Search Results
All Results
Characters
Compendium
Spells
Items
Monsters
Vehicles
Forums
Returning 35 results for 'canceled released given to have reaction'.
Other Suggestions:
concealed revealed given to have reactions
concealed revealed given to have reaction
concealed repeated given to have reactions
concealed related given to have reactions
cancel released given to have reaction
Magic Items
Dungeon Master’s Guide
While holding this rod, you can take a Reaction to absorb a spell that is targeting only you and doesn’t create an area of effect. The absorbed spell’s effect is canceled, and the spell
’s energy—not the spell itself— is stored in the rod. The energy has the same level as the spell when it was cast. A canceled spell dissipates with no effect, and any resources used to
Magic Items
Dungeon Master’s Guide
;Absorption (Very Rare). While this pale lavender ellipsoid orbits your head, you can take a Reaction to cancel a spell of level 4 or lower cast by a creature you can see. A canceled spell has no effect
, and any resources used to cast it are wasted. Once the stone has canceled 20 levels of spells, it burns out, turns dull gray, and loses its magic.
Ioun Stone of Agility;Agility (Very Rare). Your
Magic Items
Dungeon Master’s Guide
on the save. Once trapped, a creature remains in the flask until released. The flask can hold only one creature at a time. A creature trapped in the flask doesn’t age and doesn’t need to
commands even if it doesn’t know the language in which the commands are given. If you issue no commands or give the creature a command that is likely to result in its death or imprisonment, it
Magic Items
Guildmasters’ Guide to Ravnica
dagger has the following additional properties.
Siphon Vitality. As a bonus action, you can release any number of stored souls from the dagger to regain 1d10 hit points per soul released
.
Annihilation. If the dagger holds five souls, you can use this property: As a reaction immediately after you hit a creature with the dagger and deal damage to that target, you can release all five souls. If the
Monsters
Mordenkainen Presents: Monsters of the Multiverse
allied demon within 30 feet of the drow uses its reaction to make one attack against a target of the drow’s choice that she can see.
Demon Staff. The drow makes one Demon Staff attack.
Cast a
favor, and the goddess sometimes capriciously takes back what she has given. This represents a matron mother at the height of her power.
A matron mother is almost never encountered alone. She is
Monsters
Mordenkainen Presents: Monsters of the Multiverse
one Wave of Sorrow attack.
Dance, My Puppet! One creature charmed by Graz’zt that Graz’zt can see must use its reaction to move up to its speed as Graz’zt directs.The appearance of
around him. Given enough time in a single location, Graz’zt can twist it with his power.
Graz’zt’s lair is a den of ostentation and hedonism. It is adorned with finery and decorations
Magic Items
Fizban's Treasury of Dragons
you makes a saving throw, you can use your reaction to give that creature advantage on the saving throw.
Dragon-Touched Focus (Wakened);Wakened (Very Rare). The Wakened focus has the Slumbering and
Stirring properties, and while you are holding a Wakened focus, you can use it to cast certain spells. Once the item is used to cast a given spell, it can’t be used to cast that spell again
Backgrounds
Guildmasters’ Guide to Ravnica
ruins. You are part of a savage society that clings desperately to the Old Ways — attuned to nature, full of primal rage, and given short shrift by a world consumed with continuing civilization
.
2
A Boros soldier gives me gifts in exchange for information about other clans’ movements.
3
I once caught and released a Dimir spy.
4
I consult with a Golgari shaman for
Graz'zt
Legacy
This doesn't reflect the latest rules and lore.
Learn More
Monsters
Out of the Abyss
reaction to move up to its speed as Graz’zt directs.
Sow Discord. Graz’zt casts crown of madness or dissonant whispers.
Teleport. Graz’zt uses his Teleport action.The appearance of the
Zelatar, found within his Abyssal domain of Azzatar. Graz’zt’s maddening influence radiates outward in a tangible ripple, warping reality around him. Given enough time in a single location
Magic Items
Tasha’s Cauldron of Everything
The Teeth of Dahlver-Nar are stories given form. They are a collection of teeth, each suggestive of wildly different origins and made from various materials. The collection rests within a leather
, you can use your reaction to cause them to be hit instead. You can’t use this reaction again until you finish a short or long rest.
4
The Mill Road Murders (halfling canine)
3 green hag
Your training with the Company of Free Swords has given you an increased stamina and an attitude that make you less likely to succumb to hardships. You gain the following benefits.
Hold the Ground
. When you are moved without using your movement by a creature, you can take a Reaction to reduce the distance you are moved by up to your Speed.
