Search Results
All Results
Characters
Compendium
Spells
Items
Monsters
Vehicles
Forums
Returning 35 results for 'before breathing diffusing certain reaction'.
Other Suggestions:
before bathing defusing certain reactions
Spells
Player’s Handbook
Contingency, expending spell slots for both, but the contingent spell doesn’t come into effect. Instead, it takes effect when a certain trigger occurs. You describe that trigger when you cast the
two spells. For example, a Contingency cast with Water Breathing might stipulate that Water Breathing comes into effect when you are engulfed in water or a similar liquid.
The contingent spell takes
Magic Items
Dungeon Master’s Guide
) or a 10-foot pole, or reverting it a Quarterstaff; the weapon will elongate only as far as the surrounding space allows.
In certain forms, the weapon has the following additional properties
an attack while holding the weapon, you can take a Reaction to twirl the weapon around you, gaining a +5 bonus to your Armor Class against the triggering attack, potentially causing the attack to miss
Magic Items
Dungeon Master’s Guide
. When certain levers are used, the apparatus transforms to resemble a giant lobster.
The Apparatus of Kwalish is a Large object with the following statistics: AC 20; HP 200; Speed 30 ft., Swim 30 ft
, the compartment is airtight and watertight. The compartment holds enough air for 10 hours of breathing, divided by the number of breathing creatures inside.
The apparatus floats on water. It can also
Spells
Player’s Handbook
, or Water. The creature resembles an animal of your choice that is native to the chosen environment, which determines certain details in its stat block. The creature disappears when it drops to 0 Hit
the ally doesn’t have the Incapacitated condition.
Water Breathing (Water Only). The spirit can breathe only underwater.
Actions
Multiattack. The spirit makes a number of Rend attacks equal
Contingency
Legacy
This doesn't reflect the latest rules and lore.
Learn More
Spells
Basic Rules (2014)
, expending spell slots for both, but the contingent spell doesn't come into effect. Instead, it takes effect when a certain circumstance occurs. You describe that circumstance when you cast the two
spells. For example, a contingency cast with water breathing might stipulate that water breathing comes into effect when you are engulfed in water or a similar liquid.
The contingent spell takes effect
Apparatus of Kwalish
Legacy
This doesn't reflect the latest rules and lore.
Learn More
Magic Items
Dungeon Master’s Guide (2014)
up or down. When certain levers are used, the apparatus transforms to resemble a giant lobster. The apparatus of Kwalish is a Large object with the following statistics:
Armor Class: 20 Hit Points
apparatus's hatch is closed, the compartment is airtight and watertight. The compartment holds enough air for 10 hours of breathing, divided by the number of breathing creatures inside.
The apparatus
Monsters
Mordenkainen Presents: Monsters of the Multiverse
certain, but when it works, the magic transforms an air-breathing person into a shapeshifter that can take on an aquatic form.
A deep scion emerges from the depths in service to their underwater master
deep scion’s duty to infiltrate the air-breathing world and report back to their master. When set to this task, a deep scion worms their way into the life of an unsuspecting enemy as a new friend
Apparatus of the Crab
Legacy
This doesn't reflect the latest rules and lore.
Learn More
Magic Items
Basic Rules (2014)
up or down. When certain levers are used, the apparatus transforms to resemble a giant lobster. The apparatus of the Crab is a Large object with the following statistics:
Armor Class: 20 Hit Points
apparatus's hatch is closed, the compartment is airtight and watertight. The compartment holds enough air for 10 hours of breathing, divided by the number of breathing creatures inside.
The apparatus
Summon Beast
Legacy
This doesn't reflect the latest rules and lore.
Learn More
Spells
Tasha’s Cauldron of Everything
environment: Air, Land, or Water. The creature resembles an animal of your choice that is native to the chosen environment, which determines certain traits in its stat block. The creature disappears when it
ally isn’t incapacitated.
Water Breathing (Water Only). The beast can breathe only underwater.
Actions
Multiattack. The beast makes a number of attacks equal to half this spell’s level
Magic Items
Fizban's Treasury of Dragons
you makes a saving throw, you can use your reaction to give that creature advantage on the saving throw.
Dragon-Touched Focus (Wakened);Wakened (Very Rare). The Wakened focus has the Slumbering and
Stirring properties, and while you are holding a Wakened focus, you can use it to cast certain spells. Once the item is used to cast a given spell, it can’t be used to cast that spell again
Magic Items
Bigby Presents: Glory of the Giants
used again until a certain amount of time has passed, as specified in the figurine’s description.
Prehistoric Figurine of Wondrous Power (Carnelian Triceratops);Carnelian Triceratops (Very
up to 12 hours and can be ridden as a mount. Once it has been used, it can’t be used again until 4 days have passed.
