Search Results
All Results
                Characters
                Compendium
                Spells
                Items
                Monsters
                Vehicles
                Forums
                
                        Returning 35 results for 'caster war reaction'.
                    
                
                        
                            
                                Other Suggestions:
                            
                            
                                    
                                        cast war reaction
                                    
                                
                                    
                                        caste war reactions
                                    
                                
                                    
                                        caste war reaction
                                    
                                
                                    
                                        castle war reaction
                                    
                                
                                    
                                        cast war relation
                                    
                                
                        
                    
                
                        
                                                     feats
                                                    Player’s Handbook (2024)
                                                    
                                                
                                            
                                                     leaving your reach, you can take a Reaction to cast a spell at the creature rather than making an Opportunity Attack. The spell must have a casting time of one action and must target only that creature
                                                
                                            
                                        
                                                    War Caster
                                                    
    
        Legacy
    
    
        This doesn't reflect the latest rules and lore.
        Learn More
    
                                                
                                            
                                                     Feats
                                                    Player’s Handbook (2014)
                                                    
                                                
                                            
                                                     provokes an opportunity attack from you, you can use your reaction to cast a spell at the creature, rather than making an opportunity attack. The spell must have a casting time of 1 action and must target only that creature.
                                                
                                            
                                        
                                                     Compendium
                                                    
                                                    
                                                         - Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Player's Handbook (2014)
                                                    
                                                
                                            
                                                    War Caster Prerequisite: The ability to cast at least one spell You have practiced casting spells in the midst of combat, learning techniques that grant you the following benefits: You have advantage
                                                
                                            
                                                
                                                     one or both hands. When a hostile creature’s movement provokes an opportunity attack from you, you can use your reaction to cast a spell at the creature, rather than making an opportunity attack. The spell must have a casting time of 1 action and must target only that creature.
                                                
                                            
                                        
                                                     Compendium
                                                    
                                                    
                                                         - Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Player’s Handbook
                                                    
                                                
                                            
                                                    War Caster General Feat (Prerequisite: Level 4+, Spellcasting or Pact Magic Feature) You gain the following benefits. Ability Score Increase. Increase your Intelligence, Wisdom, or Charisma score by
                                                
                                            
                                                
                                                     by leaving your reach, you can take a Reaction to cast a spell at the creature rather than making an Opportunity Attack. The spell must have a casting time of one action and must target only that
                                                
                                            
                                        
                                                     Magic Items
                                                    Dungeon Master’s Guide
                                                    
                                                
                                            
                                                     you and didn’t create an area of effect, you can take a Reaction to deflect the spell back at the spell’s caster; the caster must make a saving throw against the spell using their own spell save DC.
                                                
                                            
                                        
                                                     Magic Items
                                                    Dungeon Master’s Guide
                                                    
                                                
                                            
                                                     Languages from it using your spell save DC.
Reflect Enchantment. If you succeed on a saving throw against an Enchantment spell that targets only you, you can take a Reaction to expend 1 charge from the
                                                
                                            
                                                
                                                     staff and turn the spell back on its caster as if you had cast the spell.
Resist Enchantment. If you fail a saving throw against an Enchantment spell that targets only you, you can turn your failed save
                                                
                                            
                                        
                                                     Magic Items
                                                    Dungeon Master’s Guide
                                                    
                                                
                                            
                                                    ;Absorption (Very Rare). While this pale lavender ellipsoid orbits your head, you can take a Reaction to cancel a spell of level 4 or lower cast by a creature you can see. A canceled spell has no effect
                                                
                                            
                                                
                                                     Stone of Greater Absorption;Greater Absorption (Legendary). While this marbled lavender and green ellipsoid orbits your head, you can take a Reaction to cancel a spell of level 8 or lower cast by a
                                                
                                            
                                        
                                                    Duergar Kavalrachni
                                                    
    
        Legacy
    
    
        This doesn't reflect the latest rules and lore.
        Learn More
    
                                                
                                            
                                                     Monsters
                                                    Out of the Abyss
                                                    
                                                
                                            
                                                    Cavalry Training. When the duergar hits a target with a melee attack while mounted on a female steeder, the steeder can make a melee attack against the same target as a reaction.
Duergar Resilience
                                                
                                            
                                                
                                                     on attack rolls, as well as on Wisdom (Perception) checks that rely on sight.Multiattack. The duergar makes two war pick attacks.
Enlarge (Recharges after a Short or Long Rest). For 1 minute, the
                                                
                                            
                                        
                                                     Spells
                                                    Forgotten Realms: Heroes of Faerûn
                                                    
                                                
                                            
                                                     of level 7 or lower that targeted only you and didn't create an area of effect, you can take a Reaction to deflect that spell back at the spell's caster; the caster makes a saving throw against that spell using that caster's own spell save DC.
                                                
