Search Results
All Results
                Characters
                Compendium
                Spells
                Items
                Monsters
                Vehicles
                Forums
                
                        Returning 35 results for 'caster wearing reason'.
                    
                
                        
                            
                                Other Suggestions:
                            
                            
                                    
                                        cast wearing reasoned
                                    
                                
                                    
                                        cast wearing reason
                                    
                                
                                    
                                        castle wearing reason
                                    
                                
                                    
                                        cast wearing region
                                    
                                
                                    
                                        chapter wearing reason
                                    
                                
                        
                    
                
                        
                                                     Magic Items
                                                    Dungeon Master’s Guide
                                                    
                                                
                                            
                                                    While wearing this ring, you have Advantage on saving throws against spells. If you succeed on the save for a spell of level 7 or lower, the spell has no effect on you. If that spell targeted only
                                                
                                            
                                                
                                                     you and didn’t create an area of effect, you can take a Reaction to deflect the spell back at the spell’s caster; the caster must make a saving throw against the spell using their own spell save DC.
                                                
                                            
                                        
                                                     Magic Items
                                                    Dungeon Master’s Guide
                                                    
                                                
                                            
                                                    . If the ring can’t hold the spell, the spell is expended without effect. The level of the slot used to cast the spell determines how much space it uses.
While wearing this ring, you can cast any
                                                
                                            
                                                
                                                     spell stored in it. The spell uses the slot level, spell save DC, spell attack bonus, and spellcasting ability of the original caster but is otherwise treated as if you cast the spell. The spell cast from the ring is no longer stored in it, freeing up space.
                                                
                                            
                                        
                                                     Magic Items
                                                    Dungeon Master’s Guide
                                                    
                                                
                                            
                                                     Stones orbiting your head at the same time.
Each Ioun Stone orbiting your head is considered to be an object you are wearing. The orbiting stone avoids contact with other creatures and objects, adjusting
                                                
                                            
                                                
                                                    , spell attack bonus, and spellcasting ability of the original caster but is otherwise treated as if you cast the spell. The spell cast from the stone is no longer stored in it, freeing up space.
Ioun
                                                
                                            
                                        
                                                     Monsters
                                                    Waterdeep: Dragon Heist
                                                    
                                                
                                            
                                                     Rest). Durnan can reroll a saving throw that he fails. He must use the new roll.
Spell Turning. While wearing his ring of spell turning, Durnan has advantage on saving throws against any spell that
                                                
                                            
                                                
                                                     targets only him (not in an area of effect). If Durnan rolls a 20 for the save and the spell is 7th level or lower, the spell has no effect on him and instead targets the caster, using the slot level
                                                
                                            
                                        
                                                     Monsters
                                                    Guildmasters’ Guide to Ravnica
                                                    
                                                
                                            
                                                     magically teleports, along with any equipment it is wearing or carrying, up to 120 feet to an unoccupied space it can see.
Cast a Spell (Costs 3 Actions). The sphinx casts a spell from its list of prepared
                                                
                                            
                                                
                                                     within moves up to 10 years forward or backward (sphinx’s choice). Only the sphinx is immediately aware of the time change. A wish spell can return the caster and up to seven other creatures
                                                
                                            
                                        
                                                     Monsters
                                                    Keys from the Golden Vault
                                                    
                                                
                                            
                                                    ":"Elemental Rebuke", "rollDamageType":"fire"} fire damage to the attacker. Charmayne then teleports, along with any equipment she is wearing or carrying, up to 30 feet to an unoccupied space she can
                                                
                                            
                                                
                                                     has no effect. Whatever the spell’s level, the caster takes 10 (3d6);{"diceNotation":"3d6", "rollType":"damage", "rollAction":"Fiery Counterspell", "rollDamageType":"fire"} fire damage if the
                                                
                                            
                                        
                                                     Monsters
                                                    Planescape: Adventures in the Multiverse
                                                    
                                                
                                            
