Seeing as this restriction makes an otherwise cool item functionally useless for 80% of classes I'll take the option that lets my players have more fun. Enjoy your rules.
The idea of wielding a 2 handed weapon or dual wielding while still gaining the benefits of wearing a shield seems rather useful for 80%+ of the classes in the game to me.
Rules as Written, the Animated Shield says it "protects you as if you were wielding it" - so that means you get the +2 AC from it.
It does not say "You are considered to be wielding it" or "you are wielding it" or "you get the effects from wielding it" etc etc... so effects of wielding a shield that aren't the "protection" part don't apply. It protects you as if you were wielding it, but it doesn't impair you as if you were wielding it.
This was the best and most correct answer in this thread.
While this magic item is technically a shield, it is not being used as a shield when animated. Instead, this is a magic item that is being used and activated in the manner specified in its item description.
In the rules for Magic Items -> Using a Magic Item we have this:
A magic item’s description explains how the item works.
and in the rules for Magic Items -> Activating an Item we have this:
Activating some magic items requires a user to do something special, such as holding the item and uttering a command word. The description of each item category or individual item details how an item is activated.
and this:
Command Word
A command word is a word or phrase that must be spoken for an item to work.
Finally, let's look at the description for this particular magic item, the Animated Shield:
While holding this shield, you can speak its command word as a bonus action to cause it to animate. The shield leaps into the air and hovers in your space to protect you as if you were wielding it, leaving your hands free.
. . .
Wielding a shield increases your Armor Class by 2. You can benefit from only one shield at a time.
It is important to note that the setup for using this magic item is that you are holding the shield and NOT wielding it. This is actually a requirement or prerequisite that must be in place in order to proceed forward with speaking its command word. The word "wielding" actually appears twice later on within this very item description, so the words that were used in the description were chosen very specifically and carefully. In other words, you are basically preparing to throw this shield up into the air to let it do its thing. By rule, this is impossible to do while a shield is wielded, since:
The time it takes to don or doff a type of armor or a shield is shown in the Donning and Doffing Armor table.
Don.This is the time it takes to put on the item. You benefit from its AC only if you take the full time to don it.
Doff. This is the time it takes to take off the item. If you have help removing armor, reduce this time by half.
Category
Don
Doff
Light Armor
1 minute
1 minute
Medium Armor
5 minutes
1 minute
Heavy Armor
10 minutes
5 minutes
Shield
1 action
1 action
So, the character who plans to use this animated feature as quickly as possible is NOT wielding the shield, they are simply holding it. Therefore, the proficiency benefits AND the AC benefits do NOT apply to ANY character while holding the item in this way. Even a Fighter does NOT gain +2 AC while holding the shield like this.
However, once the magic item is activated, ANY character receives the +2 AC benefit as indicated in the item description. In 5e, this benefit is conferred whether or not the character is proficient with the use of shields as seen here:
Armor Proficiency.Anyone can put on a suit of armor or strap a shield to an arm. Only those proficient in the armor's use know how to wear it effectively, however. Your class gives you proficiency with certain types of armor. If you wear armor that you lack proficiency with, you have disadvantage on any ability check, saving throw, or attack roll that involves Strength or Dexterity, and you can't cast spells.
So, a Wizard that lacks proficiency in the use of Shields CAN wield a shield and gain +2 to his AC. But, while that shield is wielded he will suffer disadvantage on the specified rolls and cannot cast spells.
The good news is that when using Animated Shield as a magic item, that shield is never actually wielded. It was not being wielded in the setup to use the item and it is still not being wielded while the item is in use. However, when used as a magic item, the effect specified in the item description specifically states that this magic item will "protect you as if you were wielding it". So, a Wizard without shield proficiency DOES get the +2 AC since this is the protection benefit that would be gained if he was wielding it, but he does NOT suffer disadvantage on any rolls and does NOT suffer from any inability to cast spells since the item is not actually being wielded and the item description does not say that it does this. Magic items do what they say.
(As an aside, since it is a shield, a Fighter cannot benefit from this shield AND another shield at the same time whether or not this shield is animated)
The rules say that If you wear armor that you lack proficiency with, you can't cast spells. While you don't wear a shield but wield one, the same consequences apply and according to the Dev, you are wielding a shield nonetheless game-wise otherwise game features wouldn't work with it,.
@TheTLang Would an Animated Shield count, while animated, as wielded for the purpose of Shield Master?
@JeremyECrawford The text of animated shield says the item protects you as if you were wielding it. To Shield Master and the like, you're wielding it.
To the people trying to argue semantics of whether or not you’re wielding it, official ruling is yes you are. If you’re gaining the benefit, you qualify as wielding it and are subject to all rules except those specifically superseded by the item.
Yes, this Sage Advice ruling exists. And like is so often the case with Sage Advice, this is an incorrect ruling. All it takes is a straightforward reading of the words that are used in the item description and the various rules that I referred to in my previous post to come to this conclusion in my opinion. You quite explicitly are not wielding the animated shield -- it literally "leaps into the air and hovers in your space . . . leaving your hands free". That's pretty much the opposite of wielding a shield.
