Right, Charisma is the same ability modifier that you add for the attack roll and the damage roll. The attack True Strike uses your spellcasting ability for the attack and damage rolls instead of using Strength or Dexteritym which for Warlock is Charisma.
The Agonizing Blast invocation can't add your Charisma Ability modifier damage roll because it already is.
Damage Rolls: When attacking with a weapon, you add your ability modifier—the same modifier used for the attack roll—to the damage roll.
Regardless of the interaction with True Strike, Agonizing Blast only adds a modifier to the core damage roll of a Warlock cantrip; other additional damage effects such as Hex, Divine Smite, or Sneak Attack have no interaction. All of those dice are added into one pile, and then modifiers like Agonizing Bast or critical hits are applied to that pile. Eldritch Blast is the only exception I know of, specifically because you make an attack roll for each d10 rather than one roll for xd10.
Extra while not defined in the rules glossary, by definition means more, added so the assumption is that extra damage is in addition to the damage roll that get modifiers. For reference Critical Hit is a notable example.
Critical Hit: When you score a Critical Hit, you deal extra damage. Roll the attack’s damage dice twice, add them together, and add any relevant modifiers as normal.
The confusion here (well, the most glaring one) is the idea that Agonizing blast applies a bonus to every individual die being rolled for damage as a result of the Warlock cantrip being cast. (This is preposterous, but what is being discussed.)
So, Divine Smite only happens as a result of the True Strike attack landing (despite being a separate Bonus Action), so each of its dice gets the Agonizing Blast bonus (despite Divine Smite being neither a Warlock spell nor a cantrip nor having Agonizing Blast applied to it). This is why I mentioned Sneak Attack dice as an example, earlier.
All of which ignores that Agonizing Blast only applies bonus damage to each damage roll, not each individual die rolled.
The confusion here (well, the most glaring one) is the idea that Agonizing blast applies a bonus to every individual die being rolled for damage as a result of the Warlock cantrip being cast. (This is preposterous, but what is being discussed.)
So, Divine Smite only happens as a result of the True Strike attack landing (despite being a separate Bonus Action), so each of its dice gets the Agonizing Blast bonus (despite Divine Smite being neither a Warlock spell nor a cantrip nor having Agonizing Blast applied to it). This is why I mentioned Sneak Attack dice as an example, earlier.
All of which ignores that Agonizing Blast only applies bonus damage to each damage roll, not each individual die rolled.
Yes, but the definition of a damage roll is a die roll. Also, it isn't clear that the damage from divine smite is part of the same damage roll.
The confusion here (well, the most glaring one) is the idea that Agonizing blast applies a bonus to every individual die being rolled for damage as a result of the Warlock cantrip being cast. (This is preposterous, but what is being discussed.)
So, Divine Smite only happens as a result of the True Strike attack landing (despite being a separate Bonus Action), so each of its dice gets the Agonizing Blast bonus (despite Divine Smite being neither a Warlock spell nor a cantrip nor having Agonizing Blast applied to it). This is why I mentioned Sneak Attack dice as an example, earlier.
All of which ignores that Agonizing Blast only applies bonus damage to each damage roll, not each individual die rolled.
Yes, but the definition of a damage roll is a die roll.
With that logic, wouldn’t a greatsword wielder add their str bonus twice? They roll two die.
The confusion here (well, the most glaring one) is the idea that Agonizing blast applies a bonus to every individual die being rolled for damage as a result of the Warlock cantrip being cast. (This is preposterous, but what is being discussed.)
So, Divine Smite only happens as a result of the True Strike attack landing (despite being a separate Bonus Action), so each of its dice gets the Agonizing Blast bonus (despite Divine Smite being neither a Warlock spell nor a cantrip nor having Agonizing Blast applied to it). This is why I mentioned Sneak Attack dice as an example, earlier.
All of which ignores that Agonizing Blast only applies bonus damage to each damage roll, not each individual die rolled.
Yes, but the definition of a damage roll is a die roll. Also, it isn't clear that the damage from divine smite is part of the same damage roll.
It seems incredibly unlikely that it was the designers’ intent to have every damage bonus applied to each individual die within a damage roll separately.
The confusion here (well, the most glaring one) is the idea that Agonizing blast applies a bonus to every individual die being rolled for damage as a result of the Warlock cantrip being cast. (This is preposterous, but what is being discussed.)
