So, in reading the casting a spell section it is a bit unclear on whether you must choose a point in space or if you can anchor Area of Effect spells to a creature or object (so that it is moveable potentially). Should I assume that since it says something like "Typically, they are a point in space... but some spells originate from a creature or object" that if the spell doesn't say otherwise, it requires targeting on a point in space? And the only area of effect spells that can originate from an object actually say so in their description.
That feels correct, but just wanted to double check.
The difference being. Light cantrip says you can cast it on an object. Minor Illusion Cantrip says nothing about anything like that. So I could cast light on a coin, and the spell moves with the coin, but I couldn't cast a minor illusion on the coin and have the illusion move with the coin (like causing it to make sounds and throwing it somewhere)
Spells will tell you how they can operate. In the case of Light, the range is “touch”, meaning, you touch an object to make it give light. Minor illusion has a range of 30 ft, meaning you need to specify a location. In general, if the spell location can be a movable object that “moves” the spell with it, the spell will tell you, e.g. Darkness. Otherwise, that is not how spells typically behave. E.g. Moonbeam and other spells like it would be ridiculous if they auto-moved with an enemy.
From the top of my head, I can't recall any spell isn't explicit about its "targeting" requirements, given those are under everyday English wording. The general rules only mention how to calculate areas and how an area expands from a point in space and so on.
Light can only be cast on an object, since it doesn't explicitly mention other ways of using it, and for its duration that object sheds light in a specific radius (that kind of logically moves with it).
Minor Illusion lets you create an effect "within range". If that effect is an object (thus having dimensions that matter), it must be contained in a 5-foot cube. Since it does not explicitly mention targeting a creature or object, you can't "anchor" it on something like that - you select the point (of the sound source) or area (of the visual object) within range when you cast, and it stays there.
So, in reading the casting a spell section it is a bit unclear on whether you must choose a point in space or if you can anchor Area of Effect spells to a creature or object (so that it is moveable potentially).
Should I assume that since it says something like "Typically, they are a point in space... but some spells originate from a creature or object" that if the spell doesn't say otherwise, it requires targeting on a point in space? And the only area of effect spells that can originate from an object actually say so in their description.
That feels correct, but just wanted to double check.
The difference being. Light cantrip says you can cast it on an object. Minor Illusion Cantrip says nothing about anything like that. So I could cast light on a coin, and the spell moves with the coin, but I couldn't cast a minor illusion on the coin and have the illusion move with the coin (like causing it to make sounds and throwing it somewhere)
Spells will tell you how they can operate. In the case of Light, the range is “touch”, meaning, you touch an object to make it give light. Minor illusion has a range of 30 ft, meaning you need to specify a location. In general, if the spell location can be a movable object that “moves” the spell with it, the spell will tell you, e.g. Darkness. Otherwise, that is not how spells typically behave. E.g. Moonbeam and other spells like it would be ridiculous if they auto-moved with an enemy.
Your conclusion sounds correct to me.
From the top of my head, I can't recall any spell isn't explicit about its "targeting" requirements, given those are under everyday English wording. The general rules only mention how to calculate areas and how an area expands from a point in space and so on.
Light can only be cast on an object, since it doesn't explicitly mention other ways of using it, and for its duration that object sheds light in a specific radius (that kind of logically moves with it).
Minor Illusion lets you create an effect "within range". If that effect is an object (thus having dimensions that matter), it must be contained in a 5-foot cube. Since it does not explicitly mention targeting a creature or object, you can't "anchor" it on something like that - you select the point (of the sound source) or area (of the visual object) within range when you cast, and it stays there.