Search Results
All Results
                Characters
                Compendium
                Spells
                Items
                Monsters
                Vehicles
                Forums
                
                        Returning 35 results for 'cause wasted receive'.
                    
                
                        
                            
                                Other Suggestions:
                            
                            
                                    
                                        cause water receive
                                    
                                
                                    
                                        cause water receives
                                    
                                
                                    
                                        cause warded receive
                                    
                                
                                    
                                        cause water revive
                                    
                                
                                    
                                        caste water receive
                                    
                                
                        
                    
                
                        
                                                     Monsters
                                                    Mythic Odysseys of Theros
                                                    
                                                
                                            
                                                    ","rollDamageType":"force"} force damage.Divine Insight (3/Day). When the oracle or a creature it can see makes an attack roll, a saving throw, or an ability check, the oracle can cause the roll to be made with
                                                
                                            
                                                
                                                     often find dramatic ways to make their thoughts known.
Interpreters of Signs. Oracles possess unparalleled experience in divining godly whims from cryptic visions and mundane forces. Those who receive
                                                
                                            
                                        
                                                     Magic Items
                                                    Icewind Dale: Rime of the Frostmaiden
                                                    
                                                
                                            
                                                    By using an action to read the scroll, you cause a comet to fall from the sky and crash to the ground at a point you can see up to 1 mile away from you. You must be outdoors when you use the scroll
                                                
                                            
                                                
                                                    , or nothing happens and the scroll is wasted.
The comet creates a 50-foot-deep, 500-foot-radius crater on impact. Any creature in that radius must make a DC 20 Dexterity saving throw, taking 30d10
                                                
                                            
                                        
                                                     Monsters
                                                    Eberron: Rising from the Last War
                                                    
                                                
                                            
                                                     fails and is wasted. The corrupted creature can repeat the saving throw at the end of each of its turns, ending the effect on itself on a success.
Extract Brain. Melee Weapon Attack: +15
                                                
                                            
                                                
                                                     within the Palace of Sinew, Dyrrn can invoke the ambient magic to take lair actions. On initiative count 20 (losing initiative ties), Dyrrn can take a lair action to cause one of the following effects; it
                                                
                                            
                                        
                                                     Monsters
                                                    Tyranny of Dragons
                                                    
                                                
                                            
                                                     encountered in its lair has a challenge rating of 16 (15,000 XP).
Lair Actions
On initiative count 20 (losing initiative ties), the mummy lord takes a lair action to cause one of the following effects
                                                
                                            
                                                
                                                    , it must make a DC 16 Constitution saving throw. On a failed save, it takes 1d6 necrotic damage per level of the spell, and the spell has no effect and is wasted.
Regional Effects
A mummy lord
                                                
                                            
                                        
                                                     Monsters
                                                    Candlekeep Mysteries
                                                    
                                                
                                            
                                                     Sarnaster’s Lair
Valin can use her lair actions in any area of the tomb.
Lair Actions
On initiative count 20 (losing initiative ties), Valin takes a lair action to cause one of the following
                                                
                                            
                                                
                                                     the spell, and the spell has no effect and is wasted.
Regional Effects
Valin’s tomb is warped in any of the following ways by the creature’s dark presence:
Food instantly molders
                                                
                                            
                                        
                                                     Monsters
                                                    Quests from the Infinite Staircase
                                                    
                                                
                                            
                                                    Dimensionally Bound. Nafas can’t leave the Infinite Staircase or be trapped within a container (such as an Iron Flask). Attempts to transport Nafas to another plane are wasted.
Last Wish. When
                                                
                                            
                                                
                                                     this role, Nafas sends adventurers to distant worlds to fulfill the wishes of creatures beyond his reach. Adventurers who return to Nafas successful receive gifts as rewards. As a noble genie, Nafas
                                                
                                            
                                        
                                                     Monsters
                                                    Waterdeep: Dungeon of the Mad Mage
                                                    
                                                
                                            
