Search Results
All Results
                Characters
                Compendium
                Spells
                Items
                Monsters
                Vehicles
                Forums
                
                        Returning 35 results for 'certain which reaction'.
                    
                
                                                     Magic Items
                                                    Dungeon Master’s Guide
                                                    
                                                
                                            
                                                    ) or a 10-foot pole, or reverting it a Quarterstaff; the weapon will elongate only as far as the surrounding space allows.
In certain forms, the weapon has the following additional properties
                                                
                                            
                                                
                                                     an attack while holding the weapon, you can take a Reaction to twirl the weapon around you, gaining a +5 bonus to your Armor Class against the triggering attack, potentially causing the attack to miss
                                                
                                            
                                        
                                                     Magic Items
                                                    Fizban's Treasury of Dragons
                                                    
                                                
                                            
                                                     you makes a saving throw, you can use your reaction to give that creature advantage on the saving throw.
Dragon-Touched Focus (Wakened);Wakened (Very Rare). The Wakened focus has the Slumbering and
                                                
                                            
                                                
                                                     Stirring properties, and while you are holding a Wakened focus, you can use it to cast certain spells. Once the item is used to cast a given spell, it can’t be used to cast that spell again
                                                
                                            
                                        
                                                     Monsters
                                                    Eberron: Rising from the Last War
                                                    
                                                
                                            
                                                     succeed on a DC 22 Wisdom saving throw or take 22 (4d10);{"diceNotation":"4d10","rollType":"damage","rollAction":"Implant Fear","rollDamageType":"psychic"} psychic damage and immediately use its reaction
                                                
                                            
                                                
                                                    
“I perceive certain types of people — vocations or entire societies — as hideous monsters.”
3
“Someone is watching everything I do.”
4
“When I
                                                
                                            
                                        
                                                     Compendium
                                                    
                                                    
                                                         - Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Tasha’s Cauldron of Everything
                                                    
                                                
                                            
                                                    4. Reaction Timing Certain game features let you take a special action, called a reaction, in response to an event. Making opportunity attacks and casting the shield spell are two typical uses of
                                                
                                            
                                                
                                                     reactions. If you’re unsure when a reaction occurs in relation to its trigger, here’s the rule: the reaction happens after its trigger, unless the description of the reaction explicitly says otherwise. Once you take a reaction, you can’t take another one until the start of your next turn.
                                                
                                            
                                        
                                                     Compendium
                                                    
                                                    
                                                         - Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->D&D Beyond Basic Rules
                                                    
                                                
                                            
                                                    Reactions Certain special abilities, spells, and situations allow you to take a special action called a Reaction. A Reaction is an instant response to a trigger of some kind, which can occur on your
                                                
                                            
                                                
                                                     turn or on someone else’s. The Opportunity Attack, described later in this chapter, is the most common type of Reaction. When you take a Reaction, you can’t take another one until the start of your
                                                
                                            
                                        
                                                     Compendium
                                                    
                                                    
                                                         - Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Player’s Handbook
                                                    
                                                
                                            
                                                    Reactions Certain special abilities, spells, and situations allow you to take a special action called a Reaction. A Reaction is an instant response to a trigger of some kind, which can occur on your
                                                
                                            
                                                
                                                     turn or on someone else’s. The Opportunity Attack, described later in this chapter, is the most common type of Reaction. When you take a Reaction, you can’t take another one until the start of your
                                                
                                            
                                        
                                                     Compendium
                                                    
                                                    
                                                         - Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Player’s Handbook
                                                    
                                                
                                            
                                                    Casting Time Most spells require the Magic action to cast, but some spells require a Bonus Action, a Reaction, or 1 minute or more. A spell’s Casting Time entry specifies which of those is required
                                                
                                            
                                                
                                                     another one using a Bonus Action on the same turn. Reaction and Bonus Action Triggers A spell that has a casting time of a Reaction is cast in response to a trigger that is defined in the spell’s
                                                
