No, the rule says you can use only 1 spell slot per turn.
You can cast a leveled spell on your turn, then end your turn, and then cast a leveled reaction spell on the enemy's turn, because that's a different turn.
This is possible:
You: "I cast Fireball! Now I end my turn."
DM: "Ok, now it's the Hobgoblin's turn. He runs at you and attacks you!"
You: "I use my reaction to cast Shield!""
DM: "Great idea!"
This is not possible:
You: "I cast Fireball! Now I use my movement to run away."
DM: "The Hobgoblin uses their opportunity attack!"
You: "I use my reaction to cast Shield!"
DM: "You can't, because you already cast Fireball earlier and it is still your turn!"
[...] so if I think I need the shield or counterspell spell, should I think about it first and only use cantrips or spells that don't require slots?
@DerManiac's answer is OK!, but I'd like to add just a personal opinion.
I think, under the 2024 rules, we'll see more spellcasters relying on Magic Items, Spell Scrolls or traits/features/feats that grant players prepared spells they can cast without using spell slots.
Additionally, if you're trying to cast a spell on your turn, and a caster hits you with a Counterspell, you can't use your own Counterspell to negate the enemy cast of Counterspell. Even if you could cast Counterspell, spending your spell slot on Counterspell would mean you couldn't cast the original spell anyway.
A turn is what happens between start of turn - end of turn, so if someone in its turn makes trigger your reaction, is not your turn (1 turn), is another one turn, so is not the same turn, you can spend another slot.
Then, you can't:
- Counterspell another Counterspell against your spell that used a slot using a slot.
- Cast a spell, move, then cast Shield against the OA.
You can:
- Counterspell another Counterspell against your spell if at least one of them was from an item (scroll, wand, staff...).
- Cast a spell, move, then cast Shield from a scroll (or any other item) against the OA.
- Cast Misty Step from a scroll as Bonus Action, then cast Fireball as action using a slot. In addition, Counterspell from a scroll the foe try to Counterspell your Fireball.
Seems now to be well equipped makes a big difference, so take some time and use the money to scribe your own scrolls, specially those that use Bonus Action or Reaction.
IMO this makes very exciting the magic + items management. Now magical items with casting capabilities get extra utility instead being only some extra spell slot, and gain relevance over items with other capabilities for spellcasters. The ring for storing spells become a really nice nice one.
So the operate word is "turn" and not to be confused with "round", correct? and on this question about reaction that are leveled spells and then casting a level spell on your turn, things work under the 2024 rules the same or essentially the same way they worked under the 2014 tules, also correct?
(And rare case, you potentially could take a reaction, on your turn, like to an enemy's reaction, but you could only use one spell slot on your turn, right?)
So the operate word is "turn" and not to be confused with "round", correct? and on this question about reaction that are leveled spells and then casting a level spell on your turn, things work under the 2024 rules the same or essentially the same way they worked under the 2014 tules, also correct?
(And rare case, you potentially could take a reaction, on your turn, like to an enemy's reaction, but you could only use one spell slot on your turn, right?)
Well, depending on the context, "round" can also be correct.
As for the spellcasting rules, they've changed and aren't quite the same as before.
DerManiac's impossible example was possible under the 2014 rules. Back then, you could cast a leveled spell and a reaction spell on your turn. Now, with the 2024 rules, that's no longer possible:
One Spell with a Spell Slot per Turn
On a turn, you can expend only one spell slot to cast a spell. This rule means you can’t, for example, cast a spell with a spell slot using the Magic action and another one using a Bonus Action on the same turn.
So the operate word is "turn" and not to be confused with "round", correct? and on this question about reaction that are leveled spells and then casting a level spell on your turn, things work under the 2024 rules the same or essentially the same way they worked under the 2014 tules, also correct?
(And rare case, you potentially could take a reaction, on your turn, like to an enemy's reaction, but you could only use one spell slot on your turn, right?)
Well, depending on the context, "round" can also be correct.
As for the spellcasting rules, they've changed and aren't quite the same as before.
DerManiac's impossible example was possible under the 2014 rules. Back then, you could cast a leveled spell and a reaction spell on your turn. Now, with the 2024 rules, that's no longer possible:
One Spell with a Spell Slot per Turn
On a turn, you can expend only one spell slot to cast a spell. This rule means you can’t, for example, cast a spell with a spell slot using the Magic action and another one using a Bonus Action on the same turn.
