But like, jump, and cast it a split second before your feet hit it. The board should only be travelling a few inches before you land on it, probably not enough to deal damage, especially since the board wouldn't be at top catapult speed after going only 6 inches or so.
i'd rule either you take the damage, or nothing at all happens. if its not going fast enough to damage, then the spell failed because you're stepping on the board. there's no acceleration phase written into the spell. it goes from a harmless board to a full-speed projectile the instant the spell is complete.
As you pointed out, there's no acceleration phase. However, I'd say no damage going the full speed projectile route, because something that light hitting your shoes in midair from only a few inches range would at best, do no harm, and at worst, make you lose balance or knock you over. I'd probably ask the player to make a DC 10-ish acrobatics check to land on the board scot-free without taking a tumble. Fail it, and take half the catapult damage (because of the short range) and be sent prone, as well as the board ricocheting off of you and flying away in an unintended direction.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
Life is very busy unfortunately, gone from most Pbp's indefinitely. If you'd like to contact me, I am on Discord at GreatAxeblade#7595, always happy to chat :)
The Catapult spell simply doesn't have the power to fling a full-sized adventurer. You cannot use it to Fastball Special someone. You're not finding a creative use for the spell, you're making up your own version of the spell that does whatever you want it to instead of what the spell's description actually says.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
Find your own truth, choose your enemies carefully, and never deal with a dragon.
"Canon" is what's factual to D&D lore. "Cannon" is what you're going to be shot with if you keep getting the word wrong.
The Catapult spell simply doesn't have the power to fling a full-sized adventurer. You cannot use it to Fastball Special someone. You're not finding a creative use for the spell, you're making up your own version of the spell that does whatever you want it to instead of what the spell's description actually says.
I don't see how I'm making any new versions of a spell?
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
Life is very busy unfortunately, gone from most Pbp's indefinitely. If you'd like to contact me, I am on Discord at GreatAxeblade#7595, always happy to chat :)
How would you rule about using Rope Trick as an instant 60ft levitate? Just cast the spell and then grab onto the rope as it rises into the air.
I would rule the spell can lift up to 12 pounds of weight, as that's the weight of 60 feet of hempen rope. So if you cast the spell on 5 feet of silk rope (0.5 pounds), you would have 59.5 pounds left, and could potentially carry up to 2 kobolds up with the top end of the rope, for example.
How would you rule about using Rope Trick as an instant 60ft levitate? Just cast the spell and then grab onto the rope as it rises into the air.
I would rule the spell can lift up to 12 pounds of weight, as that's the weight of 60 feet of hempen rope. So if you cast the spell on 5 feet of silk rope (0.5 pounds), you would have 59.5 pounds left, and could potentially carry up to 2 kobolds up with the top end of the rope, for example.
But otherwise it would .. fail and waste the slot? Or just activate as if it were a shorter length rope?
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
Canto alla vita alla sua bellezza ad ogni sua ferita ogni sua carezza!
I sing to life and to its tragic beauty To pain and to strife, but all that dances through me The rise and the fall, I've lived through it all!
How would you rule about using Rope Trick as an instant 60ft levitate? Just cast the spell and then grab onto the rope as it rises into the air.
I would rule the spell can lift up to 12 pounds of weight, as that's the weight of 60 feet of hempen rope. So if you cast the spell on 5 feet of silk rope (0.5 pounds), you would have 59.5 pounds left, and could potentially carry up to 2 kobolds up with the top end of the rope, for example.
But otherwise it would .. fail and waste the slot? Or just activate as if it were a shorter length rope?
For as long as the spell lasts, the rope you cast the spell on would attempt to obey the spell, so the rope would spend an hour attempting to lift. The slot would be consumed regardless of when or if the rope succeeded.
Hmm .. I think I prefer the idea that it just lifts anything attached to it. If something immensely heavy is attached to it, the rope just tears and becomes a shorter rope, thus activating at the current length.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
Canto alla vita alla sua bellezza ad ogni sua ferita ogni sua carezza!
I sing to life and to its tragic beauty To pain and to strife, but all that dances through me The rise and the fall, I've lived through it all!
I thought of finding myself in a situation where I was unarmed and near an enemy. I have Fog Cloud and Form Water. I'm a Rogue with low level Sorcerer Spells. So I Cast Fog Cloud and use Form Water to create a dagger.
