Of course you can. Just gotta have a second person who knows it as well who uses a familiar to deliver it and is willing to have their familiar ride around on your weapon Snake form familiars work best for this non-real tactic :-)
And to answer the original question, no, you would not. Shillelagh: "For the duration, you can use your spellcasting ability instead of Strength for the attack and damage rolls of melee attacks"; Dual Wielding: "You don’t add your ability modifier to the damage of the bonus attack, unless that modifier is negative." You use Wis (or whatever) instead of Str, but you don't add Str, so you don't add Wis, either. The only case where you would add wis is if you would normally add Str, such as with the two-weapon fighting combat style.
Note that if you want to be able to get a bonus action attack which Does add your ability modifier and doesn't rely on weird snaky familiar trick shenanigans to go with your shillelagh usage, you should just pick up "polearm master" the feat. It allows a bonus action attack with the same weapon which does add your ability modifier And other benefits, and seems built for shillelagh using folks like yourself :-) Enjoy!
Of course you can. Just gotta have a second person who knows it as well who uses a familiar to deliver it and is willing to have their familiar ride around on your weapon Snake form familiars work best for this non-real tactic :-)
The word "you" in Shillelagh refers to the caster. The familiar is not the caster. Delivering the spell through a familiar doesn't change the fact that the caster needs to be the one holding the weapon and the spell ends if the caster lets go of it.
Note that if you want to be able to get a bonus action attack which Does add your ability modifier and doesn't rely on weird snaky familiar trick shenanigans to go with your shillelagh usage, you should just pick up "polearm master" the feat. It allows a bonus action attack with the same weapon which does add your ability modifier And other benefits, and seems built for shillelagh using folks like yourself :-) Enjoy!
Shillelagh + Polearm Master with a quarterstaff and shield is definitely a solid combo. Just keep in mind that the bonus attack from Polearm Master will still use a d4 even with Shillelagh.
Of course you can. Just gotta have a second person who knows it as well who uses a familiar to deliver it and is willing to have their familiar ride around on your weapon Snake form familiars work best for this non-real tactic :-)
The word "you" in Shillelagh refers to the caster. The familiar is not the caster. Delivering the spell through a familiar doesn't change the fact that the caster needs to be the one holding the weapon and the spell ends if the caster lets go of it.
Note that if you want to be able to get a bonus action attack which Does add your ability modifier and doesn't rely on weird snaky familiar trick shenanigans to go with your shillelagh usage, you should just pick up "polearm master" the feat. It allows a bonus action attack with the same weapon which does add your ability modifier And other benefits, and seems built for shillelagh using folks like yourself :-) Enjoy!
Shillelagh + Polearm Master with a quarterstaff and shield is definitely a solid combo. Just keep in mind that the bonus attack from Polearm Master will still use a d4 even with Shillelagh.
Gonna have to respectfully disagree there, Find Familiar states "Finally, when you cast a spell with a range of touch, your familiar can deliver the spell as if it had cast the spell." To me that makes it Very clear that references to "you" in the spell are then references to "the familiar", as it is cast as if the familiar had cast it. It doesn't matter anyway of course, it's a joke, not a real tactic, but yeah, if in some strange alternate dimension your familiar had been polymorphed into a form where it could wield weapons somehow and you knew the shillelagh cantrip and had the familiar deliver the shillelagh spell to a weapon it was holding, the spell would Not immediately end because you the wizard / caster thing in question were not holding the familiar's weapon for it, based on my understanding of RAW.
Find Familiar states "Finally, when you cast a spell with a range of touch, your familiar can deliver the spell as if it had cast the spell."
The familiar delivers the spell as if it were the caster. They're still not the caster. The familiar didn't perform the spell's components or use a spell slot. You don't use the familiar's spell save DC or spell attack bonus. The familiar isn't the creature you target with counterspell. The familiar isn't the creature that's going to recover HP from Vampiric Touch.
Find Familiar lets your familiar touch the target for you; nothing more and nothing less.
Find Familiar states "Finally, when you cast a spell with a range of touch, your familiar can deliver the spell as if it had cast the spell."
The familiar delivers the spell as if it were the caster. They're still not the caster. The familiar didn't perform the spell's components or use a spell slot. You don't use the familiar's spell save DC or spell attack bonus. The familiar isn't the creature you target with counterspell. The familiar isn't the creature that's going to recover HP from Vampiric Touch.
Find Familiar lets your familiar touch the target for you; nothing more and nothing less.
So let's pursue the hypothetical- let's say somehow your familiar was transformed into a form with hands, who was capable of actually holding a club or quarterstaff, and you knew shillelagh. You have the familiar deliver it, a touch range spell, as if it had cast the spell, to a club or quarterstaff which it is holding. Would you, were you DM, rule that the spell fails, because the Wizard is not holding the target of the touch range spell the familiar is holding and is targeting with the spell? Would you rule it immediately ends, because the wizard is ruled to have somehow "let go" of the weapon? How would you actually rule it, and how would you jive that with RAW? Again, it's NOT that it delivers the spell as if it were the caster. That's not RAW. It's that it delivers the spell as if it had cast the spell. That's RAW. At this point I'm just curious how you would actually rule that. I know how I would :-)
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
Hey guys, quick question. If I were to be dual wielding shillelagh clubs, would I add the Spellcasting modifier to the damage roll?
Shillelagh ends if you cast it again; you can't apply it to two weapons.
The Forum Infestation (TM)
Oh shoot I should’ve noticed that. Thanks
Of course you can. Just gotta have a second person who knows it as well who uses a familiar to deliver it and is willing to have their familiar ride around on your weapon Snake form familiars work best for this non-real tactic :-)
And to answer the original question, no, you would not. Shillelagh: "For the duration, you can use your spellcasting ability instead of Strength for the attack and damage rolls of melee attacks"; Dual Wielding: "You don’t add your ability modifier to the damage of the bonus attack, unless that modifier is negative." You use Wis (or whatever) instead of Str, but you don't add Str, so you don't add Wis, either. The only case where you would add wis is if you would normally add Str, such as with the two-weapon fighting combat style.
Note that if you want to be able to get a bonus action attack which Does add your ability modifier and doesn't rely on weird snaky familiar trick shenanigans to go with your shillelagh usage, you should just pick up "polearm master" the feat. It allows a bonus action attack with the same weapon which does add your ability modifier And other benefits, and seems built for shillelagh using folks like yourself :-) Enjoy!
The word "you" in Shillelagh refers to the caster. The familiar is not the caster. Delivering the spell through a familiar doesn't change the fact that the caster needs to be the one holding the weapon and the spell ends if the caster lets go of it.
The Forum Infestation (TM)
I wonder if Twinned Spell would work on it?
"Most people are other people. Their thoughts are someone else's opinions, their lives a mimicry, their passions a quotation."
― Oscar Wilde.
Twinned Spell requires a spell that targets a single creature. Shillelagh targets an object.
The Forum Infestation (TM)
The Forum Infestation (TM)