I thought under the 2024 rules, if for example, you had Fey Touched, you could Misty Step away, using your free feature use, instead of a spell slot, after casting a slotted spell, but then (let's say different character, different turn) the 2024 rules wouldn't allow use of (what is it, Action Surge) to cast a 2nd slotted spell on your turn, even if you multiclassed into Fighter?
So the operate word is "turn" and not to be confused with "round", correct? and on this question about reaction that are leveled spells and then casting a level spell on your turn, things work under the 2024 rules the same or essentially the same way they worked under the 2014 tules, also correct?
(And rare case, you potentially could take a reaction, on your turn, like to an enemy's reaction, but you could only use one spell slot on your turn, right?)
Well, depending on the context, "round" can also be correct.
As for the spellcasting rules, they've changed and aren't quite the same as before.
DerManiac's impossible example was possible under the 2014 rules. Back then, you could cast a leveled spell and a reaction spell on your turn. Now, with the 2024 rules, that's no longer possible:
One Spell with a Spell Slot per Turn
On a turn, you can expend only one spell slot to cast a spell. This rule means you can’t, for example, cast a spell with a spell slot using the Magic action and another one using a Bonus Action on the same turn.
I thought under the 2024 rules, if for example, you had Fey Touched, you could Misty Step away, using your free feature use, instead of a spell slot, after casting a slotted spell
Yes, you're right, thanks to your trait, you could cast it without spending a slot and then cast a second leveled spell. Sorry if I didn't get your question before :(
Elven Lineage. [...]
When you reach character levels 3 and 5, you learn a higher-level spell, as shown on the table. You always have that spell prepared. You can cast it once without a spell slot, and you regain the ability to cast it in that way when you finish a Long Rest.
but then (let's say different character, different turn) the 2024 rules wouldn't allow use of (what is it, Action Surge) to cast a 2nd slotted spell on your turn, even if you multiclassed into Fighter?
Yes, that's also correct. If, for some reason, you could take a second Action on your turn, you could only expend one spell slot in total.
As a side note, Action Surge now prohibits the Magic action.
DerManiac's impossible example was possible under the 2014 rules. Back then, you could cast a leveled spell and a reaction spell on your turn. Now, with the 2024 rules, that's no longer possible:
One Spell with a Spell Slot per Turn
On a turn, you can expend only one spell slot to cast a spell. This rule means you can’t, for example, cast a spell with a spell slot using the Magic action and another one using a Bonus Action on the same turn.
Sorry, I think I'm still not getting what you are trying to illustrate with this example. (it feels like an open hole I'm eventually going to step in)
DerManiac's impossible example was possible under the 2014 rules. Back then, you could cast a leveled spell and a reaction spell on your turn. Now, with the 2024 rules, that's no longer possible:
One Spell with a Spell Slot per Turn
On a turn, you can expend only one spell slot to cast a spell. This rule means you can’t, for example, cast a spell with a spell slot using the Magic action and another one using a Bonus Action on the same turn.
Sorry, I think I'm still not getting what you are trying to illustrate with this example. (it feels like an open hole I'm eventually going to step in)
Do you mean the example I linked from DerManiac?
The following sequence was possible in 2014, but it's not allowed in 2024:
---
You: "I cast Fireball! Now I use my movement to run away."
DM: "The Hobgoblin uses their opportunity attack!"
You: "I use my reaction to cast Shield!"
DM: "You can't, because you already cast Fireball earlier and it is still your turn!"
---
Since both Fireball and Shield use spell slots, the new rule, "One Spell with a Spell Slot per Turn", disallows this.
So just be sure to scribe many reaction and bonus action spell scrolls as can be life savers.
i wonder, are spell scrolls required to be held in hand when cast? If so, you'd need to already hold a reaction spell scroll in hand before the reaction is triggered, because you don't get an object interaction as part of your reaction (it must be part or your movement or action).
And since all (I think) reaction spells are somatic only, you'd need the scroll in one hand, and the other hand free to perform the somatic components.
DerManiac's impossible example was possible under the 2014 rules. Back then, you could cast a leveled spell and a reaction spell on your turn. Now, with the 2024 rules, that's no longer possible:
One Spell with a Spell Slot per Turn
On a turn, you can expend only one spell slot to cast a spell. This rule means you can’t, for example, cast a spell with a spell slot using the Magic action and another one using a Bonus Action on the same turn.
