Just the interpretation of using your item interactions. if you pull out a spell component to cast a spell, that uses your item interaction. You can't put it away until next round. To re-grasp your sword, you'd have to use a free action to drop the spell component on the ground. Shield isn't a problem since it has no material component (sword and shield users have a different problem with the shield spell, but that's another story). Other spells with material components aren't as forgiving as shield for two handed users.
Ruby of the Warmage solves most problems though, it should be stated.
This is incorrect. You access your components as part of the Cast a Spell action. You need a free hand to access them, But the Use an Object interaction does not figure in, as at no point do you have to actually hold the components (at least, not “hold” as a game mechanic). You could just be reaching into your pouch to touch them (again, as part of the Cast a Spell action)
a focus is a different thing; you do have to hold that, per RAW. That is why for an Eldritch Knight a component pouch would definitely be the better option
There is no rule at all about no re-grasping a 2h weapon - that is a Crzyhawk house rule. You are free to cast a spell and then as the last part of your turn, grab hold of your 2h weapon. Then on your reaction, you have 2 hands on it again.
There is a rule that you can only draw or sheath a weapon once per round unless you have twf. But grasping a weapon is not drawing or sheathing.
Not a houserule, a misinterpretation perhaps, but not a house rule.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
Any time an unfathomably powerful entity sweeps in and offers godlike rewards in return for just a few teensy favors, it’s a scam. Unless it’s me. I’d never lie to you, reader dearest.
Putting your other hand on a Two-Handed weapon is a non-action.
Accessing components for a spell is a non-action.
We have a phrase to describe when someone runs their games differently from how the codified rules work: house rules.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
You don't know what fear is until you've witnessed a drunk bird divebombing you while carrying a screaming Kobold throwing fire anywhere and everywhere.
Putting your other hand on a Two-Handed weapon is a non-action.
Accessing components for a spell is a non-action.
We have a phrase to describe when someone runs their games differently from how the codified rules work: house rules.
Accessing spell components most certainly can be an Action RAW. Pulling out (or putting away) one component per turn can be done for free as the PC’s Free Item Interaction. If they need to pull out a second one for a particular spell, that would require a full action for the turn. For components that would be covered by the use of a Focus (or pouch) it is a nonissue. But for those pesky components with listed costs that cannot be substituted for with a focus, each one would technically need to be pulled individually. That is actually RAW as another way to limit the Action Economy of a spellcaster.
But stuff like switching a weapon from hand to hand or placing/removing a hand from a two-handed or versatile weapon, then you’re absolutely correct that it requires no action whatsoever.
Putting your other hand on a Two-Handed weapon is a non-action.
Accessing components for a spell is a non-action.
We have a phrase to describe when someone runs their games differently from how the codified rules work: house rules.
Accessing spell components most certainly can be an Action RAW. Pulling out (or putting away) one component per turn can be done for free as the PC’s Free Item Interaction. If they need to pull out a second one for a particular spell, that would require a full action for the turn. For components that would be covered by the use of a Focus (or pouch) it is a nonissue. But for those pesky components with listed costs that cannot be substituted for with a focus, each one would technically need to be pulled individually. That is actually RAW as another way to limit the Action Economy of a spellcaster.
But stuff like switching a weapon from hand to hand or placing/removing a hand from a two-handed or versatile weapon, then you’re absolutely correct that it requires no action whatsoever.
Reference on the material component interpretation?
Admittedly it is largely irrelevant since I cannot think of a single spell that requires two or more of those special priced components that also has a Casting Time less than an hour. Someone else might, but I cannot think of any off the top of my head.
However, if a caster is not using a Focus or Component Pouch, then they have to interact with each and every component individually. So for instance, if casting Chain Lightning, one requires: * - (a bit of fur; a piece of amber, glass, or a crystal rod; and three silver pins). So it could be a free interaction to pull out the bit of fur, piece of amber, glass, or a crystal rod (those are dealer’s choice) and then a second interaction to pull out the three silver pins. That’s one of the reasons why it’s so important to have a Component Pouch since one can just stick that stuff in there and wave it around like a Gris Gris Bag and only have to interact with one thing. Or use a Focus as it effectively accomplishes the same thing.
