Im not 100% on whether this would work depending on rulings and errata but:
Enscribe Contingency into the glyph, with Tenser's Transformation as the spell. Make the condition of contingency be "when the target draw's its blade." Pass the glyph to the party's fighter, PAM using martial character, or Monk to trigger immediately. The next time they draw a bladed weapon within the next 10 days, they will have concentration free version of Tenser's Transformation cast upon them.
Im not 100% on whether this would work depending on rulings and errata but:
Enscribe Contingency into the glyph, with Tenser's Transformation as the spell. Make the condition of contingency be "when the target draw's its blade." Pass the glyph to the party's fighter, PAM using martial character, or Monk to trigger immediately. The next time they draw a bladed weapon within the next 10 days, they will have concentration free version of Tenser's Transformation cast upon them.
Nope this does not work, Contingency requires a spell of 5th level or lower, Tenser's Transformation is a 6th level spell.
Im not 100% on whether this would work depending on rulings and errata but:
Enscribe Contingency into the glyph, with Tenser's Transformation as the spell. Make the condition of contingency be "when the target draw's its blade." Pass the glyph to the party's fighter, PAM using martial character, or Monk to trigger immediately. The next time they draw a bladed weapon within the next 10 days, they will have concentration free version of Tenser's Transformation cast upon them.
Nope this does not work, Contingency requires a spell of 5th level or lower, Tenser's Transformation is a 6th level spell.
Aw, darn. So it would work with something like Holy Weapon or Haste though?
If you are trying to pass a spell onto somebody else then I would advise you skip Contingency and just put the Haste spell into the Glyph. Contingency restricts the spell to be cast on self so even if a Fighter or whatever triggers the Glyph with Contingency the spell would go on the caster of the Glyph.
Holy Weapon would not work with the Glyph as it requires a spell that targets a creature or a area whereas Holy Weapon targets a weapon. The closest viable alternative would be Spirit Shroud up cast with a 5th level spell slot
If you are trying to pass a spell onto somebody else then I would advise you skip Contingency and just put the Haste spell into the Glyph. Contingency restricts the spell to be cast on self so even if a Fighter or whatever triggers the Glyph with Contingency the spell would go on the caster of the Glyph.
Holy Weapon would not work with the Glyph as it requires a spell that targets a creature or a area whereas Holy Weapon targets a weapon. The closest viable alternative would be Spirit Shroud up cast with a 5th level spell slot
But the point with contigency-haste is to side step the restrictions on glyph of warding, namely being 10 ft. from where it was originally cast. Its use for buffing would be extremely niche with glyph of warding on its own.
Also, while Contingency restricts its spell to the caster, glyph of warding overrides that.
Also going to note that the Glyph only holds concentration for the spell specifically stored in it but nothing else. If using for contingency the glyph holds the spell named Contingency, any spell you store in Contingency would, when triggered, still require concentration.
I don't think Contingency is useful for others. You cast the stored spell at time of storing it. It is "released" into effect later, not cast later. Contingency requires a material component used in casting that must be kept on your person - so when storing the Contingency spell into Glyph you have cast it and now must keep that component on yourself which means it cannot be passed for anyone else.
You're therefore better off just casting Contingency on yourself directly and use Glyph for casting effects onto others, like Haste.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
Click ✨ HERE ✨ For My Youtube Videos featuring Guides, Tips & Tricks for using D&D Beyond. Need help with Homebrew? Check out ✨ thisFAQ/Guide thread ✨ by IamSposta.
with that logic, any glyph is dispelled immediately with the rotation of the earth. assuming your world takes place on a planet, of course, which is the usual choice.
Putting the glyph inside the door of a demiplane would allow you to access any amount of glyphs as an action, provided you're next to a flat surface; you inscribe the glyphs on the inside of the door to the demiplane, which wouldn't technically move at all. You could summon the door as an action and open it as a free action, triggering some or all of the glyphs you've prepared.
Material components for all spells need to be gathered long before the spell is needed.
