Spell Spotlight is a series where we do a deep dive on some of Dungeons & Dragon’s most interesting, useful, and complex spells. Today, we’re looking at enlarge/reduce, a useful spell that allows you to change the size of a creature or object of your choosing. While it might seem simple on the surface, there are plenty of creative ways to make it one of the most potent and versatile spells in your arsenal, both in and out of combat.
Whether you want to make your barbarian friend even more menacing, or you just want to shrink that fish your neighbor caught so you win the fishing contest, enlarge/reduce has got you covered.
- What does enlarge/reduce do?
- Who can cast enlarge/reduce?
- Why we love this spell
- FAQ: Enlarge/reduce
What Does Enlarge/Reduce Do?
Enlarge/reduce is a 2nd-level transmutation spell. For up to 1 minute or until you lose concentration, you can cause a creature or object of your choosing to grow larger or smaller. Keep in mind that an unwilling creature, like an enemy you are fighting, can make a Constitution saving throw to avoid this effect. Many creatures you may face in your adventures are quite good at Constitution saving throws, so this spell might not be a reliable option to use against your foes. To add to this, you cannot target an object that a creature has on their person, so you won’t be able to turn your enemy’s weapons into mini toy versions.
Enlarging a target doubles its physical size and drastically increases its weight, thereby increasing its size category by one, meaning that a Medium creature would become Large. The biggest draw here is that the target gains advantage on Strength checks and Strength saving throws, and their weapons deal 1d4 extra damage. The most obvious use of enlarge is to give an ally an edge in battle.
Reducing a target essentially does the opposite of what enlarging it would do. The target’s physical size is halved, its weight is drastically decreased, and its size category goes down by one. Given that the target gets disadvantage on Strength checks and Strength saving throws, and its weapon damage is reduced by 1d4 for the duration, reducing a creature is intended to be used on your enemies.
One of the most contentious aspects of casting enlarge/reduce on a creature is that anything they are wearing or holding also changes size. Creatures that are size Small have disadvantage on attacks with heavy weapons, so the question is: Does this hold true for shrunken weapons? The weapon would retain the heavy property, but it would also scale down with you from Medium to Small. This is probably a question best left up to your DM.
There aren’t many rules for player characters that are a size other than Small or Medium, but we will discuss what we do know.
What Creature Sizes Mean
Creatures in D&D are divided into six size categories: Tiny, Small, Medium, Large, Huge, and Gargantuan. Size dictates quite a few attributes when creating monsters, but when it comes to player characters, size is less of a determining factor.
One of the greatest impacts size has is on carrying capacity and how much a creature can push, drag, or lift. Each size above Medium gets to double these amounts, while Tiny creatures halve these amounts.
Size also affects interactions on the battlefield. Naturally, you take up more space when you are larger, effectively increasing the opportunities for other creatures to count as adjacent to you. You can only grapple and shove creatures that are no greater than one size larger than you, so enlarging a friend may open up the possibility of them being able to grapple a particularly bulky enemy. Additionally, you can move through the space of a hostile creature that is at least two sizes larger or smaller than you, so managing to become Tiny would give you an edge there.
Note that you cannot get bigger than Large using enlarge/reduce, as all playable races are Small or Medium and multiple instances of the spell do not stack with each other.
Who Can Cast Enlarge/Reduce?
Enlarge/reduce is only available to three classes: artificers, sorcerers, and wizards. There are no subclasses that gain this spell, and since it is a 2nd-level spell you won’t be able to access it with a feat like Magic Initiate. Your only option, then, would be to play one of these classes, multiclass into one to get access to 2nd-level magic, or to find an item that has charges of the spell.
Why We Love This Spell
Perhaps the best use for enlarge/reduce in combat is to aid an ally that specializes in grappling when they fight. Even with the Grappler feat, grappling often doesn’t feel like a powerful strategy. By causing your grappling ally to grow, they will not only get advantage on their Strength checks and extra damage on weapon attacks, but they will be able to grapple and shove even larger creatures. If the spell increases your ally’s size from Medium to Large, they will be able to grapple a Huge creature like an adult black dragon! Alternatively, reducing an enemy will give your ally a much easier time in maintaining the grapple.
Using reduce on a Small ally can also be interesting since they will become Tiny. Tiny creatures will have a much easier time moving around the battlefield as they will be able to move through the space of hostile creatures and find cover more easily. Tiny creatures will also be able to squeeze themselves into smaller spaces, opening up a new option for infiltration.
