I play a wood elf monk lvl 4 in our campaign. Today in combat I moved, attacked and wanted to use Flurry of blows as a bonus action. But the DM did not let me. He said I can only use a bonus action if I didn't move in my turn, because moving is already a bonus action. That is not right, is it? Do I really have to choose between moving or bonus action?
You are correct. Moving is not a bonus action. It’s not an action at all, it’s just moving. Now, monks can use their step of the wind class feature to dash as a bonus action. Had you done that?
That said, check with your DM. It is entirely possible that they are making a 'houserule' so that there is some sort of 'cost' to moving. It is equally possible they are simply making a mistake, but if they decide they want the game to run that way, that is generally within their purview (exceptions existing in cases like Adventurers League).
Houserules have existed pretty much as long as the game itself and, when you find yourself in a position where you are unable to tolerate a particular houserule, the best solution is typically to just look for another DM.
That said, check with your DM. It is entirely possible that they are making a 'houserule' so that there is some sort of 'cost' to moving. It is equally possible they are simply making a mistake, but if they decide they want the game to run that way, that is generally within their purview (exceptions existing in cases like Adventurers League).
Houserules have existed pretty much as long as the game itself and, when you find yourself in a position where you are unable to tolerate a particular houserule, the best solution is typically to just look for another DM.
I think it's also fair to say that if a DM is going to house-rule something that fundamental, they absolutely need to explain to the players that it is a house rule, to avoid confusion like this.
Absolutely agree. All I'm trying to do is point out that there is a possible misunderstanding so that OP doesn't present the information as straight-up 'you're wrong'. Uncertainty with something as fundamental as Movement/Action is a flag that they might not understand other aspects (such as a DM's ability to make houserules).
You can break up your move, using some of its movement before and after any action, Bonus Action, or Reaction you take on the same turn. For example, if you have a Speed of 30 feet, you could go 10 feet, take an action, and then go 20 feet.
To clarify here, you can move on the same turn you take your Flurry of Blows, but if you take the Flurry of Blows, you cannot move in between the extra attacks it gives you. So if you were, say, a fifth-level Wood Elf Monk, you could move ten feet to an enemy, use the first attack granted by your Attack action to attack that enemy, then move ten feet to another enemy, use the second attack granted by your Attack action to attack that enemy, then move ten feet to a third enemy, use your Bonus Action to attack the third enemy twice, then move fifteen additional feet.You could not move in between those two attacks granted by Flurry of Blows unless you have some ability/magic item that would allow you to do so (no such ability/item exists, to my knowledge, but that's what homebrewing is for).
To clarify here, you can move on the same turn you take your Flurry of Blows, but if you take the Flurry of Blows, you cannot move in between the extra attacks it gives you. So if you were, say, a fifth-level Wood Elf Monk, you could move ten feet to an enemy, use the first attack granted by your Attack action to attack that enemy, then move ten feet to another enemy, use the second attack granted by your Attack action to attack that enemy, then move ten feet to a third enemy, use your Bonus Action to attack the third enemy twice, then move fifteen additional feet.You could not move in between those two attacks granted by Flurry of Blows unless you have some ability/magic item that would allow you to do so (no such ability/item exists, to my knowledge, but that's what homebrewing is for).
Yeah, right. Thanks for the clarification! I tried to keep it short, but your example definitely makes it easier to understand.
I play a wood elf monk lvl 4 in our campaign. Today in combat I moved, attacked and wanted to use Flurry of blows as a bonus action. But the DM did not let me. He said I can only use a bonus action if I didn't move in my turn, because moving is already a bonus action. That is not right, is it? Do I really have to choose between moving or bonus action?
A Bonus Action is a special action that you can take on the same turn that you take an action. Moving is done independently.
Your Turn
On your turn, you can move a distance up to your Speed and take one action. You decide whether to move first or take your action first.
To clarify here, you can move on the same turn you take your Flurry of Blows, but if you take the Flurry of Blows, you cannot move in between the extra attacks it gives you. So if you were, say, a fifth-level Wood Elf Monk, you could move ten feet to an enemy, use the first attack granted by your Attack action to attack that enemy, then move ten feet to another enemy, use the second attack granted by your Attack action to attack that enemy, then move ten feet to a third enemy, use your Bonus Action to attack the third enemy twice, then move fifteen additional feet.You could not move in between those two attacks granted by Flurry of Blows unless you have some ability/magic item that would allow you to do so (no such ability/item exists, to my knowledge, but that's what homebrewing is for).
So does that mean that a Warrior of Mercy Monk could only make full use of their level 3 Hand of Healing ability if they are next to both an ally and an enemy, and otherwise, they completely lose one of their attacks from Flurry of Blows?
To clarify here, you can move on the same turn you take your Flurry of Blows, but if you take the Flurry of Blows, you cannot move in between the extra attacks it gives you. So if you were, say, a fifth-level Wood Elf Monk, you could move ten feet to an enemy, use the first attack granted by your Attack action to attack that enemy, then move ten feet to another enemy, use the second attack granted by your Attack action to attack that enemy, then move ten feet to a third enemy, use your Bonus Action to attack the third enemy twice, then move fifteen additional feet.You could not move in between those two attacks granted by Flurry of Blows unless you have some ability/magic item that would allow you to do so (no such ability/item exists, to my knowledge, but that's what homebrewing is for).
So does that mean that a Warrior of Mercy Monk could only make full use of their level 3 Hand of Healing ability if they are next to both an ally and an enemy, and otherwise, they completely lose one of their attacks from Flurry of Blows?