Sorry, I think I'm still not getting what you are trying to illustrate with this example. (it feels like an open hole I'm eventually going to step in)
Do you mean the example I linked from DerManiac?
The following sequence was possible in 2014, but it's not allowed in 2024:
---
You: "I cast Fireball! Now I use my movement to run away."
DM: "The Hobgoblin uses their opportunity attack!"
You: "I use my reaction to cast Shield!"
DM: "You can't, because you already cast Fireball earlier and it is still your turn!"
---
Since both Fireball and Shield use spell slots, the new rule, "One Spell with a Spell Slot per Turn", disallows this
The rule is not about the type of action (regular, Bonus Action, or Reaction), but about the number of spell slots you can expend in a turn: only one.
If, after your turn, you have the opportunity to cast a spell with a casting time of Reaction against a creature during their turn, it's fine to do so.
For example, if you cast a leveled spell on your turn and then your turn ends, you can still cast Counterspell as a reaction later in the same round.
So just be sure to scribe many reaction and bonus action spell scrolls as can be life savers.
i wonder, are spell scrolls required to be held in hand when cast? If so, you'd need to already hold a reaction spell scroll in hand before the reaction is triggered, because you don't get an object interaction as part of your reaction (it must be part or your movement or action).
And since all (I think) reaction spells are somatic only, you'd need the scroll in one hand, and the other hand free to perform the somatic components.
If didn't changed, casting from scrolls takes the same type than from slot. So taking the scroll would be part of the reaction casting.
And since all (I think) reaction spells are somatic only, you'd need the scroll in one hand, and the other hand free to perform the somatic components.
No, this isn't necessary under 2014 rules and also presumably under 2024 rules. From the 2014 DMG:
Some magic items allow the user to cast a spell from the item. The spell is cast at the lowest possible spell level, doesn't expend any of the user's spell slots, and requires no components, unless the item's description says otherwise.
The Spell Scroll item description doesn't mention anything about needing to provide a Somatic component.
Scroll: ...If the spell is on your class's spell list, you can read the scroll and cast the spell using its normal casting time and without providing any Material components.
It bypasses the Material component, so have to provide the omitted ones. But there is no mention you cannot use the same hand that holds the scroll. As summary, is just like if you cast from your spells, but not providing material components. In fact, there is no mention you need to hold it, so you could read if it's in front of you in any way.
So just be sure to scribe many reaction and bonus action spell scrolls as can be life savers.
i wonder, are spell scrolls required to be held in hand when cast? If so, you'd need to already hold a reaction spell scroll in hand before the reaction is triggered, because you don't get an object interaction as part of your reaction (it must be part or your movement or action).
And since all (I think) reaction spells are somatic only, you'd need the scroll in one hand, and the other hand free to perform the somatic components.
If didn't changed, casting from scrolls takes the same type than from slot. So taking the scroll would be part of the reaction casting.
Not sure if they changed it.
Casting from the scroll takes the reaction, yes. What I meant is whether you first need an Object Interaction to take the scroll out from wherever you keep it. Because you can't do that as part of a reaction.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
in the new edition, i can't cast a spell as a reaction (shield, counterspell etc) if in my round i cast a spell that required a slot. right?
so if I think I need the shield or counterspell spell, should I think about it first and only use cantrips or spells that don't require slots?
No, the rule says you can use only 1 spell slot per turn.
You can cast a leveled spell on your turn, then end your turn, and then cast a leveled reaction spell on the enemy's turn, because that's a different turn.
This is possible:
This is not possible:
Very very ty.
@DerManiac's answer is OK!, but I'd like to add just a personal opinion.
I think, under the 2024 rules, we'll see more spellcasters relying on Magic Items, Spell Scrolls or traits/features/feats that grant players prepared spells they can cast without using spell slots.
Additionally, if you're trying to cast a spell on your turn, and a caster hits you with a Counterspell, you can't use your own Counterspell to negate the enemy cast of Counterspell. Even if you could cast Counterspell, spending your spell slot on Counterspell would mean you couldn't cast the original spell anyway.
A turn is what happens between start of turn - end of turn, so if someone in its turn makes trigger your reaction, is not your turn (1 turn), is another one turn, so is not the same turn, you can spend another slot.
Then, you can't:
- Counterspell another Counterspell against your spell that used a slot using a slot.
- Cast a spell, move, then cast Shield against the OA.
You can:
- Counterspell another Counterspell against your spell if at least one of them was from an item (scroll, wand, staff...).
