So if an Echo Knight was under the effects of Antimagic Field dose it remove the echo entirely?
Was fighting a Beholder and the beholder's trait Antimagic Cone which removes the Echo Knight's Manifest Echo ability totally removing it from the fight and render the Echo useless and a discussion about it. felt like it was removing the echo's bread & butter skill
also dose other spells that dispel magical effects would work on the echo itself?
"This echo is a magical, translucent, gray image of you." The echo is magical, so I'd say you made the right call in having it be effected by the antimagic field. The fighter can still charge in and start swinging his sword; it's the casters who have their bread & butter removed.
It is not a spell, so dispel magic would not work.
I would like to see some wording that says it is limited to spells. I can not see Dispel Magic failing to work on the Cone of Fear of a Wand of Fear (never mentions the word spell).
Counterspell is clearly limited to spells only, but Dispel Magic is more ambiguous.
I would like to see some wording that says it is limited to spells. I can not see Dispel Magic failing to work on the Cone of Fear of a Wand of Fear (never mentions the word spell).
Counterspell is clearly limited to spells only, but Dispel Magic is more ambiguous.
You're continuing to ignore the sentence that describes what Dispel Magic actually does: "Any spell of 3rd level or lower on the target ends." So yeah, cast it on the echo and any spell of 3rd level or lower on the echo will end. That's it.
I would like to see some wording that says it is limited to spells. I can not see Dispel Magic failing to work on the Cone of Fear of a Wand of Fear (never mentions the word spell).
Counterspell is clearly limited to spells only, but Dispel Magic is more ambiguous.
Choose one creature, object, or magical effect within range. Any spell of 3rd level or lower on the target ends. For each spell of 4th level or higher on the target, make an ability check using your spellcasting ability. The DC equals 10 + the spell's level. On a successful check, the spell ends.
At Higher Levels. When you cast this spell using a spell slot of 4th level or higher, you automatically end the effects of a spell on the target if the spell's level is equal to or less than the level of the spell slot you used.
It's possible that the Echo would not be affected by AMF, but I doubt it. There's a fuzzy line on what creatures/objects are actually affected, and most things that aren't sustained by magic (like the [Tooltip Not Found]) don't actually wink out of existence.
Things that are summoned and maintained by an active spell (like Conjure Woodland Beings) do wink out of existence. The Echo is very clearly a magical object (not a creature), but it's less clear on whether its continued existence is dependent on magic... I think it probably is.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
You don't know what fear is until you've witnessed a drunk bird divebombing you while carrying a screaming Kobold throwing fire anywhere and everywhere.
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
So if an Echo Knight was under the effects of Antimagic Field dose it remove the echo entirely?
Was fighting a Beholder and the beholder's trait Antimagic Cone which removes the Echo Knight's Manifest Echo ability totally removing it from the fight and render the Echo useless and a discussion about it. felt like it was removing the echo's bread & butter skill
also dose other spells that dispel magical effects would work on the echo itself?
"This echo is a magical, translucent, gray image of you." The echo is magical, so I'd say you made the right call in having it be effected by the antimagic field. The fighter can still charge in and start swinging his sword; it's the casters who have their bread & butter removed.
It is not a spell, so dispel magic would not work.
I would rule that Dispel Magic does work. It is not limited to spells:
As such, I would let you dispel an echo, but it would come back next round. Not worth it except in extreme circumstances.
You left out the next sentence.
"Choose one creature, object, or magical effect within range. Any spell of 3rd level or lower on the target ends."
Since an echo knight is not a spell, there's no spell to end.
Dispel magic is, in fact, limited to spells.
"Not all those who wander are lost"
I would like to see some wording that says it is limited to spells. I can not see Dispel Magic failing to work on the Cone of Fear of a Wand of Fear (never mentions the word spell).
Counterspell is clearly limited to spells only, but Dispel Magic is more ambiguous.
"Dispel Magic ends spells. Wild Shape is not a spell."
and
"Dispel magic ends spells. A Channel Divinity option like the paladin's Sacred Weapon isn't a spell."
and
"Dispel magic has a particular purpose: to break other spells. It has no effect on a vampire’s Charm ability or any other magical effect that isn’t a spell."
"Not all those who wander are lost"
You're continuing to ignore the sentence that describes what Dispel Magic actually does: "Any spell of 3rd level or lower on the target ends." So yeah, cast it on the echo and any spell of 3rd level or lower on the echo will end. That's it.
Creating Epic Boons on DDB
DDB Buyers' Guide
Hardcovers, DDB & You
Content Troubleshooting
Thanks everyone for the answers though, i will keep that in mine whenever i play a echo knight against those sort of magic nullifying conditions <3
Purely my opinion, but the imagery of the echo knight has been a lot more interesting than the execution of the subclass.
That makes it ripe for a vigorous round of homebrew.
"Not all those who wander are lost"
It's possible that the Echo would not be affected by AMF, but I doubt it. There's a fuzzy line on what creatures/objects are actually affected, and most things that aren't sustained by magic (like the [Tooltip Not Found]) don't actually wink out of existence.
Things that are summoned and maintained by an active spell (like Conjure Woodland Beings) do wink out of existence. The Echo is very clearly a magical object (not a creature), but it's less clear on whether its continued existence is dependent on magic... I think it probably is.
You don't know what fear is until you've witnessed a drunk bird divebombing you while carrying a screaming Kobold throwing fire anywhere and everywhere.