The next time you hit a creature with a melee weapon attack during the spell’s duration, your weapon flares with white-hot intensity, and the attack deals an extra 1d6 fire damage to the target and causes the target to ignite in flames.- The spell takes effect on the first successful hit.
At the start of each of its turns until the spell ends, the target must make a Constitution saving throw. On a failed save, it takes 1d6 fire damage.- This is where the concentration comes in. The character must keep concentration for one minute to make them continue to make Con saves.
After one minute, the spell has to be cast again. While this spell is being concentrated on, no other Smite spell can be cast or the extended damage the target takes won't occur.
On a successful save, the spell ends. If the target or a creature within 5 feet of it uses an action to put out the flames, or if some other effect douses the flames (such as the target being submerged in water), the spell ends.- As written, it seems that as long as you maintain concentration, you can affect another creature with another attack. So you can hit creature 1, establish concentration, use second attack to hit creature 2 and now they both have to make Con saves or take 1d6 damage until the spell ends.
Yeah I concur with Jhiffan, there's nothing that indicates you could use the smite on a second target. Almost all smite spells do their damage on the next hit, which makes sense in the context of the spell is actually doing if you think about it. On top of that, a lot of smite spells require concentration in some way or another which means you also can't stack a bunch of different smite spells or interances of the same smite together into one attack and effectively "super" smite someone
Spells do as they say, as long as you maintain concentration on a spell, it's effects will persist
Branding Smite
Source: Player's Handbook
2nd-level evocation
Casting Time: 1 bonus action Range: Self Components: V Duration: Concentration, up to 1 minute
The next time you hit a creature with a weapon attack before this spell ends, the weapon gleams with astral radiance as you strike. The attack deals an extra 2d6 radiant damage to the target, which becomes visible if it is invisible, and the target sheds dim light in a 5-foot radius and can’t become invisible until the spell ends.
At Higher Levels. When you cast this spell using a spell slot of 3rd level or higher, the extra damage increases by 1d6 for each slot level above 2nd.
For example
Lvl 5 paladin
Bonus action
Cast branding smite
Action attack ( extra attack)
First attack, assuming hits
Currently under the effects of branding smite
The next time you hit a creature with a weapon attack before this spell ends
Conditions for the spell are me,t spell effects are executed
Second attack, assuming hits
Still maintaining concentration
The next time you hit a creature with a weapon attack before this spell ends
Conditions for the spell are met, spell effects are executed
The spell only ends after 1 min or when your concentration is broken, which ever happens first. The "next hit" is not the same as "first time you hit"
The only limitation is during this spell’s duration and before this spell ends
however magical effects of the same name do not stack thus the burning effect will not stack on the same target
Thunderous Smite
Source: Player's Handbook
1st-level evocation
Casting Time: 1 bonus action Range: Self Components: V Duration: Concentration, up to 1 minute
The first time you hit with a melee weapon attack during this spell’s duration, your weapon rings with thunder that is audible within 300 feet of you, and the attack deals an extra 2d6 thunder damage to the target. Additionally, if the target is a creature, it must succeed on a Strength saving throw or be pushed 10 feet away from you and knocked prone.
Does the blinding smite spell deal extra radiant damage on every successful attack I make while I’m concentrating on the spell, or only on the first one?
“The next time” in the spell description indicates that the extra damage applies only once, the first time you hit a creature after you finish casting the spell.
————————-
So ‘the next time’ does equal ‘the first time’ and not ‘each time’, per this official ruling. Anything else would be a house rule (and quite overpowered, IMHO.)
"The next time you hit a creature with a weapon attack before this spell ends"
This is where concentration comes into play. If you don't hit on the turn when you cast it, you can try again next turn, unless you take damage and fail a concentration check, or cast a different concentration spell.
"The next time" is one time, so it doesn't apply on each hit until the spell ends. Hitting doesn't end the spell, but it exhausts your one-time use of this particular ability of the spell.
The spell might also have additional effects that apply from when you hit until the spell ends. Breaking concentration is one way the spell can end and end those effects.
