Search Results
All Results
Characters
Compendium
Spells
Items
Monsters
Vehicles
Forums
Returning 35 results for 'can can worn'.
Other Suggestions:
can can when
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Icewind Dale: Rime of the Frostmaiden
Other Things Characters Can Do Characters who can’t harm the dragon (or choose not to) can find plenty of other things to distract them during the dragon’s attack. If a player is having trouble
figuring out what their character can or should do, you can use the Town in Chaos table to introduce an urgent development for the character to deal with. Before the character moves or acts on its turn
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Sage Advice & Errata
Can you have more than one background? No. You can have only one background. It establishes key aspects of your life before you embarked on a life of adventure.
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Sage Advice & Errata
Can potions be administered to Unconscious characters? Yes, you can administer a potion to someone else as a Bonus Action.
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Sage Advice & Errata
Can a Barbarian/Fighter (Battle Master) use maneuvers while raging? Nothing in the Barbarian’s Rage feature precludes the use of maneuvers.
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Sage Advice & Errata
What’s an example of an effect that can reduce Exhaustion? The Greater Restoration spell can reduce Exhaustion.
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Sage Advice & Errata
Can a Blinded creature make an Opportunity Attack? An Opportunity Attack is triggered when a creature that you can see leaves your reach. If you can’t see an enemy, you can’t make an Opportunity
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Sage Advice & Errata
Can you move through the space of a Prone enemy? You can move through the space of an enemy only if that enemy (A) has the Incapacitated condition, (B) is a Tiny creature, or (C) is at least two sizes larger or smaller than you. The Prone condition doesn’t override this.
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Sage Advice & Errata
Can a Rogue/Monk use Sneak Attack with Unarmed Strikes? The Sneak Attack feature works with a weapon that has the Finesse or Ranged property. An Unarmed Strike isn’t a weapon, so it doesn’t qualify
. In contrast, a Rogue/Monk can use Sneak Attack with a Monk weapon, such as a Shortsword or a Dagger, that has one of Sneak Attack’s required properties.
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Sage Advice & Errata
Can you get a Critical Hit on an ability check? Ability checks don’t score Critical Hits. Attack rolls do.
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Sage Advice & Errata
Is the intent that only Melee weapon attacks can knock foes Unconscious, or can melee spell attacks as well? If you reduce a creature to 0 Hit Points with a melee attack, you can knock the creature
out. That melee attack isn’t restricted to weapons. Even a melee spell attack can be used to knock a creature out.
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Sage Advice & Errata
Can a non-Battle Master attempt to disarm someone? The Disarming Attack maneuver is designed for the Battle Master Fighter, but any character can try to disarm a foe. Such an attempt would fall under improvising an action not detailed by the rules and would be up to your DM to adjudicate.
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Sage Advice & Errata
Can a Sphere of Annihilation enter a Leomund’s Tiny Hut? Yes. The sphere destroys the dome.
Equipment
An Amulet is a Holy Symbol that is bejeweled or painted to channel divine magic. A Cleric or Paladin can use this item as a Spellcasting Focus. Amulets must be worn or held.
Monsters
Monster Manual
Iron Scent. The rust monster can pinpoint the location of ferrous metal within 30 feet of itself.Multiattack. The rust monster makes one Bite attack and uses Antennae twice.
Bite. Melee Attack Roll
"} Piercing damage.
Antennae. The rust monster targets one nonmagical metal object—armor or a weapon—worn or carried by a creature within 5 feet of itself. Dexterity Saving Throw: DC 11, the
Equipment
A Holy Symbol takes one of the forms in the Holy Symbol table and is bejeweled or painted to channel divine magic. A Cleric or Paladin can use a Holy Symbol as a Spellcasting Focus.
The table
indicates whether a Holy Symbol needs to be held, worn, or borne on fabric (such as a tabard or banner) or a Shield.
Holy Symbols
Symbol
Weight
Cost
Amulet (worn or held)
1 lb.
5 GP
Emblem (borne on fabric or a Shield)
—
5 GP
Reliquary (held)
2 lb.
5 GP
Magic Items
Dungeon Master’s Guide
Mithral is a light, flexible metal. A mithral chain shirt or breastplate can be worn under normal clothes.
If the armor normally imposes disadvantage on Dexterity (Stealth) checks or has a Strength requirement, the mithral version of the armor doesn't.
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Sage Advice & Errata
Can damage be reduced to 0 by Resistance or another form of damage reduction? Yes, it is possible to reduce damage to 0 but no lower.
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Sage Advice & Errata
Can you delay your turn and take it later in the round? No. When it’s your turn, you either do something or you don’t. If you want to wait to act in response to something, take the Ready action. (See appendix C of the Player’s Handbook.)
Monsters
Monster Manual
":"Acid"} Acid damage. Nonmagical armor worn by the target takes a −1 penalty to the AC it offers. The armor is destroyed if the penalty reduces its AC to 10. The penalty can be removed by casting the Mending spell on the armor.Acid, Cold, Fire
Amorphous. The ooze can move through a space as narrow as 1 inch without expending extra movement to do so.
Corrosive Form. Nonmagical ammunition is destroyed immediately after hitting the ooze and
Spells
Player’s Handbook
turn unless you use this option on it again and it fails the save.
Object. You can try to move a Huge or smaller object. If the object isn’t being worn or carried, you automatically move it up to
You gain the ability to move or manipulate creatures or objects by thought. When you cast the spell and as a Magic action on your later turns before the spell ends, you can exert your will on one
Monsters
Monster Manual
Amorphous. The pudding can move through a space as narrow as 1 inch without expending extra movement to do so.
