Search Results
All Results
Characters
Compendium
Spells
Items
Monsters
Vehicles
Forums
Returning 23 results for 'charges caster'.
Other Suggestions:
charges cast
charges castle
charges chapter
charges center
Magic Items
Dungeon Master’s Guide
This staff has 10 charges. While holding the staff , you can use any of its properties:
Cast Spell. You can expend 1 of the staff’s charges to cast Charm Person, Command, or Comprehend
staff and turn the spell back on its caster as if you had cast the spell.
Resist Enchantment. If you fail a saving throw against an Enchantment spell that targets only you, you can turn your failed save
Magic Items
The Wild Beyond the Witchlight
works even if its caster and the target are on different planes of existence. When the spell ends, all the liquid in the cauldron vanishes.
Dipping the bristles of an ordinary broom into the water
with 3 charges. This wand can’t recharge and crumbles to ashes when its final charge is expended. Once used, this property of the cauldron can’t be used again for 8 days.
If you spend 1
Staff of Charming
Legacy
This doesn't reflect the latest rules and lore.
Learn More
Magic Items
Basic Rules (2014)
expend 1 charge from the staff and turn the spell back on its caster as if you had cast the spell.
The staff regains 1d8 + 2 expended charges daily at dawn. If you expend the last charge, roll a d20. On a 1, the staff becomes a nonmagical quarterstaff.
While holding this staff, you can use an action to expend 1 of its 10 charges to cast charm person, command, or comprehend languages from it using your spell save DC. The staff can also be used as a
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->D&D Beyond Basic Rules
Staff of Charming Staff, Rare (Requires Attunement by a Bard, Cleric, Druid, Sorcerer, Warlock, or Wizard) This staff has 10 charges. While holding the staff, you can use any of its properties: Cast
Spell. You can expend 1 of the staff’s charges to cast Charm Person, Command, or Comprehend Languages from it using your spell save DC. Reflect Enchantment. If you succeed on a saving throw against an
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Dungeon Master’s Guide (2014)
Staff of Charming Staff, rare (requires attunement by a bard, cleric, druid, sorcerer, warlock, or wizard) While holding this staff, you can use an action to expend 1 of its 10 charges to cast charm
enchantment spell that targets only you, with or without the staff’s intervention, you can use your reaction to expend 1 charge from the staff and turn the spell back on its caster as if you had cast the spell
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Dungeon Master’s Guide
Staff of Charming Staff, Rare (Requires Attunement by a Bard, Cleric, Druid, Sorcerer, Warlock, or Wizard) This staff has 10 charges. While holding the staff, you can use any of its properties: Cast
Spell. You can expend 1 of the staff’s charges to cast Charm Person, Command, or Comprehend Languages from it using your spell save DC. Reflect Enchantment. If you succeed on a saving throw against an
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Dungeon Master’s Guide
Staff of Charming Staff, Rare (Requires Attunement by a Bard, Cleric, Druid, Sorcerer, Warlock, or Wizard) This staff has 10 charges. While holding the staff, you can use any of its properties: Cast
Spell. You can expend 1 of the staff’s charges to cast Charm Person, Command, or Comprehend Languages from it using your spell save DC. Reflect Enchantment. If you succeed on a saving throw against an
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->D&D Beyond Basic Rules
Staff of Charming Staff, Rare (Requires Attunement by a Bard, Cleric, Druid, Sorcerer, Warlock, or Wizard) This staff has 10 charges. While holding the staff, you can use any of its properties: Cast
Spell. You can expend 1 of the staff’s charges to cast Charm Person, Command, or Comprehend Languages from it using your spell save DC. Reflect Enchantment. If you succeed on a saving throw against an
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Dungeon Master’s Guide (2014)
Staff of Charming Staff, rare (requires attunement by a bard, cleric, druid, sorcerer, warlock, or wizard) While holding this staff, you can use an action to expend 1 of its 10 charges to cast charm
enchantment spell that targets only you, with or without the staff’s intervention, you can use your reaction to expend 1 charge from the staff and turn the spell back on its caster as if you had cast the spell
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Dungeon Master’s Guide (2014)
Mishap d6 Result 1 A surge of magical energy deals the caster 1d6 force damage per level of the spell. 2 The spell affects the caster or an ally (determined randomly) instead of the intended target
, or it affects a random target nearby if the caster was the intended target. 3 The spell affects a random location within the spell’s range. 4 The spell’s effect is contrary to its normal one, but
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Dungeon Master’s Guide (2014)
Mishap d6 Result 1 A surge of magical energy deals the caster 1d6 force damage per level of the spell. 2 The spell affects the caster or an ally (determined randomly) instead of the intended target
, or it affects a random target nearby if the caster was the intended target. 3 The spell affects a random location within the spell’s range. 4 The spell’s effect is contrary to its normal one, but
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Basic Rules (2014)
