Search Results
All Results
                Characters
                Compendium
                Spells
                Items
                Monsters
                Vehicles
                Forums
                
                        Returning 35 results for 'charges way rune'.
                    
                
                                                     Spells
                                                    Player’s Handbook
                                                    
                                                
                                            
                                                     its trigger and choose whether it’s an explosive rune or a spell glyph, as explained below.
Set the Trigger. You decide what triggers the glyph when you cast the spell. For glyphs inscribed on
                                                
                                            
                                                
                                                     glyph could be set to affect Aberrations). You can also set conditions for creatures that don’t trigger the glyph, such as those who say a certain password.
Explosive Rune. When triggered, the
                                                
                                            
                                        
                                                     Magic Items
                                                    Dungeon Master’s Guide
                                                    
                                                
                                            
                                                    This magic weapon has 3 charges and regains 1d3 expended charges daily at dawn. While holding the weapon, you can take a Magic action and expend 1 charge to release a wave of terror from it. Each
                                                
                                            
                                                
                                                     creature of your choice within 30 feet of you must succeed on a DC 15 Wisdom saving throw or have the Frightened condition for 1 minute. While Frightened in this way, a creature must spend its turns
                                                
                                            
                                        
                                                     Monsters
                                                    Bigby Presents: Glory of the Giants
                                                    
                                                
                                            
                                                    Death Rune. The giant has a death rune inscribed on a giant’s skull in its possession. While holding or wearing the skull bearing the rune, the giant can use its Reaping Scythe action and
                                                
                                            
                                                
                                                     Shroud of Souls bonus action.
The skull bearing the death rune has AC 18; 35 hit points; and immunity to necrotic, poison, and psychic damage. The skull regains all its hit points at the end of every turn
                                                
                                            
                                        
                                                     Monsters
                                                    Bigby Presents: Glory of the Giants
                                                    
                                                
                                            
                                                    Legendary Resistance (3/Day). If the giant fails a saving throw, it can choose to succeed instead.
Fire Rune. The giant has a fire rune inscribed on a medallion or some other object in its
                                                
                                            
                                                
                                                     possession. While holding or wearing the object bearing the rune, the giant can use its Magma Wave action and Furnace Armor bonus action.
The object bearing the rune has AC 15; 40 hit points; and immunity to
                                                
                                            
                                        
                                                     Magic Items
                                                    Dungeon Master’s Guide
                                                    
                                                
                                            
                                                    This wand has 7 charges. While holding it, you can take a Magic action to expend 1 charge while choosing a point within 120 feet of yourself. That location becomes the point of origin of a spell or
                                                
                                            
                                                
                                                     becomes 120 feet when cast from the wand. If an effect has multiple possible subjects, the DM determines randomly which among them are affected.
Regaining Charges. The wand regains 1d6 + 1 expended
                                                
                                            
                                        
                                                     Monsters
                                                    Bigby Presents: Glory of the Giants
                                                    
                                                
                                            
                                                    Blood Rune. The fomorian has a blood rune inscribed on an effigy or some other object in its possession. While holding or wearing the object bearing the rune, the giant can use its Corrupting Hex
                                                
                                            
                                                
                                                     action and Poisoning Rebuke reaction.
The object bearing the blood rune has AC 15; 30 hit points; and immunity to necrotic, poison, and psychic damage. The object regains all its hit points at the end
                                                
                                            
                                        
                                                     Magic Items
                                                    Bigby Presents: Glory of the Giants
                                                    
                                                
                                            
                                                     spell (save DC 14) with it. When you cast the spell in this way, you have advantage on saving throws made to maintain concentration on the spell.
Once the rune has been invoked, it can’t be invoked again until the next dawn.
                                                
                                            
                                                
                                                    This breastplate is made from marbled granite, though it feels no heavier than a typical metal breastplate. Its chest is emblazoned with the stone rune.
While wearing this breastplate, you have
                                                
                                            
                                        
                                                     Magic Items
                                                    The Book of Many Things
                                                    
                                                
                                            
                                                     create another rune circle, or when you dismiss the rune circle as a bonus action. This hammer regains 1d3 expended charges daily at dawn.
                                                
                                            
                                                
                                                    This magic hammer has 3 charges. As a bonus action, you can expend 1 charge and slam this hammer on the ground, creating a 15-foot-radius circle of glowing runes centered on the point of impact
                                                
                                            
                                        
                                                     Magic Items
                                                    Storm King's Thunder
                                                    
                                                
                                            
                                                    This appears to be a simple ingot of iron ore, about a foot long and a few inches across. Inspection of its surface reveals the faint, silvery outline of the skold (shield) rune. The ingot has the
                                                
                                            
                                                
                                                    , other than yourself. Until the end of your next turn, any damage the target takes is reduced to 1, but you take half the damage prevented in this way. The damage you take can’t be reduced in
                                                
