1. Can you use it to harm someone? For example levitate ~500 pound statue and move it atop of a creature. I undestand that it is all GM's decission but is it common?
2. What happens if you grab some willing or unwilling creature while levitating self?
Dropping objects on enemies, whether by magical means or otherwise, is commonly suggested by players, but it's effectiveness is not covered in the rule books. You can assume it to be ineffective until you try it with your DM, and then after you can't assume the effect to be consistent.
If you grab a willing target you can lift them provided that they (+their equipment) do not exceed your lifting capacity (generally 30 pounds × your strength) and your combined weight (+all equipment) doesn't exceed 500 pounds.
The same applies to an unwilling target, if you succeed in an attempt to grapple them. Creatures suffer 1d6 per 10 feet fallen, if you decide to release your target.
1. Levitate only allows you to lift something or someone straight up in the air, so it might be difficult to get whatever you are levitating positioned over a creature you want to harm. Furthermore, "When the spell ends, the target floats gently to the ground if it is still aloft". This suggests that the creature you intent to harm allows the levitated item to fall on top of him/her (unless s/he is restrained or otherwise prevented from moving).
2. As explained by BDaddLy above, the spell's effect doesn't change, and the creature will be lifted up with you, if your total weight doesn't exceed 500 pounds. If it is an unwilling creature you must succeed a grapple check.
Unfortunately, the target of the levitate spell (enemy or statue) floats gently down when the spell ends. That means no fall damage or impact damage from falling items. I cold, however, see using a levitated statue to push an enemy. If you're unsure how something would be ruled, just ask your DM ahead of time.
The best offensive use of Levitate that I can see is using it to lift an opponent up in the air to keep them out of combat while the party takes out their allies. Since the caster can keep moving the target up 20' every round, my strategy for using it offensively is to pick a dangerous opponent, pick them up, and keep lifting them up every round while retreating out of range of their ranged attacks.
Levitate says: “Otherwise, you can use your action to move the target, which must remain within the spell's range.” say it’s Area/range is 60 feet. Does that mean from the caster or the area it was cast at?
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
1. Can you use it to harm someone? For example levitate ~500 pound statue and move it atop of a creature. I undestand that it is all GM's decission but is it common?
2. What happens if you grab some willing or unwilling creature while levitating self?
Dropping objects on enemies, whether by magical means or otherwise, is commonly suggested by players, but it's effectiveness is not covered in the rule books. You can assume it to be ineffective until you try it with your DM, and then after you can't assume the effect to be consistent.
If you grab a willing target you can lift them provided that they (+their equipment) do not exceed your lifting capacity (generally 30 pounds × your strength) and your combined weight (+all equipment) doesn't exceed 500 pounds.
The same applies to an unwilling target, if you succeed in an attempt to grapple them. Creatures suffer 1d6 per 10 feet fallen, if you decide to release your target.
Extended Signature
1. Levitate only allows you to lift something or someone straight up in the air, so it might be difficult to get whatever you are levitating positioned over a creature you want to harm. Furthermore, "When the spell ends, the target floats gently to the ground if it is still aloft". This suggests that the creature you intent to harm allows the levitated item to fall on top of him/her (unless s/he is restrained or otherwise prevented from moving).
2. As explained by BDaddLy above, the spell's effect doesn't change, and the creature will be lifted up with you, if your total weight doesn't exceed 500 pounds. If it is an unwilling creature you must succeed a grapple check.
Unfortunately, the target of the levitate spell (enemy or statue) floats gently down when the spell ends. That means no fall damage or impact damage from falling items. I cold, however, see using a levitated statue to push an enemy. If you're unsure how something would be ruled, just ask your DM ahead of time.
The best offensive use of Levitate that I can see is using it to lift an opponent up in the air to keep them out of combat while the party takes out their allies. Since the caster can keep moving the target up 20' every round, my strategy for using it offensively is to pick a dangerous opponent, pick them up, and keep lifting them up every round while retreating out of range of their ranged attacks.
Professional computer geek
Thank you for your answers.
By moving atop of a creature i ment not dismissing the spell but changing an altitude of the statue.
Levitate says: “Otherwise, you can use your action to move the target, which must remain within the spell's range.” say it’s Area/range is 60 feet. Does that mean from the caster or the area it was cast at?