Search Results
All Results
Characters
Compendium
Spells
Items
Monsters
Vehicles
Forums
Returning 35 results for 'confusion release grappling to have reaction'.
Other Suggestions:
confusion release grasping to have rejection
confusion release grappling to have rejection
confusion release grasping to have reaction
confession release grappling to have reaction
conclusion released grappling to have relation
Magic Items
Dungeon Master’s Guide
. The target must succeed on a DC 15 Dexterity saving throw or have the Restrained condition. You can release the target by letting go of your end of the rope (causing the rope to coil up in the target
a Reaction to command the rope to coil up in your hand; otherwise, the rope coils up in the target’s space.
The rope has AC 20, HP 20, and Immunity to Poison and Psychic damage. It regains 1
Magic Items
Phandelver and Below: The Shattered Obelisk
extra 1d12 slashing damage. If the Aberration is currently grappling a creature, the Aberration must succeed on a DC 15 Strength saving throw or release each creature it is grappling.
Monsters
Phandelver and Below: The Shattered Obelisk
target can repeat the saving throw at the end of each of its turns, ending the effect on itself on a success. The target also has the grappled condition (escape DC 16). While grappling the target, the
grell can’t make Tentacle attacks against other targets. When the grell moves, any Medium or smaller target it is grappling moves with it.
Spellcasting (Psionics). The grell psychic casts one
Magic Items
Guildmasters’ Guide to Ravnica
.
Annihilation. If the dagger holds five souls, you can use this property: As a reaction immediately after you hit a creature with the dagger and deal damage to that target, you can release all five souls. If the
dagger has the following additional properties.
Siphon Vitality. As a bonus action, you can release any number of stored souls from the dagger to regain 1d10 hit points per soul released
Monsters
Bigby Presents: Glory of the Giants
resounds with demonic magic, sowing discord and confusion around them. As the echo’s monstrous heads roar and bite at each other, nearby creatures are racked with psychic pain or join in the ruckus
throw or suffer one of the following effects of the echo’s choice:
Confused Reaction. The target must use its reaction to make a melee attack against another creature of the echo’s
Monsters
Mordenkainen Presents: Monsters of the Multiverse
sight.
3–4: Confusing Gaze. The target suffers the effect of the confusion spell without making a saving throw. The effect lasts until the start of Demogorgon’s next turn. Demogorgon doesn
its action, reaction, and movement.
Spellcasting. Demogorgon casts one of the following spells, requiring no material components and using Charisma as the spellcasting ability (spell save DC 23
Monsters
Tales from the Yawning Portal
, Melf's acid arrow, suggestion
3rd level (3 slots): fear, slow, stinking cloud
4th level (3 slots): confusion, Evard's black tentacles
5th level (1 slot): cloudkill
Spider Climb. The Ooze Master can
30 feet of it, the Ooze Master can use a reaction to divert the attack if another creature is within the attack's range. The attacker must make a DC 15 Wisdom saving throw. On a failed save, the
Monsters
Mordenkainen Presents: Monsters of the Multiverse
additional effects, each of which he can apply only once per turn:
Confusion. The target must succeed on a DC 17 Wisdom saving throw or be affected by the confusion spell until the start of Yeenoghu
or hyena that Yeenoghu can see can use its reaction to move up to its speed.
Regional Effects
The region containing Yeenoghu’s lair is warped by his magic, creating one or more of the
Yeenoghu
Legacy
This doesn't reflect the latest rules and lore.
Learn More
Monsters
Out of the Abyss
Yeenoghu’s next turn.
3. The target must succeed on a DC 17 Wisdom saving throw or be affected by the confusion spell until the start of Yeenoghu’s next turn.
Flail. Melee Weapon Attack: +16
condition.
Each gnoll or hyena that Yeenoghu can see can use its reaction to move up to its speed.
Until the next initiative count 20, all gnoll;gnolls and hyena;hyenas within the lair are enraged
spells
Melee weapon, you can take a Reaction to have clots form around the weapon, entrapping it. The attacker must succeed on a Strength saving throw or the weapon sticks to you. If the attacker doesn’t
release the weapon, the creature has the Grappled condition while the weapon is stuck. While stuck, the weapon can’t be used. The target can take an action to make a Strength (Athletics) check
Nilbog
Legacy
This doesn't reflect the latest rules and lore.
Learn More
Monsters
Volo's Guide to Monsters
, Tasha's hideous laughter, vicious mockery
1/day: confusion
Nilbogism. Any creature that attempts to damage the nilbog must first succeed on a DC 12 Charisma saving throw or be charmed until the end
its Reversal of Fortune reaction.