                                            
                                        
                                                     Monsters
                                                    Bigby Presents: Glory of the Giants
                                                    
                                                
                                            
                                                    ", "rollAction":"Gorging Charge", "rollDamageType":"piercing"} piercing damage and have the grappled condition (escape DC 16); if a creature is already grappled this way, it has the prone condition. Until this
                                                
                                            
                                                
                                                     grapple ends, the target has the restrained condition. The maw can have only one creature grappled in this way at a time.Fanged Rebuke. In response to taking damage, the maw makes one Bite attack
                                                
                                            
                                        
                                                     Magic Items
                                                    Out of the Abyss
                                                    
                                                
                                            
                                                     the spell. The crystal is not consumed when used in this way.
The crystal regains 1d6 + 4 expended charges daily at dawn. If you expend the crystal’s last charge, roll a d20. On a 1, the crystal vanishes, lost forever.
                                                
                                            
                                                
                                                     10 charges. While holding it, you can use an action to expend some of its charges to cast one of the following spells from it: speak with animals (2 charges), speak with dead (4 charges), or speak
                                                
                                            
                                        
                                                     Magic Items
                                                    Tomb of Annihilation
                                                    
                                                
                                            
                                                    This crooked staff is carved from bone and topped with the skull of a forgotten archmage whom Acererak destroyed long ago. Etched into the skull’s forehead is Acererak’s rune, which is
                                                
                                            
                                                
                                                     you harm them.
You can wield the staff as a quarterstaff, +3;+3 quarterstaff that deals an extra 10 (3d6) necrotic damage on a hit.
Invoke Curse. The Staff of the Forgotten One has 7 charges and
                                                
                                            
                                        
                                                     Magic Items
                                                    The Book of Many Things
                                                    
                                                
                                            
                                                    The backs of the cards in this deck are decorated with intricate designs representing different planes of existence. The deck has 6 charges. While holding it, you can expend 1 or more of its charges
                                                
                                            
                                                
                                                     wearing or carrying, appearing in the closest unoccupied space to the card. After you teleport in this way, or after 8 hours, the card returns to the deck, and the mark on it fades.
Riffling Portal. As an
                                                
                                            
                                        
                                                     Magic Items
                                                    Vecna: Eve of Ruin
                                                    
                                                
                                            
                                                     rod, you can use an action to cast the spell associated with that piece, as listed on the Rod Pieces table. Once that piece of the rod has been used to cast a spell, it can’t be used that way
                                                
                                            
                                                
                                                     rolls made with it.
Rod Spellcasting. The Rod of Seven Parts has 7 charges and regains 1d4 + 3 expended charges daily at dawn. While holding the rod, you can use an action to expend 1 charge and cast
                                                
                                            
                                        
                                                     Monsters
                                                    Mordenkainen Presents: Monsters of the Multiverse
                                                    
                                                
                                            
                                                     alhoon targets one creature it can see within 60 feet of it that is casting a spell. If the spell is 3rd level or lower, the spell fails, but any spell slots or charges are not wasted.Mind flayers that
                                                
                                            
                                                
                                                     pursue arcane magic are exiled as deviants, and for them no everlasting communion with an elder brain is possible. The road to lichdom offers an alternative way to escape the permanency of death, but
                                                
                                            
                                        
                                                     Magic Items
                                                    Acquisitions Incorporated
                                                    
                                                
                                            
                                                     scattered the components that powered it, secreting them across the world. But the orrery’s instinct for survival is strong, and its components have a way of inexorably coming together over
                                                
                                            
                                                
                                                     installed, the artifact has 7 charges. While touching the orrery, you can use an action and expend 1 or more charges to cast one of the following spells (save DC 17): contact other plane (3 charges
                                                
                                            
                                        
                                                     Monsters
                                                    Mordenkainen Presents: Monsters of the Multiverse
                                                    
                                                
                                            
                                                     civilization.
Baphomet wields a great glaive called Heartcleaver. He also charges his enemies and gores them with his horns, trampling his foes into the earth and rending them with his teeth like a
                                                
                                            
                                                
                                                     action to land on a ceiling to attack targets flying near it.
Seal the Way. Baphomet seals one doorway or other entryway within the lair. The opening must be unoccupied. It is filled with solid stone
                                                
                                            
                                        
                                                     Magic Items
                                                    Princes of the Apocalypse
                                                    
                                                
                                            
                                                     you, but not their exact location.
You can cast dominate monster (save DC 17) on an earth elemental. Once you have done so, Ironfang can’t be used this way again until the next dawn
                                                
                                            
                                                
                                                    .
Shatter. Ironfang has 3 charges. You can use your action to expend 1 charge and cast the 2nd-level version of shatter (DC 17). Ironfang regains 1d3 expended charges daily at dawn.
The Rumbling. While
                                                