                                                     caster gains the poisoned condition until the end of its next turn.Shemeshka the arcanaloth is one of Sigil’s most ambitious and notorious crime bosses. From her multiplanar casino, Fortune’s
                                                
                                            
                                                
                                                    , Piercing, and Slashing from Nonmagical AttacksTeleport. Shemeshka teleports, along with any equipment she is wearing or carrying, up to 60 feet to an unoccupied space she can see.
                                                
                                            
                                        
                                                     Monsters
                                                    Vecna: Eve of Ruin
                                                    
                                                
                                            
                                                    ’s level, the caster takes 10 (3d6);{"diceNotation":"3d6", "rollType":"damage", "rollAction":"Dread Counterspell", "rollDamageType":"psychic"} psychic damage if the spell fails.
Fell Rebuke. In
                                                
                                            
                                                
                                                     the attacker, and Vecna teleports, along with any equipment he is wearing or carrying, up to 30 feet to an unoccupied space he can see.On countless worlds, his name evokes tales of terror and cruelty
                                                
                                            
                                        
                                                     Monsters
                                                    Mordenkainen Presents: Monsters of the Multiverse
                                                    
                                                
                                            
                                                    , invisibility (self only), lightning bolt, suggestion, wall of fire
3/day: dispel magic
Teleport. Hutijin magically teleports, along with any equipment he is wearing and carrying, up to 120 feet to an
                                                
                                            
                                                
                                                     figure, known only to the most learned infernal scholars. He has no cults of his own, and his servants are few in number. The reason is simple: Hutijin hates mortals. When summoned from the Hells, he
                                                
                                            
                                        
                                                     Monsters
                                                    Adventure Atlas: The Mortuary
                                                    
                                                
                                            
                                                     is 5th level or higher, Skall makes an Intelligence check (DC 10 + the spell’s level). On a successful check, the spell fails and has no effect. Whatever the spell’s level, the caster
                                                
                                            
                                                
                                                     being hit by an attack, Skall teleports, along with any equipment he is wearing or carrying, up to 30 feet to an unoccupied space he can see.Skall is the current factol of the Heralds of Dust and the
                                                
                                            
                                        
                                                     Monsters
                                                    Eberron: Rising from the Last War
                                                    
                                                
                                            
                                                     much damage on a successful one. A creature reduced to 0 hit points by this beam is disintegrated, leaving behind anything it was wearing or carrying.In the final days of the Last War, House Cannith
                                                
                                            
                                                
                                                     is built to carry wizards, artificers, magewrights, and elite troops. For this reason, these constructs are largely hollow on the inside, with tunnels, ladders, storage areas, and observation decks
                                                
                                            
                                        
                                                     Monsters
                                                    Planescape: Adventures in the Multiverse
                                                    
                                                
                                            
                                                     baernaloth teleports, along with any equipment it is wearing or carrying, up to 120 feet to an unoccupied space it can see.The baernaloth can take up to three reactions per round but only one per turn
                                                
                                            
                                                
                                                     frightened condition, the spell fails and is wasted unless the caster succeeds on a DC 19 saving throw using its spellcasting ability. Once a creature succeeds on the saving throw, it is immune to this
                                                
                                            
                                        
                                                    Ring of Spell Turning
                                                    
    
        Legacy
    
    
        This doesn't reflect the latest rules and lore.
        Learn More
    
                                                
                                            
                                                     Magic Items
                                                    Basic Rules (2014)
                                                    
                                                
                                            
                                                    While wearing this ring, you have advantage on saving throws against any spell that targets only you (not in an area of effect). In addition, if you roll a 20 for the save and the spell is 7th level
                                                
                                            
                                                
                                                     or lower, the spell has no effect on you and instead targets the caster, using the slot level, spell save DC, attack bonus, and spellcasting ability of the caster.
                                                
                                            
                                        
                                                    Gynosphinx
                                                    
    
        Legacy
    
    
        This doesn't reflect the latest rules and lore.
        Learn More
    
                                                
                                            
                                                     Monsters
                                                    Basic Rules (2014)
                                                    
