So here is my question, with PAM it says as a bonus action you can attack with the blunt end of the polearm doing bludgeoning damage. Crusher says if you do bludgeoning damage you can knock the opponent back 5ft once per turn. So say Baddie 1 steps up to me with my glaive, PAM says I get an attack of opportunity when they enter my reach. In this scenario I swing as Baddie 1 closes in. On my turn I attack him first and then bonus action attack, procing Crusher to send Baddie 1 back 5ft. On Baddie 1's following turn does he provoke another attack of opportunity since he is again trying to close distance within my range?
Polearm Master
You can keep your enemies at bay with reach weapons. You gain the following benefits:
When you take the Attack action and attack with only a glaive, halberd, quarterstaff, or spear, you can use a bonus action to make a melee attack with the opposite end of the weapon. This attack uses the same ability modifier as the primary attack. The weapon’s damage die for this attack is a d4, and it deals bludgeoning damage.
While you are wielding a glaive, halberd, pike, quarterstaff, or spear, other creatures provoke an opportunity attack from you when they enter your reach
Crusher
You are practiced in the art of crushing your enemies, granting you the following benefits:
Increase your Strength or Constitution by 1, to a maximum of 20.
Once per turn, when you hit a creature with an attack that deals bludgeoning damage, you can move it 5 feet to an unoccupied space, provided the target is no more than one size larger than you.
When you score a critical hit that deals bludgeoning damage to a creature, attack rolls against that creature are made with advantage until the start of your next turn
Potentially, it depends on exactly what you do on your turn. As you described it you just attacked and pushed the enemy back 5ft while you stayed put. A glaive is a reach weapon so even though the enemy is not adjacent to you they are still within your reach. The opportunity attack granted by PAM only procs if the opponent enters your reach, not when they move around within your reach.
To get this to work all you need to do is back up 5ft after you push the enemy. This way you don't provoke an opportunity attack yourself (unless they have a 10ft reach) and they are now outside your reach and would need to enter it again to approach you.
You can also combo this with the Sentinel feat since the reaction attack granted by PAM is an opportunity attack. The enemy approaches you. PAM gives you a opportunity attack for entering your reach. If you hit Sentinel means the enemies speed becomes 0 just inside your reach. Unless they have reach or range they now can't attack you and they can no longer move. Without Crusher you can now back up like I mentioned before or with Crusher you can push them back 5ft to put them out of your reach without having to move at all.
Opportunity attacks only work with voluntary movement. Forced movement, like pushing someone, doesn't provoke an opportunity attack. Also, taking an opportunity attack requires your reaction, so you can only make one per round of combat.*
*There is a fighter subclass that gives you extra opportunity attacks and a monk subclass that gives you an extra reaction.
Edit: Totally misread the situation and assumed that everything was happening in unison. My B.
So here is my question, with PAM it says as a bonus action you can attack with the blunt end of the polearm doing bludgeoning damage. Crusher says if you do bludgeoning damage you can knock the opponent back 5ft once per turn. So say Baddie 1 steps up to me with my glaive, PAM says I get an attack of opportunity when they enter my reach. In this scenario I swing as Baddie 1 closes in. On my turn I attack him first and then bonus action attack, procing Crusher to send Baddie 1 back 5ft. On Baddie 1's following turn does he provoke another attack of opportunity since he is again trying to close distance within my range?
Based on the scenario as you described it, you might need to step back after the BA, or use a non-reach weapon. PAM only lets you OA when they enter your reach, not from moving within it. If they started 5 feet from you and you pushed them 5 feet back, they are still within a glaive's 10 foot reach. But yes, your combo works if you are careful about that.
Opportunity attacks only work with voluntary movement. Forced movement, like pushing someone, doesn't provoke an opportunity attack. Also, taking an opportunity attack requires your reaction, so you can only make one per round of combat.*
*There is a fighter subclass that gives you extra opportunity attacks and a monk subclass that gives you an extra reaction.
I think you might have misunderstood, unless you are just reminding of some tangentially relevant rules that weren't being broken or asked about.
I see the verbiage now, so the PAM attack of opportunity only procs when the enemy enters range. Since they would still be within reach it would not qualify, sort of like circling an enemy to stay within threat range so as to not proc a normal attack of opportunity. Thank you for the clarification.
Potentially, it depends on exactly what you do on your turn. As you described it you just attacked and pushed the enemy back 5ft while you stayed put. A glaive is a reach weapon so even though the enemy is not adjacent to you they are still within your reach. The opportunity attack granted by PAM only procs if the opponent enters your reach, not when they move around within your reach.
To get this to work all you need to do is back up 5ft after you push the enemy. This way you don't provoke an opportunity attack yourself (unless they have a 10ft reach) and they are now outside your reach and would need to enter it again to approach you.