                                            
                                        
                                                     Compendium
                                                    
                                                    
                                                         - Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->D&D Beyond Basic Rules
                                                    
                                                
                                            
                                                    Casting Time Most spells require the Magic action to cast, but some spells require a Bonus Action, a Reaction, or 1 minute or more. A spell’s Casting Time entry specifies which of those is required
                                                
                                            
                                                
                                                     another one using a Bonus Action on the same turn. Reaction and Bonus Action Triggers A spell that has a casting time of a Reaction is cast in response to a trigger that is defined in the spell’s
                                                
                                            
                                        
                                                     Compendium
                                                    
                                                    
                                                         - Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Basic Rules (2014)
                                                    
                                                
                                            
                                                     cast as a reaction, the spell description tells you exactly when you can do so. Longer Casting Times Certain spells (including spells cast as rituals) require more time to cast: minutes or even hours
                                                
                                            
                                                
                                                    Casting Time Most spells require a single action to cast, but some spells require a bonus action, a reaction, or much more time to cast. Bonus Action A spell cast with a bonus action is especially
                                                
                                            
                                        
                                                     Compendium
                                                    
                                                    
                                                         - Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->D&D Beyond Basic Rules
                                                    
                                                
                                            
                                                     can be used a certain number of times (represented by X) and that a monster must finish a Long Rest to regain expended uses. For example, a Reaction that includes “1/Day” means the Reaction can be
                                                
                                            
                                        
                                                     Compendium
                                                    
                                                    
                                                         - Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Player's Handbook (2014)
                                                    
                                                
                                            
                                                     spells require a single action to cast, but some spells require a bonus action, a reaction, or much more time to cast.
 Bonus Action A spell cast with a bonus action is especially swift. You must use a
                                                
                                            
                                                
                                                     time of 1 action.
 Reactions Some spells can be cast as reactions. These spells take a fraction of a second to bring about and are cast in response to some event. If a spell can be cast as a reaction
                                                
                                            
                                        
                                                     Compendium
                                                    
                                                    
                                                         - Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Player’s Handbook
                                                    
                                                
                                            
                                                    , or other body parts. A few spells also involve melee attacks. Reach A creature has a 5-foot reach and can thus attack targets within 5 feet when making a melee attack. Certain creatures have melee
                                                
                                            
                                                
                                                     when you teleport or when you are moved without using your movement, action, Bonus Action, or Reaction. For example, you don’t provoke an Opportunity Attack if an explosion hurls you out of a foe’s reach
                                                
                                            
                                        
                                                     Compendium
                                                    
                                                    
                                                         - Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->D&D Beyond Basic Rules
                                                    
                                                
                                            
                                                    , or other body parts. A few spells also involve melee attacks. Reach A creature has a 5-foot reach and can thus attack targets within 5 feet when making a melee attack. Certain creatures have melee
                                                
                                            
                                                
                                                     when you teleport or when you are moved without using your movement, action, Bonus Action, or Reaction. For example, you don’t provoke an Opportunity Attack if an explosion hurls you out of a foe’s reach
                                                
                                            
                                        
                                                     Compendium
                                                    
                                                    
                                                         - Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Player's Handbook (2014)
                                                    
                                                
                                            
                                                     to lower a drawbridge. Reactions Certain special abilities, spells, and situations allow you to take a special action called a reaction. A reaction is an instant response to a trigger of some kind
                                                
                                            
                                                
                                                    , which can occur on your turn or on someone else’s. The opportunity attack, described later in this chapter, is the most common type of reaction. When you take a reaction, you can’t take another one until
                                                
                                            
                                        
                                                     Compendium
                                                    
                                                    
                                                         - Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Basic Rules (2014)
                                                    
                                                
                                            
                                                     care or when it presents an unusual obstacle. For instance, the DM could reasonably expect you to use an action to open a stuck door or turn a crank to lower a drawbridge. Reactions Certain special
                                                