As far as objects go, the uses for enlarge/reduce are near endless and are only limited by your imagination and your Dungeon Master’s leniency. As with many aspects of D&D, certain things are left up to your discretion and what your table finds fun. For example, Jeremy Crawford was asked in 2016 if a reduce spell can be used to bypass locked doors by shrinking them. He stated that you should ask the player which part of the door they want to reduce as doors are made of multiple objects (source). The basic rules state that “an object is a discrete, inanimate item like a window, door, sword, book, table, chair, or stone, not a building or a vehicle that is composed of many other objects.” A door is mentioned, but it doesn’t clarify whether it means just the door, or also the handles, locks, and other things that might be attached to it. One could argue that a book is also made of multiple objects, namely the cover and the hundreds or thousands of pieces of paper inside. Instead of getting lost in these debates, just make your case to your DM and let them determine if what you are asking is going to negatively influence your game.
FAQ: Enlarge/reduce
Can You Stack Enlarge/Reduce?
No. Two instances of the same spell do not stack. However, you can increase your size category further by stacking the spell with the Rune Knight fighter's 3rd level feature Giant's Might.
Can You Upcast Enlarge/Reduce?
No. There is no higher level version of this spell to get the effect multiple times.
Does Enlarge/Reduce Affect Weapon Damage?
Yes! Creatures deal an extra 1d4 with enlarged weapons and 1d4 less damage with reduced weapons, though the damage can’t be reduced to lower than 1.
Mike Bernier (@arcane_eye) is the founder of Arcane Eye, a site focused on providing useful tips and tricks to all those involved in the world of D&D. Outside of writing for Arcane Eye, Mike spends most of his time playing games, hiking with his girlfriend, and tending the veritable jungle of houseplants that have invaded his house.
Probably just 4d6. Still good though.
Or have your familiar carry you. An owl can fly 60' and carry 22 lbs.
Class abilities like the Fighter Rune Knight or the new, Unearthed Arcana Barbarian Path of the Giant, allow you to become "large" if you are smaller than large. As a result, the two can't be used in unison through multi-class to stack and become "Huge" at 6th level. However the UA Bar-Path of the Giant does allow you to become "Huge" as a feature when you hit level 14 with the Demiurgic Colossus feature.
The Enlarge/Reduce SPELL can't be stacked twice from two casters to enlarge you twice, so since all standard races are "medium" in size, it can only increase a regular PC to Large. (SOURCE: PHB 205 Combining Magical Effects - "The effects of the same spell cast multiple times don't combine")
HOWEVER, the Enlarge/Reduce Spell CAN be stacked with the Rune Knight and Path of the Giant's class abilities since these are not the "Enlarge/Reduce" spell. (NOTE: A DM might rule otherwise of course). Whatever the case, this means that if a Rune Knight uses it's ability to become "Large" first and a caster uses Enlarge/Reduce on them to increase size another category, they can make "Huge" and be capable of grappling Colossal creatures. If the UA Barbarian Path of the Giant is used or goes through as written with the level 14 ability to become Huge, then an Enlarge/Reduce spell could set them up to Colossal, allowing them to stare the largest monsters in the eye.
Duergar, halflings, and especially fairies would like to have a word with you
Also, rune knights at level 14 can become huge with their feature, meaning gargantuan with enlage on top, and a minor nitpick is that it’s called gargantuan, not colossal.
Looks like it's Level 18 for the Rune Knight. But yes, on duergar, halflings, fairies and many more, I forgot to note standard races are "medium" AT MOST.
Difficult to say. Treantmonk did a good review of using weapons designed for larger creatures on his youtube channel.
There aren't any Rules specifically written around players using oversized weapons without the disadvantage. Even outside the idea of picking up a larger creatures weapon, a player could purchase or have an oversized weapon built, put it down while they grow (or are grown) to a larger size, then pick it up with a size matching the weapon (heck, an Eldritch Knight could bond then call it to their hand once they're bigger).
As Treantmonk points out though, the rules in the DMG for monster weapon damage are specifically for monsters or NPCs that players might fight against or with. They're not rules, designed with balance to take players into account.
Yeah oops my bad on the rune knight thing
duergar can enlarge themselves with a racial trait. Halflings are small. Fairies are small, but can cast enlarge with a racial trait, which in a silly twist makes one of the smallest races available one of the only ones that can become gargantuan with a single-class build.
The Tarrasque is immune to charm effects, you cannot dominate them even if you manage to hold a grapple on a CR 30 monster with a strength of +10.
The concentration part of the spell can technically be used as a way to control exactly when it ends, instead of just a one-minute duration. What if a Small character was Reduced to Tiny, crawled into a boss' mouth (eye, nose, etc.) and the caster dropped the spell. They would grow to between 2 and 4 feet tall - inside the enemy's head. My players once killed a mummy lord using a similar principle with gaseous form. DM permitting, of course.