Corrosive Form. A creature that hits the pudding with a melee attack roll takes 4 (1d8
penalty reaches −5. The penalty can be removed by casting the Mending spell on the weapon.
In 1 minute, the pudding can eat through 2 feet of nonmagical wood or metal.
Spider Climb. The pudding
Monsters
Monster Manual
. It can replace one attack with a use of Infernal Tail.
Searing Fork. Melee Attack Roll: +10;{"diceNotation":"1d20+10", "rollType":"to hit", "rollAction":"Searing Fork"}, reach 10 ft. Hit: 15 (2d8
);{"diceNotation":"5d8+4", "rollType":"damage", "rollAction":"Hurl Flame", "rollDamageType":"Fire"} Fire damage. If the target is a flammable object that isn’t being worn or carried, it starts burning
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Sage Advice & Errata
What actions can monsters use to make Opportunity Attack? Are Multiattack and breath weapon actions allowed? When making an Opportunity Attack, a monster can make any single melee attack listed in
Spells
Player’s Handbook
Blazing orbs of fire plummet to the ground at four different points you can see within range. Each creature in a 40-foot-radius Sphere centered on each of those points makes a Dexterity saving throw
.
A nonmagical object that isn’t being worn or carried also takes the damage if it’s in the spell’s area, and the object starts burning if it’s flammable.
Spells
Player’s Handbook
You briefly stop the flow of time for everyone but yourself. No time passes for other creatures, while you take 1d4 + 1 turns in a row, during which you can use actions and move as normal.
This
spell ends if one of the actions you use during this period, or any effects that you create during it, affects a creature other than you or an object being worn or carried by someone other than you. In addition, the spell ends if you move to a place more than 1,000 feet from the location where you cast it.
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Sage Advice & Errata
Can an Opportunity Attack be used to make a grapple or a shove? Yes. When you make an Opportunity Attack, one of your options is making an Unarmed Strike. You can still choose to use the Grapple and Shove options of this Unarmed Strike.
Magic Items
Dungeon Master’s Guide
Every shield guardian has an amulet magically linked to it. A shield guardian can have only one corresponding amulet, and if that amulet is destroyed, the shield guardian is incapacitated until a
replacement amulet is created.
A shield guardian’s amulet is subject to direct attack if it isn’t being worn or carried. It has AC 10, 10 hit points, and immunity to poison and psychic
Spells
Player’s Handbook
For the duration, magical Darkness spreads from a point within range and fills a 15-foot-radius Sphere. Darkvision can’t see through it, and nonmagical light can’t illuminate it
.
Alternatively, you cast the spell on an object that isn’t being worn or carried, causing the Darkness to fill a 15-foot Emanation originating from that object. Covering that object with something
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Sage Advice & Errata
If a creature is Grappled, can it still attack and use its special abilities? The Grappled condition limits movement, not attacks, spellcasting, and the like. That said, many grappling abilities, such as a Giant Octopus’s Tentacles attack, also deliver effects like the Restrained condition.
Magic Items
Dungeon Master’s Guide
This ring has 3 charges and regains 1d3 expended charges daily at dawn. While wearing the ring, you can take a Magic action to expend 1 to 3 charges to make a ranged spell attack against one creature
you can see within 60 feet of yourself. The ring produces a spectral ram’s head and makes its attack roll with a +7 bonus. On a hit, for each charge you spend, the target takes 2d10 Force
Spells
Player’s Handbook
You touch one Large or smaller object that isn’t being worn or carried by someone else. Until the spell ends, the object sheds Bright Light in a 20-foot radius and Dim Light for an additional
20 feet. The light can be colored as you like.
Covering the object with something opaque blocks the light. The spell ends if you cast it again.
Magic Items
Dungeon Master’s Guide
hits and an extra 3d8 Thunder damage to objects it hits that aren’t being worn or carried.
The weapon has the following additional properties.
Clap of Thunder. As a Magic action, you can strike
Strength saving throw or have the Prone condition. Nonmagical objects in the Cone that aren’t being worn or carried take 3d8 Thunder damage.
Earthquake. As a Magic action, you can strike the weapon
Magic Items
Dungeon Master’s Guide
You can take a Magic action to blow the horn, which emits a thunderous blast in a 30-foot Cone that is audible out to 600 feet. Each creature in the Cone makes a DC 15 Constitution saving throw. On a
that aren’t being worn or carried take 10d8 Thunder damage.
Each use of the horn’s magic has a 20 percent chance of causing the horn to explode. The explosion deals 10d6 Force damage to the user and destroys the horn.
Monsters
Monster Manual
Legendary Resistance (6/Day). If the tarrasque fails a saving throw, it can choose to succeed instead.
Magic Resistance. The tarrasque has Advantage on saving throws against spells and other magical
, and the target has the Grappled condition (escape DC 20). Until the grapple ends, the target has the Restrained condition and can’t teleport.
Claw. Melee Attack Roll: +19;{"diceNotation":"1d20
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Sage Advice & Errata
Can a creature that burrows grapple a target and drag them into the ground by burrowing? No. A burrowing creature can drag another creature with them only if they have the ability to leave a tunnel
. For example, a Purple Worm has the Tunneler trait, so it can drag a Grappled creature into a tunnel it creates when burrowing. Conversely, an Earth Elemental can’t drag a creature into the ground with it.