                                                
                                            
                                                     magically teleports, along with any equipment it is wearing or carrying, up to 120 feet to an unoccupied space it can see.
Cast a Spell (Costs 3 Actions). The sphinx casts a spell from its list of prepared
                                                
                                            
                                                
                                                     moves up to 10 years forward or backward (sphinx’s choice). Only the sphinx is immediately aware of the time change. A wish spell can return the caster and up to seven other creatures designated by
                                                
                                            
                                        
                                                     Monsters
                                                    Lost Laboratory of Kwalish
                                                    
                                                
                                            
                                                     sphinx makes one claw attack.
Teleport (Costs 2 Actions). The sphinx magically teleports, along with any equipment it is wearing or carrying, up to 120 feet to an unoccupied space it can see.
Cast a
                                                
                                            
                                                
                                                     spell can return the caster and up to seven other creatures designated by the caster to their normal time.
The sphinx shifts itself and up to seven other creatures it can see within in its lair to
                                                
                                            
                                        
                                                    Quasit (familiar variant)
                                                    
    
        Legacy
    
    
        This doesn't reflect the latest rules and lore.
        Learn More
    
                                                
                                            
                                                     Monsters
                                                    Monster Manual (2014)
                                                    
                                                
                                            
                                                     into its true form. Its statistics are the same in each form, except for the speed changes noted. Any equipment it is wearing or carrying isn't transformed. It reverts to its true form if it dies
                                                
                                            
                                                
                                                     shares the quasit’s Magic Resistance trait. At any time and for any reason, the quasit can end its service as a familiar, ending the telepathic bond.Claws (Bite in Beast Form). Melee Weapon Attack
                                                
                                            
                                        
                                                    Androsphinx
                                                    
    
        Legacy
    
    
        This doesn't reflect the latest rules and lore.
        Learn More
    
                                                
                                            
                                                     Monsters
                                                    Basic Rules (2014)
                                                    
                                                
                                            
                                                     start of its turn.
Claw Attack. The sphinx makes one claw attack.
Teleport (Costs 2 Actions). The sphinx magically teleports, along with any equipment it is wearing or carrying, up to 120 feet to
                                                
                                            
                                                
                                                     immediately aware of the time change. A wish spell can return the caster and up to seven other creatures designated by the caster to their normal time.
The sphinx shifts itself and up to seven other
                                                
                                            
                                        
                                                     Monsters
                                                    Mordenkainen's Fiendish Folio Volume 1
                                                    
                                                
                                            
                                                    ., one target. Hit: 3 (1d4 + 1);{"diceNotation":"1d4+1","rollType":"damage","rollAction":"Bite","rollDamageType":"piercing"} piercing damage, and if the target is wearing metal armor or carrying a
                                                
                                            
                                                
                                                     metal with ease, organic matter and gems are repugnant to them. If a khargra eats such morsels for whatever reason, they remain lodged in its gullet for a few days of indigestion before the offending
                                                
                                            
                                        
                                                     Compendium
                                                    
                                                    
                                                         - Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Dungeon Master’s Guide (2014)
                                                    
                                                
                                            
                                                    Ring of Spell Turning Ring, legendary (requires attunement) While wearing this ring, you have advantage on saving throws against any spell that targets only you (not in an area of effect). In
                                                
                                            
                                                
                                                     addition, if you roll a 20 for the save and the spell is 7th level or lower, the spell has no effect on you and instead targets the caster, using the slot level, spell save DC, attack bonus, and spellcasting ability of the caster.
                                                
                                            
                                        
                                                    Eye and Hand of Vecna
                                                    
    
        Legacy
    
    
        This doesn't reflect the latest rules and lore.
        Learn More
    
                                                
                                            
                                                     Magic Items
                                                    Dungeon Master’s Guide (2014)
                                                    
                                                
                                            
                                                    ’s lieutenant Kas coveted the Spider Throne for himself, or that the sword his lord made for him seduced him into rebellion. Whatever the reason, Kas brought the Undying King’s rule to an
                                                