Small is not big enough. This thing swallows large creatures whole. The gaseous form thing is a serious and clever exploit if the dm lets it pass though.
Aside from artificers, sorcerers, and wizards, this spell can also be cast by fairies, any subclass that uses the wizard spell list (such as Eldritch knights, Magical tricksters) and as always bards. Otherwise this article is completely accurate.
Duergar, but only enlarge on themselves
I think that this spell should be upcastable every spell level or two. Upcast would change sizes further by one, so a chainer warlock could eventually transform their familiar from Tiny to Huge, then there would be another (short-term) dragon riding class, and we wouldn't have to go for the Drakewarden.
Technically no, in ability it states that it can only grow to the maximum size available it can't grow to full size. In the tarrasque stat block it mentions that it can only swallow creatures of size large or smaller so I would assume that is what you could get to.
I think a neat option for upcasting would be to allow it to affect more than one creature.
Hello!
I would like to ask a question that has not been answered yet according to my poor googling skills.
If you Enlarge an already Large PC. For example a Rune Knight that has turned Large by using the Giant's Might skill - then gets Enlarged by a spell and is thus Huge.
Would his weapons grow with him and deal according 1d4 extra damage for every size change? Or would his weapon only deal 1d4 extra RAW because of the poor wording is "while the weapons are enlarged"?
Is it 1d4 extra no matter the actual size, or is it 1d4 extra per size category?
You’re getting only 1d4 from Enlarge, but I don’t see a problem here because you’re also getting the bonus from giant’s might, which is typically bigger. I don’t see anything the wording needs to do that it doesn’t.
KingOfCharge is right. You only get a single extra 1d4 damage to each of your attacks with weapons from the single growth given by the Enlarge/Reduce spell.
Rune Knight doesn’t give the same increase in damage. It allows you to deal an extra 1d6 damage with ONE attack made with a weapon or unarmed strike on each of your turns. At level 10 it becomes 1d8 then 1d10 at (I think) level 18 when your Rune Knight growth takes you to Huge size.
so you can be a small creature at level 18 Rune Knight, activate your Giant’s Might to become Huge, then have a caster use Enlarge Reduce on you to make you Gargantuan. Hit a creature on your turn with a weapon and deal an extra 1d4 damage from Enlarge then add on an extra 1d10 damage from Giant’s might, hit a creature with your weapon again and deal an extra 1d4 damage from Enlarge but no extra damage from Giant’s Might.
Ahh! My apologies, I had not read up on Giant's Might fully. Thank you for the quick answer by the way, was not expecting one for at least a few days.
I'm using a custom race called Aasimar Titan which you can read here: https://i.redd.it/5mkxbzwsrkj31.png
And i'm also combining it with a custom Barbarian path which you can read here: https://i.redd.it/8n7z3jgp67i51.jpg
In this custom subrace it states "While your weapons are enlarged, your attacks with them deal 1d4 extra damage"
And combined with the custom Barb path it gives you another "Enlarge" effect.
We got in to a debate whether it gives 2d4 extra dmg or just 1d4 extra. My friend wanted me to stick with 1d4 - but for obvious reasons due to bias, I wanted myself to have 2d4. If interpreted the way my friend thinks, it will not matter if you went from Tiny to Medium, or from Medium to Colossal in size it would only ever do just a maximum of 4 extra damage according to RAW. Personally I think it's folly that a weapon that is now 4 times larger than the original size (Medium to Huge) only does the smallest dice available "extra".
If you used the Home Brew Aasimar Titan's Divine Dynamo ability, that should actually work with either Enlarge/ Reduce or the Home Brew Path of the Titan's Unbound ability. So Divine Dynamo would give you +1d4 as part of it's effects and then you would get an extra 1d4 (for +2d4 total) if you have Enlarge cast on you or rage with the Unbound ability. Thats RAW using the Home Brew rules you've shown there. There's nothing in the Enlarge/Reduce spell that would prevent it stacking with the Divine Dynamo but both Enlarge/Reduce and Unbound cannot be stacked together as per their rules.
As always, DMs can add, remove or interpret rules however they want so if your DM tells you they won't stack then thats the rule you have to take.
There is an optional thing in the DMs guide on page 278 paragraph 5 that makes the weapon deal more damage dice (like from 2d6+strength modifier for greatsword to 4d6+strength modifier). However, from a logical standpoint, this makes no sense, the weight of the weapon is multiplied by 8 and so does the force to speed ratio. It would make more sense if the damage dice was multiplied by 8 but you wouldn't get the extra d4. However, from a game developer's perspective, this would make the game incredibly unbalanced (away from the mages for once) towards builds with enlarge/reduce like Duergar Rune knights dealing 512 times weapon dice.