The material cost should not be that much for an active adventurer. Yes its a lot for a commoner but...... commoners do not cast spells.
As for the cost of expensive components a good group would include this in their company cost of doing business. Like the cost of a healer.
I have played in groups of greedy players who were out for all they could get individually and I have charged them for spells I might have to cast. Sounds bad but things need to be paid for be someone. They really get mad when you go through their pockets to get the payment for saving their lives. But.....
I have also played in other groups were the take in any adventure was pooled to together and all expenses for the group paid for first including the cost of living, spell components, training, research, equipment upkeep, and the purchase or sale of any magic items. Anything left over was evenly split among all.
The one time my character used it was in preparation and lead up to a mini boss fight in our campaign. Our group had been asked by a village to check out what was happening at a nearby abbey, and when we arrived, we were greeted by this seemingly nice abbot, who was indeed the boss we had to fight. He asked our group to find a suitable wedding dress for the construct he had created, so that he could gift it to the campaign big bad. We left, got the dress, enlisted the aide of the nearby village to keep the minions busy while our group dealt with the abbot and construct, and my artificer cast the glyph on the wedding dress, keyed to acid and to go off once the abbot did up the last clasp on the dress. We knew he would have to do the clasps because the construct had no fine motor control.
It went off without a hitch, the abbot didn't notice the glyph, did up the dress and boom, as the acid washed over him and the construct, the mini boss fight went off, with the minions outside unable to come to the abbot's aide as the village was keeping them at bay.
Once cast the GoW can not move more that 10 feet or the spell is dispelled. Plus it takes an hour to cast.
Not really.
Time wise, we had to take a day to retrieve the required gown, so had time to prepare the spell.
As for the can't more more than 10 feet, that is where the DM bent the rules a little due to a minor technicality in favour of rule of cool which allowed the events to play out in fun way the DM and the players didn't expect, enriching the session even more and making it one of the most memorable events of the campaign.
Must be inscribed on a surface, or an object that can be closed
Must 'harm' another 'creature'
Specific triggers must be met
For a spell glyph, the spell must be 3rd level or lower (can be upcast tho, so ... well, there's that)
But if played by raw, there's a ton of ways people what to use GoW that they actually can't use it. For instance, passwall? Not an option. Doesn't harm, isn't cast on a creature. Bam. Same for dispel.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
Blanket disclaimer: I only ever state opinion. But I can sound terribly dogmatic - so if you feel I'm trying to tell you what to think, I'm really not, I swear. I'm telling you what I think, that's all.
That's not true. You're using the pre-errata definition of the spell.
But if played by raw, there's a ton of ways people what to use GoW that they actually can't use it. For instance, passwall? Not an option. Doesn't harm, isn't cast on a creature. Bam. Same for dispel.
Simply false. You've always been able to embed a spell that targets a point in space (i.e. an area) rather than a creature, even pre-errata.
Glyph of Warding's actual (relevant) text (note that you can explicitly target an area and the word "harm" is not present):
You can store a prepared spell of 3rd level or lower in the glyph by casting it as part of creating the glyph. The spell must target a single creature or an area. The spell being stored has no immediate effect when cast in this way. When the glyph is triggered, the stored spell is cast. If the spell has a target, it targets the creature that triggered the glyph. If the spell affects an area, the area is centered on that creature. If the spell summons hostile creatures or creates harmful objects or traps, they appear as close as possible to the intruder and attack it. If the spell requires concentration, it lasts until the end of its full duration.
Must be inscribed on a surface, or an object that can be closed
Must 'harm' another 'creature'
Specific triggers must be met
For a spell glyph, the spell must be 3rd level or lower (can be upcast tho, so ... well, there's that)
But if played by raw, there's a ton of ways people what to use GoW that they actually can't use it. For instance, passwall? Not an option. Doesn't harm, isn't cast on a creature. Bam. Same for dispel.
Re read it.
It specifically states that it can be cast on a surface like a table door or floor.
