Hello everyone. I have a Question about the rod item..
A PC of mine is soon going to find the rod of the pact keeper.. But I cant seem to find anyplace that details How it works?? There is not Any item specifics like damage and such.. So is it sone kind of accesory, that you attach to your belt and then you get the bonus? So you can have a staff equipped at the same time of a rod?
Or is it a one hsnded item that you can equip with a shield?
A rod is just a type of spellcasting focus, like an orb, wand, or staff. The rules for them are in Chapter 10 of the PHB, under Spell Components:
A spellcaster must have a hand free to access a spell's material components — or to hold a spellcasting focus — but it can be the same hand that he or she uses to perform somatic components.
Basically it's something the character holds in their off-hand that allows them to ignore any Material Components of spells that don't have a set cost. You don't attack with it directly, and if you did so for one reason or another it wouldn't deal any more damage than just using a fist.
You don't know what fear is until you've witnessed a drunk bird divebombing you while carrying a screaming Kobold throwing fire anywhere and everywhere.
Rod, uncommon (+1), rare (+2), or very rare (+3) (requires attunement by a warlock) While holding this rod, you gain a bonus to spell attack roils and to the saving throw DCs of your warlock spells. The bonus is determined by the rod's rarity.In addition, you can regain one warlock spell slot as an action while holding the rod. You can't use this property again until you finish a long rest."
The entry from the DMG explains how the rod of the pact keeper works. Your warlock attunes it and then while holding it, it adds +1,+2 or +3 to your spell attack rolls or spell save DC depending on which version you have. Also, since it is a rod, it can be used as a spell casting foci for your arcane spells.
Sorry to revivify a dead thread, but I have an odd interaction.
I have a Pact of the Blade Warlock wielding a two-handed scimitar. In the app, I have the option to “Equip” the sword, but the rod is “Use”. I can have them both equipped simultaneously. Now, because the sword is bonded I’m using it as my spellcasting focus. If I cast a spell, do I still need to be holding the rod in my hand to get the bonuses? RAW certainly imply that, but then idk why it’s a “Use” item (like a backpack) and not an equipped one.
Sorry to revivify a dead thread, but I have an odd interaction.
I have a Pact of the Blade Warlock wielding a two-handed scimitar. In the app, I have the option to “Equip” the sword, but the rod is “Use”. I can have them both equipped simultaneously. Now, because the sword is bonded I’m using it as my spellcasting focus. If I cast a spell, do I still need to be holding the rod in my hand to get the bonuses? RAW certainly imply that, but then idk why it’s a “Use” item (like a backpack) and not an equipped one.
If you're talking about the Rod of the Pact Keeper, it does say in its description "While you are holding this rod", so you need to actually be holding it to gain those effects. The type of button displayed in D&D Beyond for it has no impact on the actual rules.
Okay, thank you! So it's just a little unweildy in the app then.
In the new rules, drawing or stowing a weapon can be done as part of your attack action, so functionally is it basically as if I have them both equipped? For example, as a Pact of the Blade Warlock if I opened a battle by attacking with my sword, I wouldn't need to expend an action or bonus action to "swap" to the Rod of the Pact Keeper. Is that correct? Or is it only true of the Attack action and not for casting spells, meaning that would only work if the spell was cast and then a weapon attack made after?
Okay, thank you! So it's just a little unweildy in the app then.
In the new rules, drawing or stowing a weapon can be done as part of your attack action, so functionally is it basically as if I have them both equipped? For example, as a Pact of the Blade Warlock if I opened a battle by attacking with my sword, I wouldn't need to expend an action or bonus action to "swap" to the Rod of the Pact Keeper. Is that correct? Or is it only true of the Attack action and not for casting spells, meaning that would only work if the spell was cast and then a weapon attack made after?
You can equip or unequip (not both) a weapon as part of an Attack action. You can also (separately) interact with one object per turn without using any kind of action; this includes taking something out or putting it away. You also don't need to be holding a two-handed weapon in both hands when you're not attacking with it. With all of those things I think you can probably find some kind of cadence that allows you to switch these things back and forth on most turns.
I will say — and this is my personal feeling, separate from what the rules say — that as a DM I find this kind of weapon-juggling stuff to be really tedious and my expectation is usually that if a character is going to be regularly using a weapon in one hand and a separate spellcasting focus in the other at the same time, that weapon should be a one-handed weapon.
I agree, without a believable reason to be doing it in character, I’d try to avoid it. I’ll likely be using my spell slots on Eldritch Smite anyway. But at least if I’ve felled an enemy and want to Blast someone further away next turn, RAW don’t expressly prohibit it.
Okay, thank you! So it's just a little unweildy in the app then.
In the new rules, drawing or stowing a weapon can be done as part of your attack action, so functionally is it basically as if I have them both equipped? For example, as a Pact of the Blade Warlock if I opened a battle by attacking with my sword, I wouldn't need to expend an action or bonus action to "swap" to the Rod of the Pact Keeper. Is that correct? Or is it only true of the Attack action and not for casting spells, meaning that would only work if the spell was cast and then a weapon attack made after?
You can equip or unequip (not both) a weapon as part of an Attack action. You can also (separately) interact with one object per turn without using any kind of action; this includes taking something out or putting it away. You also don't need to be holding a two-handed weapon in both hands when you're not attacking with it. With all of those things I think you can probably find some kind of cadence that allows you to switch these things back and forth on most turns.