Yes, this Sage Advice ruling exists. And like is so often the case with Sage Advice, this is an incorrect ruling. All it takes is a straightforward reading of the words that are used in the item description and the various rules that I referred to in my previous post to come to this conclusion in my opinion. You quite explicitly are not wielding the animated shield -- it literally "leaps into the air and hovers in your space . . . leaving your hands free". That's pretty much the opposite of wielding a shield.
And notably the ruling just happens to be wrong because it’s disallowing a major buff. As I already said, the fact that the shield stops acting if you’re incapacitated as well as the fact you can still use other features that require you to be wielding a shield is a clear indication that the wielder is still controlling it, rather than it being autonomous. You can’t have it both ways. There’s easier ways to get an AC buff on a Wizard in any case.
I do agree with this. We can't have the benefits of wielding a shield and also the benefits of not wielding it. In my interpretation we are not wielding an animated shield and therefore all of the consequences of not wielding the shield follow along with that. This means that all feats, features and other effects that rely on us wielding a shield would not apply. For example, I would say that we gain none of the benefits from our Shield Master feat while this shield is animated since we are not currently wielding a shield.
As I already said, the fact that the shield stops acting if you’re incapacitated as well as the fact you can still use other features that require you to be wielding a shield is a clear indication that the wielder is still controlling it, rather than it being autonomous.
I understand the logic there but I don't agree with any of this.
I DO believe that the shield acts autonomously. Under my interpretation, the fact that the item's activated effect ends early if the item's user becomes incapacitated or dies is simply a result of the attunement bond that is shared between that item and its user. The user can no longer act so therefore the shield also can no longer act. I admit that I don't know how consistent this sort of thing is with other magic items that require attunement.
Notice the active voice style of writing used in the statement "The shield leaps into the air and hovers in your space to protect you". IT hovers to protect YOU. IT is actively doing this without our control. Compare this to the normal rule for shields: "Wielding a shield increases your Armor Class by 2." In that case the shield is passive and only provides protection when YOU use it in the proper manner.
That's how I'm reading it anyway. In my opinion, we have already attuned with this magic item which allows the item to recognize our delivery of the command word. To use it, we now activate this item by vocalizing a command word as a Bonus Action. This causes a magical effect that lasts for 1 minute whereby the shield becomes animated and flies around nearby doing its own thing and under its own control. We do not have to maintain concentration. We do not expend more actions. We do not issue more commands. The effect is simply ongoing and we can forget about this completely while the shield does its thing. In such a case, there is no reason why we couldn't now cast spells -- we have completely forgotten about the shield at this point and our hand is free to do other things. We are not wielding the shield and all consequences of not wielding the shield should apply.
If you take the bonus action to activate the shield, it's only up for 10 rounds. Would you let someone draw both weapons that same round? Would you rule the benefits of both the +2 from the shield and +1 from Dual?
If you have the Dual Wielder feat, you can draw two weapons with one free action; otherwise RAW is that you only get one free object interaction per turn.
Yes to both. The activation of the Animated Shield uses your bonus action. Drawing or stowing two weapons uses your free object interaction as part of the Dual Wielder feat.
The only restriction of the Duel Wielder feat to get the +1AC is to wield a separate weapon in each hand. The only restriction on the animated shield (while it is activated) is that you can only benefit from one shield, with no mention of other AC bonuses such as the Duel Wielder. It also specifies that it leaves both your hands free while active, so I see no reason why you cannot benefit from both.
So you start the turn with your bonus action to activate the Animated shield and have it float in place for continuation of the +2AC without occupying one of your hands, then use your free object interaction to draw two weapons or a second weapon into the hand that held the shield and with the Duel Wielder feat you gain an additional +1AC for +3AC.
So does it mean you could attune to 3 of then and gain all 3 to add to ac
No you can't attune to more than one copy of an item at a time..
Attunement: Additionally, a creature can't attune to more than one copy of an item. For example, a creature can't attune to more than one ring of protection at a time.
Missed quote
The idea of wielding a 2 handed weapon or dual wielding while still gaining the benefits of wearing a shield seems rather useful for 80%+ of the classes in the game to me.
This was the best and most correct answer in this thread.
While this magic item is technically a shield, it is not being used as a shield when animated. Instead, this is a magic item that is being used and activated in the manner specified in its item description.
In the rules for Magic Items -> Using a Magic Item we have this:
and in the rules for Magic Items -> Activating an Item we have this:
and this:
Finally, let's look at the description for this particular magic item, the Animated Shield:
It is important to note that the setup for using this magic item is that you are holding the shield and NOT wielding it. This is actually a requirement or prerequisite that must be in place in order to proceed forward with speaking its command word. The word "wielding" actually appears twice later on within this very item description, so the words that were used in the description were chosen very specifically and carefully. In other words, you are basically preparing to throw this shield up into the air to let it do its thing. By rule, this is impossible to do while a shield is wielded, since:
So, the character who plans to use this animated feature as quickly as possible is NOT wielding the shield, they are simply holding it. Therefore, the proficiency benefits AND the AC benefits do NOT apply to ANY character while holding the item in this way. Even a Fighter does NOT gain +2 AC while holding the shield like this.