You can also combo this with the Sentinel feat since the reaction attack granted by PAM is an opportunity attack. The enemy approaches you. PAM gives you a opportunity attack for entering your reach. If you hit Sentinel means the enemies speed becomes 0 just inside your reach. Unless they have reach or range they now can't attack you and they can no longer move. Without Crusher you can now back up like I mentioned before or with Crusher you can push them back 5ft to put them out of your reach without having to move at all.
If you had all three (PAM, Crusher, Sentinel) then you could basically stun-lock an enemy.
Enemy approaches you, PAM triggers the OA, Sentinel reduces their speed to 0. If they have no other enemy within 5 ft. and no range/reach weapon, their turn ends (or they take the Dodge action).
On your turn, you step 5 ft. toward them Attack with your action, BA PAM attack, Crusher pushes them 5 ft. back. You now step back 5 ft. (not trigger an OA as you are out of their reach).
Rinse, repeat.
Yes, this is what I described with my last paragraph.
Note though that the way you have your character move 5ft forward and 5ft back isn't required. The PAM opportunity attack happens when the target enters your reach so Sentinel would stop them inside your reach.
You're correct. I though you had to be within 5ft. to make the BA attack, but I was mistaken.
I initially thought that too until I looked it up in preparation for my answer. I blame DDB's feat action saying 5 feet since it can't check the weapon.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
So here is my question, with PAM it says as a bonus action you can attack with the blunt end of the polearm doing bludgeoning damage. Crusher says if you do bludgeoning damage you can knock the opponent back 5ft once per turn. So say Baddie 1 steps up to me with my glaive, PAM says I get an attack of opportunity when they enter my reach. In this scenario I swing as Baddie 1 closes in. On my turn I attack him first and then bonus action attack, procing Crusher to send Baddie 1 back 5ft. On Baddie 1's following turn does he provoke another attack of opportunity since he is again trying to close distance within my range?
Polearm Master
You can keep your enemies at bay with reach weapons. You gain the following benefits:
Crusher
You are practiced in the art of crushing your enemies, granting you the following benefits:
Certainly.
Potentially, it depends on exactly what you do on your turn. As you described it you just attacked and pushed the enemy back 5ft while you stayed put. A glaive is a reach weapon so even though the enemy is not adjacent to you they are still within your reach. The opportunity attack granted by PAM only procs if the opponent enters your reach, not when they move around within your reach.
To get this to work all you need to do is back up 5ft after you push the enemy. This way you don't provoke an opportunity attack yourself (unless they have a 10ft reach) and they are now outside your reach and would need to enter it again to approach you.
You can also combo this with the Sentinel feat since the reaction attack granted by PAM is an opportunity attack. The enemy approaches you. PAM gives you a opportunity attack for entering your reach. If you hit Sentinel means the enemies speed becomes 0 just inside your reach. Unless they have reach or range they now can't attack you and they can no longer move. Without Crusher you can now back up like I mentioned before or with Crusher you can push them back 5ft to put them out of your reach without having to move at all.
Opportunity attacks only work with voluntary movement. Forced movement, like pushing someone, doesn't provoke an opportunity attack. Also, taking an opportunity attack requires your reaction, so you can only make one per round of combat.*
*There is a fighter subclass that gives you extra opportunity attacks and a monk subclass that gives you an extra reaction.
Edit: Totally misread the situation and assumed that everything was happening in unison. My B.
Buyers Guide for D&D Beyond - Hardcover Books, D&D Beyond and You - How/What is Toggled Content?
Everything you need to know about Homebrew - Homebrew FAQ - Digital Book on D&D Beyond Vs Physical Books
Can't find the content you are supposed to have access to? Read this FAQ.
"Play the game however you want to play the game. After all, your fun doesn't threaten my fun."
Based on the scenario as you described it, you might need to step back after the BA, or use a non-reach weapon. PAM only lets you OA when they enter your reach, not from moving within it. If they started 5 feet from you and you pushed them 5 feet back, they are still within a glaive's 10 foot reach. But yes, your combo works if you are careful about that.
I think you might have misunderstood, unless you are just reminding of some tangentially relevant rules that weren't being broken or asked about.
I see the verbiage now, so the PAM attack of opportunity only procs when the enemy enters range. Since they would still be within reach it would not qualify, sort of like circling an enemy to stay within threat range so as to not proc a normal attack of opportunity. Thank you for the clarification.
Yes, this is what I described with my last paragraph.
Note though that the way you have your character move 5ft forward and 5ft back isn't required. The PAM opportunity attack happens when the target enters your reach so Sentinel would stop them inside your reach.
I initially thought that too until I looked it up in preparation for my answer. I blame DDB's feat action saying 5 feet since it can't check the weapon.