While you are riding the plesiosaurus, you can use it to cast water breathing at will.
Adult Deep Dragon
Legacy
This doesn't reflect the latest rules and lore.
Learn More
Monsters
Fizban's Treasury of Dragons
creature within 30 feet of it that it can see. The target must succeed on a DC 16 Wisdom saving throw or use its reaction to make a melee weapon attack against a random creature within reach. If no
creatures are within reach, or the target can’t take a reaction, it takes 5 (1d10);{"diceNotation":"1d10", "rollType":"damage", "rollAction":"Commanding Spores", "rollDamageType":"psychic"} psychic
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Tasha’s Cauldron of Everything
4. Reaction Timing Certain game features let you take a special action, called a reaction, in response to an event. Making opportunity attacks and casting the shield spell are two typical uses of
reactions. If you’re unsure when a reaction occurs in relation to its trigger, here’s the rule: the reaction happens after its trigger, unless the description of the reaction explicitly says otherwise. Once you take a reaction, you can’t take another one until the start of your next turn.
Ancient Deep Dragon
Legacy
This doesn't reflect the latest rules and lore.
Learn More
Monsters
Fizban's Treasury of Dragons
around a creature within 30 feet of it that it can see. The target must succeed on a DC 19 Wisdom saving throw or use its reaction to make a melee weapon attack against a random creature within reach. If
no creatures are within reach, or the target can’t take a reaction, it takes 11 (2d10);{"diceNotation":"2d10", "rollType":"damage", "rollAction":"Commanding Spores", "rollDamageType":"psychic
Monsters
Eberron: Rising from the Last War
succeed on a DC 22 Wisdom saving throw or take 22 (4d10);{"diceNotation":"4d10","rollType":"damage","rollAction":"Implant Fear","rollDamageType":"psychic"} psychic damage and immediately use its reaction
“I perceive certain types of people — vocations or entire societies — as hideous monsters.”
3
“Someone is watching everything I do.”
4
“When I
Backgrounds
Guildmasters’ Guide to Ravnica
ability, enlarge/reduce
3rd
gaseous form, water breathing, wind wall
4th
freedom of movement, polymorph
5th
creation
When your magic causes physical
spellcasting, forming spirals that reflect the mathematical perfection of nature.
Suggested Characteristics
The bizarre science of the Simic Combine attracts a certain type of personality and encompasses
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Player’s Handbook
Reactions Certain special abilities, spells, and situations allow you to take a special action called a Reaction. A Reaction is an instant response to a trigger of some kind, which can occur on your
turn or on someone else’s. The Opportunity Attack, described later in this chapter, is the most common type of Reaction. When you take a Reaction, you can’t take another one until the start of your
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->D&D Beyond Basic Rules
Reactions Certain special abilities, spells, and situations allow you to take a special action called a Reaction. A Reaction is an instant response to a trigger of some kind, which can occur on your
turn or on someone else’s. The Opportunity Attack, described later in this chapter, is the most common type of Reaction. When you take a Reaction, you can’t take another one until the start of your
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Player's Handbook (2014)
, expending spell slots for both, but the contingent spell doesn’t come into effect. Instead, it takes effect when a certain circumstance occurs. You describe that circumstance when you cast the two
spells. For example, a contingency cast with water breathing might stipulate that water breathing comes into effect when you are engulfed in water or a similar liquid. The contingent spell takes effect
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Basic Rules (2014)
, expending spell slots for both, but the contingent spell doesn’t come into effect. Instead, it takes effect when a certain circumstance occurs. You describe that circumstance when you cast the two
spells. For example, a contingency cast with water breathing might stipulate that water breathing comes into effect when you are engulfed in water or a similar liquid. The contingent spell takes effect
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Player’s Handbook
for both, but the contingent spell doesn’t come into effect. Instead, it takes effect when a certain trigger occurs. You describe that trigger when you cast the two spells. For example, a Contingency
cast with Water Breathing might stipulate that Water Breathing comes into effect when you are engulfed in water or a similar liquid. The contingent spell takes effect immediately after the trigger
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->D&D Beyond Basic Rules
for both, but the contingent spell doesn’t come into effect. Instead, it takes effect when a certain trigger occurs. You describe that trigger when you cast the two spells. For example, a Contingency
cast with Water Breathing might stipulate that Water Breathing comes into effect when you are engulfed in water or a similar liquid. The contingent spell takes effect immediately after the trigger
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Basic Rules (2014)
cast as a reaction, the spell description tells you exactly when you can do so. Longer Casting Times Certain spells (including spells cast as rituals) require more time to cast: minutes or even hours
Casting Time Most spells require a single action to cast, but some spells require a bonus action, a reaction, or much more time to cast. Bonus Action A spell cast with a bonus action is especially
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->D&D Beyond Basic Rules
Casting Time Most spells require the Magic action to cast, but some spells require a Bonus Action, a Reaction, or 1 minute or more. A spell’s Casting Time entry specifies which of those is required
another one using a Bonus Action on the same turn. Reaction and Bonus Action Triggers A spell that has a casting time of a Reaction is cast in response to a trigger that is defined in the spell’s
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Player’s Handbook
Casting Time Most spells require the Magic action to cast, but some spells require a Bonus Action, a Reaction, or 1 minute or more. A spell’s Casting Time entry specifies which of those is required
another one using a Bonus Action on the same turn. Reaction and Bonus Action Triggers A spell that has a casting time of a Reaction is cast in response to a trigger that is defined in the spell’s
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Player's Handbook (2014)
spells require a single action to cast, but some spells require a bonus action, a reaction, or much more time to cast.