So, Divine Smite only happens as a result of the True Strike attack landing (despite being a separate Bonus Action), so each of its dice gets the Agonizing Blast bonus (despite Divine Smite being neither a Warlock spell nor a cantrip nor having Agonizing Blast applied to it). This is why I mentioned Sneak Attack dice as an example, earlier.
All of which ignores that Agonizing Blast only applies bonus damage to each damage roll, not each individual die rolled.
Yes, but the definition of a damage roll is a die roll.
A "die roll" can include more than one die, and explicitly does throughout the game.
Also, it isn't clear that the damage from divine smite is part of the same damage roll.
Divine Smite isn't the same roll. It's not even the same spell or same action or same feature. It is not part of the True Strike spell. Agonizing Blast wouldn't treat Sneak Attack as part of the spell, either.
The confusion here (well, the most glaring one) is the idea that Agonizing blast applies a bonus to every individual die being rolled for damage as a result of the Warlock cantrip being cast. (This is preposterous, but what is being discussed.)
So, Divine Smite only happens as a result of the True Strike attack landing (despite being a separate Bonus Action), so each of its dice gets the Agonizing Blast bonus (despite Divine Smite being neither a Warlock spell nor a cantrip nor having Agonizing Blast applied to it). This is why I mentioned Sneak Attack dice as an example, earlier.
All of which ignores that Agonizing Blast only applies bonus damage to each damage roll, not each individual die rolled.
Yes, but the definition of a damage roll is a die roll.
A "die roll" can include more than one die, and explicitly does throughout the game.
Also, it isn't clear that the damage from divine smite is part of the same damage roll.
Divine Smite isn't the same roll. It's not even the same spell or same action or same feature. It is not part of the True Strike spell. Agonizing Blast wouldn't treat Sneak Attack as part of the spell, either.
For the purposes of this question, it doesn’t actually matter whether Divine Smite is part of the same roll or not.
If it is, then you don’t add your Charisma modifier to it again, because it’s all part of the same roll. If it isn’t, then you don’t add your Charisma modifier to it because it’s not a cantrip damage roll. Either way, you don’t get the Agonizing Blast bonus damage a second time just because you did a True Strike/Divine Smite combo.
The confusion here (well, the most glaring one) is the idea that Agonizing blast applies a bonus to every individual die being rolled for damage as a result of the Warlock cantrip being cast. (This is preposterous, but what is being discussed.)
So, Divine Smite only happens as a result of the True Strike attack landing (despite being a separate Bonus Action), so each of its dice gets the Agonizing Blast bonus (despite Divine Smite being neither a Warlock spell nor a cantrip nor having Agonizing Blast applied to it). This is why I mentioned Sneak Attack dice as an example, earlier.
All of which ignores that Agonizing Blast only applies bonus damage to each damage roll, not each individual die rolled.
Yes, but the definition of a damage roll is a die roll.
A "die roll" can include more than one die, and explicitly does throughout the game.
Also, it isn't clear that the damage from divine smite is part of the same damage roll.
Divine Smite isn't the same roll. It's not even the same spell or same action or same feature. It is not part of the True Strike spell. Agonizing Blast wouldn't treat Sneak Attack as part of the spell, either.
For the purposes of this question, it doesn’t actually matter whether Divine Smite is part of the same roll or not.
If it is, then you don’t add your Charisma modifier to it again, because it’s all part of the same roll. If it isn’t, then you don’t add your Charisma modifier to it because it’s not a cantrip damage roll. Either way, you don’t get the Agonizing Blast bonus damage a second time just because you did a True Strike/Divine Smite combo.
I believe my first question has been answered as no, but the second has not. The logic goes as follows: the damage from true strike comes as a result of the casting. Therefore, it is the spell's damage roll. Divine smite makes the target take extra damage from the attack. Therefore, since the damage comes "from" the cantrip, it is the cantrip's damage.
The confusion here (well, the most glaring one) is the idea that Agonizing blast applies a bonus to every individual die being rolled for damage as a result of the Warlock cantrip being cast. (This is preposterous, but what is being discussed.)
So, Divine Smite only happens as a result of the True Strike attack landing (despite being a separate Bonus Action), so each of its dice gets the Agonizing Blast bonus (despite Divine Smite being neither a Warlock spell nor a cantrip nor having Agonizing Blast applied to it). This is why I mentioned Sneak Attack dice as an example, earlier.
