Terrifying Glare.Wisdom Saving Throw: DC 11, one creature the scarecrow can see within 30 feet. Failure: The target has the Frightened condition until the end of the scarecrow’s next turn. While Frightened, the target has the Paralyzed condition.
Fearsome Claw.Melee Attack Roll: +3, reach 5 ft. Hit: 6 (2d4 + 1) Slashing damage, and the target has the Frightened condition until the end of the scarecrow’s next turn.
If I am reading this right, they can use the glare, next round they hit you which extends the frightened condition which also extends the paralyzed condition. So they can effectively stun lock a player for the fight. Is that the intent? I'm pretty sure its the rule, just not sure its the intended effect.
Terrifying Glare.Wisdom Saving Throw: DC 11, one creature the scarecrow can see within 30 feet. Failure: The target has the Frightened condition until the end of the scarecrow’s next turn. While Frightened, the target has the Paralyzed condition.
Fearsome Claw.Melee Attack Roll: +3, reach 5 ft. Hit: 6 (2d4 + 1) Slashing damage, and the target has the Frightened condition until the end of the scarecrow’s next turn.
If I am reading this right, they can use the glare, next round they hit you which extends the frightened condition which also extends the paralyzed condition. So they can effectively stun lock a player for the fight. Is that the intent? I'm pretty sure its the rule, just not sure its the intended effect.
Fearsome Claw does not inflict the Paralyzed condition, whether it follows up Terrifying Glare or not
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
Active characters:
Carric Aquissar, elven wannabe artist in his deconstructionist period (Archfey warlock) Lan Kidogo, mapach archaeologist and treasure hunter (Knowledge cleric) Mardan Ferres, elven private investigator obsessed with that one unsolved murder (Assassin rogue) Xhekhetiel, halfling survivor of a Betrayer Gods cult (Runechild sorcerer/fighter)
Yes, but the gazes paralyze lasts while the target is frightened. Which fearsome claw causes, so they would remain frightened which would extend the paralysis. like I said I am not sure it is intended but the glare has 2 effects separated by a period, Effect one, sentence 1. The target is frightened until end of scarecrows next turn. effect 2, sentence 2. While the target is frightened the target has the paralyzed condition.
It is not while frightened by this effect, but while frightened. If you get hit by the claw in the following round the frightened condition gets extended another turn, which then can get extended etc.
like I assume its not saying if you ever get frightened again at any time for the rest of your life you are paralyzed, but it reads to me like as long as they are kept frightened continuously they would remain paralyzed. Though I can see a reading that is effectively adding the line, frightened by this effect where it only lasts one round period. Its a CR1 creature with an 11 Ac, vulnerability to fire which is kind of obvious given its made of straw, and 27 hit points. Its DC to resist the fear is only 11, it takes a action, I am not sure it will last a single round against most level 1 parties in order to try and claw someone. But against a solo character the combination if it works like I am suggesting would be deadly.
Yes, RAW, if you are actively afflicted by Terrifying Glare and are hit by Fearsome Claw the next turn (a likely prospect), the Frightened condition is extended and therefore the Paralyzed condition is extended. If the frightened condition lapses for any reason, the Paralyzed condition also ends and does not resume unless you are again affected by Terrifying Glare.
That is very odd wording if that is not the intent. There are a few ways to become immune or resistant to fear, but they are rare at level 1. Heroism spell, playing a Halfling (advantage of saves versus Frightened and Lucky!), the Lucky Origin Feat, Bardic Inspiration, Bless, and similar abilities can all help. Also, having other party members who can deal fire damage will resolve the issue more quickly.
This does look a bit underrated in CR. 27 HP. Most first level characters that fails the Wisdom save versus the Gaze is probably going to get one-shotted the next turn. It might be a factor of level 1 being a very swingy level, but I expect a decent chance of a player death if a low AC character is targeted. A +3 attack bonus will hit even an AC 18 character will be hit more than half the time 51% if they are Paralyzed and any hit will then automatically be a crit for an average 12 damage. Oof.
Fortunately, even if one Scarecrow downs a character, that will be after two turns and the character will be making death saves, but not dead-dead.
Still potentially being taken out of the fight turn one would suck (Frightened + Paralyzed = neutralized while the conditions last).