                                            
                                                
                                                     abilities, spells, and situations allow you to take a special action called a reaction. A reaction is an instant response to a trigger of some kind, which can occur on your turn or on someone else's
                                                
                                            
                                        
                                                    Yuan-ti Pureblood
                                                    
    
        Legacy
    
    
        This doesn't reflect the latest rules and lore.
        Learn More
    
                                                
                                            
                                                     Species
                                                    Volo's Guide to Monsters
                                                    
                                                
                                            
                                                     they don’t believe they have a reasonable chance of success. This reaction isn’t out of cowardice, but practicality—yuan-ti value their own lives much too highly to risk them when the
                                                
                                            
                                                
                                                     royal family could poison a meal and declare it “safe” after taking a bite.
There are legends of certain yuan-ti infiltrating human cities and forming deadly covert societies that sell
                                                
                                            
                                        
                                                     Compendium
                                                    
                                                    
                                                         - Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->The Book of Many Things
                                                    
                                                
                                            
                                                     ♣) When you deal damage to a creature, that creature takes an extra 1d6 fire damage. Fool 
(or Joker with ™) As a reaction, when you take damage, you cause the creature that dealt it to have the prone
                                                
                                            
                                                
                                                     are wearing or carrying, up to 30 feet to a space you can see. Knight (or J ♥) As a reaction, impose disadvantage on the attack roll of a creature you can see. Moon (or Q ♦) As a bonus action, regain
                                                
                                            
                                        
                                                     Compendium
                                                    
                                                    
                                                         - Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Dungeon Master’s Guide
                                                    
                                                
                                            
                                                    . In certain forms, the weapon has the following additional properties. Acrobatic Assist (Quarterstaff and 10-Foot Pole Forms Only). While holding this weapon, you have Advantage on Dexterity
                                                
                                            
                                                
                                                     (Acrobatics) checks. Attack Deflection (Quarterstaff Form Only). When you are hit by an attack while holding the weapon, you can take a Reaction to twirl the weapon around you, gaining a +5 bonus to your
                                                
                                            
                                        
                                                     Compendium
                                                    
                                                    
                                                         - Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->D&D Beyond Basic Rules
                                                    
                                                
                                            
                                                    . In certain forms, the weapon has the following additional properties. Acrobatic Assist (Quarterstaff and 10-Foot Pole Forms Only). While holding this weapon, you have Advantage on Dexterity
                                                
                                            
                                                
                                                     (Acrobatics) checks. Attack Deflection (Quarterstaff Form Only). When you are hit by an attack while holding the weapon, you can take a Reaction to twirl the weapon around you, gaining a +5 bonus to your
                                                
                                            
                                        
                                                     Compendium
                                                    
                                                    
                                                         - Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->D&D Beyond Basic Rules
                                                    
                                                
                                            
                                                    Ranger Subclass A Ranger subclass is a specialization that grants you features at certain Ranger levels, as specified in the subclass. This section presents the Hunter subclass. Hunter Protect Nature
                                                
                                            
                                                
                                                     Lore You can call on the forces of nature to reveal certain strengths and weaknesses of your prey. While a creature is marked by your Hunter’s Mark, you know whether that creature has any Immunities
                                                
                                            
                                        
                                                     Compendium
                                                    
                                                    
                                                         - Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Scions of Elemental Evil
                                                    
                                                
                                            
                                                     allows. In certain forms, the weapon has the following additional properties. Acrobatic Assist (Quarterstaff or 10-Foot Pole Forms Only). While holding this weapon, you have Advantage on Dexterity
                                                
                                            
                                                
                                                     (Acrobatics) checks. Attack Deflection (Quarterstaff Form Only). When you are hit by an attack while holding the weapon, you can take a Reaction to twirl the weapon around you, gaining a +5 bonus to your
                                                