All of which ignores that Agonizing Blast only applies bonus damage to each damage roll, not each individual die rolled.
Yes, but the definition of a damage roll is a die roll.
A "die roll" can include more than one die, and explicitly does throughout the game.
Also, it isn't clear that the damage from divine smite is part of the same damage roll.
Divine Smite isn't the same roll. It's not even the same spell or same action or same feature. It is not part of the True Strike spell. Agonizing Blast wouldn't treat Sneak Attack as part of the spell, either.
For the purposes of this question, it doesn’t actually matter whether Divine Smite is part of the same roll or not.
If it is, then you don’t add your Charisma modifier to it again, because it’s all part of the same roll. If it isn’t, then you don’t add your Charisma modifier to it because it’s not a cantrip damage roll. Either way, you don’t get the Agonizing Blast bonus damage a second time just because you did a True Strike/Divine Smite combo.
I believe my first question has been answered as no, but the second has not. The logic goes as follows: the damage from true strike comes as a result of the casting. Therefore, it is the spell's damage roll. Divine smite makes the target take extra damage from the attack. Therefore, since the damage comes "from" the cantrip, it is the cantrip's damage.
If all of the damage is "the cantrip's damage", as you're suggesting, then it's all one damage roll, and you only add the Charisma modifier to it once.
The confusion here (well, the most glaring one) is the idea that Agonizing blast applies a bonus to every individual die being rolled for damage as a result of the Warlock cantrip being cast. (This is preposterous, but what is being discussed.)
So, Divine Smite only happens as a result of the True Strike attack landing (despite being a separate Bonus Action), so each of its dice gets the Agonizing Blast bonus (despite Divine Smite being neither a Warlock spell nor a cantrip nor having Agonizing Blast applied to it). This is why I mentioned Sneak Attack dice as an example, earlier.
All of which ignores that Agonizing Blast only applies bonus damage to each damage roll, not each individual die rolled.
Yes, but the definition of a damage roll is a die roll.
A "die roll" can include more than one die, and explicitly does throughout the game.
Also, it isn't clear that the damage from divine smite is part of the same damage roll.
Divine Smite isn't the same roll. It's not even the same spell or same action or same feature. It is not part of the True Strike spell. Agonizing Blast wouldn't treat Sneak Attack as part of the spell, either.
For the purposes of this question, it doesn’t actually matter whether Divine Smite is part of the same roll or not.
If it is, then you don’t add your Charisma modifier to it again, because it’s all part of the same roll. If it isn’t, then you don’t add your Charisma modifier to it because it’s not a cantrip damage roll. Either way, you don’t get the Agonizing Blast bonus damage a second time just because you did a True Strike/Divine Smite combo.
I believe my first question has been answered as no, but the second has not. The logic goes as follows: the damage from true strike comes as a result of the casting. Therefore, it is the spell's damage roll. Divine smite makes the target take extra damage from the attack. Therefore, since the damage comes "from" the cantrip, it is the cantrip's damage.
If all of the damage is "the cantrip's damage", as you're suggesting, then it's all one damage roll, and you only add the Charisma modifier to it once.
The confusion here (well, the most glaring one) is the idea that Agonizing blast applies a bonus to every individual die being rolled for damage as a result of the Warlock cantrip being cast. (This is preposterous, but what is being discussed.)
So, Divine Smite only happens as a result of the True Strike attack landing (despite being a separate Bonus Action), so each of its dice gets the Agonizing Blast bonus (despite Divine Smite being neither a Warlock spell nor a cantrip nor having Agonizing Blast applied to it). This is why I mentioned Sneak Attack dice as an example, earlier.
All of which ignores that Agonizing Blast only applies bonus damage to each damage roll, not each individual die rolled.
Yes, but the definition of a damage roll is a die roll.
A "die roll" can include more than one die, and explicitly does throughout the game.
Also, it isn't clear that the damage from divine smite is part of the same damage roll.
Divine Smite isn't the same roll. It's not even the same spell or same action or same feature. It is not part of the True Strike spell. Agonizing Blast wouldn't treat Sneak Attack as part of the spell, either.
For the purposes of this question, it doesn’t actually matter whether Divine Smite is part of the same roll or not.