Casting some spells requires particular objects, specified in parentheses in the component entry. A character can use a component pouch or a spellcasting focus (found in “Equipment”) in place of the components specified for a spell. But if a cost is indicated for a component, a character must have that specific component before he or she can cast the spell.
If a spell states that a material component is consumed by the spell, the caster must provide this component for each casting of the spell. A spellcaster must have a hand free to access a spell's material components -- or to hold a spellcasting focus -- but it can be the same hand that he or she uses to perform somatic components.
Your turn can include a variety of flourishes that require neither your action nor your move.
You can communicate however you are able, through brief utterances and gestures, as you take your turn.
You can also interact with one object or feature of the environment for free, during either your move or your action. For example, you could open a door during your move as you stride toward a foe, or you could draw your weapon as part of the same action you use to attack.
If you want to interact with a second object, you need to use your action. Some magic items and other special objects always require an action to use, as stated in their descriptions.
The DM might require you to use an action for any of these activities when it needs special care or when it presents an unusual obstacle. For instance, the DM could reasonably expect you to use an action to open a stuck door or turn a crank to lower a drawbridge.
You normally interact with an object while doing something else, such as when you draw a sword as part of an attack. When an object requires your action for its use, you take the Use an Object action. This action is also useful when you want to interact with more than one object on your turn.
Admittedly it is largely irrelevant since I cannot think of a single spell that requires two or more of those special coated components that also has a Casting Time less than an hour. Someone else might, but I cannot think of any off the top of my head.
However, if a faster is not using a Focus or Component Pouch, then they have to interact with each and every component individually. So for instance, if casting Chain Lightning, one requires: * - (a bit of fur; a piece of amber, glass, or a crystal rod; and three silver pins). So it could be a free interaction to pull out the bit of fur, piece of amber, glass, or a crystal rod (those are dealer’s choice) and then a second interaction to pull out the three silver pins. That’s one of the reasons why it’s so important to have a Component Pouch since one can just stick that stuff in there and wave it around like a Gris Gris Bag and only have to interact with one thing. Or use a Focus as it effectively accomplishes the same thing.
Casting some spells requires particular objects, specified in parentheses in the component entry. A character can use a component pouch or a spellcasting focus (found in “Equipment”) in place of the components specified for a spell. But if a cost is indicated for a component, a character must have that specific component before he or she can cast the spell.
If a spell states that a material component is consumed by the spell, the caster must provide this component for each casting of the spell. A spellcaster must have a hand free to access a spell's material components -- or to hold a spellcasting focus -- but it can be the same hand that he or she uses to perform somatic components.
Your turn can include a variety of flourishes that require neither your action nor your move.
You can communicate however you are able, through brief utterances and gestures, as you take your turn.
You can also interact with one object or feature of the environment for free, during either your move or your action. For example, you could open a door during your move as you stride toward a foe, or you could draw your weapon as part of the same action you use to attack.
If you want to interact with a second object, you need to use your action. Some magic items and other special objects always require an action to use, as stated in their descriptions.
The DM might require you to use an action for any of these activities when it needs special care or when it presents an unusual obstacle. For instance, the DM could reasonably expect you to use an action to open a stuck door or turn a crank to lower a drawbridge.
You normally interact with an object while doing something else, such as when you draw a sword as part of an attack. When an object requires your action for its use, you take the Use an Object action. This action is also useful when you want to interact with more than one object on your turn.
I'm not seeing anything there that says that the Cast a Spell action doesn't provide all the interaction that is required for components to cast a spell.
Shillelagh, Flaming Sphere, and [Tooltip Not Found] were the three that I found that could have combat applications from the Druid list between cantrip and 2nd level spells that all under these conditions. Fireball has two. Your example of Call Lightning actually has three different components as the fur is separate from the next list of components and the silver pins, at least per your quote. Per your interpretation, each of these spells would take at least 2 turns to cast without a focus or component pouch.
Your interpretation further complicates spell casting for Rangers, Eldritch Knights, and Arcane Tricksters who do not have the ability to use a spellcasting focus for their spells and do not have the option to pick up a component pouch as part of their starting kit without taking the substandard method of choosing gold over equipment.
When I see that casting Shillelagh takes 1 bonus action to cast and has a material component cost of mistletoe, a shamrock leaf, and a club or quarterstaff, I'm expecting that if I have those components on my person, I'll be able to cast it without having to be holding my weapon and with my other hand pull the other two components out and bring them to my staff hand with my free interaction and action. Why? Because nothing says otherwise within the spell and nothing says otherwise within the spellcasting rules.
