quite new to this forum, so if I should ask this another place, please tell me.
Now, I'm running LMoP for a couple of friends, and when it got to fighting
the group of Stirges in Wave Echo Cave
one of my players (who plays Druid) asked to cast Entangle. However, Entangle reads as:
Grasping weeds and vines sprout from the ground in a 20-foot square starting from a point within range. For the duration, these plants turn the ground in the area into difficult terrain.
A creature in the area when you cast the spell must succeed on a Strength saving throw or be restrained by the entangling plants until the spell ends. A creature restrained by the plants can use its action to make a Strength check against your spell save DC. On a success, it frees itself.
When the spell ends, the conjured plants wilt away.
Now, as the enemy is flying, I spotted a couple of things in the description which led me to tell him this action would not lead to the result he desired.
"sprout from the ground". Hence, the spell effect starts at (or slightly below) ground level and has an upwards direction, or maybe perpendicular to the ground.
"square", telling me that the spell effect has an area rather than a volume.
the is no reach or height given.
"turn the ground in the area", meaning that it shouldn't bother creatures with flying speed moving through that area after the spell has been cast.
I interpret this as creating vines which grow tall enough to wrap around stuff which is standing in the casting area at that moment. I cannot for the life of me imagine, though, this spell to be able to catch flying creatures mid-air if they are not very close to ground level. The spell does not differentiate between ground-based and flying creatures, however if you would allow to Entangle flying creatures, does it stop somewhere or can I catch a dragon 1000 feet above me with it?
My question to you guys: Would you have ruled differently or in the same way? Are there maybe additional official rulings which take a stance on that which I have missed? How do you deal with similar issues in general?
Very interested in your feedback, both to this specific issue and in general.
If they are in a cave I would allow the roots and vines to come from a wall or ceiling. Targets would only be affected if they were within 5 feet of the area (flying, climbing, etc)
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
"Sooner or later, your Players are going to smash your railroad into a sandbox."
-Vedexent
"real life is a super high CR."
-OboeLauren
"............anybody got any potatoes? We could drop a potato in each hole an' see which ones get viciously mauled by horrible monsters?"
If they are in a cave I would allow the roots and vines to come from a wall or ceiling. Targets would only be affected if they were within 5 feet of the area (flying, climbing, etc)
I must say I like that ruling, I think I will keep that in mind (and also talk with my Druid about it).
I saw a DM put no height limit on it. Funny scenario, but it did bug me that the spell seems to indicate a surface area as if needing to be touched while the use was a near-infinite column of volume to snatch something chasing after a flying ship. A tiny, low-level Goblin PC calling up long vines from the ground far below... Might as well have been a minor deity at that point.
My interpretation is it designates a surface that needs to be stood upon, not flown above it.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
Human. Male. Possibly. Don't be a divider. My characters' backgrounds are written like instruction manuals rather than stories. My opinion and preferences don't mean you're wrong. I am 99.7603% convinced that the digital dice are messing with me. I roll high when nobody's looking and low when anyone else can see.🎲 “It's a bit early to be thinking about an epitaph. No?” will be my epitaph.
I'd think it would depend on how high the Stirges were flying. If they were within say 10 feet of the ground (or, since this is a cave, the walls or ceiling), then perhaps they make a Dex check to dodge as the vines spring forth. Some might dodge it, some might not. If they were higher than that, though, I'd say probably not.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
Hi guys,
quite new to this forum, so if I should ask this another place, please tell me.
Now, I'm running LMoP for a couple of friends, and when it got to fighting
the group of Stirges in Wave Echo Cave
one of my players (who plays Druid) asked to cast Entangle. However, Entangle reads as:
Now, as the enemy is flying, I spotted a couple of things in the description which led me to tell him this action would not lead to the result he desired.
I interpret this as creating vines which grow tall enough to wrap around stuff which is standing in the casting area at that moment. I cannot for the life of me imagine, though, this spell to be able to catch flying creatures mid-air if they are not very close to ground level. The spell does not differentiate between ground-based and flying creatures, however if you would allow to Entangle flying creatures, does it stop somewhere or can I catch a dragon 1000 feet above me with it?
My question to you guys: Would you have ruled differently or in the same way? Are there maybe additional official rulings which take a stance on that which I have missed? How do you deal with similar issues in general?
Very interested in your feedback, both to this specific issue and in general.
Best wishes and thanks in advance.
It's a 20ft square not cube. So something above the ground wouldn't be affected unfortunately...but a DM can rule as they please.
I've seen people use it at sea. Before the DM could deny them they worded it as a tangle of seaweed. The DM paused nodded his head smiled and agreed.
If they are in a cave I would allow the roots and vines to come from a wall or ceiling. Targets would only be affected if they were within 5 feet of the area (flying, climbing, etc)
"Sooner or later, your Players are going to smash your railroad into a sandbox."
-Vedexent
"real life is a super high CR."
-OboeLauren
"............anybody got any potatoes? We could drop a potato in each hole an' see which ones get viciously mauled by horrible monsters?"
-Ilyara Thundertale
Hey guys, thanks for the responses.
DM sounds like a chill dude. Would agree with your sentiment that anything above the ground wouldn't be affected.
I must say I like that ruling, I think I will keep that in mind (and also talk with my Druid about it).
Thanks again, guys :-)
I saw a DM put no height limit on it. Funny scenario, but it did bug me that the spell seems to indicate a surface area as if needing to be touched while the use was a near-infinite column of volume to snatch something chasing after a flying ship. A tiny, low-level Goblin PC calling up long vines from the ground far below... Might as well have been a minor deity at that point.
My interpretation is it designates a surface that needs to be stood upon, not flown above it.
Human. Male. Possibly. Don't be a divider.
My characters' backgrounds are written like instruction manuals rather than stories. My opinion and preferences don't mean you're wrong.
I am 99.7603% convinced that the digital dice are messing with me. I roll high when nobody's looking and low when anyone else can see.🎲
“It's a bit early to be thinking about an epitaph. No?” will be my epitaph.
To catch flying things, you should use Earthbind.
"Sooner or later, your Players are going to smash your railroad into a sandbox."
-Vedexent
"real life is a super high CR."
-OboeLauren
"............anybody got any potatoes? We could drop a potato in each hole an' see which ones get viciously mauled by horrible monsters?"
-Ilyara Thundertale
I'd think it would depend on how high the Stirges were flying. If they were within say 10 feet of the ground (or, since this is a cave, the walls or ceiling), then perhaps they make a Dex check to dodge as the vines spring forth. Some might dodge it, some might not. If they were higher than that, though, I'd say probably not.