A Spell Scroll bears the words of a single spell, written in a mystical cipher. If the spell is on your spell list, you can read the scroll and cast its spell without Material components. Otherwise, the scroll is unintelligible. Casting the spell by reading the scroll requires the spell’s normal casting time. Once the spell is cast, the scroll crumbles to dust. If the casting is interrupted, the scroll isn’t lost.
If the spell is on your spell list but of a higher level than you can normally cast, you make an ability check using your spellcasting ability to determine whether you cast the spell. The DC equals 10 plus the spell’s level. On a failed check, the spell disappears from the scroll with no other effect.
The level of the spell on the scroll determines the spell’s saving throw DC and attack bonus, as well as the scroll’s rarity, as shown in the following table.
Spell Scroll
Spell Level | Rarity | Save DC | Attack Bonus |
---|---|---|---|
Cantrip | Common | 13 | +5 |
1st | Common | 13 | +5 |
2nd | Uncommon | 13 | +5 |
3rd | Uncommon | 15 | +7 |
4th | Rare | 15 | +7 |
5th | Rare | 17 | +9 |
6th | Very rare | 17 | +9 |
7th | Very rare | 18 | +10 |
8th | Very rare | 18 | +10 |
9th | Legendary | 19 | +11 |
Copying a Scroll into a Spellbook. A Wizard spell on a Spell Scroll can be copied into a spellbook. When a spell is copied in this way, the copier must succeed on an Intelligence (Arcana) check with a DC equal to 10 plus the spell’s level. On a successful check, the spell is copied. Whether the check succeeds or fails, the Spell Scroll is destroyed.
Notes: Utility, Consumable
LMAO not the comment I expected to see.
I'm surprised they kept the rules about casting only spells that are on your spell list. Many people I know let anyone cast a scroll!
I suppose it's a useful balancing issue, otherwise a fighter without casting could cast haste on themselves, and with certain duel wielding properties from weapon masteries they can have up to 4 attacks, then doubled with haste, tripled with action surge (once per short(?) rest) for 10 whole rounds... all on their lonesome without the help of anyone else, which would be a very interesting endeavor to try an keep track of as a DM ;o;
Even with light and nick you can only use 2 attacks it just happens as 1 action instead of an action and a bonus action (nick specifies only one bonus attack can be taken per turn, and haste only adds one attack not double it Haste " and it gains an additional action on each of its turns. That action can be used to take only the Attack (one attack only), Dash, Disengage, Hide, or Utilize action." So far that's 3 attacks, with action surge that adds 1 more attack since they cannot benefit from the light weapon attack or haste attack again. So in total its 4 attacks once per short rest and that's assuming they use a disposable resource. (that's below 5th level, after 5th level it reaches 6 attacks total because they gain one extra attack for each of the two attack actions they take on their turn)
1: haste only gives you one extra attack per round.
2:This would be balanced by the high price of a 3rd level scroll
Which list does "If the spell is on your spell list" refer to? Your prepared spells or your class's (or classes') spell list?
2014 used class spell list.
Definately class's spell list. So your wizard doesn't need to know the spell to cast it. He just needs to have the option to learn it at some point.
This information still doesn't appear anywhere on the Wizard class page. (I'm surprised they even carried over the rule for 2024.)
While this is wild and crazy (1) they can do it for one encounter so it's not that crazy (2) will probably not enjoy losing their concentration and (3) the DM could simply not give them a haste scroll.
But seriously though: The "You can only use the scroll if it's on your list" clause is wack. I often hand out scrolls specifically because no one has access to the spell that makes the next leg of the adventure work.
Based on this description "If the spell is on your spell list, you can read the scroll ...." Any caster can read, understand, and cast a Scroll of Detect Magic, but only a Ranger can read and cast a Scroll of Hunter's Mark, or a Paladin a Scroll of Searing Smite?? They no longer designate scrolls as being divine or arcane, or part of a specific class?
Following the above, in a team with a Cleric and a Wizard, the Cleric can scribe a scroll of every spell they share with the Wizard's list at half the cost of buying it, and the Wizard can then add the spells to their spell book?
