I've read through this thread and still have a question. As written, there are ZERO attack spells which can be twinned. I did a search in 'Spells' with the filter, 'Range attack' and not one fits the description given by the metamagic 'Twinned Spell'.
Twinned Spell
Cost: 1 Sorcery Point
When you cast a spell, such as Charm Person, that can be cast with a higher-level spell slot to target an additional creature, you can spend 1 Sorcery Point to increase the spell’s effective level by 1.
So it only affects spells which get more targets by higher level, which far as I can find is not any attack or damaging spell.
Has it truly been neutered so much?
Evan
Well, there are a few damage spells that fire multiple projectiles that can (but don't have to be) directed at different targets, and in which upcasting them provides additional projectiles which could then be used on additional targets. Magic Missile and Scorching Ray come to mind. It's not super clear whether these spells should count for Twinned Spell, but I tend to think they should, partly because it makes the new version a little less awful.
FYI, questions like this are generally better asked in their own thread rather than digging up an unrelated old thread.
Yea, but I have looked at all of them I can find and Magic Missile, Scorching Ray, etc already have the ability to hit multiple targets. The raising of level is not what makes this possible, and like the given example, Charm person explicitly states that raising the level is what makes them hit more than 1 target.
Yea, but I have looked at all of them I can find and Magic Missile, Scorching Ray, etc already have the ability to hit multiple targets. The raising of level is not what makes this possible, and like the given example, Charm person explicitly states that raising the level is what makes them hit more than 1 target.
Right, but the new version of Twinned Spell does not exclude spells that can already target multiple targets. That was the case in the 2014 version, but not in the new version.
It doesn't exclude anything, but in print states unequivocally that when casting a spell that lets you target multiple targets by elevating the casting level you may twin the spell. If a spell does not meet that criteria, it cannot be twinned. Sometimes the rules are fuzzy in 5e/One Dnd...but not here it seems.
I can see where them not specifically saying you cannot do a thing might be interpreted as you CAN do the thing, but when the sign says you have to be tall to ride this ride, you cant get on just cause it didn't say you couldn't be short.
It doesn't exclude anything, but in print states unequivocally that when casting a spell that lets you target multiple targets by elevating the casting level you may twin the spell. If a spell does not meet that criteria, it cannot be twinned. Sometimes the rules are fuzzy in 5e/One Dnd...but not here it seems.
I can see where them not specifically saying you cannot do a thing might be interpreted as you CAN do the thing, but when the sign says you have to be tall to ride this ride, you cant get on just cause it didn't say you couldn't be short.
That's not what it says, though. What it says is
When you cast a spell, such as Charm Person, that can be cast with a higher-level spell slot to target an additional creature...
It does not say anything about it only applying to spells that don't already target multiple creatures (again, that was something from the 2014 version that's no longer present). It only says that it has to be a spell that can target an additional creature (i.e., one more creature than it already targets) when upcast. It's perfectly fine to use it on a spell that already targets multiple creatures, as long as upcasting it would target an additional creature.
Well, there are a few damage spells that fire multiple projectiles that can (but don't have to be) directed at different targets, and in which upcasting them provides additional projectiles which could then be used on additional targets. Magic Missile and Scorching Ray come to mind. It's not super clear whether these spells should count for Twinned Spell, but I tend to think they should, partly because it makes the new version a little less awful.
FYI, questions like this are generally better asked in their own thread rather than digging up an unrelated old thread.
pronouns: he/she/they
Yea, but I have looked at all of them I can find and Magic Missile, Scorching Ray, etc already have the ability to hit multiple targets. The raising of level is not what makes this possible, and like the given example, Charm person explicitly states that raising the level is what makes them hit more than 1 target.
Right, but the new version of Twinned Spell does not exclude spells that can already target multiple targets. That was the case in the 2014 version, but not in the new version.
pronouns: he/she/they
It doesn't exclude anything, but in print states unequivocally that when casting a spell that lets you target multiple targets by elevating the casting level you may twin the spell. If a spell does not meet that criteria, it cannot be twinned. Sometimes the rules are fuzzy in 5e/One Dnd...but not here it seems.
I can see where them not specifically saying you cannot do a thing might be interpreted as you CAN do the thing, but when the sign says you have to be tall to ride this ride, you cant get on just cause it didn't say you couldn't be short.
That's not what it says, though. What it says is
It does not say anything about it only applying to spells that don't already target multiple creatures (again, that was something from the 2014 version that's no longer present). It only says that it has to be a spell that can target an additional creature (i.e., one more creature than it already targets) when upcast. It's perfectly fine to use it on a spell that already targets multiple creatures, as long as upcasting it would target an additional creature.
pronouns: he/she/they