Then sneak attack.
Is this a legit use of the spell Form Water? If so, what are the properties of an Ice Dagger? Is it a standard dagger, a +1, does it do frost damage too.
Likewise, could you make a an Ice Key?
This might be obvious, I'm pretty new to this.
non-magic and one hit before shattering is what i would rule
on the key note. WHO NEEDS A KEY OR A ROGUE WHEN YOU HAVE SHAPE WATER. 12 seconds and i shattered almost any lock. fill with water and freeze.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
This Mug immediately shared with me a transcendental tale of an Infinite Mug that anchors the Universe and keeps it from folding in on itself. I filed this report under "illogical nonsense" and asked why its sign is in Times New Roman font, when it is basic knowledge that Arial Black is a far superior font. I wondered: How did this mug even get past the assembly line with its theistic beliefs and poor font choices?
quote from Romantically Apocalyptic byVitaly S Alexius
How would you rule about using Rope Trick as an instant 60ft levitate? Just cast the spell and then grab onto the rope as it rises into the air.
levitate is the same level. no up-to-the-DM nonsense
and has more options.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
This Mug immediately shared with me a transcendental tale of an Infinite Mug that anchors the Universe and keeps it from folding in on itself. I filed this report under "illogical nonsense" and asked why its sign is in Times New Roman font, when it is basic knowledge that Arial Black is a far superior font. I wondered: How did this mug even get past the assembly line with its theistic beliefs and poor font choices?
quote from Romantically Apocalyptic byVitaly S Alexius
Catapult can only work on an object between 1-5 lbs. No way a board plus an adventurer is going to work.
If you hop on the board once it's already been catapulted, wouldnt that work?
no. i would rule spell ends the moment its trying to move more than pounds (ignoring small things like its raining/snowing/sandstorm so slightly more weight)
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
This Mug immediately shared with me a transcendental tale of an Infinite Mug that anchors the Universe and keeps it from folding in on itself. I filed this report under "illogical nonsense" and asked why its sign is in Times New Roman font, when it is basic knowledge that Arial Black is a far superior font. I wondered: How did this mug even get past the assembly line with its theistic beliefs and poor font choices?
quote from Romantically Apocalyptic byVitaly S Alexius
Catapult can only work on an object between 1-5 lbs. No way a board plus an adventurer is going to work.
If you hop on the board once it's already been catapulted, wouldnt that work?
no. i would rule spell ends the moment its trying to move more than pounds (ignoring small things like its raining/snowing/sandstorm so slightly more weight)
I think the spell wouldn't end... I think it would just hit the person who jumps in the way of the object rocketing through the air.
Just wondering, would casting magic missile into a wall work to make large flashes and scare away creatures vulnerable to light and heat? Or when a party member is deafened, could you use magic mouth on them in order to make them say whatever you want to say to them so they know what you want to say?
Magic Missile has to target one or more creatures. You can't cast it on a wall. Also, it does not create an explosion and has no large blast of heat or light.
Magic Mouth has to be cast on an object that isn't being worn or carried by a creature, it can't be cast on a character or any of their equipment.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
Find your own truth, choose your enemies carefully, and never deal with a dragon.
"Canon" is what's factual to D&D lore. "Cannon" is what you're going to be shot with if you keep getting the word wrong.
Having a think about different spells and how they are sometimes worded with a slight hint (sarcasm) of ambiguity, can that wording be used to your advantage?
Create-or-destroy-water - Destroy Water. You destroy up to 10 gallons of water in an open container within range. Alternatively, you destroy fog in a 30-foot cube within range.
Specifically the Destroy part of this spell, would a creature/person/enemy be classed as an open container if they have a mouth? I mean how much water is in the average body 60-70%, 10 gallons is a quite a bit isn't it? A 1st level spell that can desiccate an enemy on the spot would be quite cool.
To be fair you could also use the create side to drown an enemy by filling their lungs with water!
Can anybody come up with other creative ways to use spells, that may with a little DM negotiation be allowed to be used?
I would think they only count as an open container if they have a cut.
Having a think about different spells and how they are sometimes worded with a slight hint (sarcasm) of ambiguity, can that wording be used to your advantage?
