A spell being described as 'At-Will' (which is typically terminology for monsters) means it can be cast without consuming spell slots (for example, cantrips are at will). The action it uses will depend on the spell
It still requires normal casting time and components unless specifically mentioned otherwise. It just means it is not a limited resource (no spell slot, etc).
True. But a lot of people have versions of him made of iron, so he should be fine.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
All stars fade. Some stars forever fall. ------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- Homebrew (Mostly Outdated):Magic Items,Monsters,Spells,Subclasses ------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- If there was no light, people wouldn't fear the dark.
Wait. I was certain "at will" simply meant it was always prepared. Got nothing to do with spell components, spell slots or any of that. It just meant it was prepared, right?
(Meanwhile, the ability granting the spell specifies how often it can be cast.)
At will is a 4e term. There isn’t a direct analogy in 5e. Many casting classes have cantrips which don’t require slots, but still require components. Then there are some racial and class abilities that let you cast without either a spell slot or components, but typically it’s only one specific spell, once per day. There might be some other examples, but the term “at will” isn’t a thing in this edition.
This is probably in the context of Warlock invocations. They get several "At Will" spell features.
As already stated, "at will" simply means that it doesn't consume spell slots and has no "cooldown", but it otherwise follows the rules for casting spells, including casting time.
Invocations. Right. Hadn’t thought of those, they do say at will. My mistake for forgetting. In those cases, it generally doesn’t take a slot or components, as it says in each invocation description. And to the OP, yes, it would usually take your action. Most say, you can cast the spell X. So it would be the cast a spell action, just without components or slots.
Might be worth mentioning that DDB labels a lot of spells that can be cast a limited number of times without using slots as "at will." The rules don't refer to such abilities as "at will" and reserve that phrase for truly unlimited casting (not counting components unless specifically mentioned, which it often is).
There were 1 or 2 official features that allowed a set pool of uses to cast more than one spell, kinda like “charges.” For those, DDB programmed them in such a way that they display as “at will” and then the sidebar attaches to the Action with its limited uses that acted as those “charges.”
There were 1 or 2 official features that allowed a set pool of uses to cast more than one spell, kinda like “charges.” For those, DDB programmed them in such a way that they display as “at will” and then the sidebar attaches to the Action with its limited uses that acted as those “charges.”
And there are 2 or 3 other official features that allow the spell to be cast only once or as a ritual and DDB programmed them in such a way that they display as "at will" and the sidebar makes no additional reference to charges or limited use.
And in neither case are these features called "at will" in the rules, so I stand by my disclaimer.
I never said one word about your disclaimer, I only mentioned another instance where I noticed that DDB had programmed something in such a way that it was displayed as “at will” when the rules clearly state that it works differently.
At will is a 4e term. There isn’t a direct analogy in 5e. Many casting classes have cantrips which don’t require slots, but still require components. Then there are some racial and class abilities that let you cast without either a spell slot or components, but typically it’s only one specific spell, once per day. There might be some other examples, but the term “at will” isn’t a thing in this edition.
It's weird how my brain had interpreted something or other and the memory of that stuck. You're totally right. PHB really only talks about "at will" when describing cantrips. Wacky.
I never said one word about your disclaimer, I only mentioned another instance where I noticed that DDB had programmed something in such a way that it was displayed as “at will” when the rules clearly state that it works differently.
Invocations. Right. Hadn’t thought of those, they do say at will. My mistake for forgetting. In those cases, it generally doesn’t take a slot or components, as it says in each invocation description. And to the OP, yes, it would usually take your action. Most say, you can cast the spell X. So it would be the cast a spell action, just without components or slots.
It would still require components, though many of them do say “without expending … material components”
It’s an important distinction because of the need for a free hand to handle the components and potentially situations where you do not have a component pouch or an arcane focus.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
Do spells I can cast AT WILL count as my (main) action for that turn?
I am usually online between 2-8PM EST.
A spell being described as 'At-Will' (which is typically terminology for monsters) means it can be cast without consuming spell slots (for example, cantrips are at will). The action it uses will depend on the spell
Find my D&D Beyond articles here
It still requires normal casting time and components unless specifically mentioned otherwise. It just means it is not a limited resource (no spell slot, etc).
You just have to cast it on Will...poor guy.
Guide to the Five Factions (PWYW)
Deck of Decks
Isn't he normally being fired at?
True. But a lot of people have versions of him made of iron, so he should be fine.
All stars fade. Some stars forever fall.
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Homebrew (Mostly Outdated): Magic Items, Monsters, Spells, Subclasses
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
If there was no light, people wouldn't fear the dark.
It's his partner, Way, that you have to watch out for.
Frickin Will. He knows what he did.
Why am I watching for Out, what did he do?
Wait. I was certain "at will" simply meant it was always prepared. Got nothing to do with spell components, spell slots or any of that. It just meant it was prepared, right?
(Meanwhile, the ability granting the spell specifies how often it can be cast.)
Is this not the case?
At will is a 4e term. There isn’t a direct analogy in 5e. Many casting classes have cantrips which don’t require slots, but still require components. Then there are some racial and class abilities that let you cast without either a spell slot or components, but typically it’s only one specific spell, once per day. There might be some other examples, but the term “at will” isn’t a thing in this edition.
This is probably in the context of Warlock invocations. They get several "At Will" spell features.
As already stated, "at will" simply means that it doesn't consume spell slots and has no "cooldown", but it otherwise follows the rules for casting spells, including casting time.
Invocations. Right. Hadn’t thought of those, they do say at will. My mistake for forgetting.
In those cases, it generally doesn’t take a slot or components, as it says in each invocation description. And to the OP, yes, it would usually take your action. Most say, you can cast the spell X. So it would be the cast a spell action, just without components or slots.
Might be worth mentioning that DDB labels a lot of spells that can be cast a limited number of times without using slots as "at will." The rules don't refer to such abilities as "at will" and reserve that phrase for truly unlimited casting (not counting components unless specifically mentioned, which it often is).
There were 1 or 2 official features that allowed a set pool of uses to cast more than one spell, kinda like “charges.” For those, DDB programmed them in such a way that they display as “at will” and then the sidebar attaches to the Action with its limited uses that acted as those “charges.”
Creating Epic Boons on DDB
DDB Buyers' Guide
Hardcovers, DDB & You
Content Troubleshooting
And there are 2 or 3 other official features that allow the spell to be cast only once or as a ritual and DDB programmed them in such a way that they display as "at will" and the sidebar makes no additional reference to charges or limited use.
And in neither case are these features called "at will" in the rules, so I stand by my disclaimer.
I never said one word about your disclaimer, I only mentioned another instance where I noticed that DDB had programmed something in such a way that it was displayed as “at will” when the rules clearly state that it works differently.
You touchier than me lately.
Creating Epic Boons on DDB
DDB Buyers' Guide
Hardcovers, DDB & You
Content Troubleshooting
It's weird how my brain had interpreted something or other and the memory of that stuck. You're totally right. PHB really only talks about "at will" when describing cantrips. Wacky.
I just wanted to be clear.
It would still require components, though many of them do say “without expending … material components”
It’s an important distinction because of the need for a free hand to handle the components and potentially situations where you do not have a component pouch or an arcane focus.