As I recall, magic items, by default, fulfill the Material component of any spells they hold, but still require verbal and somatic action. Unless the item overtly states that the spells are performed in some other fashion.
I believe it depends on the ring. Like, I believe a Ring of Spell Storing follows its own rules while a Ring of Telekinesis just uses the [Tooltip Not Found] action.
As I recall, magic items, by default, fulfill the Material component of any spells they hold, but still require verbal and somatic action. Unless the item overtly states that the spells are performed in some other fashion.
No components at all. The general rule is: “The spell is cast at the lowest possible spell and caster level, doesn’t expend any of the user’s spell slots, and requires no components unless the item’s description says otherwise. The spell uses its normal casting time, range, and duration, and the user of the item must concentrate if the spell requires concentration.”
And this is explicitly not the Use an Object action: “If an item requires an action to activate, that action isn't a function of the Use an Object action, so a feature such as the rogue's Fast Hands can't be used to activate the item.”
It’s difficult to link on my phone, but these quotes are both from the DMG magic item subsection on “activating an item.”
And this is explicitly not the Use an Object action: “If an item requires an action to activate, that action isn't a function of the Use an Object action, so a feature such as the rogue's Fast Hands can't be used to activate the item.”
It’s difficult to link on my phone, but these quotes are both from the DMG magic item subsection on “activating an item.”
Thanks for the heads up!
Edit: I found the section to which you referred. I’ll add it here for convenience sake.
Activating an Item
Activating some magic items requires a user to do something in particular, such as holding the item and uttering a command word, reading the item if it is a scroll, or drinking it if it is a potion. The description of each item category or individual item details how an item is activated. Certain items use one or more of the following rules related to their activation.
If an item requires an action to activate, that action isn't a function of the Use an Object action, so a feature such as the rogue's Fast Hands can't be used to activate the item.
Command Word
A command word is a word or phrase that must be spoken audibly for the item to operate. A magic item that requires the user to speak a command word can’t be activated in the area of any effect that prevents sound, such as the area created by the silence spell.
Consumables
Some items are used up when they are activated. A potion or elixir must be swallowed, or an oil applied to the body. The writing vanishes from a scroll when it is read. Once used, a consumable item loses its magic and no longer functions.
Spells
Some magic items allow the user to cast a spell from the item, often by expending charges from it. The spell is cast at the lowest possible spell and caster level, doesn’t expend any of the user’s spell slots, and requires no components unless the item’s description says otherwise. The spell uses its normal casting time, range, and duration, and the user of the item must concentrate if the spell requires concentration. Many items, such as potions, bypass the casting of a spell and confer the spell’s effects with their usual duration. Certain items make exceptions to these rules, changing the casting time, duration, or other parts of a spell.
A magic item, such as certain staffs, may require you to use your own spellcasting ability when you cast a spell from the item. If you have more than one spellcasting ability, you choose which one to use with the item. If you don't have a spellcasting ability - perhaps you're a rogue with the Use Magic Device feature - your spellcasting ability modifier is +0 for the item, and your proficiency bonus does apply.
Charges
Some magic items have charges that you expend to activate its properties. The number of charges an item has remaining is revealed when an identify spell is cast on the item, or when a creature attunes to the item. Additionally, when an item regains charges, the creature attuned to that item learns how many charges it regained.
As Saga said, there's no need for components. IIRC, there are zero items which require the user to perform any VSM components to cast a spell from it; that would defeat one of the main features of this type of item.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
You don't know what fear is until you've witnessed a drunk bird divebombing you while carrying a screaming Kobold throwing fire anywhere and everywhere.
As I recall, magic items, by default, fulfill the Material component of any spells they hold, but still require verbal and somatic action. Unless the item overtly states that the spells are performed in some other fashion.
No components at all. The general rule is: “The spell is cast at the lowest possible spell and caster level, doesn’t expend any of the user’s spell slots, and requires no components unless the item’s description says otherwise. The spell uses its normal casting time, range, and duration, and the user of the item must concentrate if the spell requires concentration.”
Ah, thanks. I was misremembering "No components" as simply "No material components"
What you might be thinking of is spell scrolls, which say they can be cast “without providing any material components,” which certainly suggests that they do still require verbal and somatic components (I feel like I might even have said as much here a while back). But nothing in the description thereof actually says spell scrolls DO require any other components, so reading now I don’t think there’s any reason to rule that spell scrolls are at all an exception to the general case.
More likely the item entry was simply written without knowledge of that general case, either because it was an earlier point in development or because the particular designer who wrote it simply didn’t know.
A ring that gives the user the ability to cast a spell. Does it still need the Verbal/Somatic/Material components?
As I recall, magic items, by default, fulfill the Material component of any spells they hold, but still require verbal and somatic action. Unless the item overtly states that the spells are performed in some other fashion.
Watch Crits for Breakfast, an adults-only RP-Heavy Roll20 Livestream at twitch.tv/afterdisbooty
And now you too can play with the amazing art and assets we use in Roll20 for our campaign at Hazel's Emporium
I believe it depends on the ring. Like, I believe a Ring of Spell Storing follows its own rules while a Ring of Telekinesis just uses the [Tooltip Not Found] action.
Creating Epic Boons on DDB
DDB Buyers' Guide
Hardcovers, DDB & You
Content Troubleshooting
No components at all. The general rule is: “The spell is cast at the lowest possible spell and caster level, doesn’t expend any of the user’s spell slots, and requires no components unless the item’s description says otherwise. The spell uses its normal casting time, range, and duration, and the user of the item must concentrate if the spell requires concentration.”
And this is explicitly not the Use an Object action: “If an item requires an action to activate, that action isn't a function of the Use an Object action, so a feature such as the rogue's Fast Hands can't be used to activate the item.”
It’s difficult to link on my phone, but these quotes are both from the DMG magic item subsection on “activating an item.”
Thanks for the heads up!
Edit: I found the section to which you referred. I’ll add it here for convenience sake.
Creating Epic Boons on DDB
DDB Buyers' Guide
Hardcovers, DDB & You
Content Troubleshooting
As Saga said, there's no need for components. IIRC, there are zero items which require the user to perform any VSM components to cast a spell from it; that would defeat one of the main features of this type of item.
You don't know what fear is until you've witnessed a drunk bird divebombing you while carrying a screaming Kobold throwing fire anywhere and everywhere.
Ah, thanks. I was misremembering "No components" as simply "No material components"
Watch Crits for Breakfast, an adults-only RP-Heavy Roll20 Livestream at twitch.tv/afterdisbooty
And now you too can play with the amazing art and assets we use in Roll20 for our campaign at Hazel's Emporium
What you might be thinking of is spell scrolls, which say they can be cast “without providing any material components,” which certainly suggests that they do still require verbal and somatic components (I feel like I might even have said as much here a while back). But nothing in the description thereof actually says spell scrolls DO require any other components, so reading now I don’t think there’s any reason to rule that spell scrolls are at all an exception to the general case.
More likely the item entry was simply written without knowledge of that general case, either because it was an earlier point in development or because the particular designer who wrote it simply didn’t know.
This page is going straight in my favorites!