to get out of the restrain with +5 (Strength check).
You're getting a lot wrong here. First, an ability check is just a d20 + your ability modifier. You only add your proficiency bonus if it's a skill check (e.g. a Wisdom (perception)) check, AND you have proficiency in the skill.
You're right that you can't have proficiency in ability checks, but an ability score improvement is in no way related to proficiency.
When you make a saving throw, you get to add your proficiency bonus ONLY IF you have proficiency in the saving throw. For example, a Monk is proficient in dexterity saves, so they add their proficiency bonus to Dex saves, but a wizard isn't proficient in Dex saves, so they can't.
The example fighter would make the Strength saving throw with a + 5 (3 from Strength score and 2 from proficiency bonus), but the check to get out would only have a + 3 bonus (no proficiency because it isn't a skill check.
I hope this clears at least some things up.
Uhm, okay. I am quite new to D&D and learning all the rules. I have never heard of adding the proficiency bonus to saving throws (and thus have never done so myself). Maybe I didn't pay attention or the DM didn't clearly instruct me, not sure. (A) I always assumed that the Ability modifier included proficiency bonus in the PDF banners, but that is not the case then?
(C) If I have seemingly understood the information above, depending on the response to A and B, can someone explain me how it works exactly with monsters? How would one see what Ability saves can be executed with the proficiency bonus?
A. Generally character sheets just list the ability modifier without including the proficiency bonus. Most have it included in the modifier for the skills and saving throws you're proficient in, which are usually listed separately. It's hard to know exactly what's on your character sheet since we can't see it.
B. Every class provides proficiency in saving throws with two abilities. The class description tells you which ones they are in the "Core Traits" section at the top, where it says "Saving Throw Proficiencies".
C. It works exactly the same with monsters. Monsters can be proficient with some skills and saving throws just as player characters are. You don't generally need to worry about which ones they are, because the stat block tells you what the final, total modifier is for each (including the proficiency bonus if applicable, as well as any other bonuses).
The new style of monster stat blocks from the 2024 books lists separate "MOD" and "SAVE" values for each ability score; you use the "SAVE" one when the monster needs to roll a saving throw with that ability.
The old style from before books published before 2024 has, just below the ability scores, a list of saves where the modifier is different from the main ability modifier; for abilities that aren't listed there, you just use the main ability modifier.
(C) If I have seemingly understood the information above, depending on the response to A and B, can someone explain me how it works exactly with monsters? How would one see what Ability saves can be executed with the proficiency bonus?
Just have a look in their stat bloc. Monster do get their ability mod to all skills/saves (just as PC's do) and thus those aren't explicitly mentioned but those that they also are proficient in are noted.
For a Black Bear it says "Skills Perception +3". For a Couatl it says "Saving Throws CON +5, WIS +7, CHA +6".
(C) If I have seemingly understood the information above, depending on the response to A and B, can someone explain me how it works exactly with monsters? How would one see what Ability saves can be executed with the proficiency bonus?
Just have a look in their stat bloc. Monster do get their ability mod to all skills/saves (just as PC's do) and thus those aren't explicitly mentioned but those that they also are proficient in are noted.
For a Black Bear it says "Skills Perception +3". For a Couatl it says "Saving Throws CON +5, WIS +7, CHA +6".
Thank you so much for these examples! Now it makes sense to me. All the monsters I have seen never had Saving Throws mentioned, hence why I was confused how you could see proficiencies.
The only remaining question I have now: what's up with the additional "Proficiency Bonus +2" that is mentioned? Is that only important for the Druid class?
I want to thank everyone else as well for providing pieces of the puzzle to get to a clear answer!
It's often useful to know what the proficiency bonus is, even if it's already factored into most of the modifiers where it's applicable. For one thing, you may at times need to make a roll with proficiency that isn't pre-calculated; for another, there are a variety of abilities that say you can use them "a number of times equal to your proficiency bonus", so you may need to know what that number is even if you're not adding it to a roll.
Proficiency Bonus is equally applicable to all classes and all creatures; it's not specific to Druids.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
pronouns: he/she/they
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
I made a mistake in quoting the correct sentences, so I will rephrase in this EDIT (24 Aug 2025 14:33 CET).
I will leave the original post underneath, so the early responses make sense.
---- NEW POST ----
I am not able to find the answer anywhere, so I will ask here.
I am confused about the difference between the Strength saving throws and Strength check of Maximilian’s Earthen Grasp.
The spell can be found here: Maximilian's Earthen Grasp - Spells - D&D Beyond
For starters, I think I get this part:
"..5 feet of it. The target must make a Strength saving throw. On a failed save, ..."
(1) I assume with the printed PDF character sheet, that the target rolls a d20 and adds the modifier stated under the large STRENGTH banner, thus not any modifier mentioned in the skills.
