Search Results
All Results
Characters
Compendium
Spells
Items
Monsters
Vehicles
Forums
Returning 35 results for 'constant reaction giving to have response'.
Other Suggestions:
contact rejection given to have response
content rejection given to have response
contact rejection giving to have response
content rejection giving to have response
contact reaction given to have response
Monsters
Monster Manual
Resistance. The marilith has Advantage on saving throws against spells and other magical effects.
Reactive. The marilith can take one Reaction on every turn of combat.Multiattack. The marilith makes six Pact
ends.Parry. Trigger: The marilith is hit by a melee attack roll while holding a weapon. Response: The marilith adds 5 to its AC against that attack, possibly causing it to miss.PoisonCold, Fire
Monsters
Monster Manual
effects:
Sap. The target has Disadvantage on its next attack roll before the start of the warrior’s next turn.
Maneuver. One ally who can see or hear the warrior can take a Reaction to move up
until the end of the target’s next turn.Counterattack. Trigger: The warrior is hit by an attack roll. Response: The warrior adds 4 to its AC against that attack, possibly causing it to miss. On a
Magic Items
Dungeon Master’s Guide
directly away from yourself. If the creature is your size or smaller, you can also knock it down, giving it the Prone condition.
Protective Field. As a Reaction, when you or an ally you can see
appears, any creatures or objects not fully contained within it are pushed into the nearest unoccupied spaces outside it. The attack or area of effect that triggered the Reaction has no effect on creatures
Monsters
Candlekeep Mysteries
;{"diceNotation":"2d8+4","rollType":"heal","rollAction":"Heal Self"} hit points, and all levels of exhaustion end on him.Deflect Missile. In response to being hit by a ranged weapon attack, Bak Mei deflects
abbots of his temple confronted Bak Mei about his radical pursuits and demanded that he cease his activities. In response, he tried to stage a revolt at the temple, a traitorous action that resulted
Monsters
Van Richten’s Guide to Ravenloft
, like warhorse skeleton;warhorse skeletons or nightmare;nightmares.
Headless Hunts
Dullahans are known for seeking their lost heads, giving rise to regional legends of headless hunters and endless
use its reaction to make a melee attack.
Headless Wail (Costs 2 Actions). An echoing shriek issues from the dullahan’s headless stump. Each creature of the dullahan’s choice within 10
Monsters
Planescape: Adventures in the Multiverse
succeeds on three of these saves.The dragon can take up to three reactions per round but only one per turn.
Reactive Rend. After using Legendary Resistance or in response to being hit by an attack
action on its turn, not both. The creature also can’t take a reaction or a bonus action.
Timeline Divergence. The dragon chooses a space it can fit into within its lair. The dragon exists
Monsters
Bigby Presents: Glory of the Giants
action and Poisoning Rebuke reaction.
The object bearing the blood rune has AC 15; 30 hit points; and immunity to necrotic, poison, and psychic damage. The object regains all its hit points at the end
, suggestion, telekinesisPoisoning Rebuke (Requires Blood Rune). In response to being damaged by a creature the fomorian can see within 60 feet of itself, the fomorian forces that creature to make a DC 16
Monsters
Mordenkainen Presents: Monsters of the Multiverse
innumerable times. Currently, Levistus claims lordship over Stygia, but he has been trapped in an enormous block of ice at the command of Asmodeus. In response, Geryon is marshaling his followers, hoping to
(Recharge 5–6). As a reaction when this creature takes damage, it can roll a d10 and subtract the number rolled from the damage.
Cold, Fire, PoisonBludgeoning, Piercing, and Slashing from Nonmagical Attacks that aren't Silvered
Monsters
Planescape: Adventures in the Multiverse
Legendary Resistance or in response to being hit by an attack roll, the dragon makes one Rend attack.
Slow Time. Immediately after a creature the dragon can see ends its turn, the dragon targets a creature
affected creature can move or take an action on its turn, not both. The creature also can’t take a reaction or a bonus action.
Timeline Divergence. The dragon chooses a space it can fit into
Monsters
Mordenkainen Presents: Monsters of the Multiverse
times. Currently, Levistus claims lordship over Stygia, but he has been trapped in an enormous block of ice at the command of Asmodeus. In response, Geryon is marshaling his followers, hoping to use this
–6). As a reaction when this creature takes damage, it can roll a d10 and subtract the number rolled from the damage.
Geryon (Variant);VARIANT: SOUND THE HORN
Geryon can have an action that
Magic Items
Tasha’s Cauldron of Everything
, you can use your reaction to cause them to be hit instead. You can’t use this reaction again until you finish a short or long rest.