                                            
                                        
                                                     Monsters
                                                    Mordenkainen Presents: Monsters of the Multiverse
                                                    
                                                
                                            
                                                    Cavalry Training. When the duergar hits a target with a melee attack while mounted, the mount can use its reaction to make one melee attack against the same target.
Duergar Resilience. The duergar
                                                
                                            
                                                
                                                     Wisdom (Perception) checks that rely on sight.Multiattack. The duergar makes two War Pick attacks.
War Pick. Melee Weapon Attack: +4;{"diceNotation":"1d20+4", "rollType":"to hit", "rollAction":"War
                                                
                                            
                                        
                                                     Monsters
                                                    Mordenkainen Presents: Monsters of the Multiverse
                                                    
                                                
                                            
                                                    "} bludgeoning damage, and the target must make a DC 16 Wisdom saving throw. On a failed save, the target must use its reaction, if available, to make one melee attack against a random creature, other than
                                                
                                            
                                                
                                                    ":"Longbow","rollDamageType":"piercing"} piercing damage.When the demon lord Yeenoghu wants to create a particularly fearsome war band leader, he transforms an exceptionally strong and vicious gnoll into
                                                
                                            
                                        
                                                     Monsters
                                                    Eberron: Rising from the Last War
                                                    
                                                
                                            
                                                     up to two allies that he can see within 30 feet of him. If a target can see and hear him, the target can make one weapon attack as a reaction and gains advantage on the attack roll.In the age when
                                                
                                            
                                                
                                                     fiends and dragons waged war across Eberron, rakshasas served the fiendish lords as strategists and generals. A rakshasa named Mordakhesh rose up through the ranks to become one of the greatest
                                                
                                            
                                        
                                                     Monsters
                                                    Eberron: Rising from the Last War
                                                    
                                                
                                            
                                                    ). Each creature within 60 feet of Rak Tulkhesh must succeed on a DC 24 Wisdom saving throw or use its reaction to make a melee weapon attack against a random creature within reach. If no creatures
                                                
                                            
                                                
                                                     roll.Overlords
In the first days of the world, the children of Khyber rose from the darkness to reign over Eberron. The greatest among them were the overlords, who held dominion over a world of fear, war, and
                                                
                                            
                                        
                                                     Monsters
                                                    Icewind Dale: Rime of the Frostmaiden
                                                    
                                                
                                            
                                                     the target is pushed to within 5 feet of a creature friendly to Jarund, that creature can make an attack against the target as a reaction.
Javelin. Melee or Ranged Weapon Attack: +7;{"diceNotation
                                                
                                            
                                                
                                                     his life, and age has made him cautious. He has seen other kings and queens rise and fall, has made war with friends and peace with his enemies, and has led warriors he knew as babes to their deaths
                                                
                                            
                                        
                                                     Monsters
                                                    Mordenkainen Presents: Monsters of the Multiverse
                                                    
                                                
                                            
                                                     is typically the first or second son of a drow matron mother. Elsewhere drow house captains fight in the war against Lolth, often allying with duergar and others who also wish to rid their
                                                
                                            
                                                
                                                     subterranean world of that god’s malevolence.Battle Command. Choose one creature within 30 feet of the drow that the drow can see. If the chosen creature can see or hear the drow, that creature can use its reaction to make one melee attack or to take the Dodge or Hide action.
                                                
                                            
                                        
                                                     Monsters
                                                    Vecna: Eve of Ruin
                                                    
                                                
                                            
                                                    .
Blades of Eberron
In the aftermath of Eberron’s Last War, a warforged called the Lord of Blades rose to fill the power vacuum left in the devastated Mournland. The Lord of Blades&rsquo
                                                
                                            
                                                
                                                     target can make one melee attack using its reaction, if available, and has advantage on the attack roll.
Rally the Troops (1/Day). The lieutenant ends the charmed and frightened conditions on itself and each creature of its choice that it can see within 30 feet of itself.
                                                
                                            
                                        
                                                     Monsters
                                                    Mythic Odysseys of Theros
                                                    
                                                
                                            
                                                    Reactive. The giant can take one reaction on every turn in a combat.
Vigilant. The giant can't be surprised.Multiattack. The giant makes four longsword attacks or two rock attacks.
Longsword. Melee
                                                
                                            
                                                
                                                     archons' monuments and fortresses.
Yet many of the transformed giants refused to be part of the archons' war machine. Seeking to escape their masters, they fled into the wilderness. The furious archons
                                                
                                            
                                        
                                                     Monsters
                                                    Mordenkainen Presents: Monsters of the Multiverse
                                                    
                                                
                                            
