You manifest a ravine of gravitational energy in a line originating from you that is 100 feet long and 5 feet wide. Each creature in that line must make a Constitution saving throw, taking 8d8 force damage on a failed save, or half as much damage on a successful one.
Each creature within 10 feet of the line but not in it must succeed on a Constitution saving throw or take 8d8 force damage and be pulled toward the line until the creature is in its area.
——————————————————————————————————
This seems like the caster of this spell would have to make the saving throw for being within 10ft of the effect. Only evocation wizards would be able to avoid this. Am I reading this wrong?
Public Mod Note
(MellieDM):
Moved to Rules & Game Mechanics.
Interesting, but the spell's area of effect is greater than the line itself. The area the caster is in is outside the line, but they would still be inside the secondary area of effect which is not a line but is everything within 10' of the line.
A line extends from its point of origin in a straight path up to its length and covers an area defined by its width.
A line's point of origin is not included in the line's area of effect, unless you decide otherwise.
Right, but in this case there is a secondary area of effect extending from the line. So even though the point of origin isn’t in the primary area, it is in the secondary area right?
I'm more curious if the caster chooses to be the point of origin as the exclusion exclusion and someone is standing behind the caster who would still be within 10 feet of the next 5 feet of the linear AoE. Would that result in a shove on the caster into the effective AoE?
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
Human. Male. Possibly. Don't be a divider. My characters' backgrounds are written like instruction manuals rather than stories. My opinion and preferences don't mean you're wrong. I am 99.7603% convinced that the digital dice are messing with me. I roll high when nobody's looking and low when anyone else can see.🎲 “It's a bit early to be thinking about an epitaph. No?” will be my epitaph.
I have a secondary question about this spell. The second effect potentially does 8d8 damage and then pulls creatures within 10 feet into the range of the line. Would that then make them eligible to make the Con save for being in the area of the line? Or are the con saves from being in the line & within 10 feet of the line mutually exclusive?
You manifest a ravine of gravitational energy in a line originating from you that is 100 feet long and 5 feet wide. Each creature in that line must make a Constitution saving throw, taking 8d8 force damage on a failed save, or half as much damage on a successful one.
Each creature within 10 feet of the line but not in it must succeed on a Constitution saving throw or take 8d8 force damage and be pulled toward the line until the creature is in its area.
There's nothing establishing that one happens before or after the other, or that they're mutually exclusive. If you cast that line so that it passed 5-10 feet away from an enemy, I would have them roll a save or take 8d8 force damage, be pulled toward the line "until the creature is in its area," and then roll a second save to take either 8d8 or half 8d8.
That's the strength of the spell, that it deals 4d8-8d8 to those in its line, or 0-16d8 to those within 10 feet of it.
Look, if you're trying to find a black and white rule of "Yes it does" or "No it doesn't" affect you, you won't find it. While I do think that the caster would be in the AOE, I don't think that as a DM, that I would make it effect the caster. If a spell is self-detrimental, then why cast it? Or even learn/prepare it in the first place? So in my opinion, it wouldn't effect the caster.
There's nothing establishing that one happens before or after the other, or that they're mutually exclusive. If you cast that line so that it passed 5-10 feet away from an enemy, I would have them roll a save or take 8d8 force damage, be pulled toward the line "until the creature is in its area," and then roll a second save to take either 8d8 or half 8d8.
That's the strength of the spell, that it deals 4d8-8d8 to those in its line, or 0-16d8 to those within 10 feet of it.
I'd disagree with this tbh. The spells duration is "Instantaneous" which means that all effect happens simultaneously. The fact that we as players/DM's usually roll/apply it sequentially doesn't (and shouldn't) change that.
There's nothing establishing that one happens before or after the other, or that they're mutually exclusive. If you cast that line so that it passed 5-10 feet away from an enemy, I would have them roll a save or take 8d8 force damage, be pulled toward the line "until the creature is in its area," and then roll a second save to take either 8d8 or half 8d8.
That's the strength of the spell, that it deals 4d8-8d8 to those in its line, or 0-16d8 to those within 10 feet of it.
I'd disagree with this tbh. The spells duration is "Instantaneous" which means that all effect happens simultaneously. The fact that we as players/DM's usually roll/apply it sequentially doesn't (and shouldn't) change that.