Resolute. You have Advantage on saving throws that would apply a condition.
spells
Melee weapon, you can take a Reaction to have clots form around the weapon, entrapping it. The attacker must succeed on a Strength saving throw or the weapon sticks to you. If the attacker doesn’t
expended to cast the spell. When the spell ends, the weapons are released.
Using a Higher-Level Spell Slot. You can trap an additional weapon for each spell slot level above 4.
Monsters
Mordenkainen's Fiendish Folio Volume 1
creature within 5 feet of the norker makes a melee attack against it, the norker can use its reaction to cause 4 piercing damage to it.Cruel, vicious, and lazy even by the standards of goblinoids
the dictates of Maglubiyet have prevented the hobgoblins from hunting down and exterminating these creatures.
A Legacy of Hatred. Given their ancient defeat and terrible treatment at the hands of other
feats
Score Increase. Increase your Strength, Constitution, or Wisdom score by 1, to a maximum of 20.
Dodge Spells. You can take a Reaction to avoid a spell that is targeting only you and doesn’t create
an area of effect. Make a Wisdom saving throw against the spellcaster’s spell save DC. On a successful save, the creature must choose a new target or the spell is canceled. A canceled spell
Nilbog
Legacy
This doesn't reflect the latest rules and lore.
Learn More
Monsters
Volo's Guide to Monsters
its Reversal of Fortune reaction.
Nimble Escape. The nilbog can take the Disengage or Hide action as a bonus action on each of its turns.Fool’s Scepter. Melee Weapon Attack: +4;{"diceNotation
host has given rise to a practice among goblinoids that each host include at least one goblin jester. This jester is allowed to go anywhere and do whatever it pleases. The position of jester is a much
Monsters
Mordenkainen's Fiendish Folio Volume 1
make a single melee attack.Defensive Rebuke. If a creature within 5 feet of the norker makes a melee attack against it, the norker can use its reaction to cause 6 piercing damage to it.Cruel, vicious
foes even when relegated to menial labor. Only the dictates of Maglubiyet have prevented the hobgoblins from hunting down and exterminating these creatures.
A Legacy of Hatred. Given their ancient
Ioun Stone
Legacy
This doesn't reflect the latest rules and lore.
Learn More
Magic Items
Basic Rules (2014)
). While this pale lavender ellipsoid orbits your head, you can use your reaction to cancel a spell of 4th level or lower cast by a creature you can see and targeting only you.
Once the stone has
canceled 20 levels of spells, it burns out and turns dull gray, losing its magic. If you are targeted by a spell whose level is higher than the number of spell levels the stone has left, the stone can't
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Dungeon Master’s Guide
Rod of Absorption Rod, Very Rare (Requires Attunement) Conceptopolis Rod of Absorption While holding this rod, you can take a Reaction to absorb a spell that is targeting only you and doesn’t create
an area of effect. The absorbed spell’s effect is canceled, and the spell’s energy—not the spell itself—is stored in the rod. The energy has the same level as the spell when it was cast. A canceled
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->D&D Beyond Basic Rules
Rod of Absorption Rod, Very Rare (Requires Attunement) While holding this rod, you can take a Reaction to absorb a spell that is targeting only you and doesn’t create an area of effect. The absorbed
spell’s effect is canceled, and the spell’s energy—not the spell itself—is stored in the rod. The energy has the same level as the spell when it was cast. A canceled spell dissipates with no effect
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Dungeon Master’s Guide
) While this marbled lavender and green ellipsoid orbits your head, you can take a Reaction to cancel a spell of level 8 or lower cast by a creature you can see. A canceled spell has no effect, and any
rarity and effects. Conceptopolis Ioun Stones Absorption (Very Rare) While this pale lavender ellipsoid orbits your head, you can take a Reaction to cancel a spell of level 4 or lower cast by a
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->D&D Beyond Basic Rules
and green ellipsoid orbits your head, you can take a Reaction to cancel a spell of level 8 or lower cast by a creature you can see. A canceled spell has no effect, and any resources used to cast it
rarity and effects. Absorption (Very Rare) While this pale lavender ellipsoid orbits your head, you can take a Reaction to cancel a spell of level 4 or lower cast by a creature you can see. A
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Sage Advice & Errata
commitment. By taking the Ready action, you’re giving your character access to a tailor-made Reaction to use in a given circumstance. However, you’re not bound to take that readied Reaction. As combat
continues, you can decide to take this readied Reaction—or, if plans change, you can take any other Reaction you might have access to, such as an Opportunity Attack. But remember that you have only one
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Basic Rules (2014)
Rod of Absorption Rod, very rare (requires attunement) While holding this rod, you can use your reaction to absorb a spell that is targeting only you and not with an area of effect. The absorbed
spell’s effect is canceled, and the spell’s energy—not the spell itself—is stored in the rod. The energy has the same level as the spell when it was cast. The rod can absorb and store up to 50 levels of
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Dungeon Master’s Guide (2014)
Rod of Absorption Rod, very rare (requires attunement) While holding this rod, you can use your reaction to absorb a spell that is targeting only you and not with an area of effect. The absorbed
spell’s effect is canceled, and the spell’s energy—not the spell itself—is stored in the rod. The energy has the same level as the spell when it was cast. The rod can absorb and store up to 50 levels of
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Monster Manual (2014)
Reactions If a monster can do something special with its reaction, that information is contained here. If a creature has no special reaction, this section is absent. GRAPPLE RULES FOR MONSTERS
Many
against the escape DC in the monster’s stat block. If no escape DC is given, assume the DC is 10 + the monster’s Strength (Athletics) modifier.
