Does magic initiate add the spells you take to your classes spell list?
For example
If i play a cleric and use magic initiate to take chromatic orb from the sorcerer spell list, does it count as a cleric spell? or does it still only count as a sorcerer spell? Or both?
Magic initiate really only talks about what ability score you use and does not say anything about adding it to your classes spell list.
In that case, Chromatic Orb would still be Sorcerer and Wizard, not Cleric.
There's an answer in the SAC about it:
Which of a character’s spells count as class spells? For example, if I’m playing a Sorcerer, which of my character’s spells are Sorcerer spells?
A class’s spell list specifies the spells that belong to the class. For example, a Sorcerer spell is a spell on the Sorcerer spell list, and if a Sorcerer knows spells that aren’t on that list, those spells aren’t Sorcerer spells unless a feature says otherwise.
This would be different for features with the following wording:
Level 10: Magical Secrets
[...] Whenever you reach a Bard level (including this level) and the Prepared Spells number in the Bard Features table increases, you can choose any of your new prepared spells from the Bard, Cleric, Druid, and Wizard spell lists, and the chosen spells count as Bard spells for you (see a class’s section for its spell list). [...]
Or:
Pact of the Tome
[...] Cantrips and Rituals. When the book appears, choose three cantrips, and choose two level 1 spells that have the Ritual tag. The spells can be from any class’s spell list, and they must be spells you don’t already have prepared. While the book is on your person, you have the chosen spells prepared, and they function as Warlock spells for you.
Could a cleric with magic initiate (chromatic orb from the sorcerer spell list) dip one level into sorcerer and then use Innate Sorcery to get advantage on attack rolls with chromatic orb but ALSO use wisdom as the spell attack modifier?
Magic initiate lets you use wisdom but still counts as a "sorcerer spell." Innate sorcercy gives you advantage on attack rolls with "sorcerer spells." It seems to fit but gets weird because once you dip sorcerer, chromatic orb is on that list and would require charisma for spell attacks.
I am thinking of a tempest cleric build 18 cleric/sorcerer 2 using chromatic orb and would prefer to use wisdom for attack rolls. Not sure if that fits with innate sorcery or not.
Honestly? A question for your DM more than anything. I'd rule thatyou can use Wisdom to cast Chromatic Orb, but if you do, then it doesn't count as a Sorcerer spell, as the class description for Sorcerer clearly states Charisma is the spellcasting ability for your Sorcerer spells. So you could cast it as not a Sorcerer spell using Wisdom, but if you plan to cast it as a Sorcerer spell and benefit from Innate Sorcery, you need to use Charisma.
[...] Could a cleric with magic initiate (chromatic orb from the sorcerer spell list) dip one level into sorcerer and then use Innate Sorcery to get advantage on attack rolls with chromatic orb but ALSO use wisdom as the spell attack modifier?
Magic initiate lets you use wisdom but still counts as a "sorcerer spell." Innate sorcercy gives you advantage on attack rolls with "sorcerer spells." It seems to fit but gets weird because once you dip sorcerer, chromatic orb is on that list and would require charisma for spell attacks.
I am thinking of a tempest cleric build 18 cleric/sorcerer 2 using chromatic orb and would prefer to use wisdom for attack rolls. Not sure if that fits with innate sorcery or not.
If I'm understanding correctly, in your scenario, the only way of preparing Chromatic Orb is using Magic Initiate, so you should follow the feat rules using the spellcasting ability you chose (Intelligence, Wisdom, or Charisma), instead your Cleric or Sorcerer Spellcasting Feature.
But as you said, in any case, it interacts with Innate Sorcery because the spell is a Sorcerer spell.
BTW, there's a very recent thread about this same topic, since what we're commenting on was ruled in a different way under the 2014 rules. In case you want to take a look: Feat granted spells and how they apply
Hey all
Does magic initiate add the spells you take to your classes spell list?
For example
If i play a cleric and use magic initiate to take chromatic orb from the sorcerer spell list, does it count as a cleric spell? or does it still only count as a sorcerer spell? Or both?
Magic initiate really only talks about what ability score you use and does not say anything about adding it to your classes spell list.
In that case, Chromatic Orb would still be Sorcerer and Wizard, not Cleric.
There's an answer in the SAC about it:
This would be different for features with the following wording:
Or:
Thank you. Thats what i was thinking as well
Follow up question:
Could a cleric with magic initiate (chromatic orb from the sorcerer spell list) dip one level into sorcerer and then use Innate Sorcery to get advantage on attack rolls with chromatic orb but ALSO use wisdom as the spell attack modifier?
Magic initiate lets you use wisdom but still counts as a "sorcerer spell." Innate sorcercy gives you advantage on attack rolls with "sorcerer spells." It seems to fit but gets weird because once you dip sorcerer, chromatic orb is on that list and would require charisma for spell attacks.
I am thinking of a tempest cleric build 18 cleric/sorcerer 2 using chromatic orb and would prefer to use wisdom for attack rolls. Not sure if that fits with innate sorcery or not.
Honestly? A question for your DM more than anything. I'd rule that you can use Wisdom to cast Chromatic Orb, but if you do, then it doesn't count as a Sorcerer spell, as the class description for Sorcerer clearly states Charisma is the spellcasting ability for your Sorcerer spells. So you could cast it as not a Sorcerer spell using Wisdom, but if you plan to cast it as a Sorcerer spell and benefit from Innate Sorcery, you need to use Charisma.
You're welcome!
If I'm understanding correctly, in your scenario, the only way of preparing Chromatic Orb is using Magic Initiate, so you should follow the feat rules using the spellcasting ability you chose (Intelligence, Wisdom, or Charisma), instead your Cleric or Sorcerer Spellcasting Feature.
But as you said, in any case, it interacts with Innate Sorcery because the spell is a Sorcerer spell.
BTW, there's a very recent thread about this same topic, since what we're commenting on was ruled in a different way under the 2014 rules. In case you want to take a look: Feat granted spells and how they apply
EDIT: for clarity.
Very helpful.
Thank you.