                                            
                                        
                                                     Compendium
                                                    
                                                    
                                                         - Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Hold Back The Dead
                                                    
                                                
                                            
                                                     allows. In certain forms, the weapon has the following additional properties. Acrobatic Assist (Quarterstaff or 10-Foot Pole Forms Only). While holding this weapon, you have Advantage on Dexterity
                                                
                                            
                                                
                                                     (Acrobatics) checks. Attack Deflection (Quarterstaff Form Only). When you are hit by an attack while holding the weapon, you can take a Reaction to twirl the weapon around you, gaining a +5 bonus to your
                                                
                                            
                                        
                                                     Compendium
                                                    
                                                    
                                                         - Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Player's Handbook (2014)
                                                    
                                                
                                            
                                                     choose this tradition at 3rd level, you can use your ki to duplicate the effects of certain spells. As an action, you can spend 2 ki points to cast darkness, darkvision, pass without trace, or silence
                                                
                                            
                                                
                                                     distraction when it is hit by an attack. Whenever a creature within 5 feet of you is hit by an attack made by a creature other than you, you can use your reaction to make a melee attack against that creature.
                                                
                                            
                                        
                                                     Compendium
                                                    
                                                    
                                                         - Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Xanathar's Guide to Everything
                                                    
                                                
                                            
                                                     increases when you reach certain levels in this class, increasing to 3 at 5th level, 4 at 10th level, 5 at 15th level, and 6 at 20th level. Sea. When this effect is activated, you can choose one other
                                                
                                            
                                                
                                                     when you reach certain levels in this class, increasing to 2d6 at 10th level, 3d6 at 15th level, and 4d6 at 20th level. Tundra. When this effect is activated, each creature of your choice in your aura
                                                
                                            
                                        
                                                     Compendium
                                                    
                                                    
                                                         - Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Dungeon Master’s Guide (2014)
                                                    
                                                
                                            
                                                    , or Intimidation skill might apply to the check. The creature’s current attitude determines the DC required to achieve a specific reaction, as shown in the Conversation Reaction table.  Conversation
                                                
                                            
                                                
                                                     Reaction   DC Friendly Creature’s Reaction   0 The creature does as asked without taking risks or making sacrifices. 10 The creature accepts a minor risk or sacrifice to do as asked. 20 The creature
                                                
                                            
                                        
                                                     Compendium
                                                    
                                                    
                                                         - Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Tasha’s Cauldron of Everything
                                                    
                                                
                                            
                                                    ), are incapacitated, die, or use this feature again. Whenever you assume your starry form, choose which of the following constellations glimmers on your body; your choice gives you certain benefits
                                                
                                            
                                                
                                                     finish your next long rest, you gain access to a special reaction based on whether you rolled an even or an odd number on the die: Weal (even). Whenever a creature you can see within 30 feet of you is
                                                
                                            
                                        
                                                     Compendium
                                                    
                                                    
                                                         - Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Xanathar's Guide to Everything
                                                    
                                                
                                            
                                                     reach certain levels in this class, as shown in the Monster Slayer Spells table. The spell counts as a ranger spell for you, but it doesn’t count against the number of ranger spells you know. Monster
                                                
                                            
                                                
                                                     within 60 feet of you, you can use your reaction to try to magically foil it. The creature must succeed on a Wisdom saving throw against your spell save DC, or its spell or teleport fails and is
                                                
                                            
                                        
                                                     Compendium
                                                    
                                                    
                                                         - Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->D&D Beyond Basic Rules
                                                    
                                                
                                            
                                                    Bard Subclass A Bard subclass is a specialization that grants you features at certain Bard levels, as specified in the subclass. Bards form loose associations, which they call colleges, to preserve
                                                
                                            
                                                
                                                     makes a damage roll or succeeds on an ability check or attack roll, you can take a Reaction to expend one use of your Bardic Inspiration; roll your Bardic Inspiration die, and subtract the number rolled
                                                