If it is, then you don’t add your Charisma modifier to it again, because it’s all part of the same roll. If it isn’t, then you don’t add your Charisma modifier to it because it’s not a cantrip damage roll. Either way, you don’t get the Agonizing Blast bonus damage a second time just because you did a True Strike/Divine Smite combo.
I believe my first question has been answered as no, but the second has not. The logic goes as follows: the damage from true strike comes as a result of the casting. Therefore, it is the spell's damage roll. Divine smite makes the target take extra damage from the attack. Therefore, since the damage comes "from" the cantrip, it is the cantrip's damage.
If all of the damage is "the cantrip's damage", as you're suggesting, then it's all one damage roll, and you only add the Charisma modifier to it once.
The confusion here (well, the most glaring one) is the idea that Agonizing blast applies a bonus to every individual die being rolled for damage as a result of the Warlock cantrip being cast. (This is preposterous, but what is being discussed.)
So, Divine Smite only happens as a result of the True Strike attack landing (despite being a separate Bonus Action), so each of its dice gets the Agonizing Blast bonus (despite Divine Smite being neither a Warlock spell nor a cantrip nor having Agonizing Blast applied to it). This is why I mentioned Sneak Attack dice as an example, earlier.
All of which ignores that Agonizing Blast only applies bonus damage to each damage roll, not each individual die rolled.
Yes, but the definition of a damage roll is a die roll.
A "die roll" can include more than one die, and explicitly does throughout the game.
Also, it isn't clear that the damage from divine smite is part of the same damage roll.
Divine Smite isn't the same roll. It's not even the same spell or same action or same feature. It is not part of the True Strike spell. Agonizing Blast wouldn't treat Sneak Attack as part of the spell, either.
For the purposes of this question, it doesn’t actually matter whether Divine Smite is part of the same roll or not.
If it is, then you don’t add your Charisma modifier to it again, because it’s all part of the same roll. If it isn’t, then you don’t add your Charisma modifier to it because it’s not a cantrip damage roll. Either way, you don’t get the Agonizing Blast bonus damage a second time just because you did a True Strike/Divine Smite combo.
I believe my first question has been answered as no, but the second has not. The logic goes as follows: the damage from true strike comes as a result of the casting. Therefore, it is the spell's damage roll. Divine smite makes the target take extra damage from the attack. Therefore, since the damage comes "from" the cantrip, it is the cantrip's damage.
The damage from true strike does not come from the casting. It comes from a successful weapon attack after the casting. It’s entirely possible to cast it and still miss and do no damage.
The confusion here (well, the most glaring one) is the idea that Agonizing blast applies a bonus to every individual die being rolled for damage as a result of the Warlock cantrip being cast. (This is preposterous, but what is being discussed.)
So, Divine Smite only happens as a result of the True Strike attack landing (despite being a separate Bonus Action), so each of its dice gets the Agonizing Blast bonus (despite Divine Smite being neither a Warlock spell nor a cantrip nor having Agonizing Blast applied to it). This is why I mentioned Sneak Attack dice as an example, earlier.
All of which ignores that Agonizing Blast only applies bonus damage to each damage roll, not each individual die rolled.
Yes, but the definition of a damage roll is a die roll.
A "die roll" can include more than one die, and explicitly does throughout the game.
Also, it isn't clear that the damage from divine smite is part of the same damage roll.
Divine Smite isn't the same roll. It's not even the same spell or same action or same feature. It is not part of the True Strike spell. Agonizing Blast wouldn't treat Sneak Attack as part of the spell, either.
For the purposes of this question, it doesn’t actually matter whether Divine Smite is part of the same roll or not.
If it is, then you don’t add your Charisma modifier to it again, because it’s all part of the same roll. If it isn’t, then you don’t add your Charisma modifier to it because it’s not a cantrip damage roll. Either way, you don’t get the Agonizing Blast bonus damage a second time just because you did a True Strike/Divine Smite combo.
I believe my first question has been answered as no, but the second has not. The logic goes as follows: the damage from true strike comes as a result of the casting. Therefore, it is the spell's damage roll. Divine smite makes the target take extra damage from the attack. Therefore, since the damage comes "from" the cantrip, it is the cantrip's damage.
The damage from true strike does not come from the casting. It comes from a successful weapon attack after the casting. It’s entirely possible to cast it and still miss and do no damage.
Any (extra) damage roll is added together before you add any modifiers and deal it to the target.