I can understand a DM making that ruling based on how they see their world running, and I can certainly see that being how spellcasting worked in another edition of D&D or in another system, but I'm failing to see how it works that way in 5e. If that was the intention, I would expect the list of things that you can do while moving to include interacting with spellcasting components since that is a large portion of the game for a large portion of classes and would include the component pouch.
While not discounting the notion that material components may be considered as discrete objects requiring the use of object interaction, the material component rule doesn't say that. It does not say that you have to hold the components (where it does say you need to hold a focus), nor does it say that you need to handle multiple material components individually.
This can all be resolved quite easily by simply considering how someone without any component pouch or focus (because that is what D&D5e considers the default state to be) would cast a spell. Pulling the 1st spell I clicked on with a material component, how would someone cast Acid Arrow? It has two material components: powdered rhubarb leaf, and an adder's stomach. If manipulating a material component qualifies as object interaction, they'd need to use an action to manipulate the second component, and then they'd have no action to actually cast the spell. Does that sound right to you?
Let's say we strike the notion of needing to manipulate materials individually, and assume manipulating all the components of a single spell can be done with one interaction (using one free object interaction in conjunction with the [Tooltip Not Found] action). How could you follow up with a bonus action spell? How could you cast another spell with Action Surge? I find it impossible to believe the RAI is such that casters without a focus/pouch are only allowed to cast V/VS spells if they've already cast a spell with a material component. Such a rule would have to be explicitly defined.
The only absolute is that you need a free hand to access them.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
You don't know what fear is until you've witnessed a drunk bird divebombing you while carrying a screaming Kobold throwing fire anywhere and everywhere.
The component pouch also wouldn't cover the material components that have a stated cost to them. This would mean that anything with a 1 action casting time and a no cost material component and a cost material component is impossible to cast in 1 action. Spells such as Divination, Programmed Illusion, Leomund's Secret Chest would all be 12 second casts at least. Gentle Repose might fit, too. Further, Feather Fall, Gift of Gab, and Soul Cage would all be reactions that you could only take on your turn. Soul Cage means that Wizards and Warlocks have to kill a creature on their turn and not have used their free interaction (to cast say Fireball or used their bonus action to cast a spell, say Hex.
Sorry, I was working on an edit and saw that Sigred had posted.
Someone compared using a focus vs component pouch for an Eldritch Knight. Currently (pre-TCoE) a focus isn’t an option for an EK without UA.
A ruby of the war mage counts as a spellcasting focus for anyone attuned to it, even if their class cannot normally use a spellcasting focus
Which may not be supported by the DM, uses an attunement slot that may be desired for something else, is less readily available than a component pouch and likely more expensive. It may be an option, yes, but has several drawbacks of its own.
Someone compared using a focus vs component pouch for an Eldritch Knight. Currently (pre-TCoE) a focus isn’t an option for an EK without UA.
A ruby of the war mage counts as a spellcasting focus for anyone attuned to it, even if their class cannot normally use a spellcasting focus
Which may not be supported by the DM, uses an attunement slot that may be desired for something else, is less readily available than a component pouch and likely more expensive. It may be an option, yes, but has several drawbacks of its own.
All of your points may be true, and all are beside the point. The fact remains that Eldritch Knights (as well as Arcane Tricksters and rangers) have been able to use a spellcasting focus ever since XGtE; almost 3 years ago. Unearthed Arcana doesn't even fit into this equation. It was an erroneous claim.
Other than those that have cost, the actual material components are mostly fluff (and in some cases, an in-joke by the writers), so I 100% believe the RAI is that you don't need to retrieve all of the components prior to casting a spell if you don't have a pouch/focus. The RAW is also pretty clear in that it avoids the use of the word "hold" when discussing these components yet uses it in the next paragraph to describe the use of a focus. The mechanics of spellcasting and action economy break down when you rule this way (as Sigred and Jhfffan explained) as some spells become impossible to cast (or require so much forethought as to be practically so).
In practice, if the use of the Cast A Spell action (which is one of the most common in the game other than Attack) required actions and free actions to prepare, it would be paramount on the writers to explicitly say that. In the absence of that statement, the plain reading is that handling material components is either a non-action or part of the Cast a Spell action. This fits with the streamlined nature of 5e in that it avoids overly complicated processes for basic game elements.