Yes, but the gazes paralyze lasts while the target is frightened. Which fearsome claw causes, so they would remain frightened which would extend the paralysis
By that logic, if a character is hit by Terrifying Gaze once, they would become Paralyzed when they are Frightened for the rest of their lives
They are Paralyzed while Frightened by Terrifying Gaze. That's it. This is a CR1 monster
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
Active characters:
Carric Aquissar, elven wannabe artist in his deconstructionist period (Archfey warlock) Lan Kidogo, mapach archaeologist and treasure hunter (Knowledge cleric) Mardan Ferres, elven private investigator obsessed with that one unsolved murder (Assassin rogue) Xhekhetiel, halfling survivor of a Betrayer Gods cult (Runechild sorcerer/fighter)
Since Conditions Don’t Stack If multiple effects impose the same condition on you, each instance of the condition has its own duration, but the condition’s effects don’t get worse.
Using Terrifying Glare cause the Frightened condition until the end of the scarecrow’s next turn. While Frightened, the target has the Paralyzed condition.
On scarecrow’s next turn, it use Fearsome Claw cause the Frightened condition until the end of the scarecrow’s next turn but at the end of this turn the other instance of Frightened condition end, along with the Paralyzed condition that came with it.
Yes, but the gazes paralyze lasts while the target is frightened. Which fearsome claw causes, so they would remain frightened which would extend the paralysis
By that logic, if a character is hit by Terrifying Gaze once, they would become Paralyzed when they are Frightened for the rest of their lives
They are Paralyzed while Frightened by Terrifying Gaze. That's it. This is a CR1 monster
Depends on how you read while frightened, ones it breaks you are no longer frightened and then that paralyze condition would end. Yes getting frightened again could be considered part of the while frightened. But it doesn't have really a restart language, just that it continues while frightened. So basically if its read as a continuation language or a permanent condition, or well neither. To me it reads like continuation language that as long as the scarecrow keeps frightened going in a unbroken string they would remain paralyzed.
I'll likely run it like plaguescarred is suggesting, just not sure if its raw, or the intent. But I do think its a bit too good on some level, though maybe not as the game assumes a party for CR1 and a couple torch wielding farmers might be able take this thing.
Yes, RAW, if you are actively afflicted by Terrifying Glare and are hit by Fearsome Claw the next turn (a likely prospect), the Frightened condition is extended and therefore the Paralyzed condition is extended. If the frightened condition lapses for any reason, the Paralyzed condition also ends and does not resume unless you are again affected by Terrifying Glare.
That is very odd wording if that is not the intent. There are a few ways to become immune or resistant to fear, but they are rare at level 1. Heroism spell, playing a Halfling (advantage of saves versus Frightened and Lucky!), the Lucky Origin Feat, Bardic Inspiration, Bless, and similar abilities can all help. Also, having other party members who can deal fire damage will resolve the issue more quickly.
This does look a bit underrated in CR. 27 HP. Most first level characters that fails the Wisdom save versus the Gaze is probably going to get one-shotted the next turn. It might be a factor of level 1 being a very swingy level, but I expect a decent chance of a player death if a low AC character is targeted. A +3 attack bonus will hit even an AC 18 character will be hit more than half the time 51% if they are Paralyzed and any hit will then automatically be a crit for an average 12 damage. Oof.
Fortunately, even if one Scarecrow downs a character, that will be after two turns and the character will be making death saves, but not dead-dead.
Still potentially being taken out of the fight turn one would suck (Frightened + Paralyzed = neutralized while the conditions last).
Not sure its underrated at CR1, the AC of 11 with a obvious vulnerability most parties will have access to makes me think a party will clear it fast. If it gets initiative it may drop someone one round 2 at level 1. But so could a goblin or a lot of other CR 1 and less enemies. But 70% of the attacks are going to hit it so 24 hit points will go away fast. With its AC it only looks like a threat when its facing a solo enemy or when its used as part of an encounter. A paralyze effect with other enemies thrown in can make a fight really swingy. Which is something the Cr system hasn't really dealt with it tells you the Cr for the enemy solo but some abilities really work better in a group, so they become more of a magnifier than a additive force. And this is even assuming the claw does not extend the paralyze duration.
Depends on how you read while frightened, ones it breaks you are no longer frightened and then that paralyze condition would end. Yes getting frightened again could be considered part of the while frightened. But it doesn't have really a restart language, just that it continues while frightened. So basically if its read as a continuation language or a permanent condition, or well neither. To me it reads like continuation language that as long as the scarecrow keeps frightened going in a unbroken string they would remain paralyzed.
