As written, the rules would allow you to move yourself with Telekinesis. I wouldn't allow it. It opens up the door to all sorts of odd movement shenanigans.
If you did get to move yourself around, and you moved back out of reach of an opponents, they would most certainly get an Attack Of Opportunity. I'd guess that shoving someone else away from an opponent would not give anyone a free shot.
I think I'd allow the RAW effects of Telekinesis against yourself. However, you would have to perform a contested strength check against yourself (so 50% chance of failure, I think), and you would be restrained until the end of your next turn.
So if you did so and successfully moved yourself out of range of an enemy with it, you would provoke an OA (because you've moved yourself using your action) and that OA would have advantage (because you are restrained).
I suppose that makes sense if that’s the way they ruled it. A reactions still another type of action though. Perhaps this is one of those cases where they’ve ruled themselves into a corner, and “overly” described a feature?
an action, bonus action, and reaction are all actions. Why even add in the reaction part of its somehow already covered by just saying action? The redundancy seems to cause confusion, at least it definitely did with me.
the forgetting to add a link doesn’t count for much in my opinion. The way this website chooses to highlight information or convey that information has no bearing on the way the rules are actually written.
As written, the rules would allow you to move yourself with Telekinesis. I wouldn't allow it. It opens up the door to all sorts of odd movement shenanigans.
If you did get to move yourself around, and you moved back out of reach of an opponents, they would most certainly get an Attack Of Opportunity. I'd guess that shoving someone else away from an opponent would not give anyone a free shot.
I think I'd allow the RAW effects of Telekinesis against yourself. However, you would have to perform a contested strength check against yourself (so 50% chance of failure, I think), and you would be restrained until the end of your next turn.
So if you did so and successfully moved yourself out of range of an enemy with it, you would provoke an OA (because you've moved yourself using your action) and that OA would have advantage (because you are restrained).
Creatures can generally willingly fail checks, unlike saving throws. And the thread is about the telekinetic feat, not the telekinesis spell.
I suppose that makes sense if that’s the way they ruled it. A reactions still another type of action though. Perhaps this is one of those cases where they’ve ruled themselves into a corner, and “overly” described a feature?
an action, bonus action, and reaction are all actions. Why even add in the reaction part of its somehow already covered by just saying action? The redundancy seems to cause confusion, at least it definitely did with me.
While I agree that it could be confusing it is something that they have done in several places IIRC. They say "actions or reactions" when it would have been a lot clearer to either say "action, bonus action or reaction" or say just "actions". But it seems that they are intentionally making a separation between actions and reactions.
You can’t move yourself with the telekinetic shove. The movement has to be either toward you or away from you, neither of which is possible to do when the target is you.
I think targeting yourself is fine; there’s just nowhere you can move that satisfies the effect, so no movement is possible.
... When you are the origin point, every direction is away from you. I'd personally disagree to this assertion.
Is 5' in front of you, away from your current position? Yes Is 5' behind you, away from your current position? Yes Is 5' to the side of you, away from your current position? Yes etc...
However, the telekinetic shove is an action, so will provoke an attack IF used on yourself (not if used on the foe). If you disagree, then you would be arguing that a rogue's bonus action dash doesn't provoke, which would beg the question why can they also disengage with canny? It would be superfluous. The same as how Incapacitated condition blocks bonus actions, bonus actions are actions.
It is perfectly reasonable to shove them away from you and then you're free to move, and they'll get their strength save. You can also shove an ally to safety and they would be forcibly moved and wouldn't provoke... but you cant shove yourself as that would be you using your bonus Action to move.
You can’t move yourself with the telekinetic shove. The movement has to be either toward you or away from you, neither of which is possible to do when the target is you.
I think targeting yourself is fine; there’s just nowhere you can move that satisfies the effect, so no movement is possible.
... When you are the origin point, every direction is away from you. I'd personally disagree to this assertion.