I will say — and this is my personal feeling, separate from what the rules say — that as a DM I find this kind of weapon-juggling stuff to be really tedious and my expectation is usually that if a character is going to be regularly using a weapon in one hand and a separate spellcasting focus in the other at the same time, that weapon should be a one-handed weapon.
Gets even more tedious with items like Sentinel Shield . Again it says you have to be holding it to gain the advantage rolls it grants, so there is constant player having to say they drew it, or judging the situation on whether they would or wouldn't have it out.
Thankfully the player with it is really honest about making those judgements and running them by me. Though I have had other players that it would be a nightmare them trying to argue they had it out when it didn't make sense, or even saying 'I constantly have my shield out' - 'even when you are eating at an inn? Or asleep?'
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
Hello everyone. I have a Question about the rod item..
A PC of mine is soon going to find the rod of the pact keeper.. But I cant seem to find anyplace that details How it works?? There is not Any item specifics like damage and such.. So is it sone kind of accesory, that you attach to your belt and then you get the bonus? So you can have a staff equipped at the same time of a rod?
Or is it a one hsnded item that you can equip with a shield?
I Hope someone can help clarify This for me.
A rod is just a type of spellcasting focus, like an orb, wand, or staff. The rules for them are in Chapter 10 of the PHB, under Spell Components:
Basically it's something the character holds in their off-hand that allows them to ignore any Material Components of spells that don't have a set cost. You don't attack with it directly, and if you did so for one reason or another it wouldn't deal any more damage than just using a fist.
Watch Crits for Breakfast, an adults-only RP-Heavy Roll20 Livestream at twitch.tv/afterdisbooty
And now you too can play with the amazing art and assets we use in Roll20 for our campaign at Hazel's Emporium
It functions as a Club under the rules for Improvised Weapons.
You don't know what fear is until you've witnessed a drunk bird divebombing you while carrying a screaming Kobold throwing fire anywhere and everywhere.
"ROD OF THE PACT KEEPER
Rod, uncommon (+1), rare (+2), or very rare (+3) (requires attunement by a warlock)
While holding this rod, you gain a bonus to spell attack roils and to the saving throw DCs of your warlock spells. The bonus is determined by the rod's rarity.In addition, you can regain one warlock spell slot as an action while holding the rod. You can't use this property again until you finish a long rest."
The entry from the DMG explains how the rod of the pact keeper works. Your warlock attunes it and then while holding it, it adds +1,+2 or +3 to your spell attack rolls or spell save DC depending on which version you have. Also, since it is a rod, it can be used as a spell casting foci for your arcane spells.
I have never seen anyone ask this before.
Anyway, all the answers were given before I got here, so I will just add: rod of the pact keeper
Sorry to revivify a dead thread, but I have an odd interaction.
I have a Pact of the Blade Warlock wielding a two-handed scimitar. In the app, I have the option to “Equip” the sword, but the rod is “Use”. I can have them both equipped simultaneously. Now, because the sword is bonded I’m using it as my spellcasting focus. If I cast a spell, do I still need to be holding the rod in my hand to get the bonuses? RAW certainly imply that, but then idk why it’s a “Use” item (like a backpack) and not an equipped one.
If you're talking about the Rod of the Pact Keeper, it does say in its description "While you are holding this rod", so you need to actually be holding it to gain those effects. The type of button displayed in D&D Beyond for it has no impact on the actual rules.
pronouns: he/she/they
Okay, thank you! So it's just a little unweildy in the app then.
In the new rules, drawing or stowing a weapon can be done as part of your attack action, so functionally is it basically as if I have them both equipped? For example, as a Pact of the Blade Warlock if I opened a battle by attacking with my sword, I wouldn't need to expend an action or bonus action to "swap" to the Rod of the Pact Keeper. Is that correct? Or is it only true of the Attack action and not for casting spells, meaning that would only work if the spell was cast and then a weapon attack made after?
You can equip or unequip (not both) a weapon as part of an Attack action. You can also (separately) interact with one object per turn without using any kind of action; this includes taking something out or putting it away. You also don't need to be holding a two-handed weapon in both hands when you're not attacking with it. With all of those things I think you can probably find some kind of cadence that allows you to switch these things back and forth on most turns.
I will say — and this is my personal feeling, separate from what the rules say — that as a DM I find this kind of weapon-juggling stuff to be really tedious and my expectation is usually that if a character is going to be regularly using a weapon in one hand and a separate spellcasting focus in the other at the same time, that weapon should be a one-handed weapon.
pronouns: he/she/they
I agree, without a believable reason to be doing it in character, I’d try to avoid it. I’ll likely be using my spell slots on Eldritch Smite anyway. But at least if I’ve felled an enemy and want to Blast someone further away next turn, RAW don’t expressly prohibit it.
Again, appreciate the help!
Gets even more tedious with items like Sentinel Shield . Again it says you have to be holding it to gain the advantage rolls it grants, so there is constant player having to say they drew it, or judging the situation on whether they would or wouldn't have it out.
Thankfully the player with it is really honest about making those judgements and running them by me.
Though I have had other players that it would be a nightmare them trying to argue they had it out when it didn't make sense, or even saying 'I constantly have my shield out' - 'even when you are eating at an inn? Or asleep?'