                                            
                                                
                                                    , and you gain the following benefits:
You have truesight.
You can use an action to see as if you were wearing a ring of X-ray vision. You can end this effect as a bonus action.
The eye has 8
                                                
                                            
                                        
                                                     Compendium
                                                    
                                                    
                                                         - Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->D&D Beyond Basic Rules
                                                    
                                                
                                            
                                                    Ring of Spell Turning Ring, Legendary (Requires Attunement) While wearing this ring, you have Advantage on saving throws against spells. If you succeed on the save for a spell of level 7 or lower
                                                
                                            
                                                
                                                    , the spell has no effect on you. If that spell targeted only you and didn’t create an area of effect, you can take a Reaction to deflect the spell back at the spell’s caster; the caster must make a saving throw against the spell using their own spell save DC.
                                                
                                            
                                        
                                                     Compendium
                                                    
                                                    
                                                         - Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Basic Rules (2014)
                                                    
                                                
                                            
                                                    Ring of Spell Turning Ring, legendary (requires attunement) While wearing this ring, you have advantage on saving throws against any spell that targets only you (not in an area of effect). In
                                                
                                            
                                                
                                                     addition, if you roll a 20 for the save and the spell is 7th level or lower, the spell has no effect on you and instead targets the caster, using the slot level, spell save DC, attack bonus, and spellcasting ability of the caster.
                                                
                                            
                                        
                                                     Compendium
                                                    
                                                    
                                                         - Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Dungeon Master’s Guide
                                                    
                                                
                                            
                                                    Ring of Spell Turning Ring, Legendary (Requires Attunement) While wearing this ring, you have Advantage on saving throws against spells. If you succeed on the save for a spell of level 7 or lower
                                                
                                            
                                                
                                                    , the spell has no effect on you. If that spell targeted only you and didn’t create an area of effect, you can take a Reaction to deflect the spell back at the spell’s caster; the caster must make a saving throw against the spell using their own spell save DC.
                                                
                                            
                                        
                                                     Compendium
                                                    
                                                    
                                                         - Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Dungeon Master’s Guide (2014)
                                                    
                                                
                                            
                                                     uses. While wearing this ring, you can cast any spell stored in it. The spell uses the slot level, spell save DC, spell attack bonus, and spellcasting ability of the original caster, but is otherwise
                                                
                                            
                                        
                                                     Compendium
                                                    
                                                    
                                                         - Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->D&D Beyond Basic Rules
                                                    
                                                
                                            
                                                    . While wearing this ring, you can cast any spell stored in it. The spell uses the slot level, spell save DC, spell attack bonus, and spellcasting ability of the original caster but is otherwise treated as if you cast the spell. The spell cast from the ring is no longer stored in it, freeing up space.
                                                
                                            
                                        
                                                     Compendium
                                                    
                                                    
                                                         - Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Basic Rules (2014)
                                                    
                                                
                                            
                                                     uses. While wearing this ring, you can cast any spell stored in it. The spell uses the slot level, spell save DC, spell attack bonus, and spellcasting ability of the original caster, but is otherwise
                                                
                                            
                                        
                                                     Compendium
                                                    
                                                    
                                                         - Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Dungeon Master’s Guide
                                                    
                                                
                                            
                                                    . While wearing this ring, you can cast any spell stored in it. The spell uses the slot level, spell save DC, spell attack bonus, and spellcasting ability of the original caster but is otherwise treated as if you cast the spell. The spell cast from the ring is no longer stored in it, freeing up space.
                                                
                                            
                                        
                                                     Compendium
                                                    
                                                    
                                                         - Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Basic Rules (2014)
                                                    
                                                
                                            
                                                    Wearing and Wielding Items Using a magic item's properties might mean wearing or wielding it. A magic item meant to be worn must be donned in the intended fashion: boots go on the feet, gloves on the
                                                
                                            
                                                