Regardless of this issue, adding a second hand to a two-handed weapon when you are holding it with one hand is a non-action, so regardless of spellcasting complications, you can return the hand to the weapon without any issue (barring of course, you are using said hand to hold a focus)
Someone compared using a focus vs component pouch for an Eldritch Knight. Currently (pre-TCoE) a focus isn’t an option for an EK without UA.
A ruby of the war mage counts as a spellcasting focus for anyone attuned to it, even if their class cannot normally use a spellcasting focus
Which may not be supported by the DM, uses an attunement slot that may be desired for something else, is less readily available than a component pouch and likely more expensive. It may be an option, yes, but has several drawbacks of its own.
All of your points may be true, and all are beside the point. The fact remains that Eldritch Knights (as well as Arcane Tricksters and rangers) have been able to use a spellcasting focus ever since XGtE; almost 3 years ago. Unearthed Arcana doesn't even fit into this equation. It was an erroneous claim.
Please cite the rule for that since to the best of my knowledge this is not correct.
Spellcasting focus is mentioned only five times in XGtE and none of them refer to the use of a focus by EK or AT. There are a couple of common magic items (in particular the ruby of the war mage) that let you use an item as a spellcasting focus. However, it is a DM call as to whether having this actually gives the class the ability to USE a spellcasting focus.
"Etched with eldritch runes, this 1 inch diameter ruby allows you to use a simple or martial weapon as a spellcasting focus for your spells." However, it doesn't necessarily indicate that the class is now able to use a spellcasting focus unless it already has that class ability.
Other than that, I can't find any reference in XGtE allowing an EK or AT to make use of a spell casting focus instead of using a component pouch to cast spells.
Someone compared using a focus vs component pouch for an Eldritch Knight. Currently (pre-TCoE) a focus isn’t an option for an EK without UA.
A ruby of the war mage counts as a spellcasting focus for anyone attuned to it, even if their class cannot normally use a spellcasting focus
Which may not be supported by the DM, uses an attunement slot that may be desired for something else, is less readily available than a component pouch and likely more expensive. It may be an option, yes, but has several drawbacks of its own.
All of your points may be true, and all are beside the point. The fact remains that Eldritch Knights (as well as Arcane Tricksters and rangers) have been able to use a spellcasting focus ever since XGtE; almost 3 years ago. Unearthed Arcana doesn't even fit into this equation. It was an erroneous claim.
Nothing was said about Unearthed Arcana, at least by me. XGTE has to be supported for the campaign and the Ruby of the War Mage must be approved for use if XGTE is supported. Groups that don't have XGTE are assumed to be supported and are not. AL has PHB plus 1. Apparently the rules don't allow for several things this year, but under normal circumstances that could mean that the EK is choosing between the focus in XGTE or having either the race that the EK wants or SCAG cantrips. All of this to support a stance on spellcasting components that has mild support at best.
Someone compared using a focus vs component pouch for an Eldritch Knight. Currently (pre-TCoE) a focus isn’t an option for an EK without UA.
A ruby of the war mage counts as a spellcasting focus for anyone attuned to it, even if their class cannot normally use a spellcasting focus
Which may not be supported by the DM, uses an attunement slot that may be desired for something else, is less readily available than a component pouch and likely more expensive. It may be an option, yes, but has several drawbacks of its own.
All of your points may be true, and all are beside the point. The fact remains that Eldritch Knights (as well as Arcane Tricksters and rangers) have been able to use a spellcasting focus ever since XGtE; almost 3 years ago. Unearthed Arcana doesn't even fit into this equation. It was an erroneous claim.
Please cite the rule for that since to the best of my knowledge this is not correct.
Spellcasting focus is mentioned only five times in XGtE and none of them refer to the use of a focus by EK or AT. There are a couple of common magic items (in particular the ruby of the war mage) that let you use an item as a spellcasting focus. However, it is a DM call as to whether having this actually gives the class the ability to USE a spellcasting focus.
"Etched with eldritch runes, this 1 inch diameter ruby allows you to use a simple or martial weapon as a spellcasting focus for your spells." However, it doesn't necessarily indicate that the class is now able to use a spellcasting focus unless it already has that class ability.