                                                     takes a lair action to cause one of the following effects; the mummy lord can’t use the same effect two rounds in a row.
Each undead creature in the lair can pinpoint the location of each
                                                
                                            
                                                
                                                     Action","rollDamageType":"necrotic"} necrotic damage per level of the spell, and the spell has no effect and is wasted.
Regional Effects
A mummy lord’s temple or tomb is warped in any of the
                                                
                                            
                                        
                                                     Monsters
                                                    Planescape: Adventures in the Multiverse
                                                    
                                                
                                            
                                                     wounded foes alive, sometimes indefinitely, to prolong their suffering. Even striking against a baernaloth brings misery—they can cause an attacker’s old wounds to painfully reopen. All the
                                                
                                            
                                                
                                                     frightened condition, the spell fails and is wasted unless the caster succeeds on a DC 19 saving throw using its spellcasting ability. Once a creature succeeds on the saving throw, it is immune to this
                                                
                                            
                                        
                                                    Dominate Monster
                                                    
    
        Legacy
    
    
        This doesn't reflect the latest rules and lore.
        Learn More
    
                                                
                                            
                                                     Spells
                                                    Basic Rules (2014)
                                                    
                                                
                                            
                                                     creature," "Run over there," or "Fetch that object." If the creature completes the order and doesn't receive further direction from you, it defends and preserves itself to the best of its ability.
You
                                                
                                            
                                                
                                                     do. During this time, you can also cause the creature to use a reaction, but this requires you to use your own reaction as well.
Each time the target takes damage, it makes a new Wisdom saving throw
                                                
                                            
                                        
                                                    Dominate Beast
                                                    
    
        Legacy
    
    
        This doesn't reflect the latest rules and lore.
        Learn More
    
                                                
                                            
                                                     Spells
                                                    Basic Rules (2014)
                                                    
                                                
                                            
                                                    ," "Run over there," or "Fetch that object." If the creature completes the order and doesn't receive further direction from you, it defends and preserves itself to the best of its ability.
You can use
                                                
                                            
                                                
                                                    . During this time, you can also cause the creature to use a reaction, but this requires you to use your own reaction as well.
Each time the target takes damage, it makes a new Wisdom saving throw against
                                                
                                            
                                        
                                                    Dominate Person
                                                    
    
        Legacy
    
    
        This doesn't reflect the latest rules and lore.
        Learn More
    
                                                
                                            
                                                     Spells
                                                    Basic Rules (2014)
                                                    
                                                
                                            
                                                     creature," "Run over there," or "Fetch that object." If the creature completes the order and doesn't receive further direction from you, it defends and preserves itself to the best of its ability.
You can
                                                
                                            
                                                
                                                    . During this time you can also cause the creature to use a reaction, but this requires you to use your own reaction as well.
Each time the target takes damage, it makes a new Wisdom saving throw
                                                
                                            
                                        
                                                    Mummy Lord
                                                    
    
        Legacy
    
    
        This doesn't reflect the latest rules and lore.
        Learn More
    
                                                
                                            
                                                     Monsters
                                                    Basic Rules (2014)
                                                    
                                                
                                            
                                                    
On initiative count 20 (losing initiative ties), the mummy lord takes a lair action to cause one of the following effects; the mummy lord can’t use the same effect two rounds in a row.
Each
                                                
                                            
                                                
                                                     (1d6);{"diceNotation":"1d6","rollType":"damage","rollAction":"Wracked with Pain","rollDamageType":"necrotic"} necrotic damage per level of the spell, and the spell has no effect and is wasted
                                                
                                            
                                        
                                                    Deck of Many Things
                                                    
    
        Legacy
    
    
        This doesn't reflect the latest rules and lore.
        Learn More
    
                                                
                                            
                                                     Magic Items
                                                    Basic Rules (2014)
                                                    
                                                
                                            
                                                    , discard this card, and draw from the deck again, counting both draws as one of your declared draws. If losing that much XP would cause you to lose a level, you instead lose an amount that leaves you
                                                