                                                     allied demon within 30 feet of the drow uses its reaction to make one attack against a target of the drow’s choice that she can see.
Demon Staff. The drow makes one Demon Staff attack.
Cast a
                                                
                                            
                                                
                                                    ;Mothers of Rebellion
Some matron mothers renounce Lolth and join the war against their former goddess. Such drow could be of any alignment, and they lose the following abilities in the stat block
                                                
                                            
                                        
                                                     Monsters
                                                    The Book of Many Things
                                                    
                                                
                                            
                                                     champions, and train them to fight in a war.
5
Tend a sacred beacon fed by the Outer Planes, sending embers of that beacon to the corners of the world to maintain a divine shroud.
6
Watch the
                                                
                                            
                                                
                                                     until the creature is freed by the Greater Restoration spell or other magic.
A creature can use its reaction, if available, to shut its eyes to avoid the saving throw. If the creature does so, it has the blinded condition until the end of its next turn.
                                                
                                            
                                        
                                                     Magic Items
                                                    Tasha’s Cauldron of Everything
                                                    
                                                
                                            
                                                     hatch also opens it until the start of the caster’s next turn.
A creature can enter or exit through the hatch by spending 10 feet of movement. Those inside the servant have total cover from
                                                
                                            
                                                
                                                     action, you can command the servant to take one of the actions in its stat block or some other action.
When a creature provokes an opportunity attack from the servant, you can use your reaction to command
                                                
                                            
                                        
                                                    Staff of Charming
                                                    
    
        Legacy
    
    
        This doesn't reflect the latest rules and lore.
        Learn More
    
                                                
                                            
                                                     Magic Items
                                                    Basic Rules (2014)
                                                    
                                                
                                            
                                                     property of the staff again until the next dawn. If you succeed on a save against an enchantment spell that targets only you, with or without the staff's intervention, you can use your reaction to
                                                
                                            
                                                
                                                     expend 1 charge from the staff and turn the spell back on its caster as if you had cast the spell.
The staff regains 1d8 + 2 expended charges daily at dawn. If you expend the last charge, roll a d20. On a 1, the staff becomes a nonmagical quarterstaff.
                                                
                                            
                                        
                                                     spells
                                                    Forgotten Realms: Heroes of Faerûn
                                                    
                                                
                                            
                                                    . On a failed save, the spell dissipates with no effect, and the action, Bonus Action, or Reaction used to cast it is wasted. If that spell was cast with a spell slot, the slot isn’t expended
                                                
                                            
                                                
                                                     blue star sapphire worth 25,000+ GP), which the spell consumes. The spell’s range increases to 1 mile, and it no longer requires Concentration. When the spell is cast, each secondary caster must
                                                
                                            
                                        
                                                     Monsters
                                                    Mordenkainen's Fiendish Folio Volume 1
                                                    
                                                
                                            
                                                    Multiattack. The norker war leader makes one greataxe and one bite attack, and also uses Fight On, You Slugs.
Bite. Melee weapon attack: +5;{"diceNotation":"1d20+5","rollType":"to hit","rollAction
                                                
                                            
                                                
                                                    ","rollDamageType":"slashing"} slashing damage.
Fight On, You Slugs. The norker war leader picks up to three allied goblinoids within 60 feet that can see it. The chosen creatures can each use their reactions to
                                                
                                            
                                        
                                                     feats
                                                    
                                                    
                                                
                                            
                                                     saving throw against a spell, you can take a Reaction to roll on the Mythal-Touched Magic table to create a magical effect. If an effect requires a saving throw, the DC equals 8 plus the modifier of
                                                
                                            
                                                
                                                     spell on a failed save or half as much damage on a successful one.
3-7
You and the triggering spell’s caster form a Telepathy;telepathic link for 1 hour.
8-10
Gravity is reversed in a
                                                
                                            
                                        
                                                     of the other requirements described in that option’s text. Until the Circle spell’s casting is complete, you must maintain Concentration on the spell.
If a Reaction would trigger when a
                                                
                                            
                                                
                                                     creature casts a spell—such as the Reaction taken to cast Counterspell— it also triggers when you take this action to initiate a Circle spell.
Circle Casting Options
The following options
                                                
                                            
                                        
                                                     feats
                                                    
                                                    
                                                
                                            
                                                     of the other requirements described in that option’s text. Until the Circle spell’s casting is complete, you must maintain Concentration on the spell.
If a Reaction would trigger when a
                                                
                                            
                                                
                                                     creature casts a spell—such as the Reaction taken to cast Counterspell— it also triggers when you take this action to initiate a Circle spell.
Circle Casting Options
The following options
                                                
                                            
                                        
                                                     feats
                                                    
                                                    
                                                