Oh, what do you know. My source - roll20 - isn't updated. Well, then carry on =)
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
Blanket disclaimer: I only ever state opinion. But I can sound terribly dogmatic - so if you feel I'm trying to tell you what to think, I'm really not, I swear. I'm telling you what I think, that's all.
For a L5 character creating a landline - glyph goes on the floor of a 10’ high passage - typically right in front of a door. It cares an updated Thunderwave spell (L3 casting) so everyone n the 10’ x 10’ area n front of the door (upto 8 small folk) takes 4 D8 Thunder damage, is blasted 10’ upwards smashing into the ceiling (+1D6) then falls back to the floor taking another 1D6 damage for 4D8+2D6 (22 average) damage. Yes they get a save that eliminates the blast and fall if they make it along with half the damage but that reman get half (8 damage) is decent for a trap from a L5 NPC.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
Wisea$$ DM and Player since 1979.
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
You can also check out the Linked Glyph spell in the MTG adventures.
https://media.wizards.com/2021/downloads/AFR_Adventures/MTGAFR_EN_Adventures_EP3_37HFhwey.pdf
Guide to the Five Factions (PWYW)
Deck of Decks
Im not 100% on whether this would work depending on rulings and errata but:
Enscribe Contingency into the glyph, with Tenser's Transformation as the spell. Make the condition of contingency be "when the target draw's its blade." Pass the glyph to the party's fighter, PAM using martial character, or Monk to trigger immediately. The next time they draw a bladed weapon within the next 10 days, they will have concentration free version of Tenser's Transformation cast upon them.
Nope this does not work, Contingency requires a spell of 5th level or lower, Tenser's Transformation is a 6th level spell.
Aw, darn. So it would work with something like Holy Weapon or Haste though?
If you are trying to pass a spell onto somebody else then I would advise you skip Contingency and just put the Haste spell into the Glyph. Contingency restricts the spell to be cast on self so even if a Fighter or whatever triggers the Glyph with Contingency the spell would go on the caster of the Glyph.
Holy Weapon would not work with the Glyph as it requires a spell that targets a creature or a area whereas Holy Weapon targets a weapon. The closest viable alternative would be Spirit Shroud up cast with a 5th level spell slot
But the point with contigency-haste is to side step the restrictions on glyph of warding, namely being 10 ft. from where it was originally cast. Its use for buffing would be extremely niche with glyph of warding on its own.
Also, while Contingency restricts its spell to the caster, glyph of warding overrides that.
Also going to note that the Glyph only holds concentration for the spell specifically stored in it but nothing else. If using for contingency the glyph holds the spell named Contingency, any spell you store in Contingency would, when triggered, still require concentration.
I don't think Contingency is useful for others. You cast the stored spell at time of storing it. It is "released" into effect later, not cast later. Contingency requires a material component used in casting that must be kept on your person - so when storing the Contingency spell into Glyph you have cast it and now must keep that component on yourself which means it cannot be passed for anyone else.
You're therefore better off just casting Contingency on yourself directly and use Glyph for casting effects onto others, like Haste.
Click ✨ HERE ✨ For My Youtube Videos featuring Guides, Tips & Tricks for using D&D Beyond.
Need help with Homebrew? Check out ✨ this FAQ/Guide thread ✨ by IamSposta.
with that logic, any glyph is dispelled immediately with the rotation of the earth. assuming your world takes place on a planet, of course, which is the usual choice.
Putting the glyph inside the door of a demiplane would allow you to access any amount of glyphs as an action, provided you're next to a flat surface; you inscribe the glyphs on the inside of the door to the demiplane, which wouldn't technically move at all. You could summon the door as an action and open it as a free action, triggering some or all of the glyphs you've prepared.
Three bugs on a keyboard
I just use GoW as a land mine. Works great to slow down or even stopping someone from tracking me.
How does your group handle the material component? I always found that to be a high price.
Cum catapultae proscriptae erunt tum soli proscript catapultas habebunt
If its needed then its needed.
Material components for all spells need to be gathered long before the spell is needed.