                                            
                                        
                                                     Compendium
                                                    
                                                    
                                                         - Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Player’s Handbook
                                                    
                                                
                                            
                                                    Paladin Subclasses A Paladin subclass is a specialization that grants you features at certain Paladin levels, as specified in the subclass. This section presents the Oath of Devotion, Oath of Glory
                                                
                                            
                                                
                                                    .  Level 3: Oath of Devotion Spells The magic of your oath ensures you always have certain spells ready; when you reach a Paladin level specified in the Oath of Devotion Spells table, you thereafter
                                                
                                            
                                        
                                                     Compendium
                                                    
                                                    
                                                         - Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Xanathar's Guide to Everything
                                                    
                                                
                                            
                                                     another creature outside combat, you can learn certain information about its capabilities compared to your own. The DM tells you if the creature is your equal, superior, or inferior in regard to two
                                                
                                            
                                                
                                                     while a creature within 5 feet of you is granting you cover against that attack, you can use your reaction to have the attack target that creature instead of you. Soul of Deceit Starting at 17th
                                                
                                            
                                        
                                                     Compendium
                                                    
                                                    
                                                         - Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->D&D Beyond Basic Rules
                                                    
                                                
                                            
                                                    Barbarian Subclass A Barbarian subclass is a specialization that grants you features at certain Barbarian levels, as specified in the subclass. This section presents the Path of the Berserker
                                                
                                            
                                                
                                                     condition ends on you. Level 10: Retaliation When you take damage from a creature that is within 5 feet of you, you can take a Reaction to make one melee attack against that creature, using a weapon
                                                
                                            
                                        
                                                     Compendium
                                                    
                                                    
                                                         - Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Player's Handbook (2014)
                                                    
                                                
                                            
                                                     and thunder, gods of earthquakes, some fire gods, and certain gods of violence, physical strength, and courage. In some pantheons, a god of this domain rules over other deities and is known for swift
                                                
                                            
                                                
                                                     can use your reaction to cause the creature to make a Dexterity saving throw. The creature takes 2d8 lightning or thunder damage (your choice) on a failed saving throw, and half as much damage on a
                                                
                                            
                                        
                                                     Compendium
                                                    
                                                    
                                                         - Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Sword Coast Adventurer’s Guide
                                                    
                                                
                                            
                                                     or hear you. Insightful Manipulator Starting at 9th level, if you spend at least 1 minute observing or interacting with another creature outside combat, you can learn certain information about its
                                                
                                            
                                                
                                                    , you can use your reaction to have the attack target that creature instead of you. Soul of Deceit Starting at 17th level, your thoughts can’t be read by telepathy or other means, unless you allow it
                                                
                                            
                                        
                                                     Compendium
                                                    
                                                    
                                                         - Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Uni and the Hunt for the Lost Horn
                                                    
                                                
                                            
                                                     yourself. Your access to this energy is represented by Focus Points. You have 4 Focus Points. You can expend these points to enhance or fuel certain Monk features. You start knowing three such features
                                                
                                            
                                                
                                                    , Piercing, or Slashing damage, you can take a Reaction to reduce the attack’s total damage against you. This reduction equals 1d10 plus your Dexterity modifier and Monk level. If you reduce the damage to 0
                                                
                                            
                                        
                                                     Compendium
                                                    
                                                    
                                                         - Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Player’s Handbook
                                                    
                                                
                                            
                                                    Bard Subclasses A Bard subclass is a specialization that grants you features at certain Bard levels, as specified in the subclass. Bards form loose associations, which they call colleges, to preserve
                                                
                                            
                                                
                                                    . Your base Armor Class equals 10 plus your Dexterity and Charisma modifiers. Agile Strikes. When you expend a use of your Bardic Inspiration as part of an action, a Bonus Action, or a Reaction, you can
                                                
                                            
                                        