Next is not referencing a single strike, next is literally next, and as long as you are concentrating on the spell your next attack will deliver the spell effects. No where in the spell does it limit the effects to one attack
If it were referencing a single strike then it would say the first creature you hit with a melee attack such as in thunderous smite
The spell does not say what is being implied. The spells restriction are to those that are hit by the PC while concentrating on the spell and the duration of the spell. The spell in no way says the extra damage from your attack is limited to one attack.
There is a rule that says magical effects don't stack such as you will not benifet from 2 regeneration spells but only the 1 with the higher healing. The same applies to the lasting affect from the spell such as in burning smite. They would not suffer multiple stacks of burning from a burning smite but will still suffer the extra damage from each attack becouse the damage is instance linked to you affecting another creature where as the burning duration linked to a creature
You are basically arguing that you should not receive the additional 1d6 necrotic from the second attack, of a creature that attacks you twice dealing 1d6 slashing and 1d6 necrotic and the target must save vs con or suffer fear
The spell has 2 targets, the caster and those that the caster attacks (different variations of smite spells may require more restrictions such as a melee weapon attack). The effects of the spell are only limited to its duration (concentration spells end when the concentration is lost) and saves of the creatures affected.
Next is not referencing a single strike, next is literally next, and as long as you are concentrating on the spell your next attack will deliver the spell effects. No where in the spell does it limit the effects to one attack
If it were referencing a single strike then it would say the first creature you hit with a melee attack such as in thunderous smite
If I say we'll get drinks next Friday, does it mean we'll get drinks every Friday as long as you're concentrating on our friendship?
It's "the next time", singular. It's one time. If the spell wanted it to be every time they would have clearly worded it as, "each time" or "any time" or "once per turn".
If I say we'll get drinks next Friday, does it mean we'll get drinks every Friday as long as you're concentrating on our friendship?
Yes, if you stop hanging out with your friends and are no longer concentrating on that relationship, then it ends. Regardless of the feelings of the matter if you are not doing the things that make a friendship a friendship can you call it a friendship. While you may be friendly with that person and think positively of them, it is no longer a friendship. Even though you may have been friends with them it is currently not the case
The spell is friendship
the target is friday
The effect is drinks
Our friendship results in the condition of drinking if it is Friday
The exactness of the words and literal meaning along with the difference in wording between the different smite spells allows the effect on the caster to deal 1D? On their next hit with a melee/weapon attack as long as they are concentration on the spell
If I spend my bonus action to cast branding smite and I have the extra attack feature, since I am concentrating on the spel,l the spell effects persist since the spell does not say otherwise
Just as he spell oil does not create flammable oil since the spell does not say that
However if I spend my bonus action to cast thunderous smite then the first attack in the spells duration receives 2d6 for only the first strike in that spells duration
The "next time" is relative to instance of the attack while concentrating on the spell. The spell does not limit to one instance like thunderous smite does
If I say we'll get drinks next Friday, does it mean we'll get drinks every Friday as long as you're concentrating on our friendship?
Yes, if you stop hanging out with your friends and are no longer concentrating on that relationship, then it ends. Regardless of the feelings of the matter if you are not doing the things that make a friendship a friendship can you call it a friendship. While you may be friendly with that person and think positively of them, it is no longer a friendship. Even though you may have been friends with them it is currently not the case
The spell is friendship
the target is friday
The effect is drinks
Our friendship results in the condition of drinking if it is Friday
The exactness of the words and literal meaning along with the difference in wording between the different smite spells allows the effect on the caster to deal 1D? On their next hit with a melee/weapon attack as long as they are concentration on the spell
If I spend my bonus action to cast branding smite and I have the extra attack feature, since I am concentrating on the spel,l the spell effects persist since the spell does not say otherwise
Just as he spell oil does not create flammable oil since the spell does not say that
However if I spend my bonus action to cast thunderous smite then the first attack in the spells duration receives 2d6 for only the first strike in that spells duration
The "next time" is relative to instance of the attack while concentrating on the spell. The spell does not limit to one instance like thunderous smite does
You owe me $5 the next time you post on DnDBeyond while this thread is active. What's the maximum amount of money you could owe me?
Does the blinding smite spell deal extra radiant damage on every successful attack I make while I’m concentrating on the spell, or only on the first one?
“The next time” in the spell description indicates that the extra damage applies only once, the first time you hit a creature after you finish casting the spell.