Is 5' in front of you, away from your current position? Yes Is 5' behind you, away from your current position? Yes Is 5' to the side of you, away from your current position? Yes etc...
You cannot shove yourself using The Telekinetic feat because each foot moved wouldn't be away from you. The feat doesn't refer to your current position but you, which would be 0 each time.
Also, since you are not spending any of your limited Movement, force movement does not provoke Opportunity Attacks, regardless of who caused the forced movement.
A rogue who bonus-action-dashes is still spending their Movement, which is why it provokes Opportunity Attacks - it's not forced movement.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
Click ✨ HERE ✨ For My Youtube Videos featuring Guides, Tips & Tricks for using D&D Beyond. Need help with Homebrew? Check out ✨ thisFAQ/Guide thread ✨ by IamSposta.
If it was possible it would provoke an OA because someone or something moves you while using your action, which an bonus action is.
Opportunity Attack: You also don't provoke an opportunity attack when you teleport or when someone or something moves you without using your movement, action, or reaction
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
I think I'd allow the RAW effects of Telekinesis against yourself. However, you would have to perform a contested strength check against yourself (so 50% chance of failure, I think), and you would be restrained until the end of your next turn.
So if you did so and successfully moved yourself out of range of an enemy with it, you would provoke an OA (because you've moved yourself using your action) and that OA would have advantage (because you are restrained).
No, because opponent is not moving willingly.
i can roll nat 1s on command
my homebrew thingies
Magic Items - Monsters - Subclasses
I suppose that makes sense if that’s the way they ruled it. A reactions still another type of action though. Perhaps this is one of those cases where they’ve ruled themselves into a corner, and “overly” described a feature?
an action, bonus action, and reaction are all actions. Why even add in the reaction part of its somehow already covered by just saying action? The redundancy seems to cause confusion, at least it definitely did with me.
the forgetting to add a link doesn’t count for much in my opinion. The way this website chooses to highlight information or convey that information has no bearing on the way the rules are actually written.
Creatures can generally willingly fail checks, unlike saving throws. And the thread is about the telekinetic feat, not the telekinesis spell.
While I agree that it could be confusing it is something that they have done in several places IIRC. They say "actions or reactions" when it would have been a lot clearer to either say "action, bonus action or reaction" or say just "actions". But it seems that they are intentionally making a separation between actions and reactions.
Why is the topic still going on?
Forreal.
...
When you are the origin point, every direction is away from you. I'd personally disagree to this assertion.
Is 5' in front of you, away from your current position? Yes
Is 5' behind you, away from your current position? Yes
Is 5' to the side of you, away from your current position? Yes
etc...
However, the telekinetic shove is an action, so will provoke an attack IF used on yourself (not if used on the foe). If you disagree, then you would be arguing that a rogue's bonus action dash doesn't provoke, which would beg the question why can they also disengage with canny? It would be superfluous. The same as how Incapacitated condition blocks bonus actions, bonus actions are actions.
It is perfectly reasonable to shove them away from you and then you're free to move, and they'll get their strength save. You can also shove an ally to safety and they would be forcibly moved and wouldn't provoke... but you cant shove yourself as that would be you using your bonus Action to move.
You cannot shove yourself using The Telekinetic feat because each foot moved wouldn't be away from you. The feat doesn't refer to your current position but you, which would be 0 each time.
Also, since you are not spending any of your limited Movement, force movement does not provoke Opportunity Attacks, regardless of who caused the forced movement.
A rogue who bonus-action-dashes is still spending their Movement, which is why it provokes Opportunity Attacks - it's not forced movement.
Click ✨ HERE ✨ For My Youtube Videos featuring Guides, Tips & Tricks for using D&D Beyond.
Need help with Homebrew? Check out ✨ this FAQ/Guide thread ✨ by IamSposta.
If it was possible it would provoke an OA because someone or something moves you while using your action, which an bonus action is.