Nimble Escape. The nilbog can take the Disengage or Hide action as a bonus action on each of its turns.Fool’s Scepter. Melee Weapon Attack: +4;{"diceNotation
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Sage Advice & Errata
Grappling (p. 367) In the “Grappling” entry, the heading “Escaping a Grapple” is now “Ending a Grapple”. Also, the following sentence has been added to the end of that subsection: “In addition, the grappler can release the target at any time (no action required).”
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Phandelver and Below: The Shattered Obelisk
greataxe. An Aberration hit with this greataxe takes an extra 1d12 slashing damage. If the Aberration is currently grappling a creature, the Aberration must succeed on a DC 15 Strength saving throw or release each creature it is grappling.
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Basic Rules (2014)
but hold its energy, which you release with your reaction when the trigger occurs. To be readied, a spell must have a casting time of 1 action, and holding onto the spell's magic requires concentration
. If your concentration is broken, the spell dissipates without taking effect. For example, if you are concentrating on the web spell and ready magic missile, your web spell ends, and if you take damage before you release magic missile with your reaction, your concentration might be broken.
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Spelljammer: Adventures in Space->Astral Adventurer’s Guide
until the grapple ends. As an action, a creature can use the grappling jaws’ controls to release the target. Otherwise, the effect ends when the target or the lamprey ship drops to 0 hit points.
Lamprey Ship Deck PlansView Unlabeled Version
Lamprey Ship Lamprey ships are antiquated, being among the oldest spelljamming ships still in use. Psurlons (see Boo’s Astral Menagerie) are particularly fond of them. Using the metal grappling jaws
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Player's Handbook (2014)
occurs, you can either take your reaction right after the trigger finishes or ignore the trigger. When you ready a spell, you cast it as normal but hold its energy, which you release with your reaction
broken, the spell dissipates without taking effect. For example, if you are concentrating on the web spell and ready magic missile, your web spell ends, and if you take damage before you release magic missile with your reaction, your concentration might be broken.
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Baldur's Gate: Descent into Avernus
swinging crane with an iron grappling claw fastened to the end of a winch and a 50-foot-long chain. Scavenger
Huge vehicle (9,000 lb.)
Creature Capacity 8 Medium creatures
Cargo Capacity 2 tons
Armor
Grants Three-Quarters Cover). Drive and steer the Scavenger.
Grappling Claw (Requires 1 Crew and Grants Half Cover). Melee Weapon Attack: +10 to hit, reach 15 ft., one target. Hit: The target is
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->D&D Beyond Basic Rules
Grappling A creature can grapple another creature. Characters typically grapple by using an Unarmed Strike. Many monsters have special attacks that allow them to quickly grapple prey. However a
grapple is initiated, it follows these rules. See also “Unarmed Strike” and “Grappled.” Grappled Condition. Successfully grappling a creature gives it the Grappled condition. One Grapple per Hand. A
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Player’s Handbook
Grappling A creature can grapple another creature. Characters typically grapple by using an Unarmed Strike. Many monsters have special attacks that allow them to quickly grapple prey. However a
grapple is initiated, it follows these rules. See also “Unarmed Strike” and “Grappled.” Grappled Condition. Successfully grappling a creature gives it the Grappled condition. One Grapple per Hand. A
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->D&D Beyond Basic Rules
release with your Reaction when the trigger occurs. To be readied, a spell must have a casting time of an action, and holding on to the spell’s magic requires Concentration, which you can maintain up
Ready [Action] You take the Ready action to wait for a particular circumstance before you act. To do so, you take this action on your turn, which lets you act by taking a Reaction before the start of
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Player’s Handbook
release with your Reaction when the trigger occurs. To be readied, a spell must have a casting time of an action, and holding on to the spell’s magic requires Concentration, which you can maintain up
Ready [Action] You take the Ready action to wait for a particular circumstance before you act. To do so, you take this action on your turn, which lets you act by taking a Reaction before the start of
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Player's Handbook (2014)
make the opportunity attack, you use your reaction to make one melee attack against the provoking creature. The attack occurs right before the creature leaves your reach. You can avoid provoking an
opportunity attack by taking the Disengage action. You also don’t provoke an opportunity attack when you teleport or when someone or something moves you without using your movement, action, or reaction
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Basic Rules (2014)
make the opportunity attack, you use your reaction to make one melee attack against the provoking creature. The attack occurs right before the creature leaves your reach. You can avoid provoking an
opportunity attack by taking the Disengage action. You also don't provoke an opportunity attack when you teleport or when someone or something moves you without using your movement, action, or reaction
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->D&D Beyond Basic Rules
you can see within 20 feet of yourself. The target must succeed on a DC 15 Dexterity saving throw or have the Restrained condition. You can release the target by letting go of your end of the rope
escapes from it, you can take a Reaction to command the rope to coil up in your hand; otherwise, the rope coils up in the target’s space. The rope has AC 20, HP 20, and Immunity to Poison and Psychic
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Dungeon Master’s Guide
you can see within 20 feet of yourself. The target must succeed on a DC 15 Dexterity saving throw or have the Restrained condition. You can release the target by letting go of your end of the rope
escapes from it, you can take a Reaction to command the rope to coil up in your hand; otherwise, the rope coils up in the target’s space. The rope has AC 20, HP 20, and Immunity to Poison and Psychic
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Bigby Presents: Glory of the Giants
frenzied with rage; the two heads shout and howl at each other with a fury that resounds with demonic magic, sowing discord and confusion around them. As the echo’s monstrous heads roar and bite at each
effects of the echo’s choice:
Confused Reaction. The target must use its reaction to make a melee attack against another creature of the echo’s choice that the echo can see.