The material cost should not be that much for an active adventurer. Yes its a lot for a commoner but...... commoners do not cast spells.
As for the cost of expensive components a good group would include this in their company cost of doing business. Like the cost of a healer.
I have played in groups of greedy players who were out for all they could get individually and I have charged them for spells I might have to cast. Sounds bad but things need to be paid for be someone. They really get mad when you go through their pockets to get the payment for saving their lives. But.....
I have also played in other groups were the take in any adventure was pooled to together and all expenses for the group paid for first including the cost of living, spell components, training, research, equipment upkeep, and the purchase or sale of any magic items. Anything left over was evenly split among all.
The one time my character used it was in preparation and lead up to a mini boss fight in our campaign. Our group had been asked by a village to check out what was happening at a nearby abbey, and when we arrived, we were greeted by this seemingly nice abbot, who was indeed the boss we had to fight. He asked our group to find a suitable wedding dress for the construct he had created, so that he could gift it to the campaign big bad. We left, got the dress, enlisted the aide of the nearby village to keep the minions busy while our group dealt with the abbot and construct, and my artificer cast the glyph on the wedding dress, keyed to acid and to go off once the abbot did up the last clasp on the dress. We knew he would have to do the clasps because the construct had no fine motor control.
It went off without a hitch, the abbot didn't notice the glyph, did up the dress and boom, as the acid washed over him and the construct, the mini boss fight went off, with the minions outside unable to come to the abbot's aide as the village was keeping them at bay.
I do believe that is a bad use of the spell.
Once cast the GoW can not move more that 10 feet or the spell is dispelled. Plus it takes an hour to cast.
Not really.
Time wise, we had to take a day to retrieve the required gown, so had time to prepare the spell.
As for the can't more more than 10 feet, that is where the DM bent the rules a little due to a minor technicality in favour of rule of cool which allowed the events to play out in fun way the DM and the players didn't expect, enriching the session even more and making it one of the most memorable events of the campaign.
Now that is hugely debatable. It:
But if played by raw, there's a ton of ways people what to use GoW that they actually can't use it. For instance, passwall? Not an option. Doesn't harm, isn't cast on a creature. Bam. Same for dispel.
Blanket disclaimer: I only ever state opinion. But I can sound terribly dogmatic - so if you feel I'm trying to tell you what to think, I'm really not, I swear. I'm telling you what I think, that's all.
That's not true. You're using the pre-errata definition of the spell.
Simply false. You've always been able to embed a spell that targets a point in space (i.e. an area) rather than a creature, even pre-errata.
Glyph of Warding's actual (relevant) text (note that you can explicitly target an area and the word "harm" is not present):
You can store a prepared spell of 3rd level or lower in the glyph by casting it as part of creating the glyph. The spell must target a single creature or an area. The spell being stored has no immediate effect when cast in this way. When the glyph is triggered, the stored spell is cast. If the spell has a target, it targets the creature that triggered the glyph. If the spell affects an area, the area is centered on that creature. If the spell summons hostile creatures or creates harmful objects or traps, they appear as close as possible to the intruder and attack it. If the spell requires concentration, it lasts until the end of its full duration.
Oh, what do you know. My source - roll20 - isn't updated. Well, then carry on =)
Blanket disclaimer: I only ever state opinion. But I can sound terribly dogmatic - so if you feel I'm trying to tell you what to think, I'm really not, I swear. I'm telling you what I think, that's all.
For a L5 character creating a landline - glyph goes on the floor of a 10’ high passage - typically right in front of a door. It cares an updated Thunderwave spell (L3 casting) so everyone n the 10’ x 10’ area n front of the door (upto 8 small folk) takes 4 D8 Thunder damage, is blasted 10’ upwards smashing into the ceiling (+1D6) then falls back to the floor taking another 1D6 damage for 4D8+2D6 (22 average) damage. Yes they get a save that eliminates the blast and fall if they make it along with half the damage but that reman get half (8 damage) is decent for a trap from a L5 NPC.
Wisea$$ DM and Player since 1979.