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Basic Rules (2014)
head. Absorption (Very Rare). While this pale lavender ellipsoid orbits your head, you can use your reaction to cancel a spell of 4th level or lower cast by a creature you can see and targeting only
you. Once the stone has canceled 20 levels of spells, it burns out and turns dull gray, losing its magic. If you are targeted by a spell whose level is higher than the number of spell levels the stone
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Dungeon Master’s Guide (2014)
head. Absorption (Very Rare). While this pale lavender ellipsoid orbits your head, you can use your reaction to cancel a spell of 4th level or lower cast by a creature you can see and targeting only
you. Once the stone has canceled 20 levels of spells, it burns out and turns dull gray, losing its magic. If you are targeted by a spell whose level is higher than the number of spell levels the stone
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->D&D Beyond Basic Rules
can be used a certain number of times (represented by X) and that a monster must finish a Long Rest to regain expended uses. For example, a Reaction that includes “1/Day” means the Reaction can be
1d6. If the roll is within the number range given in the notation (represented by X–Y), the monster regains the use of that part, which also recharges when the monster finishes a Short or Long Rest
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Tomb of Annihilation
against them. Prisoners of the Mirror Cell Prisoner Notes Reaction if Released 1 A’tan (CN male Chultan human commoner) Omuan merchant trapped shortly after the fall of Omu; driven insane by his
properties. The command words are also written in the spellbook found in area 28. Destroying the Mirror If the mirror is destroyed, all creatures trapped within it are released at once. (See chapter 7 of
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->The Wild Beyond the Witchlight
accompanied by a minor reaction in the environment, which you can determine by choosing an entry that you like from the Domain Transformation table or by rolling on the table to determine a random result
Material Plane. Because these effects have no impact on the story, you can forgo using the table if you want. If Zybilna is released from her temporal stasis, the ability of other creatures to alter
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Waterdeep: Dragon Heist
whenever the unit is activated, the Force Grey team needed to complete any given assignment is made up of individuals handpicked by the Blackstaff. If members of Force Grey (and, in some cases, the Gray
are released under the loose supervision of Vajra Safahr (see appendix B). The adventurers receive a helpful uncommon or rare magic item that they’re allowed to use for a time (until it mysteriously
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Phandelver and Below: The Shattered Obelisk
infected eardrum, making the membrane thicker in some places and thinner in others.
The Nematode’s mouth remains closed until the pressure of it brain fluid is released. Once the fluid is released
requires the following steps: Dangerous Reaction. A character who succeeds on a DC 10 Wisdom (Medicine) or Intelligence (Nature) check realizes that destroying the membrane entirely would force the
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Xanathar's Guide to Everything
Soul Cage 6th-level necromancy Casting Time: 1 reaction, which you take when a humanoid you can see within 60 feet of you dies Range: 60 feet Components: V, S, M (a tiny silver cage worth 100 gp
exploit a soul for the sixth time, it is released, and the spell ends. While a soul is trapped, the dead humanoid it came from can’t be revived. Steal Life. You can use a bonus action to drain vigor
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->D&D Beyond Basic Rules
flask before, it has Advantage on the save. Once trapped, a creature remains in the flask until released. The flask can hold only one creature at a time. A creature trapped in the flask doesn’t age
, understanding those commands even if it doesn’t know the language in which the commands are given. If you issue no commands or give the creature a command that is likely to result in its death or imprisonment
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Dungeon Master’s Guide
flask before, it has Advantage on the save. Once trapped, a creature remains in the flask until released. The flask can hold only one creature at a time. A creature trapped in the flask doesn’t age
, understanding those commands even if it doesn’t know the language in which the commands are given. If you issue no commands or give the creature a command that is likely to result in its death or imprisonment