Search Results
All Results
Characters
Compendium
Spells
Items
Monsters
Vehicles
Forums
Returning 25 results for 'charm caster'.
Other Suggestions:
charm cast
charge caster
charm chapter
charm career
charm casters
Magic Items
Dungeon Master’s Guide
This staff has 10 charges. While holding the staff , you can use any of its properties:
Cast Spell. You can expend 1 of the staff’s charges to cast Charm Person, Command, or Comprehend
staff and turn the spell back on its caster as if you had cast the spell.
Resist Enchantment. If you fail a saving throw against an Enchantment spell that targets only you, you can turn your failed save
Monsters
Keys from the Golden Vault
has no effect. Whatever the spell’s level, the caster takes 10 (3d6);{"diceNotation":"3d6", "rollType":"damage", "rollAction":"Fiery Counterspell", "rollDamageType":"fire"} fire damage if the
vitality and charm, and to funnel these qualities into herself. However, the magic only enhanced her greed and jealousy; the more she took from Jhaeros, the hungrier for power Charmayne became, going so
Staff of Charming
Legacy
This doesn't reflect the latest rules and lore.
Learn More
Magic Items
Basic Rules (2014)
While holding this staff, you can use an action to expend 1 of its 10 charges to cast charm person, command, or comprehend languages from it using your spell save DC. The staff can also be used as a
expend 1 charge from the staff and turn the spell back on its caster as if you had cast the spell.
The staff regains 1d8 + 2 expended charges daily at dawn. If you expend the last charge, roll a d20. On a 1, the staff becomes a nonmagical quarterstaff.
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Xanathar's Guide to Everything
Invalid Spell Targets A spell specifies what a caster can target with it: any type of creature, a creature of a certain type (humanoid or beast, for instance), an object, an area, the caster, or
something else. But what happens if a spell targets something that isn’t a valid target? For example, someone might cast charm person on a creature believed to be a humanoid, not knowing that the target
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Xanathar's Guide to Everything
Invalid Spell Targets A spell specifies what a caster can target with it: any type of creature, a creature of a certain type (humanoid or beast, for instance), an object, an area, the caster, or
something else. But what happens if a spell targets something that isn’t a valid target? For example, someone might cast charm person on a creature believed to be a humanoid, not knowing that the target
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Xanathar's Guide to Everything
Perceiving a Caster at Work Many spells create obvious effects: explosions of fire, walls of ice, teleportation, and the like. Other spells, such as charm person, display no visible, audible, or
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Xanathar's Guide to Everything
Perceiving a Caster at Work Many spells create obvious effects: explosions of fire, walls of ice, teleportation, and the like. Other spells, such as charm person, display no visible, audible, or
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Basic Rules (2014)
Staff of Charming Staff, rare (requires attunement by a bard, cleric, druid, sorcerer, warlock, or wizard) While holding this staff, you can use an action to expend 1 of its 10 charges to cast charm
spell that targets only you, with or without the staff’s intervention, you can use your reaction to expend 1 charge from the staff and turn the spell back on its caster as if you had cast the spell
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->D&D Beyond Basic Rules
Spell. You can expend 1 of the staff’s charges to cast Charm Person, Command, or Comprehend Languages from it using your spell save DC. Reflect Enchantment. If you succeed on a saving throw against an
Enchantment spell that targets only you, you can take a Reaction to expend 1 charge from the staff and turn the spell back on its caster as if you had cast the spell. Resist Enchantment. If you fail
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Dungeon Master’s Guide
Spell. You can expend 1 of the staff’s charges to cast Charm Person, Command, or Comprehend Languages from it using your spell save DC. Reflect Enchantment. If you succeed on a saving throw against an
Enchantment spell that targets only you, you can take a Reaction to expend 1 charge from the staff and turn the spell back on its caster as if you had cast the spell. Resist Enchantment. If you fail
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Basic Rules (2014)
Staff of Charming Staff, rare (requires attunement by a bard, cleric, druid, sorcerer, warlock, or wizard) While holding this staff, you can use an action to expend 1 of its 10 charges to cast charm
spell that targets only you, with or without the staff’s intervention, you can use your reaction to expend 1 charge from the staff and turn the spell back on its caster as if you had cast the spell
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Dungeon Master’s Guide
Spell. You can expend 1 of the staff’s charges to cast Charm Person, Command, or Comprehend Languages from it using your spell save DC. Reflect Enchantment. If you succeed on a saving throw against an
Enchantment spell that targets only you, you can take a Reaction to expend 1 charge from the staff and turn the spell back on its caster as if you had cast the spell. Resist Enchantment. If you fail
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->D&D Beyond Basic Rules
Spell. You can expend 1 of the staff’s charges to cast Charm Person, Command, or Comprehend Languages from it using your spell save DC. Reflect Enchantment. If you succeed on a saving throw against an