- Cast a spell, move, then cast Shield from a scroll (or any other item) against the OA.
- Cast Misty Step from a scroll as Bonus Action, then cast Fireball as action using a slot. In addition, Counterspell from a scroll the foe try to Counterspell your Fireball.
Seems now to be well equipped makes a big difference, so take some time and use the money to scribe your own scrolls, specially those that use Bonus Action or Reaction.
IMO this makes very exciting the magic + items management. Now magical items with casting capabilities get extra utility instead being only some extra spell slot, and gain relevance over items with other capabilities for spellcasters. The ring for storing spells become a really nice nice one.
So the operate word is "turn" and not to be confused with "round", correct? and on this question about reaction that are leveled spells and then casting a level spell on your turn, things work under the 2024 rules the same or essentially the same way they worked under the 2014 tules, also correct?
(And rare case, you potentially could take a reaction, on your turn, like to an enemy's reaction, but you could only use one spell slot on your turn, right?)
Well, depending on the context, "round" can also be correct.
As for the spellcasting rules, they've changed and aren't quite the same as before.
DerManiac's impossible example was possible under the 2014 rules. Back then, you could cast a leveled spell and a reaction spell on your turn. Now, with the 2024 rules, that's no longer possible:
I thought under the 2024 rules, if for example, you had Fey Touched, you could Misty Step away, using your free feature use, instead of a spell slot, after casting a slotted spell, but then (let's say different character, different turn) the 2024 rules wouldn't allow use of (what is it, Action Surge) to cast a 2nd slotted spell on your turn, even if you multiclassed into Fighter?
Yes, you're right, thanks to your trait, you could cast it without spending a slot and then cast a second leveled spell. Sorry if I didn't get your question before :(
Yes, that's also correct. If, for some reason, you could take a second Action on your turn, you could only expend one spell slot in total.
As a side note, Action Surge now prohibits the Magic action.
Sorry, I think I'm still not getting what you are trying to illustrate with this example. (it feels like an open hole I'm eventually going to step in)
Do you mean the example I linked from DerManiac?
The following sequence was possible in 2014, but it's not allowed in 2024:
---
---
Since both Fireball and Shield use spell slots, the new rule, "One Spell with a Spell Slot per Turn", disallows this.
Another example from this page (DnD 5e to DnD 2024 Transition Guide and Change Log): "This notably prevents using Reaction spells like Counterspell and Silvery Barbs to ensure that your spells land."
So just be sure to scribe many reaction and bonus action spell scrolls as can be life savers.
i wonder, are spell scrolls required to be held in hand when cast? If so, you'd need to already hold a reaction spell scroll in hand before the reaction is triggered, because you don't get an object interaction as part of your reaction (it must be part or your movement or action).
And since all (I think) reaction spells are somatic only, you'd need the scroll in one hand, and the other hand free to perform the somatic components.
Okay is this right the 2014 rule re; how many slotted/leveled spells is here/in this section: https://www.dndbeyond.com/sources/dnd/basic-rules-2014/spellcasting#CastingTime and the rule seems to pertain to Bonus Actions, but not Reactions? And then for 2024 the rules pertaining to how many slotted/leveled spells is here: https://www.dndbeyond.com/sources/dnd/free-rules/spells#OneSpellwithaSpellSlotperTurn and seems to operate on turn vs round? (I think in this case, i like the 2024 rules better).
The rule is not about the type of action (regular, Bonus Action, or Reaction), but about the number of spell slots you can expend in a turn: only one.
If, after your turn, you have the opportunity to cast a spell with a casting time of Reaction against a creature during their turn, it's fine to do so.
For example, if you cast a leveled spell on your turn and then your turn ends, you can still cast Counterspell as a reaction later in the same round.
If didn't changed, casting from scrolls takes the same type than from slot. So taking the scroll would be part of the reaction casting.
Not sure if they changed it.
No, this isn't necessary under 2014 rules and also presumably under 2024 rules. From the 2014 DMG:
The Spell Scroll item description doesn't mention anything about needing to provide a Somatic component.
It bypasses the Material component, so have to provide the omitted ones. But there is no mention you cannot use the same hand that holds the scroll. As summary, is just like if you cast from your spells, but not providing material components. In fact, there is no mention you need to hold it, so you could read if it's in front of you in any way.
Casting from the scroll takes the reaction, yes. What I meant is whether you first need an Object Interaction to take the scroll out from wherever you keep it. Because you can't do that as part of a reaction.