Damage Roll: You roll the damage dice, add any modifiers, and deal the damage to your target.
You are quoting damage roll singular.
And, again, since one does not add their modifier twice for a greatsword, we know that’s an irrelevant hair you’re trying to split. Effects such as Divine Smite, Hex, or Sneak Attack all expressly increase the dice pool of a single damage roll, making it no different from the greatsword example in how mods to damage rolls are applied for any of them.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
It is Charisma the ability, are you really arguing that fact now?
I just realized our last few posts have been pointless, as you quoted the rules for D20 tests. Damage rolls are not D20 tests.
Right, Charisma is the same ability modifier that you add for the attack roll and the damage roll. The attack True Strike uses your spellcasting ability for the attack and damage rolls instead of using Strength or Dexteritym which for Warlock is Charisma.
The Agonizing Blast invocation can't add your Charisma Ability modifier damage roll because it already is.
Regardless of the interaction with True Strike, Agonizing Blast only adds a modifier to the core damage roll of a Warlock cantrip; other additional damage effects such as Hex, Divine Smite, or Sneak Attack have no interaction. All of those dice are added into one pile, and then modifiers like Agonizing Bast or critical hits are applied to that pile. Eldritch Blast is the only exception I know of, specifically because you make an attack roll for each d10 rather than one roll for xd10.
Extra while not defined in the rules glossary, by definition means more, added so the assumption is that extra damage is in addition to the damage roll that get modifiers. For reference Critical Hit is a notable example.
The confusion here (well, the most glaring one) is the idea that Agonizing blast applies a bonus to every individual die being rolled for damage as a result of the Warlock cantrip being cast. (This is preposterous, but what is being discussed.)
So, Divine Smite only happens as a result of the True Strike attack landing (despite being a separate Bonus Action), so each of its dice gets the Agonizing Blast bonus (despite Divine Smite being neither a Warlock spell nor a cantrip nor having Agonizing Blast applied to it). This is why I mentioned Sneak Attack dice as an example, earlier.
All of which ignores that Agonizing Blast only applies bonus damage to each damage roll, not each individual die rolled.
Yes, but the definition of a damage roll is a die roll. Also, it isn't clear that the damage from divine smite is part of the same damage roll.
With that logic, wouldn’t a greatsword wielder add their str bonus twice? They roll two die.
It seems incredibly unlikely that it was the designers’ intent to have every damage bonus applied to each individual die within a damage roll separately.
pronouns: he/she/they
A "die roll" can include more than one die, and explicitly does throughout the game.
Divine Smite isn't the same roll. It's not even the same spell or same action or same feature. It is not part of the True Strike spell. Agonizing Blast wouldn't treat Sneak Attack as part of the spell, either.
For the purposes of this question, it doesn’t actually matter whether Divine Smite is part of the same roll or not.
If it is, then you don’t add your Charisma modifier to it again, because it’s all part of the same roll. If it isn’t, then you don’t add your Charisma modifier to it because it’s not a cantrip damage roll. Either way, you don’t get the Agonizing Blast bonus damage a second time just because you did a True Strike/Divine Smite combo.
pronouns: he/she/they
I believe my first question has been answered as no, but the second has not. The logic goes as follows: the damage from true strike comes as a result of the casting. Therefore, it is the spell's damage roll. Divine smite makes the target take extra damage from the attack. Therefore, since the damage comes "from" the cantrip, it is the cantrip's damage.
If all of the damage is "the cantrip's damage", as you're suggesting, then it's all one damage roll, and you only add the Charisma modifier to it once.
pronouns: he/she/they
Why? Literally eldritch blast proves you wrong.
Eldritch Blast at higher levels is multiple attacks, each with its own damage roll. It has nothing to do with what we're talking about.
pronouns: he/she/they
The damage from true strike does not come from the casting. It comes from a successful weapon attack after the casting. It’s entirely possible to cast it and still miss and do no damage.
You mean, like all cantrips??
Any (extra) damage roll is added together before you add any modifiers and deal it to the target.
You are quoting damage roll singular.
And, again, since one does not add their modifier twice for a greatsword, we know that’s an irrelevant hair you’re trying to split. Effects such as Divine Smite, Hex, or Sneak Attack all expressly increase the dice pool of a single damage roll, making it no different from the greatsword example in how mods to damage rolls are applied for any of them.