I am not able to find the answer anywhere, so I will ask here. I am confused about the difference between the Strength saving throws and Strength check of Maximilian’s Earthen Grasp.
For starters, I think I get this part: "To break out, the restrained target can use its action to make a Strength check against your spell save DC." (1) I assume with the printed PDF character sheet, that the target rolls a d20 and adds the modifier stated under the large STRENGTH banner, thus not any modifier mentioned in the skills. If that roll (+ modifier(s)) is equal to or larger than my DC, the safe succeeded. Right?
However, in the first paragraph, when the spell is initiated, it does not mention what the Strength check is against. "The target must make a Strength saving throw." (2) The spell does not mention a "Save number", so I can only assume this is also against my spell save DC?
Then the spell mentions that a Strength check (so not saving throw) can be used. "...use its action to make a Strength check against your spell save DC." Here it gets really confusing for me, I see forums stating this difference is important and beneficial, but I don't get why. (3a) Let's assume the spell is used on me. The only Strength skill is Athletics, so I would use the modifiers on an Athletics check. If I have proficiency in Athletics, my modifier would likely be higher than on a safe and thus actually a disadvantage to the caster. (b) As far as I know, NPCs, party members, etc. will never have a lower modifier for their skill than for their save. (4) Do I understand it correctly that if the DM needs to execute this for a Monster that there generally will be no modifiers, unless "Athletics +modifier" is mentioned under Skills?
I am not able to find the answer anywhere, so I will ask here. I am confused about the difference between the Strength saving throws and Strength check of Maximilian’s Earthen Grasp.
Strength check refers to a Strength ability check.
For starters, I think I get this part: "To break out, the restrained target can use its action to make a Strength check against your spell save DC." (1) I assume with the printed PDF character sheet, that the target rolls a d20 and adds the modifier stated under the large STRENGTH banner, thus not any modifier mentioned in the skills. If that roll (+ modifier(s)) is equal to or larger than my DC, the safe succeeded. Right?
Yes, that's correct.
However, in the first paragraph, when the spell is initiated, it does not mention what the Strength check is against. "The target must make a Strength saving throw." (2) The spell does not mention a "Save number", so I can only assume this is also against my spell save DC?
Yes, you're right. This is the rule:
Many spells specify that a target makes a saving throw to avoid some or all of a spell’s effects. The spell specifies the ability that the target uses for the save and what happens on a success or failure. Here’s how to calculate the DC for your spells:
Spell save DC = 8 + your spellcasting ability modifier + your Proficiency Bonus
Then the spell mentions that a Strength check (so not saving throw) can be used. "...use its action to make a Strength check against your spell save DC." Here it gets really confusing for me, I see forums stating this difference is important and beneficial, but I don't get why. (3a) Let's assume the spell is used on me. The only Strength skill is Athletics, so I would use the modifiers on an Athletics check.
It's not a Strength (Athletics) check, it's just an ability check using Strength. Same as point (1) you mentioned.
To agree and try to explain more it is just your strength modifier to break free. A save may include your proficiency bonus if the monster/character is trained in it. For example barbarians have Strength & Constitution saves trained. So they get their stat modifier and proficiency bonus. Where as a wizard has intelligence and wisdom trained for their saves so they would only get their strength stat modifier. So for example the barbarian with a 16 strength at level 1 has a +3 from strength and +2 from proficiency for a total of +5. The wizard with a 8 strength has a -1 as its just their stat modifier and no proficiency.
So if cast at the fighter above initially they would have a +5 to try and resist the spell in the first place. If they fail they are restrained and can use an action to break free where they would just roll +3.
I am not able to find the answer anywhere, so I will ask here.
I am confused about the difference between the Strength saving throws and Strength check of Maximilian’s Earthen Grasp.
The spell can be found here: Maximilian's Earthen Grasp - Spells - D&D Beyond
For starters, I think I get this part:
"To break out, the restrained target can use its action to make a Strength check against your spell save DC."
(1) I assume with the printed PDF character sheet, that the target rolls a d20 and adds the modifier stated under the large STRENGTH banner, thus not any modifier mentioned in the skills.
If that roll (+ modifier(s)) is equal to or larger than my DC, the safe succeeded. Right?
However, in the first paragraph, when the spell is initiated, it does not mention what the Strength check is against.
"The target must make a Strength saving throw."
(2) The spell does not mention a "Save number", so I can only assume this is also against my spell save DC?
Then the spell mentions that a Strength check (so not saving throw) can be used.
"...use its action to make a Strength check against your spell save DC."
Here it gets really confusing for me, I see forums stating this difference is important and beneficial, but I don't get why.
(3a) Let's assume the spell is used on me. The only Strength skill is Athletics, so I would use the modifiers on an Athletics check.
If I have proficiency in Athletics, my modifier would likely be higher than on a safe and thus actually a disadvantage to the caster.
(b) As far as I know, NPCs, party members, etc. will never have a lower modifier for their skill than for their save.
(4) Do I understand it correctly that if the DM needs to execute this for a Monster that there generally will be no modifiers, unless "Athletics +modifier" is mentioned under Skills?
Thank you in advace!
Strength check refers to a Strength ability check.
Yes, that's correct.
Yes, you're right. This is the rule:
It's not a Strength (Athletics) check, it's just an ability check using Strength. Same as point (1) you mentioned.
It's entirely possible that a monster or PC could be proficient in strength saves but not Athletics, so this is false.
To agree and try to explain more it is just your strength modifier to break free. A save may include your proficiency bonus if the monster/character is trained in it. For example barbarians have Strength & Constitution saves trained. So they get their stat modifier and proficiency bonus. Where as a wizard has intelligence and wisdom trained for their saves so they would only get their strength stat modifier. So for example the barbarian with a 16 strength at level 1 has a +3 from strength and +2 from proficiency for a total of +5. The wizard with a 8 strength has a -1 as its just their stat modifier and no proficiency.
So if cast at the fighter above initially they would have a +5 to try and resist the spell in the first place. If they fail they are restrained and can use an action to break free where they would just roll +3.