Create-or-destroy-water - Destroy Water. You destroy up to 10 gallons of water in an open container within range. Alternatively, you destroy fog in a 30-foot cube within range.
Specifically the Destroy part of this spell, would a creature/person/enemy be classed as an open container if they have a mouth? I mean how much water is in the average body 60-70%, 10 gallons is a quite a bit isn't it? A 1st level spell that can desiccate an enemy on the spot would be quite cool.
To be fair you could also use the create side to drown an enemy by filling their lungs with water!
Can anybody come up with other creative ways to use spells, that may with a little DM negotiation be allowed to be used?
I would think they only count as an open container if they have a cut.
They don't count then. If the spell could affect creatures under any circumstance, it would say so in the spell's description and describe exactly what the effects were.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
Find your own truth, choose your enemies carefully, and never deal with a dragon.
"Canon" is what's factual to D&D lore. "Cannon" is what you're going to be shot with if you keep getting the word wrong.
Choose a manufactured metal object, such as a metal weapon or a suit of heavy or medium metal armor, that you can see within range.
This puts three barriers towards Heat Metal working in this way.
Unless you're dealing with a construct, blood is natural is not manufactured. And if it's a construct you'd be better served by asking your DM if you could target any visible metal parts of it's body if it has any.
Liquids aren't generally considered objects (they aren't discrete) and blood is a liquid.
The spell can only target something that you can see. Blood is typically inside of a body and bodies are typically opaque. Even then blood itself is not a metal though parts of it (iron bound to the hemoglobin within blood cells) are. To be able to see the iron inside blood and identify it as such requires both a microscope and knowledge of microbiology (typically not parts of most fantasy settings). And if the blood is on the slide of a microscope chances are it's no longer in contact with a creature directly anyway.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
As you pointed out, there's no acceleration phase. However, I'd say no damage going the full speed projectile route, because something that light hitting your shoes in midair from only a few inches range would at best, do no harm, and at worst, make you lose balance or knock you over. I'd probably ask the player to make a DC 10-ish acrobatics check to land on the board scot-free without taking a tumble. Fail it, and take half the catapult damage (because of the short range) and be sent prone, as well as the board ricocheting off of you and flying away in an unintended direction.
Life is very busy unfortunately, gone from most Pbp's indefinitely.
If you'd like to contact me, I am on Discord at GreatAxeblade#7595, always happy to chat :)
Homebrew races: ~Otterfolk! Play as a otter!~ Playable Dryad! (Literally just the monster sheet ported to player race)
Sauce Archpriest!- Join the Supreme Court of Sauces! Join the Cult of Cults! EXTENDED SIGNATURE Tooltips
The Catapult spell simply doesn't have the power to fling a full-sized adventurer. You cannot use it to Fastball Special someone. You're not finding a creative use for the spell, you're making up your own version of the spell that does whatever you want it to instead of what the spell's description actually says.
Find your own truth, choose your enemies carefully, and never deal with a dragon.
"Canon" is what's factual to D&D lore. "Cannon" is what you're going to be shot with if you keep getting the word wrong.
I don't see how I'm making any new versions of a spell?
Life is very busy unfortunately, gone from most Pbp's indefinitely.
If you'd like to contact me, I am on Discord at GreatAxeblade#7595, always happy to chat :)
Homebrew races: ~Otterfolk! Play as a otter!~ Playable Dryad! (Literally just the monster sheet ported to player race)
Sauce Archpriest!- Join the Supreme Court of Sauces! Join the Cult of Cults! EXTENDED SIGNATURE Tooltips
You're trying to use the spell to do something that's well outside of what it's able to do in its description.
Find your own truth, choose your enemies carefully, and never deal with a dragon.
"Canon" is what's factual to D&D lore. "Cannon" is what you're going to be shot with if you keep getting the word wrong.
How would you rule about using Rope Trick as an instant 60ft levitate? Just cast the spell and then grab onto the rope as it rises into the air.
Canto alla vita
alla sua bellezza
ad ogni sua ferita
ogni sua carezza!
I sing to life and to its tragic beauty
To pain and to strife, but all that dances through me
The rise and the fall, I've lived through it all!