However, the 1st and 2nd paragraph Strenght saving throw do not mention what the Strength number is checked against.
(2) The spell does not mention a "Save number" (like e.g. Frostbite that mentions CON 13), so I can only assume this is against my spell save DC?
If the roll (+ modifier(s)) described under (1) is equal to or larger than my spell save DC, the safe succeeded. Right?
Then the spell mentions that a Strength check (so not saving throw) can be used.
"To break out, the restrained target can use its action to make a Strength check against your spell save DC."
Here it gets really confusing for me, I see forums stating this difference is important and beneficial, but I don't get why.
(3a) Let's assume the spell is used on me. The only Strength skill is Athletics, so I would use the modifiers on an Athletics check.
If I have proficiency in Athletics, my modifier would likely be higher than on a safe and thus actually a disadvantage to the caster.
(b) As far as I know, NPCs, party members, etc. will never have a lower modifier for their skill than for their save, as a save never includes proficiency, while a check can.
(4) Do I understand it correctly that if the DM needs to execute this for a Monster that there generally will be no modifiers, unless "Athletics +modifier" is mentioned under Skills?
Thank you in advance!
---- OLD POST ----
I am not able to find the answer anywhere, so I will ask here.
I am confused about the difference between the Strength saving throws and Strength check of Maximilian’s Earthen Grasp.
The spell can be found here: Maximilian's Earthen Grasp - Spells - D&D Beyond
For starters, I think I get this part:
"To break out, the restrained target can use its action to make a Strength check against your spell save DC."
(1) I assume with the printed PDF character sheet, that the target rolls a d20 and adds the modifier stated under the large STRENGTH banner, thus not any modifier mentioned in the skills.
If that roll (+ modifier(s)) is equal to or larger than my DC, the safe succeeded. Right?
However, in the first paragraph, when the spell is initiated, it does not mention what the Strength check is against.
"The target must make a Strength saving throw."
(2) The spell does not mention a "Save number", so I can only assume this is also against my spell save DC?
Then the spell mentions that a Strength check (so not saving throw) can be used.
"...use its action to make a Strength check against your spell save DC."
Here it gets really confusing for me, I see forums stating this difference is important and beneficial, but I don't get why.
(3a) Let's assume the spell is used on me. The only Strength skill is Athletics, so I would use the modifiers on an Athletics check.
If I have proficiency in Athletics, my modifier would likely be higher than on a safe and thus actually a disadvantage to the caster.
(b) As far as I know, NPCs, party members, etc. will never have a lower modifier for their skill than for their save.
(4) Do I understand it correctly that if the DM needs to execute this for a Monster that there generally will be no modifiers, unless "Athletics +modifier" is mentioned under Skills?
Thank you in advance!
Strength check refers to a Strength ability check.
Yes, that's correct.
Yes, you're right. This is the rule:
It's not a Strength (Athletics) check, it's just an ability check using Strength. Same as point (1) you mentioned.
It's entirely possible that a monster or PC could be proficient in strength saves but not Athletics, so this is false.
To agree and try to explain more it is just your strength modifier to break free. A save may include your proficiency bonus if the monster/character is trained in it. For example barbarians have Strength & Constitution saves trained. So they get their stat modifier and proficiency bonus. Where as a wizard has intelligence and wisdom trained for their saves so they would only get their strength stat modifier. So for example the barbarian with a 16 strength at level 1 has a +3 from strength and +2 from proficiency for a total of +5. The wizard with a 8 strength has a -1 as its just their stat modifier and no proficiency.
So if cast at the fighter above initially they would have a +5 to try and resist the spell in the first place. If they fail they are restrained and can use an action to break free where they would just roll +3.
I am still confused. This is counterintuitive to what I described in my post, which I now see I made a HUGE mistake in....
I will rephrase my question in an edit, such that quotes still make sense.
As far as I know, a check includes the ability modifier + proficiency modifier. --> a check is executed on a skill, initiated by the target in this case.
As far as I am aware, proficiencies can only be added to skills (thus sub-abilities so to say), not abilities (then it is called an "ability score improvement", not proficiency).
PHB (2014) chapter 1: "proficiency with certain weapons or tools, proficiency in one or more skills, or the ability to use minor spells. "
PHB (2014) chapter 7, paragraph Ability Checks only describes the ability modifier, I see no mention of the proficiency modifier:
"To make an ability check, roll a d20 and add the relevant ability modifier. As with other d20 rolls, apply bonuses and penalties, and compare the total to the DC."
