Which does nothing different from simply targeting the area itself... so just target the area.
If they pick up the pebble, it is being carried by someone other than yourself, and the spell effect does not move with them.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
You don't know what fear is until you've witnessed a drunk bird divebombing you while carrying a screaming Kobold throwing fire anywhere and everywhere.
If they pick up the pebble, it is being carried by someone other than yourself, and the spell effect does not move with them.
The spell doesn't have the best comma placement in the world, and falls into the poor practice of describing two very different rules about the spell with one shared sentence... but that's not how I interpret Darkness.
Magical darkness spreads from a point you choose within range to fill a 15-foot-radius sphere for the duration. The darkness spreads around corners. A creature with darkvision can't see through this darkness, and nonmagical light can't illuminate it.
If the point you choose is on an object you are holding or one that isn't being worn or carried, the darkness emanates from the objectand moves with it. Completely covering the source of the darkness with an opaque object, such as a bowl or a helm, blocks the darkness.
If any of this spell's area overlaps with an area of light created by a spell of 2nd level or lower, the spell that created the light is dispelled.
If you cast Darkness on an object (succesfully), the darkness is emanating from that object. Yes, that object can't be currently held by another creature... but nowhere does it describe that then picking the object up later would end the spell. And if picking up and carrying the object were enough to divorce it from its spell effect and leave the darkness bubble behind... then the darkness would not be "emanat[ing] from" the object-point "for the duration," nor would the object be "the source of the darkness," and it would make no sense why covering the object would "block the darkness." It just can't make sense that way, the darkness must continue to spread from the object for the entire duration.
There is a hard limitation on casting the spell on a carried object. But, once cast on an object, anyone can pick it up and move it as described by the spell. That hybrid sentence really does its best to obfuscate that, but the rest of the spell description weighs in favor of reading it that way, or it becomes absurd and logically incoherent.
I didn't say it would end the spell. I only said the effect would not move, as if it had just been cast on the area to begin with.
Besides, what would happen if someone else does pick up that pebble..? They can palm it or cover it with their foot, and the effect of darkness is gone (blocked). Throw/kick it away, and it's not their problem anymore. That can't happen if you had just cast the spell on an area to begin with.
To me, at least, it is clear from the text that the RAI is for the spell effect to only be transportable by the caster themselves, not anyone else. That's not the same as saying the spell cannot be cast on an object they aren't currently holding... just that the transportability of the spell effect is reserved for the caster. I don't think the intent is for the spell to be hijackable in that way.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
You don't know what fear is until you've witnessed a drunk bird divebombing you while carrying a screaming Kobold throwing fire anywhere and everywhere.
Darkness operates along a similar line to the Light cantrip, with slightly different mechanics to balance it.
According to both RAW and RAI, in my opinion, if an object is targeted, the effect is now indiscriminately mobile. Avoiding negative consequences is the responsibility of the caster.
Then what if the caster and a team mate is both Holding a quarterstaff and the caster casts darkness and then lets go of the staff and lets the team mate wield the darkness staff..?
Then what if the caster and a team mate is both Holding a quarterstaff and the caster casts darkness and then lets go of the staff and lets the team mate wield the darkness staff..?
The purpose of excluding darkness from being cast on an object held by another is to prevent it from being used inappropriately.
If two people are holding an item, the easiest thing to do is assume that one is holding it, and the other is interacting with it. In the case of allies, this can be freely swapped, so the spell would simply work in the most beneficial way, so long as both participants are able and willing.
I’d definitely read “isn’t being carried” as “being carried” when the spell is cast, not “ever being carried.” I think that puts me in Lyxen and Chicken_Champ’s camp.
Hey guys
When casting the spell darkness on an enemies weapon does that mean that the enemy is blinded if it can't See in magical darkness..?
Target a pebble at their feet.
Ahh.. okay that makes sense
Thanks for the info lyxen and Nice Idea rojo 35
Which does nothing different from simply targeting the area itself... so just target the area.
If they pick up the pebble, it is being carried by someone other than yourself, and the spell effect does not move with them.
You don't know what fear is until you've witnessed a drunk bird divebombing you while carrying a screaming Kobold throwing fire anywhere and everywhere.
The spell doesn't have the best comma placement in the world, and falls into the poor practice of describing two very different rules about the spell with one shared sentence... but that's not how I interpret Darkness.
If you cast Darkness on an object (succesfully), the darkness is emanating from that object. Yes, that object can't be currently held by another creature... but nowhere does it describe that then picking the object up later would end the spell. And if picking up and carrying the object were enough to divorce it from its spell effect and leave the darkness bubble behind... then the darkness would not be "emanat[ing] from" the object-point "for the duration," nor would the object be "the source of the darkness," and it would make no sense why covering the object would "block the darkness." It just can't make sense that way, the darkness must continue to spread from the object for the entire duration.
There is a hard limitation on casting the spell on a carried object. But, once cast on an object, anyone can pick it up and move it as described by the spell. That hybrid sentence really does its best to obfuscate that, but the rest of the spell description weighs in favor of reading it that way, or it becomes absurd and logically incoherent.
dndbeyond.com forum tags
I'm going to make this way harder than it needs to be.
I didn't say it would end the spell. I only said the effect would not move, as if it had just been cast on the area to begin with.
Besides, what would happen if someone else does pick up that pebble..? They can palm it or cover it with their foot, and the effect of darkness is gone (blocked). Throw/kick it away, and it's not their problem anymore. That can't happen if you had just cast the spell on an area to begin with.
To me, at least, it is clear from the text that the RAI is for the spell effect to only be transportable by the caster themselves, not anyone else. That's not the same as saying the spell cannot be cast on an object they aren't currently holding... just that the transportability of the spell effect is reserved for the caster. I don't think the intent is for the spell to be hijackable in that way.
You don't know what fear is until you've witnessed a drunk bird divebombing you while carrying a screaming Kobold throwing fire anywhere and everywhere.
I agree with Lyxen, and Chicken_Champ.
Darkness operates along a similar line to the Light cantrip, with slightly different mechanics to balance it.
According to both RAW and RAI, in my opinion, if an object is targeted, the effect is now indiscriminately mobile. Avoiding negative consequences is the responsibility of the caster.
Then what if the caster and a team mate is both Holding a quarterstaff and the caster casts darkness and then lets go of the staff and lets the team mate wield the darkness staff..?
The purpose of excluding darkness from being cast on an object held by another is to prevent it from being used inappropriately.
If two people are holding an item, the easiest thing to do is assume that one is holding it, and the other is interacting with it. In the case of allies, this can be freely swapped, so the spell would simply work in the most beneficial way, so long as both participants are able and willing.
I’d definitely read “isn’t being carried” as “being carried” when the spell is cast, not “ever being carried.” I think that puts me in Lyxen and Chicken_Champ’s camp.
1. Get Devils Sight.
2. cast Darkness on stone.
3. Catapult stone all over the place.
4. Hilarity ensues.
EZD6 by DM Scotty
https://www.drivethrurpg.com/en/product/397599/EZD6-Core-Rulebook?
If a caster were to cast this on an item I was holding would I be able to see while in it as the spell caster?
By default no.
Features like Devils Sight or Eyes of the Dark can change that though but that's the classic specific over general rule.