                                            
                                                
                                                     mentally receive a truthful answer to that question. Besides information, the answer helps you solve a puzzling problem or other dilemma. In other words, the knowledge comes with wisdom on how to
                                                
                                            
                                        
                                                     Backgrounds
                                                    Guildmasters’ Guide to Ravnica
                                                    
                                                
                                            
                                                    , inspired by the example of the angels, moved by the plight of the downtrodden, and devoted to the cause of justice. Or you could be a cynic in the ranks, perhaps because you reluctantly followed in the
                                                
                                            
                                                
                                                     and receive the attention of medics. You are also paid a salary of 1 gp (a Boros-minted 1-zino coin) per week, which (combined with free lodging in your garrison) enables you to maintain a poor
                                                
                                            
                                        
                                                     Compendium
                                                    
                                                    
                                                         - Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Journeys through the Radiant Citadel
                                                    
                                                
                                            
                                                    Conclusion If the characters save Pangil ng Buwan, the bakunawa accompanies them back to Kalapang. Pangil ng Buwan apologizes to the townsfolk, explains the cause of the attack, and promises to aid
                                                
                                            
                                                
                                                     characters leave them with its body, a week later the characters receive a parcel from Paolo with 150 gp and a bakunawa tooth for each character—their cut for assisting the dragon hunters or not standing in their way.
                                                
                                            
                                        
                                                     Compendium
                                                    
                                                    
                                                         - Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Xanathar's Guide to Everything
                                                    
                                                
                                            
                                                    , divine spellcasting ability, and a few hundred common folk recently converted to the temple’s cause. Plans. Cheldar is stern but fundamentally a good person. He tries to win support by providing
                                                
                                            
                                                
                                                    . Action Cheldar, along with a small group of followers, appears in a tavern frequented by adventurers and seeks converts. A few NPC adventurers join his cause. Action In a public address in the town
                                                
                                            
                                        
                                                     Compendium
                                                    
                                                    
                                                         - Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Volo's Guide to Monsters
                                                    
                                                
                                            
                                                    , nonliving material they grasp or caress with their tentacles. The imprinting causes imperceptible surface changes to the object, and abrasion or degradation of the material can cause the inscription to
                                                
                                            
                                                
                                                     Qualith inscription, however, can receive fragmentary insight into the multilayered thoughts contained within it. A non-illithid that wants to understand a Qualith inscription can make an Intelligence
                                                
                                            
                                        
                                                     Compendium
                                                    
                                                    
                                                         - Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Basic Rules (2014)
                                                    
                                                
                                            
                                                     they do receive the call, these warriors turn from their former occupations and take up arms to fight evil. Sometimes their oaths lead them into the service of the crown as leaders of elite groups of
                                                
                                            
                                                
                                                     knights, but even then their loyalty is first to the cause of righteousness, not to crown and country. Adventuring paladins take their work seriously. A delve into an ancient ruin or dusty crypt can be
                                                
                                            
                                        
                                                     Compendium
                                                    
                                                    
                                                         - Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Xanathar's Guide to Everything
                                                    
                                                
                                            
                                                     less magically gifted contemporaries. Sorcerers are often defined by the events surrounding the manifestation of their power. For those who receive it as an expected birthright, its appearance is a
                                                
                                            
                                                
                                                     cause for celebration. Other sorcerers are treated as outcasts, banished from their homes after the sudden, terrifying arrival of their abilities. Playing a sorcerer character can be as rewarding as it
                                                
                                            
                                        
                                                     Compendium
                                                    
                                                    
                                                         - Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Player's Handbook (2014)
                                                    
                                                
                                            
                                                     they do receive the call, these warriors turn from their former occupations and take up arms to fight evil. Sometimes their oaths lead them into the service of the crown as leaders of elite groups of
                                                
                                            
                                                
                                                     knights, but even then their loyalty is first to the cause of righteousness, not to crown and country. Adventuring paladins take their work seriously. A delve into an ancient ruin or dusty crypt can be
                                                