Correct. They have to be capable of reaching both targets unless you are, for some reason, healing the person you are unarmed striking. Perhaps you are grappling a target with one unarmed strike and healing them with the other. One situation where this could come up is you need to heal an unwilling target or an allied is feared and needs to run away so you grapple them to prevent the movement and heal them to boot.
To clarify here, you can move on the same turn you take your Flurry of Blows, but if you take the Flurry of Blows, you cannot move in between the extra attacks it gives you. So if you were, say, a fifth-level Wood Elf Monk, you could move ten feet to an enemy, use the first attack granted by your Attack action to attack that enemy, then move ten feet to another enemy, use the second attack granted by your Attack action to attack that enemy, then move ten feet to a third enemy, use your Bonus Action to attack the third enemy twice, then move fifteen additional feet.You could not move in between those two attacks granted by Flurry of Blows unless you have some ability/magic item that would allow you to do so (no such ability/item exists, to my knowledge, but that's what homebrewing is for).
So does that mean that a Warrior of Mercy Monk could only make full use of their level 3 Hand of Healing ability if they are next to both an ally and an enemy, and otherwise, they completely lose one of their attacks from Flurry of Blows?
RAW, it seems so. But in that situation, where you don't have an ally to heal near you, why would you use that feature?
RAW, it seems so. But in that situation, where you don't have an ally to heal near you, why would you use that feature?
Well, it's a focus point to use it as a Magic Action and free to use as part of a Flurry (which costs a Focus Point). So, you could use it twice for 2 Focus Points (Magic Action + Bonus Action) or use it as a Bonus Action and keep your normal action for something else. Hand of Harm is limited to once per turn, Hand of Healing is not. At level 11, you can replace all of the Flurry of Blows unarmed strikes with healing. By that point, it will also be 3 unarmed strikes instead of 2.
I play a wood elf monk lvl 4 in our campaign. Today in combat I moved, attacked and wanted to use Flurry of blows as a bonus action. But the DM did not let me. He said I can only use a bonus action if I didn't move in my turn, because moving is already a bonus action. That is not right, is it? Do I really have to choose between moving or bonus action?
You are correct. Moving is not a bonus action. It’s not an action at all, it’s just moving.
Now, monks can use their step of the wind class feature to dash as a bonus action. Had you done that?
Thank you!
No, I just (normally) moved and attacked.
RAW Moving is clearly not a Bonus Action.
That said, check with your DM. It is entirely possible that they are making a 'houserule' so that there is some sort of 'cost' to moving. It is equally possible they are simply making a mistake, but if they decide they want the game to run that way, that is generally within their purview (exceptions existing in cases like Adventurers League).
Houserules have existed pretty much as long as the game itself and, when you find yourself in a position where you are unable to tolerate a particular houserule, the best solution is typically to just look for another DM.
I think it's also fair to say that if a DM is going to house-rule something that fundamental, they absolutely need to explain to the players that it is a house rule, to avoid confusion like this.
pronouns: he/she/they
Absolutely agree. All I'm trying to do is point out that there is a possible misunderstanding so that OP doesn't present the information as straight-up 'you're wrong'. Uncertainty with something as fundamental as Movement/Action is a flag that they might not understand other aspects (such as a DM's ability to make houserules).
It's even possible to move, attack, and then move again if that helps in a given scenario:
Also:
- You can move between attacks as part of the Attack Action if you have more than one attack.
- But, under the 2024 rules, movement is no allowed during Flurry of Blows (or any other Bonus Action involving multiple attacks) or during a Reaction.
To clarify here, you can move on the same turn you take your Flurry of Blows, but if you take the Flurry of Blows, you cannot move in between the extra attacks it gives you. So if you were, say, a fifth-level Wood Elf Monk, you could move ten feet to an enemy, use the first attack granted by your Attack action to attack that enemy, then move ten feet to another enemy, use the second attack granted by your Attack action to attack that enemy, then move ten feet to a third enemy, use your Bonus Action to attack the third enemy twice, then move fifteen additional feet. You could not move in between those two attacks granted by Flurry of Blows unless you have some ability/magic item that would allow you to do so (no such ability/item exists, to my knowledge, but that's what homebrewing is for).
Yeah, right. Thanks for the clarification! I tried to keep it short, but your example definitely makes it easier to understand.
A Bonus Action is a special action that you can take on the same turn that you take an action. Moving is done independently.
Thank you for all your replies. I brought it up again with the DM and he admitted he was mistaken. 🙂
I wanted to be sure first because I'm still a novice player.
Not anymore! ❤️
So does that mean that a Warrior of Mercy Monk could only make full use of their level 3 Hand of Healing ability if they are next to both an ally and an enemy, and otherwise, they completely lose one of their attacks from Flurry of Blows?
Correct. They have to be capable of reaching both targets unless you are, for some reason, healing the person you are unarmed striking. Perhaps you are grappling a target with one unarmed strike and healing them with the other. One situation where this could come up is you need to heal an unwilling target or an allied is feared and needs to run away so you grapple them to prevent the movement and heal them to boot.
How to add Tooltips.
My houserulings.
RAW, it seems so. But in that situation, where you don't have an ally to heal near you, why would you use that feature?
EDIT: sorry, I didn't see SmiteMakesRight_3_5's answer. I agree anyway.
Well, it's a focus point to use it as a Magic Action and free to use as part of a Flurry (which costs a Focus Point). So, you could use it twice for 2 Focus Points (Magic Action + Bonus Action) or use it as a Bonus Action and keep your normal action for something else. Hand of Harm is limited to once per turn, Hand of Healing is not. At level 11, you can replace all of the Flurry of Blows unarmed strikes with healing. By that point, it will also be 3 unarmed strikes instead of 2.
How to add Tooltips.
My houserulings.