4
The Mill Road Murders (halfling canine)
3 green hag
(Perception) checks from constant whispers of memories and nearby minds.
9
The Disappearances of Half Hollow (vomerine tooth of a Large toad)
4 giant toad;giant toads
Your long jump is up to 30
Monsters
Fizban's Treasury of Dragons
state but are hung with the dragon’s collection of nautical paintings, mirrors, and sun-colored tapestries. Numerous gold-and-glass hanging lanterns are suspended from the ceiling, giving the
Lair
Topaz dragons dwell where the sea meets the land, favoring sites where the constant action of the waves and tides is slowly reducing the land to gravel. They make their lairs in caves set into sea
Monsters
Fizban's Treasury of Dragons
from the ceiling, giving the place a warm, cozy glow. (The lanterns might be magical or maintained by minions.) The floors are covered with plush sand-colored carpets.
Hoard Chamber. A small chamber in
plateau.A Topaz Dragon’s Lair
Topaz dragons dwell where the sea meets the land, favoring sites where the constant action of the waves and tides is slowly reducing the land to gravel. They make their
feats
creature, you can use a Bonus Action to target a second creature within the cantrip’s range.
Immediate Response. When you cast a spell as a Reaction, that spell doesn’t expend a spell slot. Once you use this benefit, you can’t use it again until you finish a Long Rest.
Nilbog
Legacy
This doesn't reflect the latest rules and lore.
Learn More
Monsters
Volo's Guide to Monsters
its Reversal of Fortune reaction.
Nimble Escape. The nilbog can take the Disengage or Hide action as a bonus action on each of its turns.Fool’s Scepter. Melee Weapon Attack: +4;{"diceNotation
","rollType":"damage","rollAction":"Shortbow","rollDamageType":"piercing"} piercing damage.Reversal of Fortune. In response to another creature dealing damage to the nilbog, the nilbog reduces the
equipment
Shield as a bracer on your forearm, and it does not count as having that hand occupied while the shield is retracted. As a Reaction to an attack hitting you, you can extend the shield, giving you a bonus
Monsters
Misplaced Monsters: Volume One
reaction must succeed on a DC 15 Wisdom saving throw or have the frightened condition until the end of the dandylion’s next turn.
Created by Jones D.-D.
Dandylions are herbivorous farmers who
’s tail contains seed pods. These seed pods enrich soil, giving rise to healthy plants and bountiful harvests. Often, dandylions weave necklaces with petals from their flower gardens and brag about the fertility of their soil. Dandylions love to boast about the fullness of their sunny yellow manes.
equipment
Shield as a bracer on your forearm, and it does not count as having that hand occupied while the shield is retracted. As a Reaction to an attack hitting you, you can extend the shield, giving you a bonus
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Volo's Guide to Monsters
advanced weapons. In any case, the beholder’s reaction is calculated, because it has thought about what it and its minions must do in response to every situation.
this way, the constant vigilance and lack of truly peaceful rest would lead to a dangerous level of psychosis, but a beholder’s mind accepts this attitude as normal and necessary — it is always alert
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Tasha’s Cauldron of Everything
4. Reaction Timing Certain game features let you take a special action, called a reaction, in response to an event. Making opportunity attacks and casting the shield spell are two typical uses of
reactions. If you’re unsure when a reaction occurs in relation to its trigger, here’s the rule: the reaction happens after its trigger, unless the description of the reaction explicitly says otherwise. Once you take a reaction, you can’t take another one until the start of your next turn.
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Player’s Handbook
Reaction A Reaction is a special action taken in response to a trigger defined in the Reaction’s description. You can take a Reaction on another creature’s turn, and if you take it on your turn, you
can do so even if you also take an action, a Bonus Action, or both. Once you take a Reaction, you can’t take another one until the start of your next turn. The Opportunity Attack is a Reaction available to all creatures. See also “Opportunity Attacks” and chapter 1 (“Actions”).