Enchantment spell that targets only you, you can take a Reaction to expend 1 charge from the staff and turn the spell back on its caster as if you had cast the spell. Resist Enchantment. If you fail
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Dungeon Master’s Guide (2014)
Staff of Charming Staff, rare (requires attunement by a bard, cleric, druid, sorcerer, warlock, or wizard) While holding this staff, you can use an action to expend 1 of its 10 charges to cast charm
enchantment spell that targets only you, with or without the staff’s intervention, you can use your reaction to expend 1 charge from the staff and turn the spell back on its caster as if you had cast the spell
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Dungeon Master’s Guide (2014)
Staff of Charming Staff, rare (requires attunement by a bard, cleric, druid, sorcerer, warlock, or wizard) While holding this staff, you can use an action to expend 1 of its 10 charges to cast charm
enchantment spell that targets only you, with or without the staff’s intervention, you can use your reaction to expend 1 charge from the staff and turn the spell back on its caster as if you had cast the spell
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Sage Advice Compendium
suddenly do something you didn’t intend. Certain spells are more subtle, yet you become aware of the spell at a time specified in the spell’s description. Charm person and detect thoughts are examples of
casting the spell, you might simply remember the caster saying, “The treasure you’re looking for isn’t here. Go look for it in the room at the top of the next tower.” You failed your saving throw, and off
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Sage Advice Compendium
suddenly do something you didn’t intend. Certain spells are more subtle, yet you become aware of the spell at a time specified in the spell’s description. Charm person and detect thoughts are examples of
casting the spell, you might simply remember the caster saying, “The treasure you’re looking for isn’t here. Go look for it in the room at the top of the next tower.” You failed your saving throw, and off
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Sage Advice Compendium
on a grid, unless the DM says effects snap to the grid. There are many ways to position that cube. Can a creature under the effect of compelled duel teleport more than 30 feet away from the caster? No
. You can’t move farther than 30 feet away from the caster of compelled duel by any means, including teleportation. Is the damage dealt by a beast from conjure animals considered magical? The stat
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Sage Advice Compendium
on a grid, unless the DM says effects snap to the grid. There are many ways to position that cube. Can a creature under the effect of compelled duel teleport more than 30 feet away from the caster? No
. You can’t move farther than 30 feet away from the caster of compelled duel by any means, including teleportation. Is the damage dealt by a beast from conjure animals considered magical? The stat
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Sage Advice Compendium
the spell save DC for disguise self ? Does the wearer have to be a caster? Use your spellcasting ability modifier to set the DC. If you don’t have a spellcasting ability, use your proficiency bonus to
, the target gets to keep its head. Would an elf get a saving throw versus a philter of love as it’s a charm? The description implies there is no save. There is no save against the philter of love
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Sage Advice Compendium
the spell save DC for disguise self ? Does the wearer have to be a caster? Use your spellcasting ability modifier to set the DC. If you don’t have a spellcasting ability, use your proficiency bonus to
, the target gets to keep its head. Would an elf get a saving throw versus a philter of love as it’s a charm? The description implies there is no save. There is no save against the philter of love
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Tomb of Annihilation
the ladder. A rope-and-hook thrown up to catch the edge always falls short. Casting teleport or misty step moves the caster sideways instead of up to the next level. Bypassing the tests by any means is
possibility of a recurrence. Each character who agrees receives a supernatural charm (see chapter 7 of the Dungeon Master’s Guide) to aid their task. Assign charms to characters that are appropriate to
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Tomb of Annihilation
the ladder. A rope-and-hook thrown up to catch the edge always falls short. Casting teleport or misty step moves the caster sideways instead of up to the next level. Bypassing the tests by any means is
possibility of a recurrence. Each character who agrees receives a supernatural charm (see chapter 7 of the Dungeon Master’s Guide) to aid their task. Assign charms to characters that are appropriate to
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Tales from the Yawning Portal->a5
must succeed on a DC 12 Wisdom saving throw or suffer one of the following effects, rolled randomly. 2d4 Eye Ray 2–3 Charm. For its turn, the target moves toward its nearest ally and attacks with a
shadowy outlines of a dozen weapons, pendants, and other objects. An identify spell reveals that the altar imparts additional power into magic items placed on its surface. The caster must succeed on a DC 20
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Tales from the Yawning Portal->a5
must succeed on a DC 12 Wisdom saving throw or suffer one of the following effects, rolled randomly. 2d4 Eye Ray 2–3 Charm. For its turn, the target moves toward its nearest ally and attacks with a
shadowy outlines of a dozen weapons, pendants, and other objects. An identify spell reveals that the altar imparts additional power into magic items placed on its surface. The caster must succeed on a DC 20