You owe me $5 the next time you post on DnDBeyond while this thread is active. What's the maximum amount of money you could owe me?
Potentially infinite.
For the duration that dnd beyond keeps this thread open each post causes the thread to be active
However:
if the thread was only open for 1 min
If the thread was not terminated early
I could only post once every 6 seconds
the $5 fee effect is active at the start of the min
I posted at every possible moment
$5 × (60sec / 6sec per post) = $50
You are implying multiple "starts" of the spell during the duration, which is incorrect. If I pick a moment for something to start, say the time I post this, then "next" implies one thing from that time. After that, a new "start" would have to be declared, but given that there is only one casting of the spell, there is only one "start" and only one "next" after that starting point.
there is no common english usage of "next" that infers multiple things that are "next" Next Friday is 7/16, a specific date inferred from the time of start (this post), not every friday until oblivion. Likewise, "the next time you hit" is inferred from the time you start the spell by casting it, not every hit from then to oblivion (or to the end of the spell). The duration is the amount of time you have to make that next hit, and the amount of time any post-hit effects last.
there is no common english usage of "next" that infers multiple things that are "next" Next Friday is 7/16, a specific date inferred from the time of start (this post), not every friday until oblivion. Likewise, "the next time you hit" is inferred from the time you start the spell by casting it, not every hit from then to oblivion (or to the end of the spell). The duration is the amount of time you have to make that next hit, and the amount of time any post-hit effects last
You are instructed the next time a pipe breaks today while at work to mend it. If the pipe breaks multiple times today while you are working do you mend it only the first time?
The duration is the length of the effect, one of the effects is that you deal increases damage. Next may be singular but the spell does not limit the number the amount of instances the effect triggers. Is simply says
The next time you hit a creature with a weapon attack before this spell ends, the weapon gleams with astral radiance as you strike.
The spell has not ended after the strike and thus it's effects are still active. Otherwise it would be worded differently. In this phrasing it cannot be used retroactively.
Think of the spell as an active buff. You receive the benefits of the buff as long as the buff is active in relation to its triggers
Literally the spell has not ended so you next attack will gleam with astral radssince wether or not if you have hit another creature with a weapon attack in the spells duration.
If the spell was ment to affect only 1 creature you hit with a weapon attack then instead of next it would have said first
Just like thunderous smite
The first time you hit with a melee weapon attack during this spell’s duration, your weapon rings with thunder that is audible within 300 feet of you, and the attack deals an extra 2d6 thunder damage to the target.
The duration is the amount of time you have to make that next hit, and the amount of time any post-hit effects last.
What you are arguing would make sence if it said instead
.Thefirst attack deals an extra 2d6 radiant damage to the target, which becomes visible if it is invisible, and the target sheds dim light in a 5-foot radius and can’t become invisible until the spell ends.
But that is not the case. First is not included anywhere in its phrasing and thus the the extra damage effect is limited to the spells duration becouse it affects you. You are making the attack, you deal the extra damage. The spell empowers you
there is no common english usage of "next" that infers multiple things that are "next" Next Friday is 7/16, a specific date inferred from the time of start (this post), not every friday until oblivion. Likewise, "the next time you hit" is inferred from the time you start the spell by casting it, not every hit from then to oblivion (or to the end of the spell). The duration is the amount of time you have to make that next hit, and the amount of time any post-hit effects last
You are instructed the next time a pipe breaks today while at work to mend it. If the pipe breaks multiple times today while you are working do you mend it only the first time?
By plain english, they are asking you to mend the pipe the next time, so yes, that would be once. But that is not the language most people would use to convey that info. They would say "If the pipe breaks while you are at work, mend it" That sets the duration as the limiting factor to how many times the effect triggers, and allows for multiple instances, not just the singular one inferred by "next"
Other spells that deal extra damage during their durations do not use "next" when describing the effect. Smites do, and the RAI, as communicated from the writers themselves, are clear that they meant the most common meaning of "next" implying a singluar event from the spell.
The duration is the length of the effect, one of the effects is that you deal increases damage. Next may be singular but the spell does not limit the number the amount of instances the effect triggers. Is simply says
The next time you hit a creature with a weapon attack before this spell ends, the weapon gleams with astral radiance as you strike.