That's just it -- there is a duration listed on Fearsome Gaze, and the Paralyzed condition is part of that attack
Forget the claw. If some other creature entirely made the PC Frightened after they got hit with Fearsome Gaze, would it make sense for them to stay Paralyzed? The paralysis is part of a specific feature, and the condition ends when that feature does
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
Active characters:
Carric Aquissar, elven wannabe artist in his deconstructionist period (Archfey warlock) Lan Kidogo, mapach archaeologist and treasure hunter (Knowledge cleric) Mardan Ferres, elven private investigator obsessed with that one unsolved murder (Assassin rogue) Xhekhetiel, halfling survivor of a Betrayer Gods cult (Runechild sorcerer/fighter)
This does look a bit underrated in CR. 27 HP. Most first level characters that fails the Wisdom save versus the Gaze is probably going to get one-shotted the next turn. It might be a factor of level 1 being a very swingy level, but I expect a decent chance of a player death if a low AC character is targeted. A +3 attack bonus will hit even an AC 18 character will be hit more than half the time 51% if they are Paralyzed and any hit will then automatically be a crit for an average 12 damage. Oof.
Fortunately, even if one Scarecrow downs a character, that will be after two turns and the character will be making death saves, but not dead-dead.
Still potentially being taken out of the fight turn one would suck (Frightened + Paralyzed = neutralized while the conditions last).
Not sure its underrated at CR1, the AC of 11 with a obvious vulnerability most parties will have access to makes me think a party will clear it fast. If it gets initiative it may drop someone one round 2 at level 1. But so could a goblin or a lot of other CR 1 and less enemies. But 70% of the attacks are going to hit it so 24 hit points will go away fast. With its AC it only looks like a threat when its facing a solo enemy or when its used as part of an encounter. A paralyze effect with other enemies thrown in can make a fight really swingy. Which is something the Cr system hasn't really dealt with it tells you the Cr for the enemy solo but some abilities really work better in a group, so they become more of a magnifier than a additive force. And this is even assuming the claw does not extend the paralyze duration.
A goblin or other enemies may drop enemies with normal hits on round 2 but they haven't taken them out of the fight round 1. That character still can contribute to the fight.
Since Conditions Don’t Stack If multiple effects impose the same condition on you, each instance of the condition has its own duration, but the condition’s effects don’t get worse.
Using Terrifying Glare cause the Frightened condition until the end of the scarecrow’s next turn. While Frightened, the target has the Paralyzed condition.
On scarecrow’s next turn, it use Fearsome Claw cause the Frightened condition until the end of the scarecrow’s next turn but at the end of this turn the other instance of Frightened condition end, along with the Paralyzed condition that came with it.
I get what you are saying, but there is no reason to word Terrifying Glare as "while Frightened, the target has the Paralyzed condition" as opposed to just saying Terrifying Glare causes the Frightened and Paralyzed conditions until the next turn. Maybe the intention is that removing the Frightened condition removes the Paralyzed condition.
However, the rule only states that the condition itself does not stack with other instances of the condition and has no mention of any riders of the effect that applied the condition. Conditions caused by conditions (Incapacitated caused by Paralyzed) would end when the instance of the original instance ended. There is nothing actually tying Paralyzed to that instance of Frightened so, I think RAW, Paralyzed lasts as long as you have a continuous duration of the Frightened condition from any source.
Maybe the intention is that removing the Frightened condition removes the Paralyzed condition.
Right. The feature gives the frightened condition with the enhancement of paralysis. The victim is paralyzed with fright. Remove the fright, and you remove both conditions since the cause of the paralysis is no longer in effect. Most likely, this will be ended when the duration runs out.
Is the intent not the same as in the 2014 Scarecrow?
Claw. Melee Weapon Attack: +3 to hit, reach 5 ft., one target. Hit: 6 (2d4 + 1) slashing damage. If the target is a creature, it must succeed on a DC 11 Wisdom saving throw or be frightened until the end of the scarecrow's next turn.
Terrifying Glare. The scarecrow targets one creature it can see within 30 feet of it. If the target can see the scarecrow, the target must succeed on a DC 11 Wisdom saving throw or be magically frightened until the end of the scarecrow's next turn. The frightened target is paralyzed.
Is this argument not just the contagion argument from a few weeks ago?
I think the base understanding really needs to be that an effect that has various parts to it, like the terrifying glare, is treated as a unit where the paralyzed goes with that effect and the frightened from it, rather than with any frightened a creature may obtain.