However, once the magic item is activated, ANY character receives the +2 AC benefit as indicated in the item description. In 5e, this benefit is conferred whether or not the character is proficient with the use of shields as seen here:
So, a Wizard that lacks proficiency in the use of Shields CAN wield a shield and gain +2 to his AC. But, while that shield is wielded he will suffer disadvantage on the specified rolls and cannot cast spells.
The good news is that when using Animated Shield as a magic item, that shield is never actually wielded. It was not being wielded in the setup to use the item and it is still not being wielded while the item is in use. However, when used as a magic item, the effect specified in the item description specifically states that this magic item will "protect you as if you were wielding it". So, a Wizard without shield proficiency DOES get the +2 AC since this is the protection benefit that would be gained if he was wielding it, but he does NOT suffer disadvantage on any rolls and does NOT suffer from any inability to cast spells since the item is not actually being wielded and the item description does not say that it does this. Magic items do what they say.
(As an aside, since it is a shield, a Fighter cannot benefit from this shield AND another shield at the same time whether or not this shield is animated)
Good news for unarmored defense!
"Not all those who wander are lost"
To the people trying to argue semantics of whether or not you’re wielding it, official ruling is yes you are. If you’re gaining the benefit, you qualify as wielding it and are subject to all rules except those specifically superseded by the item.
Yes, this Sage Advice ruling exists. And like is so often the case with Sage Advice, this is an incorrect ruling. All it takes is a straightforward reading of the words that are used in the item description and the various rules that I referred to in my previous post to come to this conclusion in my opinion. You quite explicitly are not wielding the animated shield -- it literally "leaps into the air and hovers in your space . . . leaving your hands free". That's pretty much the opposite of wielding a shield.
And notably the ruling just happens to be wrong because it’s disallowing a major buff. As I already said, the fact that the shield stops acting if you’re incapacitated as well as the fact you can still use other features that require you to be wielding a shield is a clear indication that the wielder is still controlling it, rather than it being autonomous. You can’t have it both ways. There’s easier ways to get an AC buff on a Wizard in any case.
I do agree with this. We can't have the benefits of wielding a shield and also the benefits of not wielding it. In my interpretation we are not wielding an animated shield and therefore all of the consequences of not wielding the shield follow along with that. This means that all feats, features and other effects that rely on us wielding a shield would not apply. For example, I would say that we gain none of the benefits from our Shield Master feat while this shield is animated since we are not currently wielding a shield.
I understand the logic there but I don't agree with any of this.
I DO believe that the shield acts autonomously. Under my interpretation, the fact that the item's activated effect ends early if the item's user becomes incapacitated or dies is simply a result of the attunement bond that is shared between that item and its user. The user can no longer act so therefore the shield also can no longer act. I admit that I don't know how consistent this sort of thing is with other magic items that require attunement.
Notice the active voice style of writing used in the statement "The shield leaps into the air and hovers in your space to protect you". IT hovers to protect YOU. IT is actively doing this without our control. Compare this to the normal rule for shields: "Wielding a shield increases your Armor Class by 2." In that case the shield is passive and only provides protection when YOU use it in the proper manner.
That's how I'm reading it anyway. In my opinion, we have already attuned with this magic item which allows the item to recognize our delivery of the command word. To use it, we now activate this item by vocalizing a command word as a Bonus Action. This causes a magical effect that lasts for 1 minute whereby the shield becomes animated and flies around nearby doing its own thing and under its own control. We do not have to maintain concentration. We do not expend more actions. We do not issue more commands. The effect is simply ongoing and we can forget about this completely while the shield does its thing. In such a case, there is no reason why we couldn't now cast spells -- we have completely forgotten about the shield at this point and our hand is free to do other things. We are not wielding the shield and all consequences of not wielding the shield should apply.
Animated shield + Dual Wield +1 AC
If you take the bonus action to activate the shield, it's only up for 10 rounds.
Would you let someone draw both weapons that same round?
Would you rule the benefits of both the +2 from the shield and +1 from Dual?
Thoughts?
If you have the Dual Wielder feat, you can draw two weapons with one free action; otherwise RAW is that you only get one free object interaction per turn.
Yes to both.
The activation of the Animated Shield uses your bonus action. Drawing or stowing two weapons uses your free object interaction as part of the Dual Wielder feat.
The only restriction of the Duel Wielder feat to get the +1AC is to wield a separate weapon in each hand. The only restriction on the animated shield (while it is activated) is that you can only benefit from one shield, with no mention of other AC bonuses such as the Duel Wielder. It also specifies that it leaves both your hands free while active, so I see no reason why you cannot benefit from both.
So you start the turn with your bonus action to activate the Animated shield and have it float in place for continuation of the +2AC without occupying one of your hands, then use your free object interaction to draw two weapons or a second weapon into the hand that held the shield and with the Duel Wielder feat you gain an additional +1AC for +3AC.
Amazing!
Wanted to get a structured response incase it comes up, and this was perfect.
So does it mean you could attune to 3 of then and gain all 3 to add to ac
No you can't attune to more than one copy of an item at a time..