It'd be great if the two-weapon fighting action would take whether or not you've got a shield equipped into consideration -- hopefully that'll get included.
It already does - if you are wearing a shield you can't use a two-handed weapon.
Unless you are a thri-keen. :-)
I believe pocketmouse is talking about fighting with two weapons, not wielding a weapon with two hands. Still, the shield is not a weapon, and even if it is used as an improvised weapon, it still doesn't have the light property. So the shield cannot normally be used to attack as part of two-weapon fighting.
Yup. My cleric has his shield equipped, and yet the character sheet still tries to tell me I can do two-weapon fighting as a bonus action. I’m hoping/assuming this will eventually get tweaked to only display when the PC actually can use that ability.
Yup. My cleric has his shield equipped, and yet the character sheet still tries to tell me I can do two-weapon fighting as a bonus action. I’m hoping/assuming this will eventually get tweaked to only display when the PC actually can use that ability.
The reason for this is, D&D Beyond doesn't work like a video game - it doesn't have a concept of "this is my current set-up of weapons" and, if it did, we would have multiple requests to create "equipment sets" to allow quick switching of what is currently equipped.
Who knows, it might go that way in the future (I think i would like it personally) but for now, any items you have "equipped" just means it will show any actions for them.
You can have ten different weapons equipped if you want and the character sheet will show you the attacks for them - especially relevant for those who export their sheet as a PDF to play from.1
It's still up to you to understand the rules of the game and play by them - this includes not using the bonus AC from a shield whilst swinging a 2-handed weapon around. :)
The listed material and somatic components are there mearly for flavor back in the old editions.
Strictly speaking the hand gesture for Burning Hands is not a somatic component. From the rules:
Each spell description begins with a block of information, including the spell's name, level, school of magic, casting time, range, components, and duration. The rest of a spell entry describes the spell's effect.
If you're the DM you're free to say "oh, that's just for flavor" and hand-wave that requirement, but RAW it's a required part of the spell.
Regarding casting while wearing a shield, or not, or whatever, is it really that big a deal?
"Sooner or later, your Players are going to smash your railroad into a sandbox."
-Vedexent
"real life is a super high CR."
-OboeLauren
"............anybody got any potatoes? We could drop a potato in each hole an' see which ones get viciously mauled by horrible monsters?"
-Ilyara Thundertale
Yup. My cleric has his shield equipped, and yet the character sheet still tries to tell me I can do two-weapon fighting as a bonus action. I’m hoping/assuming this will eventually get tweaked to only display when the PC actually can use that ability.
Birgit | Shifter | Sorcerer | Dragonlords
Shayone | Hobgoblin | Sorcerer | Netherdeep
The reason for this is, D&D Beyond doesn't work like a video game - it doesn't have a concept of "this is my current set-up of weapons" and, if it did, we would have multiple requests to create "equipment sets" to allow quick switching of what is currently equipped.
Who knows, it might go that way in the future (I think i would like it personally) but for now, any items you have "equipped" just means it will show any actions for them.
You can have ten different weapons equipped if you want and the character sheet will show you the attacks for them - especially relevant for those who export their sheet as a PDF to play from.1
It's still up to you to understand the rules of the game and play by them - this includes not using the bonus AC from a shield whilst swinging a 2-handed weapon around. :)
Pun-loving nerd | Faith Elisabeth Lilley | She/Her/Hers | Profile art by Becca Golins
If you need help with homebrew, please post on the homebrew forums, where multiple staff and moderators can read your post and help you!
"We got this, no problem! I'll take the twenty on the left - you guys handle the one on the right!"🔊
Strictly speaking the hand gesture for Burning Hands is not a somatic component. From the rules:
If you're the DM you're free to say "oh, that's just for flavor" and hand-wave that requirement, but RAW it's a required part of the spell.
We beat this topic to death in the Subtle Spell thread.
The Forum Infestation (TM)
Sage Advice: https://twitter.com/JeremyECrawford/status/711991533763829760
It says "The question was about having a hand at all! But yes, if you have a hand, you follow the component rule (PH, 203)."