Psychic Torment. The target takes 13 (2d12) psychic damage.
Matias Tapia
Actions
to cast it) but hold its energy, which you release with your Reaction when the trigger occurs. To be readied, a spell must have a casting time of an action, and holding on to the spell's magic
you act by taking a Reaction before the start of your next turn.First, you decide what perceivable circumstance will trigger your Reaction. Then, you choose the action you will take in response to that
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Spelljammer: Adventures in Space->Astral Adventurer’s Guide
an action, the ship’s spelljammer can make one of the following attacks with the ship’s tentacles.
Grappling Tentacles. Melee Weapon Attack: +8 to hit, reach 30 ft., one Huge or Gargantuan target
. Hit: 22 (4d10) bludgeoning damage, and the nautiloid’s speed becomes 0 until its spelljammer uses an action to release the target. If the target is a creature, it is grappled (escape DC 16). If the
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Sage Advice Compendium
occurs? A readied spell’s slot is lost if you don’t release the spell with your reaction before the start of your next turn. Can a readied action occur during an enemy’s triggering action, such as
, initiative is rolled as normal. Then, the first round of combat starts, and the unsurprised combatants act in initiative order. A surprised creature can’t move or take an action or a reaction until its
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Monsters of the Multiverse
Demogorgon Prince of Demons, the Sibilant Beast, and Master of the Spiraling Depths, Demogorgon is the embodiment of chaos, confusion, and destruction, seeking to corrupt all that is good and
; suckered tentacles sprout from the shoulders of his great apelike torso, which is surmounted by two hideous simian heads named Aameul and Hathradiah. Their gaze brings bewilderment and confusion to any
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Baldur's Gate: Descent into Avernus
glares at a character and bellows, “FREE ME!” or “BRING ME MY HAMMER!” in Giant first and Abyssal second. If that fails to garner the desired reaction, Kostchtchie resorts to using telepathy to contact the nearest character, demanding its immediate release while offering nothing in return.
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Tasha’s Cauldron of Everything
touch 3rd blindness/deafness, gentle repose 5th animate dead, gaseous form 7th blight, confusion 9th cloudkill, contagion Halo of Spores 2nd-level Circle of Spores feature You are surrounded by
reaction to deal 1d4 necrotic damage to that creature unless it succeeds on a Constitution saving throw against your spell save DC. The necrotic damage increases to 1d6 at 6th level, 1d8 at 10th level, and
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Dungeon Master’s Guide (2014)
creature, it can do so by grappling. A Small or Medium creature has little chance of making a successful grapple against a Huge or Gargantuan creature, however, unless magic has granted the grappler
opportunity attack it makes against the marked target has advantage. The opportunity attack doesn’t expend the attacker’s reaction, but the attacker can’t make the attack if anything, such as the
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Tales from the Yawning Portal
level (3 slots): confusion, Evard’s black tentacles
5th level (1 slot): cloudkill
Spider Climb. The Ooze Master can climb difficult surfaces, including upside down on ceilings, without needing to
. If a creature the Ooze Master can see makes an attack roll against it while within 30 feet of it, the Ooze Master can use a reaction to divert the attack if another creature is within the attack’s
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Mordenkainen's Tome of Foes
disadvantage). Until the grapple ends, the target takes 10 (2d6 + 3) bludgeoning damage at the start of each of the meazel’s turns.
The meazel can’t make weapon attacks while grappling a creature in
equipment it is wearing or carrying, and any creature it is grappling teleport to an unoccupied space within 500 feet of it, provided that the starting space and the destination are in dim light or darkness