The spell has not ended after the strike and thus it's effects are still active. Otherwise it would be worded differently. In this phrasing it cannot be used retroactively.
It does limit it, to once, by using the word "next." If you don't understand the meaning of next, look it up. it is always singular and always based on a set point in time (usually "now", but can be other set points)
Think of the spell as an active buff. You receive the benefits of the buff as long as the buff is active in relation to its triggers
Literally the spell has not ended so you next attack will gleam with astral radssince wether or not if you have hit another creature with a weapon attack in the spells duration.
If the spell was ment to affect only 1 creature you hit with a weapon attack then instead of next it would have said first
Just like thunderous smite
The first time you hit with a melee weapon attack during this spell’s duration, your weapon rings with thunder that is audible within 300 feet of you, and the attack deals an extra 2d6 thunder damage to the target.
The duration is the amount of time you have to make that next hit, and the amount of time any post-hit effects last.
What you are arguing would make sence if it said instead it said
.Thefirst attack deals an extra 2d6 radiant damage to the target, which becomes visible if it is invisible, and the target sheds dim light in a 5-foot radius and can’t become invisible until the spell ends.
But that is not the case. First is not included anywhere in its phrasing and thus the the extra damage effect is limited to the spells duration becouse it affects you. You are making the attack, you deal the extra damage. The spell empowers you
It doesn't have to, it uses "next" which is a common and acceptable way in english to imply a singular instance of an event.
You are instructed the next time a pipe breaks today while at work to mend it. If the pipe breaks multiple times today while you are working do you mend it only the first time?
Yes, because you clearly did a lousy job the first time and will get fired after it breaks again -- or, if you're very lucky, someone else will be asked to do it instead.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
Active characters:
Carric Aquissar, elven wannabe artist in his deconstructionist period (Archfey warlock) Lan Kidogo, mapach archaeologist and treasure hunter (Knowledge cleric) Mardan Ferres, elven private investigator obsessed with that one unsolved murder (Assassin rogue) Xhekhetiel, halfling survivor of a Betrayer Gods cult (Runechild sorcerer/fighter)
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
Do the smite spells ie searing smite continue to do the effect for every attack while the spell is concentrated. Or is it a one time use only.
The smite spells do their thing the next time you hit with a qualifying attack, then they end.
The Forum Infestation (TM)
The next time you hit a creature with a melee weapon attack during the spell’s duration, your weapon flares with white-hot intensity, and the attack deals an extra 1d6 fire damage to the target and causes the target to ignite in flames.- The spell takes effect on the first successful hit.
At the start of each of its turns until the spell ends, the target must make a Constitution saving throw. On a failed save, it takes 1d6 fire damage.- This is where the concentration comes in. The character must keep concentration for one minute to make them continue to make Con saves.
After one minute, the spell has to be cast again. While this spell is being concentrated on, no other Smite spell can be cast or the extended damage the target takes won't occur.
On a successful save, the spell ends. If the target or a creature within 5 feet of it uses an action to put out the flames, or if some other effect douses the flames (such as the target being submerged in water), the spell ends.- As written, it seems that as long as you maintain concentration, you can affect another creature with another attack. So you can hit creature 1, establish concentration, use second attack to hit creature 2 and now they both have to make Con saves or take 1d6 damage until the spell ends.
I'm not seeing where it can affect a second creature, just where another creature can end the effect.
Yeah I concur with Jhiffan, there's nothing that indicates you could use the smite on a second target. Almost all smite spells do their damage on the next hit, which makes sense in the context of the spell is actually doing if you think about it. On top of that, a lot of smite spells require concentration in some way or another which means you also can't stack a bunch of different smite spells or interances of the same smite together into one attack and effectively "super" smite someone
Spells do as they say, as long as you maintain concentration on a spell, it's effects will persist
Branding Smite
Source: Player's Handbook
2nd-level evocation
Casting Time: 1 bonus action
Range: Self
Components: V
Duration: Concentration, up to 1 minute
The next time you hit a creature with a weapon attack before this spell ends, the weapon gleams with astral radiance as you strike. The attack deals an extra 2d6 radiant damage to the target, which becomes visible if it is invisible, and the target sheds dim light in a 5-foot radius and can’t become invisible until the spell ends.