Staff of Charming Staff, rare (requires attunement by a bard, cleric, druid, sorcerer, warlock, or wizard) While holding this staff, you can use an action to expend 1 of its 10 charges to cast charm
spell that targets only you, with or without the staff’s intervention, you can use your reaction to expend 1 charge from the staff and turn the spell back on its caster as if you had cast the spell
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Basic Rules (2014)
Staff of Charming Staff, rare (requires attunement by a bard, cleric, druid, sorcerer, warlock, or wizard) While holding this staff, you can use an action to expend 1 of its 10 charges to cast charm
spell that targets only you, with or without the staff’s intervention, you can use your reaction to expend 1 charge from the staff and turn the spell back on its caster as if you had cast the spell
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Dungeon Master’s Guide
magic items allow the user to cast a spell from the item. The spell is cast at the lowest possible spell and caster level, doesn’t expend any of the user’s spell slots, and requires no components
use with the item. If the user doesn’t have a spellcasting ability, their spellcasting ability modifier is +0 for the item, and the user’s Proficiency Bonus applies. Charges Some magic items have
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Dungeon Master’s Guide
magic items allow the user to cast a spell from the item. The spell is cast at the lowest possible spell and caster level, doesn’t expend any of the user’s spell slots, and requires no components
use with the item. If the user doesn’t have a spellcasting ability, their spellcasting ability modifier is +0 for the item, and the user’s Proficiency Bonus applies. Charges Some magic items have
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Dungeon Master’s Guide (2014)
items might even be for sale, each with a cost double that of its magic item.
Spells Some magic items allow the user to cast a spell from the item, often by expending charges from it. The spell is cast
at the lowest possible spell and caster level, doesn’t expend any of the user’s spell slots, and requires no components unless the item’s description says otherwise. The spell uses its normal casting
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Dungeon Master’s Guide (2014)
items might even be for sale, each with a cost double that of its magic item.
Spells Some magic items allow the user to cast a spell from the item, often by expending charges from it. The spell is cast
at the lowest possible spell and caster level, doesn’t expend any of the user’s spell slots, and requires no components unless the item’s description says otherwise. The spell uses its normal casting
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->The Wild Beyond the Witchlight
cauldron as its focus, the target of the spell fails its saving throw automatically, and the spell works even if its caster and the target are on different planes of existence. When the spell ends, all
the water-filled cauldron transforms the branch into a wand of polymorph with 3 charges. This wand can’t recharge and crumbles to ashes when its final charge is expended. Once used, this property of
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->The Wild Beyond the Witchlight
cauldron as its focus, the target of the spell fails its saving throw automatically, and the spell works even if its caster and the target are on different planes of existence. When the spell ends, all
the water-filled cauldron transforms the branch into a wand of polymorph with 3 charges. This wand can’t recharge and crumbles to ashes when its final charge is expended. Once used, this property of
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Tomb of Annihilation
the ladder. A rope-and-hook thrown up to catch the edge always falls short. Casting teleport or misty step moves the caster sideways instead of up to the next level. Bypassing the tests by any means is
purple orchid. After a moment, it charges up the steps; the thorns part before it and close immediately behind it. To ascend the steps, characters must find more of the orange and purple orchids
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Tomb of Annihilation
the ladder. A rope-and-hook thrown up to catch the edge always falls short. Casting teleport or misty step moves the caster sideways instead of up to the next level. Bypassing the tests by any means is
purple orchid. After a moment, it charges up the steps; the thorns part before it and close immediately behind it. To ascend the steps, characters must find more of the orange and purple orchids
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Tasha’s Cauldron of Everything
artifact was destroyed. Consider rolling on the Unraveling Magic Effects table when the following circumstances occur in the region: Any charges are expended in a magic item. A spell slot of 1st level or
caster must make a DC 11 saving throw using its spellcasting ability. On a failed save, the spell targets the caster instead. On a successful save, the spell functions normally. This effect then ends. 96
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Tasha’s Cauldron of Everything
artifact was destroyed. Consider rolling on the Unraveling Magic Effects table when the following circumstances occur in the region: Any charges are expended in a magic item. A spell slot of 1st level or
caster must make a DC 11 saving throw using its spellcasting ability. On a failed save, the spell targets the caster instead. On a successful save, the spell functions normally. This effect then ends. 96