                                            
                                                     of the other requirements described in that option’s text. Until the Circle spell’s casting is complete, you must maintain Concentration on the spell.
If a Reaction would trigger when a
                                                
                                            
                                                
                                                     creature casts a spell—such as the Reaction taken to cast Counterspell— it also triggers when you take this action to initiate a Circle spell.
Circle Casting Options
The following options
                                                
                                            
                                        
                                                    Ioun Stone
                                                    
    
        Legacy
    
    
        This doesn't reflect the latest rules and lore.
        Learn More
    
                                                
                                            
                                                     Magic Items
                                                    Basic Rules (2014)
                                                    
                                                
                                            
                                                    ). While this pale lavender ellipsoid orbits your head, you can use your reaction to cancel a spell of 4th level or lower cast by a creature you can see and targeting only you.
Once the stone has
                                                
                                            
                                                
                                                     rhomboid orbits your head.
Ioun Stone of Greater Absorption;Greater Absorption (Legendary). While this marbled lavender and green ellipsoid orbits your head, you can use your reaction to cancel a
                                                
                                            
                                        
                                                     Compendium
                                                    
                                                    
                                                         - Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->D&D Beyond Basic Rules
                                                    
                                                
                                            
                                                    , the spell has no effect on you. If that spell targeted only you and didn’t create an area of effect, you can take a Reaction to deflect the spell back at the spell’s caster; the caster must make a saving throw against the spell using their own spell save DC.
                                                
                                            
                                        
                                                     Compendium
                                                    
                                                    
                                                         - Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Dungeon Master’s Guide
                                                    
                                                
                                            
                                                    , the spell has no effect on you. If that spell targeted only you and didn’t create an area of effect, you can take a Reaction to deflect the spell back at the spell’s caster; the caster must make a saving throw against the spell using their own spell save DC.
                                                
                                            
                                        
                                                     Compendium
                                                    
                                                    
                                                         - Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Basic Rules (2014)
                                                    
                                                
                                            
                                                     whether the caster must use an action, a reaction, minutes, or even hours to cast the spell. Casting a spell is, therefore, not necessarily an action. Most spells do have a casting time of 1 action, so a spellcaster often uses his or her action in combat to cast such a spell.
                                                
                                            
                                        
                                                    Adult Deep Dragon
                                                    
    
        Legacy
    
    
        This doesn't reflect the latest rules and lore.
        Learn More
    
                                                
                                            
                                                     monsters
                                                    Fizban's Treasury of Dragons
                                                    
                                                
                                            
                                                     creature within 30 feet of it that it can see. The target must succeed on a DC 16 Wisdom saving throw or use its reaction to make a melee weapon attack against a random creature within reach. If no
                                                
                                            
                                                
                                                     creatures are within reach, or the target can’t take a reaction, it takes 5 (1d10);{"diceNotation":"1d10", "rollType":"damage", "rollAction":"Commanding Spores", "rollDamageType":"psychic"} psychic
                                                
                                            
                                        
                                                    Goblin
                                                    
    
        Legacy
    
    
        This doesn't reflect the latest rules and lore.
        Learn More
    
                                                
                                            
                                                     Species
                                                    Volo's Guide to Monsters
                                                    
                                                
                                            
                                                     they frequently carry nets, caltrops, lassos, and nooses on poles for controlling captured creatures. These goblins cook for the tribe, and in times of war they are also responsible for making poison
                                                
                                            
                                                
                                                    
Painted or stained hands
10
Bugs kept in a bag for snacking
11
War cry tattooed on chest
12
Shields made from ankheg chitin
13
Bracelet made of pieces of goblins turned to
                                                
                                            
                                        
                                                     Compendium
                                                    
                                                    
                                                         - Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Player's Handbook (2014)
                                                    
                                                
                                            
                                                     whether the caster must use an action, a reaction, minutes, or even hours to cast the spell. Casting a spell is, therefore, not necessarily an action. Most spells do have a casting time of 1 action, so a
                                                
                                            
                                        
                                                    Ancient Deep Dragon
                                                    
    
        Legacy
    
    
        This doesn't reflect the latest rules and lore.
        Learn More
    
                                                
                                            
                                                     monsters
                                                    Fizban's Treasury of Dragons
                                                    
                                                
                                            
                                                     around a creature within 30 feet of it that it can see. The target must succeed on a DC 19 Wisdom saving throw or use its reaction to make a melee weapon attack against a random creature within reach. If
                                                
                                            
                                                
                                                     no creatures are within reach, or the target can’t take a reaction, it takes 11 (2d10);{"diceNotation":"2d10", "rollType":"damage", "rollAction":"Commanding Spores", "rollDamageType":"psychic
                                                
                                            
                                        