At Higher Levels. When you cast this spell using a spell slot of 3rd level or higher, the extra damage increases by 1d6 for each slot level above 2nd.
For example
Lvl 5 paladin
Bonus action
Cast branding smite
Action attack ( extra attack)
First attack, assuming hits
Currently under the effects of branding smite
The next time you hit a creature with a weapon attack before this spell ends
Conditions for the spell are me,t spell effects are executed
Second attack, assuming hits
Still maintaining concentration
The next time you hit a creature with a weapon attack before this spell ends
Conditions for the spell are met, spell effects are executed
The spell only ends after 1 min or when your concentration is broken, which ever happens first. The "next hit" is not the same as "first time you hit"
The only limitation is during this spell’s duration and before this spell ends
however magical effects of the same name do not stack thus the burning effect will not stack on the same target
Thunderous Smite
Source: Player's Handbook
1st-level evocation
Casting Time: 1 bonus action
Range: Self
Components: V
Duration: Concentration, up to 1 minute
The first time you hit with a melee weapon attack during this spell’s duration, your weapon rings with thunder that is audible within 300 feet of you, and the attack deals an extra 2d6 thunder damage to the target. Additionally, if the target is a creature, it must succeed on a Strength saving throw or be pushed 10 feet away from you and knocked prone.
From the SAC:
Does the blinding smite spell deal extra radiant damage on every successful attack I make while I’m concentrating on the spell, or only on the first one?
“The next time” in the spell description indicates that the extra damage applies only once, the first time you hit a creature after you finish casting the spell.
————————-
So ‘the next time’ does equal ‘the first time’ and not ‘each time’, per this official ruling. Anything else would be a house rule (and quite overpowered, IMHO.)
"The next time you hit a creature with a weapon attack before this spell ends"
This is where concentration comes into play. If you don't hit on the turn when you cast it, you can try again next turn, unless you take damage and fail a concentration check, or cast a different concentration spell.
"The next time" is one time, so it doesn't apply on each hit until the spell ends. Hitting doesn't end the spell, but it exhausts your one-time use of this particular ability of the spell.
The spell might also have additional effects that apply from when you hit until the spell ends. Breaking concentration is one way the spell can end and end those effects.
Next is not referencing a single strike, next is literally next, and as long as you are concentrating on the spell your next attack will deliver the spell effects. No where in the spell does it limit the effects to one attack
If it were referencing a single strike then it would say the first creature you hit with a melee attack such as in thunderous smite
The spell does not say what is being implied. The spells restriction are to those that are hit by the PC while concentrating on the spell and the duration of the spell. The spell in no way says the extra damage from your attack is limited to one attack.
There is a rule that says magical effects don't stack such as you will not benifet from 2 regeneration spells but only the 1 with the higher healing. The same applies to the lasting affect from the spell such as in burning smite. They would not suffer multiple stacks of burning from a burning smite but will still suffer the extra damage from each attack becouse the damage is instance linked to you affecting another creature where as the burning duration linked to a creature
You are basically arguing that you should not receive the additional 1d6 necrotic from the second attack, of a creature that attacks you twice dealing 1d6 slashing and 1d6 necrotic and the target must save vs con or suffer fear
The spell has 2 targets, the caster and those that the caster attacks (different variations of smite spells may require more restrictions such as a melee weapon attack). The effects of the spell are only limited to its duration (concentration spells end when the concentration is lost) and saves of the creatures affected.
If I say we'll get drinks next Friday, does it mean we'll get drinks every Friday as long as you're concentrating on our friendship?
It's "the next time", singular. It's one time. If the spell wanted it to be every time they would have clearly worded it as, "each time" or "any time" or "once per turn".