Bonus Action A spell cast with a bonus action is especially swift. You must use a
time of 1 action.
Reactions Some spells can be cast as reactions. These spells take a fraction of a second to bring about and are cast in response to some event. If a spell can be cast as a reaction
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->D&D Beyond Basic Rules
can be used a certain number of times (represented by X) and that a monster must finish a Long Rest to regain expended uses. For example, a Reaction that includes “1/Day” means the Reaction can be
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->D&D Beyond Basic Rules
, or other body parts. A few spells also involve melee attacks. Reach A creature has a 5-foot reach and can thus attack targets within 5 feet when making a melee attack. Certain creatures have melee
when you teleport or when you are moved without using your movement, action, Bonus Action, or Reaction. For example, you don’t provoke an Opportunity Attack if an explosion hurls you out of a foe’s reach
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Player’s Handbook
, or other body parts. A few spells also involve melee attacks. Reach A creature has a 5-foot reach and can thus attack targets within 5 feet when making a melee attack. Certain creatures have melee
when you teleport or when you are moved without using your movement, action, Bonus Action, or Reaction. For example, you don’t provoke an Opportunity Attack if an explosion hurls you out of a foe’s reach
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Player's Handbook (2014)
to lower a drawbridge. Reactions Certain special abilities, spells, and situations allow you to take a special action called a reaction. A reaction is an instant response to a trigger of some kind
, which can occur on your turn or on someone else’s. The opportunity attack, described later in this chapter, is the most common type of reaction. When you take a reaction, you can’t take another one until
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Basic Rules (2014)
care or when it presents an unusual obstacle. For instance, the DM could reasonably expect you to use an action to open a stuck door or turn a crank to lower a drawbridge. Reactions Certain special
abilities, spells, and situations allow you to take a special action called a reaction. A reaction is an instant response to a trigger of some kind, which can occur on your turn or on someone else's
Yuan-ti Pureblood
Legacy
This doesn't reflect the latest rules and lore.
Learn More
Species
Volo's Guide to Monsters
they don’t believe they have a reasonable chance of success. This reaction isn’t out of cowardice, but practicality—yuan-ti value their own lives much too highly to risk them when the
royal family could poison a meal and declare it “safe” after taking a bite.
There are legends of certain yuan-ti infiltrating human cities and forming deadly covert societies that sell
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->The Book of Many Things
♣) When you deal damage to a creature, that creature takes an extra 1d6 fire damage. Fool
(or Joker with ™) As a reaction, when you take damage, you cause the creature that dealt it to have the prone
are wearing or carrying, up to 30 feet to a space you can see. Knight (or J ♥) As a reaction, impose disadvantage on the attack roll of a creature you can see. Moon (or Q ♦) As a bonus action, regain
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Dungeon Master’s Guide
. In certain forms, the weapon has the following additional properties. Acrobatic Assist (Quarterstaff and 10-Foot Pole Forms Only). While holding this weapon, you have Advantage on Dexterity
(Acrobatics) checks. Attack Deflection (Quarterstaff Form Only). When you are hit by an attack while holding the weapon, you can take a Reaction to twirl the weapon around you, gaining a +5 bonus to your
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->D&D Beyond Basic Rules
. In certain forms, the weapon has the following additional properties. Acrobatic Assist (Quarterstaff and 10-Foot Pole Forms Only). While holding this weapon, you have Advantage on Dexterity
(Acrobatics) checks. Attack Deflection (Quarterstaff Form Only). When you are hit by an attack while holding the weapon, you can take a Reaction to twirl the weapon around you, gaining a +5 bonus to your