Otherwise, the game devolves into madness. In one place in the MM, a creature gives "The frightened target is paralyzed." so taken completely out of context and without reference to the rest of the ability, now all frightened targets from any source are paralyzed; and importantly that context removal and outlandish extension is really what it takes to apply paralyzed to any frightened beyond the one from terrifying gaze.
Thanks for the link to the thread. I'm sure there is a textualist reading that just glosses over functional understanding that says "the frightened creature is paralyzed" because that's what the sentence says. But that isn't what the sentence is really telling you, now is it?
Since Conditions Don’t Stack If multiple effects impose the same condition on you, each instance of the condition has its own duration, but the condition’s effects don’t get worse.
Using Terrifying Glare cause the Frightened condition until the end of the scarecrow’s next turn. While Frightened, the target has the Paralyzed condition.
On scarecrow’s next turn, it use Fearsome Claw cause the Frightened condition until the end of the scarecrow’s next turn but at the end of this turn the other instance of Frightened condition end, along with the Paralyzed condition that came with it.
I get what you are saying, but there is no reason to word Terrifying Glare as "while Frightened, the target has the Paralyzed condition" as opposed to just saying Terrifying Glare causes the Frightened and Paralyzed conditions until the next turn. Maybe the intention is that removing the Frightened condition removes the Paralyzed condition.
That's the intent. It's like all the abilities that give you poisoned, and have a rider effect while you're poisoned. The rider is an effect of the poison, and goes away when the poison does.
However, the rule only states that the condition itself does not stack with other instances of the condition and has no mention of any riders of the effect that applied the condition. Conditions caused by conditions (Incapacitated caused by Paralyzed) would end when the instance of the original instance ended. There is nothing actually tying Paralyzed to that instance of Frightened so, I think RAW, Paralyzed lasts as long as you have a continuous duration of the Frightened condition from any source.
Paralyzed is tied to that instance of Frightened because they're the same ability.
Is this argument not just the contagion argument from a few weeks ago?
No. The contagion debate was regarding if the initial save avoided the entire spell on a success and, to a lesser degree, if the difficulty in removing the poisoned condition persists independently of the poisoned condition from the spell.
This is an effect applying two conditions, one with a set duration and the other with a conditional duration.
You can definitely make the argument that RAI is that they are dependent on each other, but RAW is that they are independent.
Maybe the intention is that removing the Frightened condition removes the Paralyzed condition.
It's definitly intended, as explained in this Dragon Talk: Sage Advice on Conditions (23:45) these so-called delivery device condition can then be shut off.
Is this argument not just the contagion argument from a few weeks ago?
No. The contagion debate was regarding if the initial save avoided the entire spell on a success and, to a lesser degree, if the difficulty in removing the poisoned condition persists independently of the poisoned condition from the spell.
This is an effect applying two conditions, one with a set duration and the other with a conditional duration.
You can definitely make the argument that RAI is that they are dependent on each other, but RAW is that they are independent.
I don’t follow the distinction. One question asks if the entire effect ends when the effect ends and the other asks if both conditions of the effect end when the effect ends.
That is to say, isn’t the question in both whether you deal with the effect cohesively or as separate bits that each end independently (each with their own, mostly unspecified timings)?
Terrifying Glare. Wisdom Saving Throw: DC 11, one creature the scarecrow can see within 30 feet. Failure: The target has the Frightened condition until the end of the scarecrow’s next turn. While Frightened, the target has the Paralyzed condition.
Fearsome Claw. Melee Attack Roll: +3, reach 5 ft. Hit: 6 (2d4 + 1) Slashing damage, and the target has the Frightened condition until the end of the scarecrow’s next turn.
If I am reading this right, they can use the glare, next round they hit you which extends the frightened condition which also extends the paralyzed condition. So they can effectively stun lock a player for the fight. Is that the intent? I'm pretty sure its the rule, just not sure its the intended effect.
Fearsome Claw does not inflict the Paralyzed condition, whether it follows up Terrifying Glare or not
Active characters:
Carric Aquissar, elven wannabe artist in his deconstructionist period (Archfey warlock)
Lan Kidogo, mapach archaeologist and treasure hunter (Knowledge cleric)
Mardan Ferres, elven private investigator obsessed with that one unsolved murder (Assassin rogue)
Xhekhetiel, halfling survivor of a Betrayer Gods cult (Runechild sorcerer/fighter)
Yes, but the gazes paralyze lasts while the target is frightened. Which fearsome claw causes, so they would remain frightened which would extend the paralysis. like I said I am not sure it is intended but the glare has 2 effects separated by a period, Effect one, sentence 1. The target is frightened until end of scarecrows next turn. effect 2, sentence 2. While the target is frightened the target has the paralyzed condition.
