Search Results
All Results
Characters
Compendium
Spells
Items
Monsters
Vehicles
Forums
Returning 35 results for 'confers whether reaction'.
Other Suggestions:
converse whether rejection
concerns whether rejection
corners whether reaction
concerns whether reactions
Monsters
Mordenkainen Presents: Monsters of the Multiverse
weapon.A drow house captain leads the troops of an Underdark faction, whether defending a stronghold or leading forces against enemies. These officers make extensive study of strategy and tactics to become
subterranean world of that god’s malevolence.Battle Command. Choose one creature within 30 feet of the drow that the drow can see. If the chosen creature can see or hear the drow, that creature can use its reaction to make one melee attack or to take the Dodge or Hide action.
Spells
Tasha’s Cauldron of Everything
reaction until the end of its next turn. Moreover, on its next turn, it must choose whether it gets a move, an action, or a bonus action; it gets only one of the three. On a successful save, the
Monsters
Mordenkainen Presents: Monsters of the Multiverse
Cavalry Training. When the duergar hits a target with a melee attack while mounted, the mount can use its reaction to make one melee attack against the same target.
Duergar Resilience. The duergar
if that passion rarely manifests as mirth. They bring an emotional intensity to their lives, whether they’re exploring neighboring tunnels, defending their homes, engaging with their families
Monsters
Van Richten’s Guide to Ravenloft
Intelligence saving throw or it can’t take a reaction until the end of its next turn. Moreover, on its next turn, the target must choose whether it gets a move, an action, or a bonus action; it gets only
Magic Items
Waterdeep: Dungeon of the Mad Mage
) check recognizes it as an uven (“enemy” in Giant) rune that confers great power.
While holding the shield, you benefit from the following properties.
Winter’s Friend. You are immune to
cold damage.
Deadly Rebuke. Immediately after a creature hits you with a melee attack, you can use your reaction to deal 3d6 necrotic damage to that creature.
Bane. You can cast the bane spell from
Zuggtmoy
Legacy
This doesn't reflect the latest rules and lore.
Learn More
Monsters
Out of the Abyss
Thrall. When Zuggtmoy is hit by an attack, one creature within 5 feet of Zuggtmoy that is charmed by her must use its reaction to be hit by the attack instead.Zuggtmoy can take 3 legendary actions
turn.
Attack. Zuggtmoy makes one pseudopod attack.
Exert Will. One creature charmed by Zuggtmoy that she can see must use its reaction to move up to its speed as she directs or to make a weapon
Monsters
Mordenkainen Presents: Monsters of the Multiverse
. The duergar targets one creature it can see within 60 feet of it. The target must succeed on a DC 12 Intelligence saving throw, or the duergar causes it to use its reaction, if available, either to
as joyless, duergar are in fact deeply passionate in all that they do—even if that passion rarely manifests as mirth. They bring an emotional intensity to their lives, whether they’re
Monsters
Mordenkainen Presents: Monsters of the Multiverse
use their reaction to make one weapon attack.
Invisibility (Recharge 4–6);{"diceNotation":"1d6", "rollType":"recharge", "rollAction":"Invisibility"}. The duergar magically turns invisible for up to 1
passion rarely manifests as mirth. They bring an emotional intensity to their lives, whether they’re exploring neighboring tunnels, defending their homes, engaging with their families, or crafting
Monsters
Planescape: Adventures in the Multiverse
can see within 30 feet of itself. The portal links to a precise location on any plane of existence at a point in time up to 8,000 years from the present, whether past or future. The portal lasts for 24
affected creature can move or take an action on its turn, not both. The creature also can’t take a reaction or a bonus action.
Timeline Divergence. The dragon chooses a space it can fit into
Monsters
Mordenkainen Presents: Monsters of the Multiverse
. One creature charmed by Zuggtmoy that she can see must use its reaction, if available, to move up to its speed as she directs or to make one weapon attack against a target that she designates.The Demon
facets.