                                            
                                        
                                                     Magic Items
                                                    Waterdeep: Dragon Heist
                                                    
                                                
                                            
                                                    
1 minor detrimental property
Legend Lore. The Stone of Golorr has 3 charges and regains 1d3 expended charges daily at dawn. While holding the stone, you can expend 1 of its charges to cast the
                                                
                                            
                                                
                                                     damage. Casting an antipathy/sympathy spell on the stone destroys it if the antipathy effect is selected and the spell is directed to repel aberrations. When the spell is cast in this way, the stone
                                                
                                            
                                        
                                                     Magic Items
                                                    Tasha’s Cauldron of Everything
                                                    
                                                
                                            
                                                    ’s Guide:
2 minor beneficial properties
1 major beneficial property
1 minor detrimental property
Spells. The crook has 6 charges. While holding it, you can use an action to expend 1 or more
                                                
                                            
                                                
                                                     of its charges to cast one of the following spells (save DC 18) from it: aura of life (2 charges), aura of purity (2 charges), banishment (1 charge), beacon of hope (1 charge), mass cure wounds (3
                                                
                                            
                                        
                                                     Magic Items
                                                    Waterdeep: Dragon Heist
                                                    
                                                
                                            
                                                    The Blackstaff is a sentient, rune-carved staff set with thin silver veins. It is the symbol of office for the Blackstaff, the highest-ranking wizard in Waterdeep. As the rightful owner of the
                                                
                                            
                                                
                                                     of power (see the Dungeon Master’s Guide) in addition to the following properties.
Animate Walking Statues. You can expend 1 or more of the staff’s charges as an action to animate or
                                                
                                            
                                        
                                                     Magic Items
                                                    Keys from the Golden Vault
                                                    
                                                
                                            
                                                    .
Mark of Darkness. After you spend the requisite amount of time reading and studying the book, you acquire a physical disfigurement as a hideous sign of your devotion to vile darkness. An evil rune might
                                                
                                            
                                                
                                                     Vile Darkness allows pages to be torn from it, but any evil lore contained on those pages finds its way back into the book eventually, usually when a new author adds pages to the tome.
If a solar tears
                                                
                                            
                                        
                                                     Magic Items
                                                    Tasha’s Cauldron of Everything
                                                    
                                                
                                            
                                                     originated, with the intention to destroy it. When planted in this way, creatures summoned are not friendly to you and do not vanish. Some of the creatures summoned merely head off in search of home
                                                
                                            
                                                
                                                     Cats of Uldun-dar (ivory cat molar)
9 cat;cats
The tooth has 8 charges. As an action, you can expend 1 charge to cast the revivify spell from the tooth. If you are dead at the start of your turn, the
                                                
                                            
                                        
                                                     Magic Items
                                                    The Book of Many Things
                                                    
                                                
                                            
                                                     unoccupied space within 5 feet of your new form.
You remain transformed in this way for 2d12 days; nothing can alter your form while you’re under the effects of this card, but the Wish spell can end
                                                
                                            
                                                
                                                     they are alive and any conditions they have. If you named an object, you know if it is broken or not. If you named a magic item that has charges, you know how many charges it has remaining.
Maze. You
                                                
                                            
                                        
                                                     Magic Items
                                                    The Wild Beyond the Witchlight
                                                    
                                                
                                            
                                                     with 3 charges. This wand can’t recharge and crumbles to ashes when its final charge is expended. Once used, this property of the cauldron can’t be used again for 8 days.
If you spend 1
                                                
                                            
                                                
                                                     passage of time. Moreover, it can’t be moved, harmed in any way, or affected by any other magic. All other conditions and effects on the creature are suppressed until it is no longer frozen in
                                                
                                            
                                        
                                                     Feats
                                                    Bigby Presents: Glory of the Giants
                                                    
                                                
                                            
                                                     slot, and you must finish a long rest before you can cast it in this way again. You can also cast this spell using any spell slots you have.
Rune Magic. You know a number of runes equal to half your
                                                
                                            
                                                
                                                     proficiency bonus (rounded down), chosen from the Rune Spells table. Whenever you finish a long rest, you can inscribe each rune you know onto one nonmagical weapon, armor, piece of clothing, or other
                                                
                                            
                                        
                                                     Equipment
                                                    
                                                    
                                                
                                            
                                                     the device gives the device 3 charges.
As an action while holding this device, you can expend 1 of its charges to cause one of the following effects:
Control. One Construct of your choice within 60
                                                
                                            
                                                
                                                     feet of you must succeed on a DC 15 Wisdom saving throw or have the charmed condition for 1 minute. While charmed in this way, the Construct obeys your verbal commands, and you and the Construct can
                                                
                                            
                                        