It is not while frightened by this effect, but while frightened. If you get hit by the claw in the following round the frightened condition gets extended another turn, which then can get extended etc.
like I assume its not saying if you ever get frightened again at any time for the rest of your life you are paralyzed, but it reads to me like as long as they are kept frightened continuously they would remain paralyzed. Though I can see a reading that is effectively adding the line, frightened by this effect where it only lasts one round period. Its a CR1 creature with an 11 Ac, vulnerability to fire which is kind of obvious given its made of straw, and 27 hit points. Its DC to resist the fear is only 11, it takes a action, I am not sure it will last a single round against most level 1 parties in order to try and claw someone. But against a solo character the combination if it works like I am suggesting would be deadly.
Yes, RAW, if you are actively afflicted by Terrifying Glare and are hit by Fearsome Claw the next turn (a likely prospect), the Frightened condition is extended and therefore the Paralyzed condition is extended. If the frightened condition lapses for any reason, the Paralyzed condition also ends and does not resume unless you are again affected by Terrifying Glare.
That is very odd wording if that is not the intent. There are a few ways to become immune or resistant to fear, but they are rare at level 1. Heroism spell, playing a Halfling (advantage of saves versus Frightened and Lucky!), the Lucky Origin Feat, Bardic Inspiration, Bless, and similar abilities can all help. Also, having other party members who can deal fire damage will resolve the issue more quickly.
This does look a bit underrated in CR. 27 HP. Most first level characters that fails the Wisdom save versus the Gaze is probably going to get one-shotted the next turn. It might be a factor of level 1 being a very swingy level, but I expect a decent chance of a player death if a low AC character is targeted. A +3 attack bonus will hit even an AC 18 character will be hit more than half the time 51% if they are Paralyzed and any hit will then automatically be a crit for an average 12 damage. Oof.
Fortunately, even if one Scarecrow downs a character, that will be after two turns and the character will be making death saves, but not dead-dead.
Still potentially being taken out of the fight turn one would suck (Frightened + Paralyzed = neutralized while the conditions last).
How to add Tooltips.
By that logic, if a character is hit by Terrifying Gaze once, they would become Paralyzed when they are Frightened for the rest of their lives
They are Paralyzed while Frightened by Terrifying Gaze. That's it. This is a CR1 monster
Active characters:
Carric Aquissar, elven wannabe artist in his deconstructionist period (Archfey warlock)
Lan Kidogo, mapach archaeologist and treasure hunter (Knowledge cleric)
Mardan Ferres, elven private investigator obsessed with that one unsolved murder (Assassin rogue)
Xhekhetiel, halfling survivor of a Betrayer Gods cult (Runechild sorcerer/fighter)
Since Conditions Don’t Stack If multiple effects impose the same condition on you, each instance of the condition has its own duration, but the condition’s effects don’t get worse.
Using Terrifying Glare cause the Frightened condition until the end of the scarecrow’s next turn. While Frightened, the target has the Paralyzed condition.
On scarecrow’s next turn, it use Fearsome Claw cause the Frightened condition until the end of the scarecrow’s next turn but at the end of this turn the other instance of Frightened condition end, along with the Paralyzed condition that came with it.
Depends on how you read while frightened, ones it breaks you are no longer frightened and then that paralyze condition would end. Yes getting frightened again could be considered part of the while frightened. But it doesn't have really a restart language, just that it continues while frightened. So basically if its read as a continuation language or a permanent condition, or well neither. To me it reads like continuation language that as long as the scarecrow keeps frightened going in a unbroken string they would remain paralyzed.
I'll likely run it like plaguescarred is suggesting, just not sure if its raw, or the intent. But I do think its a bit too good on some level, though maybe not as the game assumes a party for CR1 and a couple torch wielding farmers might be able take this thing.