Xanathar’s rules for simultaneous effects say they actually do happen sequentially from a mechanical standpoint (if they both happen to one target at the same time) but I would say that if the intent of the fissure was to make the pulled creature take the lines “area” damage, it would say so (spells only do what they say they do). As written, I would say a creature either takes 8d8 or 4d8 if in the line, or (if 10 feet away) they take 8d8 or 0. The damage doesn’t double and the effects are mutually exclusive
You manifest a ravine of gravitational energy in a line originating from you that is 100 feet long and 5 feet wide. Each creature in that line must make a Constitution saving throw, taking 8d8 force damage on a failed save, or half as much damage on a successful one.
Each creature within 10 feet of the line but not in it must succeed on a Constitution saving throw or take 8d8 force damage and be pulled toward the line until the creature is in its area.
——————————————————————————————————
This seems like the caster of this spell would have to make the saving throw for being within 10ft of the effect. Only evocation wizards would be able to avoid this. Am I reading this wrong?
I don't believe that is what was intended, but I believe that is what it means by RAW.
She/Her Player and Dungeon Master
From the Player's Handbook:
Homebrew Rules || Homebrew FAQ || Snippet Codes || Tooltips
DDB Guides & FAQs, Class Guides, Character Builds, Game Guides, Useful Websites, and WOTC Resources
Interesting, but the spell's area of effect is greater than the line itself. The area the caster is in is outside the line, but they would still be inside the secondary area of effect which is not a line but is everything within 10' of the line.
She/Her Player and Dungeon Master
Right, but in this case there is a secondary area of effect extending from the line. So even though the point of origin isn’t in the primary area, it is in the secondary area right?
What I gather is that you could include yourself in the line from the start and not be pulled at all.
Homebrew Rules || Homebrew FAQ || Snippet Codes || Tooltips
DDB Guides & FAQs, Class Guides, Character Builds, Game Guides, Useful Websites, and WOTC Resources
In games that I DM, I will simply rule that the line only affects the sides, not the ends, of the line. But that would not follow RAW.
She/Her Player and Dungeon Master
I'm more curious if the caster chooses to be the point of origin as the exclusion exclusion and someone is standing behind the caster who would still be within 10 feet of the next 5 feet of the linear AoE. Would that result in a shove on the caster into the effective AoE?
Human. Male. Possibly. Don't be a divider.
My characters' backgrounds are written like instruction manuals rather than stories. My opinion and preferences don't mean you're wrong.
I am 99.7603% convinced that the digital dice are messing with me. I roll high when nobody's looking and low when anyone else can see.🎲
“It's a bit early to be thinking about an epitaph. No?” will be my epitaph.
As I read it, this seems like this was probably the intent.
I have a secondary question about this spell. The second effect potentially does 8d8 damage and then pulls creatures within 10 feet into the range of the line. Would that then make them eligible to make the Con save for being in the area of the line? Or are the con saves from being in the line & within 10 feet of the line mutually exclusive?
Gravity Fissure
There's nothing establishing that one happens before or after the other, or that they're mutually exclusive. If you cast that line so that it passed 5-10 feet away from an enemy, I would have them roll a save or take 8d8 force damage, be pulled toward the line "until the creature is in its area," and then roll a second save to take either 8d8 or half 8d8.
That's the strength of the spell, that it deals 4d8-8d8 to those in its line, or 0-16d8 to those within 10 feet of it.
dndbeyond.com forum tags
I'm going to make this way harder than it needs to be.
Look, if you're trying to find a black and white rule of "Yes it does" or "No it doesn't" affect you, you won't find it. While I do think that the caster would be in the AOE, I don't think that as a DM, that I would make it effect the caster. If a spell is self-detrimental, then why cast it? Or even learn/prepare it in the first place? So in my opinion, it wouldn't effect the caster.
I'd disagree with this tbh. The spells duration is "Instantaneous" which means that all effect happens simultaneously. The fact that we as players/DM's usually roll/apply it sequentially doesn't (and shouldn't) change that.
Xanathar’s rules for simultaneous effects say they actually do happen sequentially from a mechanical standpoint (if they both happen to one target at the same time) but I would say that if the intent of the fissure was to make the pulled creature take the lines “area” damage, it would say so (spells only do what they say they do). As written, I would say a creature either takes 8d8 or 4d8 if in the line, or (if 10 feet away) they take 8d8 or 0. The damage doesn’t double and the effects are mutually exclusive