                                            
                                        
                                                     Compendium
                                                    
                                                    
                                                         - Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Basic Rules (2014)
                                                    
                                                
                                            
                                                     completes the order and doesn’t receive further direction from you, it defends and preserves itself to the best of its ability. You can use your action to take total and precise control of the target
                                                
                                            
                                                
                                                    . Until the end of your next turn, the creature takes only the actions you choose, and doesn’t do anything that you don’t allow it to do. During this time you can also cause the creature to use a reaction
                                                
                                            
                                        
                                                     Compendium
                                                    
                                                    
                                                         - Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Player's Handbook (2014)
                                                    
                                                
                                            
                                                     completes the order and doesn’t receive further direction from you, it defends and preserves itself to the best of its ability. You can use your action to take total and precise control of the target
                                                
                                            
                                                
                                                    . Until the end of your next turn, the creature takes only the actions you choose, and doesn’t do anything that you don’t allow it to do. During this time, you can also cause the creature to use a reaction
                                                
                                            
                                        
                                                     Compendium
                                                    
                                                    
                                                         - Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Eberron: Rising from the Last War
                                                    
                                                
                                            
                                                     strengthen Thrane resolve. The common people are united by their faith and sure of the righteousness of their cause. The Silver Flame urges people to stand together in the face of evil, and across the nation
                                                
                                            
                                                
                                                     Karrns as agents of darkness. Likewise, Thranes have bitter memories of the conflict with Aundair, and Aundairian wizards or eldritch knights receive a cold reception. For most Thranes, the war
                                                
                                            
                                        
                                                     Compendium
                                                    
                                                    
                                                         - Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Basic Rules (2014)
                                                    
                                                
                                            
                                                     the order and doesn’t receive further direction from you, it defends and preserves itself to the best of its ability. You can use your action to take total and precise control of the target. Until the
                                                
                                            
                                                
                                                     end of your next turn, the creature takes only the actions you choose, and doesn’t do anything that you don’t allow it to do. During this time, you can also cause the creature to use a reaction, but
                                                
                                            
                                        
                                                     Compendium
                                                    
                                                    
                                                         - Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Basic Rules (2014)
                                                    
                                                
                                            
                                                     completes the order and doesn’t receive further direction from you, it defends and preserves itself to the best of its ability. You can use your action to take total and precise control of the target
                                                
                                            
                                                
                                                    . Until the end of your next turn, the creature takes only the actions you choose, and doesn’t do anything that you don’t allow it to do. During this time, you can also cause the creature to use a reaction
                                                
                                            
                                        
                                                     Compendium
                                                    
                                                    
                                                         - Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Player's Handbook (2014)
                                                    
                                                
                                            
                                                     the order and doesn’t receive further direction from you, it defends and preserves itself to the best of its ability. You can use your action to take total and precise control of the target. Until the
                                                
                                            
                                                
                                                     end of your next turn, the creature takes only the actions you choose, and doesn’t do anything that you don’t allow it to do. During this time, you can also cause the creature to use a reaction, but
                                                
                                            
                                        
                                                     Compendium
                                                    
                                                    
                                                         - Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Player's Handbook (2014)
                                                    
                                                
                                            
                                                     completes the order and doesn’t receive further direction from you, it defends and preserves itself to the best of its ability. You can use your action to take total and precise control of the target
                                                
                                            
                                                
                                                    . Until the end of your next turn, the creature takes only the actions you choose, and doesn’t do anything that you don’t allow it to do. During this time you can also cause the creature to use a reaction
                                                
                                            
                                        
                                                     Compendium
                                                    
                                                    
                                                         - Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Waterdeep: Dragon Heist
                                                    
                                                
                                            
                                                     oppose Manshoon want to expose and destroy him before they are themselves apprehended or driven out of the city by the local authorities. Adventurers can’t join Manshoon’s cause, but they can join and
                                                
                                            
                                                