I would rule the spell can lift up to 12 pounds of weight, as that's the weight of 60 feet of hempen rope. So if you cast the spell on 5 feet of silk rope (0.5 pounds), you would have 59.5 pounds left, and could potentially carry up to 2 kobolds up with the top end of the rope, for example.
But otherwise it would .. fail and waste the slot? Or just activate as if it were a shorter length rope?
Canto alla vita
alla sua bellezza
ad ogni sua ferita
ogni sua carezza!
I sing to life and to its tragic beauty
To pain and to strife, but all that dances through me
The rise and the fall, I've lived through it all!
For as long as the spell lasts, the rope you cast the spell on would attempt to obey the spell, so the rope would spend an hour attempting to lift. The slot would be consumed regardless of when or if the rope succeeded.
Hmm .. I think I prefer the idea that it just lifts anything attached to it. If something immensely heavy is attached to it, the rope just tears and becomes a shorter rope, thus activating at the current length.
Canto alla vita
alla sua bellezza
ad ogni sua ferita
ogni sua carezza!
I sing to life and to its tragic beauty
To pain and to strife, but all that dances through me
The rise and the fall, I've lived through it all!
non-magic and one hit before shattering is what i would rule
on the key note. WHO NEEDS A KEY OR A ROGUE WHEN YOU HAVE SHAPE WATER. 12 seconds and i shattered almost any lock. fill with water and freeze.
This Mug immediately shared with me a transcendental tale of an Infinite Mug that anchors the Universe and keeps it from folding in on itself. I filed this report under "illogical nonsense" and asked why its sign is in Times New Roman font, when it is basic knowledge that Arial Black is a far superior font. I wondered: How did this mug even get past the assembly line with its theistic beliefs and poor font choices?
quote from Romantically Apocalyptic by Vitaly S Alexius
levitate is the same level. no up-to-the-DM nonsense
and has more options.
This Mug immediately shared with me a transcendental tale of an Infinite Mug that anchors the Universe and keeps it from folding in on itself. I filed this report under "illogical nonsense" and asked why its sign is in Times New Roman font, when it is basic knowledge that Arial Black is a far superior font. I wondered: How did this mug even get past the assembly line with its theistic beliefs and poor font choices?
quote from Romantically Apocalyptic by Vitaly S Alexius
no. i would rule spell ends the moment its trying to move more than pounds (ignoring small things like its raining/snowing/sandstorm so slightly more weight)
This Mug immediately shared with me a transcendental tale of an Infinite Mug that anchors the Universe and keeps it from folding in on itself. I filed this report under "illogical nonsense" and asked why its sign is in Times New Roman font, when it is basic knowledge that Arial Black is a far superior font. I wondered: How did this mug even get past the assembly line with its theistic beliefs and poor font choices?
quote from Romantically Apocalyptic by Vitaly S Alexius
I think the spell wouldn't end... I think it would just hit the person who jumps in the way of the object rocketing through the air.
Watch Crits for Breakfast, an adults-only RP-Heavy Roll20 Livestream at twitch.tv/afterdisbooty
And now you too can play with the amazing art and assets we use in Roll20 for our campaign at Hazel's Emporium
Just wondering, would casting magic missile into a wall work to make large flashes and scare away creatures vulnerable to light and heat? Or when a party member is deafened, could you use magic mouth on them in order to make them say whatever you want to say to them so they know what you want to say?
Grew outta my cringe roleplay account arc :P
They/them
Magic Missile has to target one or more creatures. You can't cast it on a wall. Also, it does not create an explosion and has no large blast of heat or light.
Magic Mouth has to be cast on an object that isn't being worn or carried by a creature, it can't be cast on a character or any of their equipment.
Find your own truth, choose your enemies carefully, and never deal with a dragon.
"Canon" is what's factual to D&D lore. "Cannon" is what you're going to be shot with if you keep getting the word wrong.
I would think they only count as an open container if they have a cut.
They don't count then. If the spell could affect creatures under any circumstance, it would say so in the spell's description and describe exactly what the effects were.
Find your own truth, choose your enemies carefully, and never deal with a dragon.
"Canon" is what's factual to D&D lore. "Cannon" is what you're going to be shot with if you keep getting the word wrong.
they probably mean blood cells
Regardless, Heat Metal doesn't work on blood.
This puts three barriers towards Heat Metal working in this way.