Same!!! My only rule is that you have to be able to cast SOME magic to be able to use it. If it's a higher level spell than you are currently able to cast, then you have to make the ability check (but it's not like I'm handing out scrolls of 9th level spells to 3rd level casters.....)
is there somewhere i can see the avg price of a spell scroll for each level?
This description doesn't match the entry in the adventuring gear section of the free rules or Player's Handbook. In both those entries the text reads "If the spell is on your class's spell list" (emphasis added). In the DMG (2024) the word "class's" is omitted from the description of how to use a spell scroll.
The omission of the word "class's" can make a big difference in who can use the scroll. In the 2024 rules there is a difference between a character's spell list and class's spell list as explained on page 236 of the Player's Handbook: "Some features add a spell to a character's spell list even if the character isn't a member of a class in the parenthesis."
If a character's spell list is the list of spells they can currently cast (assuming unused spell slots are available), then characters with the Magic Initiate or Fey-Touched feats can use certain scrolls. If the spell list in this entry refers to spells that a character could select, then arguably Magic Initiate could use scrolls of the class of magic that matches the list of spells for the class they are an initiate of (they can change a spell at each level after all).
Allowing use of a spell scroll as described above would also fix the somewhat absurd situation of a Magic Initiate being able to craft a spell scroll but not use it.
So, is this entry (and the change in the DMG) an errata to PHB and Free Rules?
House rule, added to above:
*If you're a spell caster, but it's not a spell on your spell list, it takes an action to "translate" the spell into something your mystical connections can use (skill check according to the spell type Arcana, Religion, or Nature with the same DC as up casting; so a Level 1 Spell you don't know is DC 13), and a bonus action to cast it regardless of the spells regular casting time. Up casting follows the same rules, but the DCs go up by 1 (ie DC 14 for a level 1 spell).
*If you're not a caster it takes an action to read (skill check, Arcana, Religion, or Nature, according to the spell type with a +2 DC as up casting; so a Level 1 Spell you don't know is DC 15), with success meaning they can use a bonus action to "charge" the spell, and a reaction to cast it.
I do it this way so that the cost of a spell you don't know is the time and focus it takes to cast it. Yes, in theory the fighter could cast Haste but (unless they're an Eldritch Knight), it'll take their whole turn, and if they fail the skill check it's they're left with half a turn. Even if they Action Surge, they've functionally spent their whole turn to basically take the same turn they were gonna take, and make themselves a target. Your milage may vary, but it's been a lot of fun.
Any idea of how much it should cost to make/buy one of these? I imagine it should vary by spell level.
This kinda contradicts https://www.dndbeyond.com/sources/dnd/free-rules/magic-items#ActivatingaMagicItem
I know some people will say "well, this description says otherwise", but it looks very weird, since spell scrolls are most likely the scrolls that you'll find in any dnd campaign.
It's because not all scrolls are spell scrolls.
This is a scroll that is not a spell scroll and can, therefore, be read by anyone: https://www.dndbeyond.com/magic-items/9229016-scroll-of-protection
Spell scrolls are specific types of scrolls that have that additional spell list requirement.
For persons asking for scroll costs,
Scribing Scrolls, https://www.dndbeyond.com/sources/dnd/br-2024/equipment#TimeandCost, Free Rules/Equipment and scroll down to the table. (Scribing a 5th level spell costs as much as a suite of plate armor, which says something about the D&D resource economy but I don't know what.)
For purchasing there are magic item rarity vs cost or character level tables floating around the interweb, but the general assumption seems to be that magic items, even scrolls, should be harder to get than they maybe used to be.
The fact that just nothing happens on a fail feels a bit odd, I make it so something related to the spell but harmless occurs. For instance, a spell scroll of Flesh To Stone might make the caster's skin look like stone, or a Fireball makes smoke billow from their ears.
I havefollowing questions:
1.Do Read Scroll needs to hold the Scroll in one hand?
2.Can I read Scroll before, I cast the spell later.
Like I have a Scroll of Shield, I can't hold Scroll in one hand, hold Staff in other hand and use a hand to perform Somatic.But if I can read before and use later, I don't need to hold the Scroll.
3.Can I use the hand hold Scroll to perform Somatic?
4. When I get attack by enemy in his turn, can I use the Scroll of Shield from my backpack or Scroll case.