Other than that, I can't find any reference in XGtE allowing an EK or AT to make use of a spell casting focus instead of using a component pouch to cast spells.
This is a good point since the actual class/subclass features do not allow for a focus by Rangers, Eldritch Knights or Arcane Tricksters. DMs can rule otherwise, but it's not explicitly supported by the rules text.
In the future, please read everything you respond to before putting fingers to keys. WolfOfTheBees stated, "a [spellcasting] focus isn't an option for an EK without UA." This is a patently false statement, whether they knew it or not. I'm not going to call them a liar because we miss things all the time. Jeremy Crawford was asked about it and gave guidance on the matter here.
I was correcting a misconception. We were not discussing what books a DM might allow or disallow in their private game. Nor were we discussing what is and isn't legal in Adventuer's League; which operates under its own rules.
In the future, please read everything you respond to before putting fingers to keys. WolfOfTheBees stated, "a [spellcasting] focus isn't an option for an EK without UA." This is a patently false statement, whether they knew it or not. I'm not going to call them a liar because we miss things all the time. Jeremy Crawford was asked about it and gave guidance on the matter here.
I was correcting a misconception. We were not discussing what books a DM might allow or disallow in their private game. Nor were we discussing what is and isn't legal in Adventuer's League; which operates under its own rules.
Certainly that may be the intent of the rule, but nothing in the Ruby or the class features sections indicates that Rangers, ATs or EKs say that the ruby grants those classes that are not already able to use a focus that ability. Only Jeremy's tweet does that. Reading the Ruby, it certainly doesn't lead me to believe that it does anything but allow a weapon to act as a focus. The ability to use a focus is granted by your spell-casting feature.
Without reading that tweet, none of your supposition would fall out of the text on the page.
Edit: Reading it a bit more closely, the wording on the ruby is similar to the wording on the spellcasting focus section within the spellcasting feature. I see how Jeremy got to his decision, but still don't think the way that it is written necessarily leads one to that conclusion immediately.
This is incorrect. You access your components as part of the Cast a Spell action. You need a free hand to access them, But the Use an Object interaction does not figure in, as at no point do you have to actually hold the components (at least, not “hold” as a game mechanic). You could just be reaching into your pouch to touch them (again, as part of the Cast a Spell action)
a focus is a different thing; you do have to hold that, per RAW. That is why for an Eldritch Knight a component pouch would definitely be the better option
There is no rule at all about no re-grasping a 2h weapon - that is a Crzyhawk house rule. You are free to cast a spell and then as the last part of your turn, grab hold of your 2h weapon. Then on your reaction, you have 2 hands on it again.
There is a rule that you can only draw or sheath a weapon once per round unless you have twf. But grasping a weapon is not drawing or sheathing.
Not a houserule, a misinterpretation perhaps, but not a house rule.
Any time an unfathomably powerful entity sweeps in and offers godlike rewards in return for just a few teensy favors, it’s a scam. Unless it’s me. I’d never lie to you, reader dearest.
Tasha
How is that not a house rule?
Putting your other hand on a Two-Handed weapon is a non-action.
Accessing components for a spell is a non-action.
We have a phrase to describe when someone runs their games differently from how the codified rules work: house rules.
You don't know what fear is until you've witnessed a drunk bird divebombing you while carrying a screaming Kobold throwing fire anywhere and everywhere.
Accessing spell components most certainly can be an Action RAW. Pulling out (or putting away) one component per turn can be done for free as the PC’s Free Item Interaction. If they need to pull out a second one for a particular spell, that would require a full action for the turn. For components that would be covered by the use of a Focus (or pouch) it is a nonissue. But for those pesky components with listed costs that cannot be substituted for with a focus, each one would technically need to be pulled individually. That is actually RAW as another way to limit the Action Economy of a spellcaster.
But stuff like switching a weapon from hand to hand or placing/removing a hand from a two-handed or versatile weapon, then you’re absolutely correct that it requires no action whatsoever.
Creating Epic Boons on DDB
DDB Buyers' Guide
Hardcovers, DDB & You
Content Troubleshooting
Reference on the material component interpretation?
Admittedly it is largely irrelevant since I cannot think of a single spell that requires two or more of those special priced components that also has a Casting Time less than an hour. Someone else might, but I cannot think of any off the top of my head.