                                                    Wand of Fear
                                                    
    
        Legacy
    
    
        This doesn't reflect the latest rules and lore.
        Learn More
    
                                                
                                            
                                                     Magic Items
                                                    Basic Rules (2014)
                                                    
                                                
                                            
                                                    This wand has 7 charges for the following properties. It regains 1d6 + 1 expended charges daily at dawn. If you expend the wand's last charge, roll a d20. On a 1, the wand crumbles into ashes and is
                                                
                                            
                                                
                                                     holding the wand, you can use an action to expend 2 charges, causing the wand's tip to emit a 60-foot cone of amber light. Each creature in the cone must succeed on a DC 15 Wisdom saving throw or become
                                                
                                            
                                        
                                                     monsters
                                                    
                                                    
                                                
                                            
                                                     saving throw, she can choose to succeed instead.
Wishes. Biha Babir knows the Wish spell but can cast it only on behalf of a non-genie creature who communicates a wish in a way Biha Babir can
                                                
                                            
                                                
                                                     traveled across Calimshan, infiltrating rival genie courts and eliminating remnants of the Twisted Rune. Some accounts even tell of her fighting alongside Sultana Songal during the Night of Fleeing
                                                
                                            
                                        
                                                    Mace of Terror
                                                    
    
        Legacy
    
    
        This doesn't reflect the latest rules and lore.
        Learn More
    
                                                
                                            
                                                     Magic Items
                                                    Basic Rules (2014)
                                                    
                                                
                                            
                                                    This magic weapon has 3 charges. While holding it, you can use an action and expend 1 charge to release a wave of terror. Each creature of your choice in a 30-foot radius extending from you must
                                                
                                            
                                                
                                                     succeed on a DC 15 Wisdom saving throw or become frightened of you for 1 minute. While it is frightened in this way, a creature must spend its turns trying to move as far away from you as it can, and it
                                                
                                            
                                        
                                                     Backgrounds
                                                    Guildmasters’ Guide to Ravnica
                                                    
                                                
                                            
                                                    The brutes are at the gate, chaos is looming, and the only thing standing in the way of disaster is the foundation of law and order — as embodied in the Azorius Senate. You’re a proud
                                                
                                            
                                                
                                                     cast ensnaring strike, for example, the vines created by the spell might appear as rune-inscribed glowing bands that wrap around the target and hold it in place.
Suggested Characteristics
                                                
                                            
                                        
                                                    Book of Vile Darkness
                                                    
    
        Legacy
    
    
        This doesn't reflect the latest rules and lore.
        Learn More
    
                                                
                                            
                                                     Magic Items
                                                    Dungeon Master’s Guide (2014)
                                                    
                                                
                                            
                                                     darkness. An evil rune might appear on your face, your eyes might become glossy black, or horns might sprout from your forehead. Or you might become wizened and hideous, lose all facial features, gain a
                                                
                                            
                                                
                                                     the Book. The Book of Vile Darkness allows pages to be torn from it, but any evil lore contained on those pages finds its way back into the book eventually, usually when a new author adds pages to the
                                                
                                            
                                        
                                                    Wand of Wonder
                                                    
    
        Legacy
    
    
        This doesn't reflect the latest rules and lore.
        Learn More
    
                                                
                                            
                                                     Magic Items
                                                    Basic Rules (2014)
                                                    
                                                
                                            
                                                    This wand has 7 charges. While holding it, you can use an action to expend 1 of its charges and choose a target within 120 feet of you. The target can be a creature, an object, or a point in space
                                                
                                            
                                                
                                                     determines which ones are affected. The wand regains 1d6 + 1 expended charges daily at dawn. If you expend the wand's last charge, roll a d20. On a 1, the wand crumbles into dust and is destroyed
                                                
                                            
                                        
                                                     magic-items
                                                    
                                                    
                                                
                                            
                                                    A wizard named Damara created this orb while devising a way to become a dragon. Aided by a mysterious magician (actually an aspect of Tiamat in disguise), Damara eventually created an Artifact that
                                                
                                            
                                                
                                                     Artifact has the following random properties (see chapter 7 of the Dungeon Master’s Guide):
2 minor beneficial properties
2 minor detrimental properties
Spellcasting. The orb has 6 charges
                                                
                                            
                                        
                                                     Compendium
                                                    
                                                    
                                                         - Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Bigby Presents: Glory of the Giants
                                                    
                                                
                                            
                                                    Rune Shaper Prerequisite: Spellcasting Feature or Rune Carver Background You’ve studied the magic of Giant runes, granting you the following benefits: Comprehend Languages. You learn the comprehend
                                                
                                            
                                                
                                                     languages spell. You can cast this spell without expending a spell slot, and you must finish a long rest before you can cast it in this way again. You can also cast this spell using any spell slots you
                                                
                                            
                                        