Zuggtmoy’s cultists often follow her unwittingly. Most are fungus-infected to some degree, whether through inhaling her mind-controlling spores or being transformed to the point where
Monsters
Fizban's Treasury of Dragons
creature within 30 feet of it that it can see. The target must succeed on a DC 16 Wisdom saving throw or use its reaction to make a melee weapon attack against a random creature within reach. If no
creatures are within reach, or the target can’t take a reaction, it takes 5 (1d10);{"diceNotation":"1d10", "rollType":"damage", "rollAction":"Commanding Spores", "rollDamageType":"psychic"} psychic
Monsters
Fizban's Treasury of Dragons
around a creature within 30 feet of it that it can see. The target must succeed on a DC 19 Wisdom saving throw or use its reaction to make a melee weapon attack against a random creature within reach. If
no creatures are within reach, or the target can’t take a reaction, it takes 11 (2d10);{"diceNotation":"2d10", "rollType":"damage", "rollAction":"Commanding Spores", "rollDamageType":"psychic
Monsters
Fizban's Treasury of Dragons
they do, they obviously cheated.
6
Any creature that can hold their own against me must teach me how—whether they want to or not.
7
I cannot resist a game of dragonchess—which
regularly confers with a plane-hopping archmage regarding the dragon’s ongoing dreams of other worlds and other lives.
4
A drow priestess of Lolth and several yochlol demons have been ordered
equipment
Shield as a bracer on your forearm, and it does not count as having that hand occupied while the shield is retracted. As a Reaction to an attack hitting you, you can extend the shield, giving you a bonus
provoking creature if they are within reach. The shield remains extended until the start of your next turn.
As a free interaction with an object on your turn, you can either extend or retract the shield. While the shield is extended, it occupies your hand and confers a +2 bonus to your Armor Class.
equipment
Shield as a bracer on your forearm, and it does not count as having that hand occupied while the shield is retracted. As a Reaction to an attack hitting you, you can extend the shield, giving you a bonus
provoking creature if they are within reach. The shield remains extended until the start of your next turn.
As a free interaction with an object on your turn, you can either extend or retract the shield. While the shield is extended, it occupies your hand and confers a +2 bonus to your Armor Class.
Ioun Stone
Legacy
This doesn't reflect the latest rules and lore.
Learn More
Magic Items
Basic Rules (2014)
to toss one of these stones into the air, the stone orbits your head at a distance of 1d3 feet and confers a benefit to you. Thereafter, another creature must use an action to grasp or net the stone
). While this pale lavender ellipsoid orbits your head, you can use your reaction to cancel a spell of 4th level or lower cast by a creature you can see and targeting only you.
Once the stone has
Feats
Dragonlance: Shadow of the Dragon Queen
. If that ally can see or hear you, they can immediately make one weapon attack as a reaction. If the attack hits, the ally can roll a d8 and add the number rolled as a bonus to the attack’s damage
. Whether a character follows this path or another, they retain what they learned as a member of an order even if they join another. Characters can change what knightly order they’re a part of, but they always have access to any Knight of Solamnia feats they’ve acquired.
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Strixhaven: A Curriculum of Chaos
; whether that NPC confers Beloved Inspiration; and that NPC’s Bond Boon or Bond Bane, whichever is applicable. Report Cards. This section includes places to track the results of each Exam
each student NPC with whom their character has a Relationship. The player should track how many Relationship Points their character has with each NPC; whether that NPC is a Friend, a Rival, or a Beloved
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Monster Manual (2014)
Reactions If a monster can do something special with its reaction, that information is contained here. If a creature has no special reaction, this section is absent. GRAPPLE RULES FOR MONSTERS
Many
monsters have special attacks that allow them to quickly grapple prey. When a monster hits with such an attack, it doesn’t need to make an additional ability check to determine whether the grapple
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Monster Manual (2014)
Reactions If a monster can do something special with its reaction, that information is contained here. If a creature has no special reaction, this section is absent. GRAPPLE RULES FOR MONSTERS
Many
monsters have special attacks that allow them to quickly grapple prey. When a monster hits with such an attack, it doesn’t need to make an additional ability check to determine whether the grapple
Yuan-ti Pureblood
Legacy
This doesn't reflect the latest rules and lore.
Learn More
Species
Volo's Guide to Monsters
others can be exploited through bribes, favors, or threats.