                                                     exceptions exist. If the story suggests a good reason for an item to fit only creatures of a certain size or shape, you can rule that it doesn't adjust. For example, drow-made armor might fit elves only
                                                
                                            
                                        
                                                     Compendium
                                                    
                                                    
                                                         - Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Mythic Odysseys of Theros
                                                    
                                                
                                            
                                                    . There’s no rhyme or reason to what the Gray Merchants seek, and the merchants themselves never speak. They conduct business through gestures, making their unusual trades and plodding off into the shadows
                                                
                                            
                                                
                                                    . Kakomanteis Returned kakomanteis employ powerful magic at a price paid in blood. Some theorize that in life each kakomantis was a spell caster, and the trip along the Path of Phenax corrupted their
                                                
                                            
                                        
                                                     Compendium
                                                    
                                                    
                                                         - Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Waterdeep: Dragon Heist
                                                    
                                                
                                            
                                                     (Recharges after a Long Rest). Durnan can reroll a saving throw that he fails. He must use the new roll.
 Spell Turning. While wearing his ring of spell turning, Durnan has advantage on saving throws
                                                
                                            
                                                
                                                     against any spell that targets only him (not in an area of effect). If Durnan rolls a 20 for the save and the spell is 7th level or lower, the spell has no effect on him and instead targets the caster
                                                
                                            
                                        
                                                     Compendium
                                                    
                                                    
                                                         - Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Dungeon Master’s Guide (2014)
                                                    
                                                
                                            
                                                    Wearing and Wielding Items Using a magic item’s properties might mean wearing or wielding it. A magic item meant to be worn must be donned in the intended fashion: boots go on the feet, gloves on the
                                                
                                            
                                                
                                                     exceptions exist. If the story suggests a good reason for an item to fit only creatures of a certain size or shape, you can rule that it doesn’t adjust. For example, armor made by the drow might fit
                                                
                                            
                                        
                                                     Compendium
                                                    
                                                    
                                                         - Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Rise of Tiamat
                                                    
                                                
                                            
                                                     not receive the garlands, or if they took them off for any reason while within a quarter mile of Chuth’s lair, the dragon’s many animal spies alert him to the party’s approach. He waits at the mouth of
                                                
                                            
                                                
                                                     Breath, attacking with surprise if no one in the party noticed him. Characters not wearing the garlands are also exposed to the dragon’s Frightful Presence. Characters who fail their saving throws
                                                
                                            
                                        
                                                     Compendium
                                                    
                                                    
                                                         - Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Player's Handbook (2014)
                                                    
                                                
                                            
                                                    Spell Slots Regardless of how many spells a caster knows or prepares, he or she can cast only a limited number of spells before resting. Manipulating the fabric of magic and channeling its energy
                                                
                                            
                                                
                                                     precise gestures required for spellcasting, you must be proficient with the armor you are wearing to cast a spell. You are otherwise too distracted and physically hampered by your armor for spellcasting.
                                                
                                            
                                        
                                                     Compendium
                                                    
                                                    
                                                         - Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Candlekeep Mysteries
                                                    
                                                
                                            
                                                    Beginning the Adventure The adventure begins when the ghost of a young woman named Sarah appears before the characters as they peruse the stacks of Candlekeep. The reason that Sarah’s ghost is able
                                                
                                            
                                                
                                                     translucent spirit wearing a servant’s uniform and bearing the symbol of a tree outlined by a rising sun at her shoulder.
 The figure weeps aloud, tears running down her cheeks. She opens her mouth as if
                                                
                                            
                                        
                                                     Compendium
                                                    
                                                    
                                                         - Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Tyranny of Dragons
                                                    
                                                
                                            
                                                     not receive the garlands, or if they took them off for any reason while within a quarter mile of Chuth’s lair, the dragon’s many animal spies alert him to the party’s approach. He waits at the mouth of
                                                
                                            
                                                
                                                     Breath, attacking with surprise if no one in the party noticed him. Characters not wearing the garlands are also exposed to the dragon’s Frightful Presence. Characters who fail their saving throws
                                                
                                            
                                        