However, if a caster is not using a Focus or Component Pouch, then they have to interact with each and every component individually. So for instance, if casting Chain Lightning, one requires: * - (a bit of fur; a piece of amber, glass, or a crystal rod; and three silver pins). So it could be a free interaction to pull out the bit of fur, piece of amber, glass, or a crystal rod (those are dealer’s choice) and then a second interaction to pull out the three silver pins. That’s one of the reasons why it’s so important to have a Component Pouch since one can just stick that stuff in there and wave it around like a Gris Gris Bag and only have to interact with one thing. Or use a Focus as it effectively accomplishes the same thing.
Creating Epic Boons on DDB
DDB Buyers' Guide
Hardcovers, DDB & You
Content Troubleshooting
Someone compared using a focus vs component pouch for an Eldritch Knight. Currently (pre-TCoE) a focus isn’t an option for an EK without UA.
A ruby of the war mage counts as a spellcasting focus for anyone attuned to it, even if their class cannot normally use a spellcasting focus
I'm not seeing anything there that says that the Cast a Spell action doesn't provide all the interaction that is required for components to cast a spell.
Shillelagh, Flaming Sphere, and [Tooltip Not Found] were the three that I found that could have combat applications from the Druid list between cantrip and 2nd level spells that all under these conditions. Fireball has two. Your example of Call Lightning actually has three different components as the fur is separate from the next list of components and the silver pins, at least per your quote. Per your interpretation, each of these spells would take at least 2 turns to cast without a focus or component pouch.
Your interpretation further complicates spell casting for Rangers, Eldritch Knights, and Arcane Tricksters who do not have the ability to use a spellcasting focus for their spells and do not have the option to pick up a component pouch as part of their starting kit without taking the substandard method of choosing gold over equipment.
When I see that casting Shillelagh takes 1 bonus action to cast and has a material component cost of mistletoe, a shamrock leaf, and a club or quarterstaff, I'm expecting that if I have those components on my person, I'll be able to cast it without having to be holding my weapon and with my other hand pull the other two components out and bring them to my staff hand with my free interaction and action. Why? Because nothing says otherwise within the spell and nothing says otherwise within the spellcasting rules.
I can understand a DM making that ruling based on how they see their world running, and I can certainly see that being how spellcasting worked in another edition of D&D or in another system, but I'm failing to see how it works that way in 5e. If that was the intention, I would expect the list of things that you can do while moving to include interacting with spellcasting components since that is a large portion of the game for a large portion of classes and would include the component pouch.
While not discounting the notion that material components may be considered as discrete objects requiring the use of object interaction, the material component rule doesn't say that. It does not say that you have to hold the components (where it does say you need to hold a focus), nor does it say that you need to handle multiple material components individually.
This can all be resolved quite easily by simply considering how someone without any component pouch or focus (because that is what D&D5e considers the default state to be) would cast a spell. Pulling the 1st spell I clicked on with a material component, how would someone cast Acid Arrow? It has two material components: powdered rhubarb leaf, and an adder's stomach. If manipulating a material component qualifies as object interaction, they'd need to use an action to manipulate the second component, and then they'd have no action to actually cast the spell. Does that sound right to you?
Let's say we strike the notion of needing to manipulate materials individually, and assume manipulating all the components of a single spell can be done with one interaction (using one free object interaction in conjunction with the [Tooltip Not Found] action). How could you follow up with a bonus action spell? How could you cast another spell with Action Surge? I find it impossible to believe the RAI is such that casters without a focus/pouch are only allowed to cast V/VS spells if they've already cast a spell with a material component. Such a rule would have to be explicitly defined.
The only absolute is that you need a free hand to access them.
You don't know what fear is until you've witnessed a drunk bird divebombing you while carrying a screaming Kobold throwing fire anywhere and everywhere.
The component pouch also wouldn't cover the material components that have a stated cost to them. This would mean that anything with a 1 action casting time and a no cost material component and a cost material component is impossible to cast in 1 action. Spells such as Divination, Programmed Illusion, Leomund's Secret Chest would all be 12 second casts at least. Gentle Repose might fit, too. Further, Feather Fall, Gift of Gab, and Soul Cage would all be reactions that you could only take on your turn. Soul Cage means that Wizards and Warlocks have to kill a creature on their turn and not have used their free interaction (to cast say Fireball or used their bonus action to cast a spell, say Hex.