As creatures devoid of emotion, yuan-ti exhibit behavior and use tactics that exemplify that outlook (or lack of one). Whether in combat
they don’t believe they have a reasonable chance of success. This reaction isn’t out of cowardice, but practicality—yuan-ti value their own lives much too highly to risk them when the
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Strixhaven: A Curriculum of Chaos
; whether that NPC confers Beloved Inspiration; and that NPC’s Bond Boon or Bond Bane, whichever is applicable. Report Cards. This section includes places to track the results of each Exam
each student NPC with whom their character has a Relationship. The player should track how many Relationship Points their character has with each NPC; whether that NPC is a Friend, a Rival, or a Beloved
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Basic Rules (2014)
whether the caster must use an action, a reaction, minutes, or even hours to cast the spell. Casting a spell is, therefore, not necessarily an action. Most spells do have a casting time of 1 action, so a spellcaster often uses his or her action in combat to cast such a spell.
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Basic Rules (2014)
whether the caster must use an action, a reaction, minutes, or even hours to cast the spell. Casting a spell is, therefore, not necessarily an action. Most spells do have a casting time of 1 action, so a spellcaster often uses his or her action in combat to cast such a spell.
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Player's Handbook (2014)
whether the caster must use an action, a reaction, minutes, or even hours to cast the spell. Casting a spell is, therefore, not necessarily an action. Most spells do have a casting time of 1 action, so a
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Player's Handbook (2014)
whether the caster must use an action, a reaction, minutes, or even hours to cast the spell. Casting a spell is, therefore, not necessarily an action. Most spells do have a casting time of 1 action, so a
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Flee, Mortals! Rule Primer
opportunities to act and move when it’s not their turn. Thus, each action-oriented creature has at least one special bonus action and reaction, as well as a special section with villain actions that let them
dominate the battlefield. These actions make the boss creatures dynamic and formidable. Whether fought as an exciting solo challenge or alongside a few easy-to-run underlings, action-oriented creatures challenge the characters with dramatic and powerful actions in combat.
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Tasha’s Cauldron of Everything
an Intelligence saving throw. On a failed save, the target takes 3d6 psychic damage, and it can’t take a reaction until the end of its next turn. Moreover, on its next turn, it must choose whether it
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Tasha’s Cauldron of Everything
an Intelligence saving throw. On a failed save, the target takes 3d6 psychic damage, and it can’t take a reaction until the end of its next turn. Moreover, on its next turn, it must choose whether it
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Flee, Mortals! Rule Primer
opportunities to act and move when it’s not their turn. Thus, each action-oriented creature has at least one special bonus action and reaction, as well as a special section with villain actions that let them
dominate the battlefield. These actions make the boss creatures dynamic and formidable. Whether fought as an exciting solo challenge or alongside a few easy-to-run underlings, action-oriented creatures challenge the characters with dramatic and powerful actions in combat.
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Basic Rules (2014)
Your Turn On your turn, you can move a distance up to your speed and take one action. You decide whether to move first or take your action first. Your speed--sometimes called your walking speed--is
abilities, spells, and situations allow you to take a special action called a reaction. A reaction is an instant response to a trigger of some kind, which can occur on your turn or on someone else's
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Player's Handbook (2014)
Your Turn On your turn, you can move a distance up to your speed and take one action. You decide whether to move first or take your action first. Your speed — sometimes called your walking speed — is
to lower a drawbridge. Reactions Certain special abilities, spells, and situations allow you to take a special action called a reaction. A reaction is an instant response to a trigger of some kind
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Player's Handbook (2014)
Your Turn On your turn, you can move a distance up to your speed and take one action. You decide whether to move first or take your action first. Your speed — sometimes called your walking speed — is
to lower a drawbridge. Reactions Certain special abilities, spells, and situations allow you to take a special action called a reaction. A reaction is an instant response to a trigger of some kind
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Basic Rules (2014)
Your Turn On your turn, you can move a distance up to your speed and take one action. You decide whether to move first or take your action first. Your speed--sometimes called your walking speed--is
abilities, spells, and situations allow you to take a special action called a reaction. A reaction is an instant response to a trigger of some kind, which can occur on your turn or on someone else's
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Dungeon Master’s Guide (2014)
hostile. Whether the adventurers can shift a creature’s attitude is up to you. You decide whether the adventurers have successfully couched their statements in terms that matter to the creature
. Typically, a creature’s attitude can’t shift more than one step during a single interaction, whether temporarily or permanently. Determining Characteristics. The adventurers don’t necessarily enter into a