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Basic Rules (2014)
before the start of your next turn. First, you decide what perceivable circumstance will trigger your reaction. Then, you choose the action you will take in response to that trigger, or you choose to
Ready Sometimes you want to get the jump on a foe or wait for a particular circumstance before you act. To do so, you can take the Ready action on your turn, which lets you act using your reaction
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Player's Handbook (2014)
before the start of your next turn. First, you decide what perceivable circumstance will trigger your reaction. Then, you choose the action you will take in response to that trigger, or you choose to
Ready Sometimes you want to get the jump on a foe or wait for a particular circumstance before you act. To do so, you can take the Ready action on your turn, which lets you act using your reaction
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->D&D Beyond Basic Rules
Reaction A Reaction is a special action taken in response to a trigger defined in the Reaction’s description. You can take a Reaction on another creature’s turn, and if you take it on your turn, you
can do so even if you also take an action, a Bonus Action, or both. Once you take a Reaction, you can’t take another one until the start of your next turn. The Opportunity Attack is a Reaction available to all creatures. See also “Opportunity Attacks” and “Playing the Game” (“Actions”).
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->D&D Beyond Basic Rules
your next turn. First, you decide what perceivable circumstance will trigger your Reaction. Then, you choose the action you will take in response to that trigger, or you choose to move up to your
Ready [Action] You take the Ready action to wait for a particular circumstance before you act. To do so, you take this action on your turn, which lets you act by taking a Reaction before the start of
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Player’s Handbook
your next turn. First, you decide what perceivable circumstance will trigger your Reaction. Then, you choose the action you will take in response to that trigger, or you choose to move up to your
Ready [Action] You take the Ready action to wait for a particular circumstance before you act. To do so, you take this action on your turn, which lets you act by taking a Reaction before the start of
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Player’s Handbook
another one using a Bonus Action on the same turn. Reaction and Bonus Action Triggers A spell that has a casting time of a Reaction is cast in response to a trigger that is defined in the spell’s
Casting Time Most spells require the Magic action to cast, but some spells require a Bonus Action, a Reaction, or 1 minute or more. A spell’s Casting Time entry specifies which of those is required
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Sage Advice & Errata
commitment. By taking the Ready action, you’re giving your character access to a tailor-made Reaction to use in a given circumstance. However, you’re not bound to take that readied Reaction. As combat
continues, you can decide to take this readied Reaction—or, if plans change, you can take any other Reaction you might have access to, such as an Opportunity Attack. But remember that you have only one
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->D&D Beyond Basic Rules
another one using a Bonus Action on the same turn. Reaction and Bonus Action Triggers A spell that has a casting time of a Reaction is cast in response to a trigger that is defined in the spell’s
Casting Time Most spells require the Magic action to cast, but some spells require a Bonus Action, a Reaction, or 1 minute or more. A spell’s Casting Time entry specifies which of those is required
Yuan-ti Pureblood
Legacy
This doesn't reflect the latest rules and lore.
Learn More
Species
Volo's Guide to Monsters
’ serpent gods into their religions. These victories sent a constant influx of food, ore, and slaves back to the home cities.
The wealth of the empire allowed the ruling elite plenty of time to
they don’t believe they have a reasonable chance of success. This reaction isn’t out of cowardice, but practicality—yuan-ti value their own lives much too highly to risk them when the
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->D&D Beyond Basic Rules
Reactions Certain special abilities, spells, and situations allow you to take a special action called a Reaction. A Reaction is an instant response to a trigger of some kind, which can occur on your
turn or on someone else’s. The Opportunity Attack, described later in this chapter, is the most common type of Reaction. When you take a Reaction, you can’t take another one until the start of your
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Player’s Handbook
Reactions Certain special abilities, spells, and situations allow you to take a special action called a Reaction. A Reaction is an instant response to a trigger of some kind, which can occur on your
turn or on someone else’s. The Opportunity Attack, described later in this chapter, is the most common type of Reaction. When you take a Reaction, you can’t take another one until the start of your
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Sage Advice & Errata
Fighter If my Battle Master Fighter provokes an Opportunity Attack and it misses, can I use Riposte? Yes, you can use the Riposte maneuver in response to an Opportunity Attack that misses you
, assuming your Reaction is available. Can the Disarming Attack maneuver cause a creature to drop a Shield? No. Disarming Attack forces a creature to drop an object it is holding. Donned Shields aren’t merely held.
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Van Richten’s Guide to Ravenloft
stumbling back from a horrid event, consider giving the character inspiration for their fear-focused reaction (see “Inspiration” in the Player’s Handbook). Once a character gains inspiration in this way
crack in a cave wall to continue an adventure. If the player portrays the character’s response in a way that reinforces that fear, such as refusing and finding another way around, taking time and making
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Basic Rules (2014)
Hellish Rebuke 1st-level evocation Casting Time: 1 reaction, which you take in response to being damaged by a creature within 60 feet of you that you can see Range: 60 feet Components: V, S Duration