Not sure its underrated at CR1, the AC of 11 with a obvious vulnerability most parties will have access to makes me think a party will clear it fast. If it gets initiative it may drop someone one round 2 at level 1. But so could a goblin or a lot of other CR 1 and less enemies. But 70% of the attacks are going to hit it so 24 hit points will go away fast. With its AC it only looks like a threat when its facing a solo enemy or when its used as part of an encounter. A paralyze effect with other enemies thrown in can make a fight really swingy. Which is something the Cr system hasn't really dealt with it tells you the Cr for the enemy solo but some abilities really work better in a group, so they become more of a magnifier than a additive force. And this is even assuming the claw does not extend the paralyze duration.
That's just it -- there is a duration listed on Fearsome Gaze, and the Paralyzed condition is part of that attack
Forget the claw. If some other creature entirely made the PC Frightened after they got hit with Fearsome Gaze, would it make sense for them to stay Paralyzed? The paralysis is part of a specific feature, and the condition ends when that feature does
Active characters:
Carric Aquissar, elven wannabe artist in his deconstructionist period (Archfey warlock)
Lan Kidogo, mapach archaeologist and treasure hunter (Knowledge cleric)
Mardan Ferres, elven private investigator obsessed with that one unsolved murder (Assassin rogue)
Xhekhetiel, halfling survivor of a Betrayer Gods cult (Runechild sorcerer/fighter)
A goblin or other enemies may drop enemies with normal hits on round 2 but they haven't taken them out of the fight round 1. That character still can contribute to the fight.
I get what you are saying, but there is no reason to word Terrifying Glare as "while Frightened, the target has the Paralyzed condition" as opposed to just saying Terrifying Glare causes the Frightened and Paralyzed conditions until the next turn. Maybe the intention is that removing the Frightened condition removes the Paralyzed condition.
However, the rule only states that the condition itself does not stack with other instances of the condition and has no mention of any riders of the effect that applied the condition. Conditions caused by conditions (Incapacitated caused by Paralyzed) would end when the instance of the original instance ended. There is nothing actually tying Paralyzed to that instance of Frightened so, I think RAW, Paralyzed lasts as long as you have a continuous duration of the Frightened condition from any source.
How to add Tooltips.
Right. The feature gives the frightened condition with the enhancement of paralysis. The victim is paralyzed with fright. Remove the fright, and you remove both conditions since the cause of the paralysis is no longer in effect. Most likely, this will be ended when the duration runs out.
"Not all those who wander are lost"
Is the intent not the same as in the 2014 Scarecrow?
Is this argument not just the contagion argument from a few weeks ago?
I think the base understanding really needs to be that an effect that has various parts to it, like the terrifying glare, is treated as a unit where the paralyzed goes with that effect and the frightened from it, rather than with any frightened a creature may obtain.
Otherwise, the game devolves into madness. In one place in the MM, a creature gives "The frightened target is paralyzed." so taken completely out of context and without reference to the rest of the ability, now all frightened targets from any source are paralyzed; and importantly that context removal and outlandish extension is really what it takes to apply paralyzed to any frightened beyond the one from terrifying gaze.
IMO, you can also think of these actions like spells. Each one has its own effect, are tracked separately, and they don't affect each other.
More or less like how Contagion works: What happens on a succesful save against Contagion?
Thanks for the link to the thread. I'm sure there is a textualist reading that just glosses over functional understanding that says "the frightened creature is paralyzed" because that's what the sentence says. But that isn't what the sentence is really telling you, now is it?
That's the intent. It's like all the abilities that give you poisoned, and have a rider effect while you're poisoned. The rider is an effect of the poison, and goes away when the poison does.
Paralyzed is tied to that instance of Frightened because they're the same ability.
No. The contagion debate was regarding if the initial save avoided the entire spell on a success and, to a lesser degree, if the difficulty in removing the poisoned condition persists independently of the poisoned condition from the spell.
This is an effect applying two conditions, one with a set duration and the other with a conditional duration.
You can definitely make the argument that RAI is that they are dependent on each other, but RAW is that they are independent.
How to add Tooltips.
Well, if nothing else, this thread taught me that lesser restoration does not end the frightened condition.
"Not all those who wander are lost"
It's definitly intended, as explained in this Dragon Talk: Sage Advice on Conditions (23:45) these so-called delivery device condition can then be shut off.
I don’t follow the distinction. One question asks if the entire effect ends when the effect ends and the other asks if both conditions of the effect end when the effect ends.
That is to say, isn’t the question in both whether you deal with the effect cohesively or as separate bits that each end independently (each with their own, mostly unspecified timings)?