Sorry, I was working on an edit and saw that Sigred had posted.
Which may not be supported by the DM, uses an attunement slot that may be desired for something else, is less readily available than a component pouch and likely more expensive. It may be an option, yes, but has several drawbacks of its own.
All of your points may be true, and all are beside the point. The fact remains that Eldritch Knights (as well as Arcane Tricksters and rangers) have been able to use a spellcasting focus ever since XGtE; almost 3 years ago. Unearthed Arcana doesn't even fit into this equation. It was an erroneous claim.
Other than those that have cost, the actual material components are mostly fluff (and in some cases, an in-joke by the writers), so I 100% believe the RAI is that you don't need to retrieve all of the components prior to casting a spell if you don't have a pouch/focus. The RAW is also pretty clear in that it avoids the use of the word "hold" when discussing these components yet uses it in the next paragraph to describe the use of a focus. The mechanics of spellcasting and action economy break down when you rule this way (as Sigred and Jhfffan explained) as some spells become impossible to cast (or require so much forethought as to be practically so).
In practice, if the use of the Cast A Spell action (which is one of the most common in the game other than Attack) required actions and free actions to prepare, it would be paramount on the writers to explicitly say that. In the absence of that statement, the plain reading is that handling material components is either a non-action or part of the Cast a Spell action. This fits with the streamlined nature of 5e in that it avoids overly complicated processes for basic game elements.
Regardless of this issue, adding a second hand to a two-handed weapon when you are holding it with one hand is a non-action, so regardless of spellcasting complications, you can return the hand to the weapon without any issue (barring of course, you are using said hand to hold a focus)
Please cite the rule for that since to the best of my knowledge this is not correct.
Spellcasting focus is mentioned only five times in XGtE and none of them refer to the use of a focus by EK or AT. There are a couple of common magic items (in particular the ruby of the war mage) that let you use an item as a spellcasting focus. However, it is a DM call as to whether having this actually gives the class the ability to USE a spellcasting focus.
"Etched with eldritch runes, this 1 inch diameter ruby allows you to use a simple or martial weapon as a spellcasting focus for your spells." However, it doesn't necessarily indicate that the class is now able to use a spellcasting focus unless it already has that class ability.
Other than that, I can't find any reference in XGtE allowing an EK or AT to make use of a spell casting focus instead of using a component pouch to cast spells.
Nothing was said about Unearthed Arcana, at least by me. XGTE has to be supported for the campaign and the Ruby of the War Mage must be approved for use if XGTE is supported. Groups that don't have XGTE are assumed to be supported and are not. AL has PHB plus 1. Apparently the rules don't allow for several things this year, but under normal circumstances that could mean that the EK is choosing between the focus in XGTE or having either the race that the EK wants or SCAG cantrips. All of this to support a stance on spellcasting components that has mild support at best.
This is a good point since the actual class/subclass features do not allow for a focus by Rangers, Eldritch Knights or Arcane Tricksters. DMs can rule otherwise, but it's not explicitly supported by the rules text.
Oh, for crying out loud...
In the future, please read everything you respond to before putting fingers to keys. WolfOfTheBees stated, "a [spellcasting] focus isn't an option for an EK without UA." This is a patently false statement, whether they knew it or not. I'm not going to call them a liar because we miss things all the time. Jeremy Crawford was asked about it and gave guidance on the matter here.
I was correcting a misconception. We were not discussing what books a DM might allow or disallow in their private game. Nor were we discussing what is and isn't legal in Adventuer's League; which operates under its own rules.
Certainly that may be the intent of the rule, but nothing in the Ruby or the class features sections indicates that Rangers, ATs or EKs say that the ruby grants those classes that are not already able to use a focus that ability. Only Jeremy's tweet does that. Reading the Ruby, it certainly doesn't lead me to believe that it does anything but allow a weapon to act as a focus. The ability to use a focus is granted by your spell-casting feature.
Without reading that tweet, none of your supposition would fall out of the text on the page.
Edit: Reading it a bit more closely, the wording on the ruby is similar to the wording on the spellcasting focus section within the spellcasting feature. I see how Jeremy got to his decision, but still don't think the way that it is written necessarily leads one to that conclusion immediately.