Yes, if you stop hanging out with your friends and are no longer concentrating on that relationship, then it ends. Regardless of the feelings of the matter if you are not doing the things that make a friendship a friendship can you call it a friendship. While you may be friendly with that person and think positively of them, it is no longer a friendship. Even though you may have been friends with them it is currently not the case
The spell is friendship
the target is friday
The effect is drinks
Our friendship results in the condition of drinking if it is Friday
The exactness of the words and literal meaning along with the difference in wording between the different smite spells allows the effect on the caster to deal 1D? On their next hit with a melee/weapon attack as long as they are concentration on the spell
If I spend my bonus action to cast branding smite and I have the extra attack feature, since I am concentrating on the spel,l the spell effects persist since the spell does not say otherwise
Just as he spell oil does not create flammable oil since the spell does not say that
However if I spend my bonus action to cast thunderous smite then the first attack in the spells duration receives 2d6 for only the first strike in that spells duration
The "next time" is relative to instance of the attack while concentrating on the spell. The spell does not limit to one instance like thunderous smite does
You owe me $5 the next time you post on DnDBeyond while this thread is active. What's the maximum amount of money you could owe me?
Potentially infinite.
For the duration that dnd beyond keeps this thread open each post causes the thread to be active
However:
$5 × (60sec / 6sec per post) = $50
Sage Advice states:
Does the blinding smite spell deal extra radiant damage on every successful attack I make while I’m concentrating on the spell, or only on the first one?
“The next time” in the spell description indicates that the extra damage applies only once, the first time you hit a creature after you finish casting the spell.
That is not how English works. "The next time" is singular, not plural.
You are implying multiple "starts" of the spell during the duration, which is incorrect. If I pick a moment for something to start, say the time I post this, then "next" implies one thing from that time. After that, a new "start" would have to be declared, but given that there is only one casting of the spell, there is only one "start" and only one "next" after that starting point.
there is no common english usage of "next" that infers multiple things that are "next" Next Friday is 7/16, a specific date inferred from the time of start (this post), not every friday until oblivion. Likewise, "the next time you hit" is inferred from the time you start the spell by casting it, not every hit from then to oblivion (or to the end of the spell). The duration is the amount of time you have to make that next hit, and the amount of time any post-hit effects last.
You are instructed the next time a pipe breaks today while at work to mend it. If the pipe breaks multiple times today while you are working do you mend it only the first time?
The duration is the length of the effect, one of the effects is that you deal increases damage. Next may be singular but the spell does not limit the number the amount of instances the effect triggers. Is simply says
The spell has not ended after the strike and thus it's effects are still active. Otherwise it would be worded differently. In this phrasing it cannot be used retroactively.
Think of the spell as an active buff. You receive the benefits of the buff as long as the buff is active in relation to its triggers
Literally the spell has not ended so you next attack will gleam with astral radssince wether or not if you have hit another creature with a weapon attack in the spells duration.
If the spell was ment to affect only 1 creature you hit with a weapon attack then instead of next it would have said first
Just like thunderous smite
What you are arguing would make sence if it said instead
.The first attack deals an extra 2d6 radiant damage to the target, which becomes visible if it is invisible, and the target sheds dim light in a 5-foot radius and can’t become invisible until the spell ends.
But that is not the case. First is not included anywhere in its phrasing and thus the the extra damage effect is limited to the spells duration becouse it affects you. You are making the attack, you deal the extra damage. The spell empowers you
By plain english, they are asking you to mend the pipe the next time, so yes, that would be once. But that is not the language most people would use to convey that info. They would say "If the pipe breaks while you are at work, mend it" That sets the duration as the limiting factor to how many times the effect triggers, and allows for multiple instances, not just the singular one inferred by "next"
Other spells that deal extra damage during their durations do not use "next" when describing the effect. Smites do, and the RAI, as communicated from the writers themselves, are clear that they meant the most common meaning of "next" implying a singluar event from the spell.
It does limit it, to once, by using the word "next." If you don't understand the meaning of next, look it up. it is always singular and always based on a set point in time (usually "now", but can be other set points)
It doesn't have to, it uses "next" which is a common and acceptable way in english to imply a singular instance of an event.
In short, you are wrong, both in RAW and RAI
Yes, because you clearly did a lousy job the first time and will get fired after it breaks again -- or, if you're very lucky, someone else will be asked to do it instead.
Active characters:
Carric Aquissar, elven wannabe artist in his deconstructionist period (Archfey warlock)
Lan Kidogo, mapach archaeologist and treasure hunter (Knowledge cleric)
Mardan Ferres, elven private investigator obsessed with that one unsolved murder (Assassin rogue)
Xhekhetiel, halfling survivor of a Betrayer Gods cult (Runechild sorcerer/fighter)