Question on a bit o'cheese. Can a caster delay his next turn ''til my friend shoots/casts/does a thing' when he has 'conditioned' an opponent? The aim being to give his buddies an extra turn to unleash badness on an unfortunate foe who will be released by said condition at the 'end of your next turn'. If the caster delays his turn, did it end or will the foes' vulnerability be extended?
When you take the 'Ready' action (delaying action N until X happens), that's your action during your turn, and if that 'readied' action is triggered by X happening, you use your reaction, outside of your turn, to actually do N. So no, your turn is not still happening quietly in the background while you wait to see if that reaction is triggered.
Rules as written, the delay action doesn't exist in 5e. You take your turn on your initiative even if you take the ready action.
If your table decides to add a delay action in, then I would strongly recommend that you have spell effects end that would end with your turn. Similarly, I would not allow characters to delay to avoid the effects of another character's ongoing spell or effect. Delaying your turn should essentially never be a direct benefit. It should almost always be the worst of both worlds. Not allowing delay at all is the simple solution WotC took to avoid to the temporal contradictions this causes, but you should probably not allow characters to avoid the consequences of their initiative rolls. It's not particularly fair to do that. Yes, you may need to do some nonsensical things to do that.
Rules as written, the delay action doesn't exist in 5e.
No, but the Ready action does. That's essentially what the OP was talking about.
OP was not talking about taking the Ready action. They were talking about delaying a turn entirely, an option that existed in prior editions of the game but which doesn’t in 5e. The distinction is very relevant to effects that end e.g. “at the end of your next turn,” which is precisely why OP was asking about delaying and NOT about readying.
Hello,
Question on a bit o'cheese. Can a caster delay his next turn ''til my friend shoots/casts/does a thing' when he has 'conditioned' an opponent? The aim being to give his buddies an extra turn to unleash badness on an unfortunate foe who will be released by said condition at the 'end of your next turn'. If the caster delays his turn, did it end or will the foes' vulnerability be extended?
Evan
When you take the 'Ready' action (delaying action N until X happens), that's your action during your turn, and if that 'readied' action is triggered by X happening, you use your reaction, outside of your turn, to actually do N. So no, your turn is not still happening quietly in the background while you wait to see if that reaction is triggered.
Birgit | Shifter | Sorcerer | Dragonlords
Shayone | Hobgoblin | Sorcerer | Netherdeep
Rules as written, the delay action doesn't exist in 5e. You take your turn on your initiative even if you take the ready action.
If your table decides to add a delay action in, then I would strongly recommend that you have spell effects end that would end with your turn. Similarly, I would not allow characters to delay to avoid the effects of another character's ongoing spell or effect. Delaying your turn should essentially never be a direct benefit. It should almost always be the worst of both worlds. Not allowing delay at all is the simple solution WotC took to avoid to the temporal contradictions this causes, but you should probably not allow characters to avoid the consequences of their initiative rolls. It's not particularly fair to do that. Yes, you may need to do some nonsensical things to do that.
Thanks to both, it is appreciated.
Evan
There was a second sentence in the paragraph you quoted. Surely you could have read it before deleting it.
OP was not talking about taking the Ready action. They were talking about delaying a turn entirely, an option that existed in prior editions of the game but which doesn’t in 5e. The distinction is very relevant to effects that end e.g. “at the end of your next turn,” which is precisely why OP was asking about delaying and NOT about readying.
No, it can’t.