                                                     receive aid from the Zhents who are opposed to him. The leaders of this branch of the Black Network are retired adventurers who have become business entrepreneurs. Their adventuring party was called
                                                
                                            
                                        
                                                     Compendium
                                                    
                                                    
                                                         - Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Dungeon Master’s Guide
                                                    
                                                
                                            
                                                     from a space in that area. Any attempt to do so is wasted. Disciple of the Nine Hells. When the creature dies, its body disgorges a Hostile Imp in the same space. Disintegration. When the creature dies
                                                
                                            
                                                
                                                     suppress this light or cause it to return. The light winks out if the creature dies. Mimicry. The creature can mimic Beast sounds and Humanoid voices. A creature that hears the sounds can tell they are
                                                
                                            
                                        
                                                     Compendium
                                                    
                                                    
                                                         - Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Mythic Odysseys of Theros
                                                    
                                                
                                            
                                                     known. Interpreters of Signs. Oracles possess unparalleled experience in divining godly whims from cryptic visions and mundane forces. Those who receive divine omens (such as those presented in
                                                
                                            
                                                
                                                     it can see makes an attack roll, a saving throw, or an ability check, the oracle can cause the roll to be made with advantage or disadvantage.
 (VINCENT PROCE)
                                                
                                            
                                        
                                                     Compendium
                                                    
                                                    
                                                         - Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Hoard of the Dragon Queen
                                                    
                                                
                                            
                                                    . Cultists and initiates are the most tight-lipped. A successful DC 10 Charisma (Intimidation) or DC 12 Charisma (Persuasion) check is needed to cause cultists to reveal that they are members of the Cult of
                                                
                                            
                                                
                                                     bringing the information to the governor doesn’t count. The characters also receive standard XP for any monsters they defeat along the way.
                                                
                                            
                                        
                                                     Compendium
                                                    
                                                    
                                                         - Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Tyranny of Dragons
                                                    
                                                
                                            
                                                     and initiates are the most tight-lipped. A successful DC 10 Charisma (Intimidation) or DC 12 Charisma (Persuasion) check is needed to cause cultists to reveal that they are members of the Cult of the
                                                
                                            
                                                
                                                     the information to the governor doesn’t count. The characters also receive standard XP for any monsters they defeat along the way.
                                                
                                            
                                        
                                                     Compendium
                                                    
                                                    
                                                         - Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Planescape: Adventures in the Multiverse->Sigil and the Outlands
                                                    
                                                
                                            
                                                     gaze inward, ensuring no one escapes. Curst receives traitors and felonious folk with open arms, but to leave the gate-town, residents must receive approval from the burgomaster, a capricious shator
                                                
                                            
                                                
                                                    . Beneath their placid veneer, however, some prisoners seek to cause ruin and strife, such as the conniving burgomaster, who shelters secrets of his own. Others just want to be left alone. CoupleOfKooks
                                                
                                            
                                        
                                                     Compendium
                                                    
                                                    
                                                         - Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Tomb of Annihilation
                                                    
                                                
                                            
                                                     Kubazan receive advice when entering this area: Fickle I’jin urges her host to pull the lever. What harm could it do? Fearless Kubazan insists that his host jump to the platforms, even if others are better
                                                
                                            
                                                
                                                     addition, the winds cause creatures in the room to suffer disadvantage on all Strength-based skill checks, including checks made to jump to and from the floating platforms and checks made to climb the
                                                
                                            
                                        
                                                     Compendium
                                                    
                                                    
                                                         - Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Baldur's Gate: Descent into Avernus
                                                    
                                                
                                            
                                                     can help them unlock the infernal puzzle box and the mysteries of the Shield of the Hidden Lord. After making sure the characters receive their promised reward, Liara thanks them for doing their part
                                                
                                            
                                                
                                                    , Dwarvish
 Challenge 4 (1,100 XP)
 Brave. Liara has advantage on saving throws against being frightened.
 Flaming Fury. Once per turn, when Liara hits a creature with a melee weapon, she can cause fire
                                                
                                            
                                        