PBH (2014) chapter 7, paragraph Skills: "Sometimes, the DM might ask for an ability check using a specific skill — for example, “Make a Wisdom (Perception) check.” At other times, a player might ask the DM if proficiency in a particular skill applies to a check. In either case, proficiency in a skill means an individual can add his or her proficiency bonus to ability checks that involve that skill. Without proficiency in the skill, the individual makes a normal ability check."
While, in my understanding, a save only consists of the ability modifier --> the larger STRENGTH banner modifier on the PDF, it is something that is initiated by the caster on the target.
In that case, the fighter in the quote would resist the spell with a +3 (Strength saving throw) and try to get out of the restrain with +5 (Strength check).
The spell essentially use Strength saving throw to resist damage and effect, and a Strength check to break free, which is the Ability check alone described here
You're getting a lot wrong here. First, an ability check is just a d20 + your ability modifier. You only add your proficiency bonus if it's a skill check (e.g. a Wisdom (perception)) check, AND you have proficiency in the skill.
You're right that you can't have proficiency in ability checks, but an ability score improvement is in no way related to proficiency.
When you make a saving throw, you get to add your proficiency bonus ONLY IF you have proficiency in the saving throw. For example, a Monk is proficient in dexterity saves, so they add their proficiency bonus to Dex saves, but a wizard isn't proficient in Dex saves, so they can't.
The example fighter would make the Strength saving throw with a + 5 (3 from Strength score and 2 from proficiency bonus), but the check to get out would only have a + 3 bonus (no proficiency because it isn't a skill check.
I hope this clears at least some things up.
Basically this part.
The spell isn't asking for an ability check using a specific skill. It's just a raw or straight Strength check. No particular skill (like Athletics) is mentioned in the spell.
If you need to compare spells with similar checks where ability checks are used without a specific skill (I think you're using the 2014 rules), a couple of examples:
Entangle: "A creature restrained by the plants can use its action to make a Strength check against your spell save DC. On a success, it frees itself.
Telekinesis: "Make an ability check with your spellcasting ability contested by the creature's Strength check"
Uhm, okay. I am quite new to D&D and learning all the rules.
I have never heard of adding the proficiency bonus to saving throws (and thus have never done so myself).
Maybe I didn't pay attention or the DM didn't clearly instruct me, not sure.
(A) I always assumed that the Ability modifier included proficiency bonus in the PDF banners, but that is not the case then?
(B) Thus, do I understand correctly that the saves mentioned under the classes here are the ones where you add the proficiency bonus?
Character Classes for Dungeons & Dragons (D&D) Fifth Edition (5e) - D&D Beyond
(C) If I have seemingly understood the information above, depending on the response to A and B, can someone explain me how it works exactly with monsters?
How would one see what Ability saves can be executed with the proficiency bonus?
A. Generally character sheets just list the ability modifier without including the proficiency bonus. Most have it included in the modifier for the skills and saving throws you're proficient in, which are usually listed separately. It's hard to know exactly what's on your character sheet since we can't see it.
B. Every class provides proficiency in saving throws with two abilities. The class description tells you which ones they are in the "Core Traits" section at the top, where it says "Saving Throw Proficiencies".
C. It works exactly the same with monsters. Monsters can be proficient with some skills and saving throws just as player characters are. You don't generally need to worry about which ones they are, because the stat block tells you what the final, total modifier is for each (including the proficiency bonus if applicable, as well as any other bonuses).
The new style of monster stat blocks from the 2024 books lists separate "MOD" and "SAVE" values for each ability score; you use the "SAVE" one when the monster needs to roll a saving throw with that ability.
The old style from before books published before 2024 has, just below the ability scores, a list of saves where the modifier is different from the main ability modifier; for abilities that aren't listed there, you just use the main ability modifier.
pronouns: he/she/they
Just have a look in their stat bloc. Monster do get their ability mod to all skills/saves (just as PC's do) and thus those aren't explicitly mentioned but those that they also are proficient in are noted.
For a Black Bear it says "Skills Perception +3".
For a Couatl it says "Saving Throws CON +5, WIS +7, CHA +6".
Thank you so much for these examples!
Now it makes sense to me. All the monsters I have seen never had Saving Throws mentioned, hence why I was confused how you could see proficiencies.
The only remaining question I have now: what's up with the additional "Proficiency Bonus +2" that is mentioned?
Is that only important for the Druid class?
I want to thank everyone else as well for providing pieces of the puzzle to get to a clear answer!
It's often useful to know what the proficiency bonus is, even if it's already factored into most of the modifiers where it's applicable. For one thing, you may at times need to make a roll with proficiency that isn't pre-calculated; for another, there are a variety of abilities that say you can use them "a number of times equal to your proficiency bonus", so you may need to know what that number is even if you're not adding it to a roll.
Proficiency Bonus is equally applicable to all classes and all creatures; it's not specific to Druids.
pronouns: he/she/they