Search Results
All Results
Characters
Compendium
Spells
Items
Monsters
Vehicles
Forums
Returning 35 results for 'contained reaction grasping to have rather'.
Other Suggestions:
contain rejection grasping to have rather
contains reaction granting to have ranger
continued relation granting to have rather
contains reaction granting to have rate
contains reaction granting to have rather
Magic Items
Dungeon Master’s Guide
appears, any creatures or objects not fully contained within it are pushed into the nearest unoccupied spaces outside it. The attack or area of effect that triggered the Reaction has no effect on creatures
directly away from yourself. If the creature is your size or smaller, you can also knock it down, giving it the Prone condition.
Protective Field. As a Reaction, when you or an ally you can see
Monsters
Planescape: Adventures in the Multiverse
, range 90 ft., one target. Hit: 7 (1d8 + 3);{"diceNotation":"1d8+3", "rollType":"damage", "rollAction":"Flying Brick", "rollDamageType":"bludgeoning"} bludgeoning damage.
Grasping Ground (Recharge 6
);{"diceNotation":"1d6", "rollType":"recharge", "rollAction":"Grasping Ground"}. The dabus causes a 20-foot-square area of ground it can see within 60 feet of itself to sprout clutching appendages made of
Monsters
Dragonlance: Shadow of the Dragon Queen
at his core, the seneschal didn’t return as a skeletal knight but rather as an intangible spirit. Caradoc’s Undead form suits him well, allowing him to possess the living and use unwilling
himself. The target must succeed on a DC 15 Wisdom saving throw, or the target must immediately use its reaction to make a melee attack against another creature of Caradoc’s choice (wasting its reaction if there are no other creatures within reach).
Monsters
Candlekeep Mysteries
grasping and climbing. A grippli can move as quickly on all fours as it can on two legs.
Communal Effort. Grippli rely on ambushes and guerrilla warfare to defend themselves and their settlements. They
are raised by the community rather than by a single set of parents, and all of a community’s eggs are kept in freshwater pools until they mature. Protecting their eggs is a major concern for
Monsters
Bigby Presents: Glory of the Giants
action and Poisoning Rebuke reaction.
The object bearing the blood rune has AC 15; 30 hit points; and immunity to necrotic, poison, and psychic damage. The object regains all its hit points at the end
Gloom (Recharge 6);{"diceNotation":"1d6", "rollType":"recharge", "rollAction":"Creeping Gloom"}. The fomorian momentarily conjures grasping darkness in a 30-foot-radius sphere centered on a point it
Monsters
Tyranny of Dragons
effects.
Magic Weapons. Tiamat’s weapon attacks are magical.
Multiple Heads. Tiamat can take one reaction per turn, rather than only one per round. She also has advantage on saving throws
Monsters
Fizban's Treasury of Dragons
creature within 30 feet of it that it can see. The target must succeed on a DC 16 Wisdom saving throw or use its reaction to make a melee weapon attack against a random creature within reach. If no
creatures are within reach, or the target can’t take a reaction, it takes 5 (1d10);{"diceNotation":"1d10", "rollType":"damage", "rollAction":"Commanding Spores", "rollDamageType":"psychic"} psychic
Monsters
Fizban's Treasury of Dragons
around a creature within 30 feet of it that it can see. The target must succeed on a DC 19 Wisdom saving throw or use its reaction to make a melee weapon attack against a random creature within reach. If
no creatures are within reach, or the target can’t take a reaction, it takes 11 (2d10);{"diceNotation":"2d10", "rollType":"damage", "rollAction":"Commanding Spores", "rollDamageType":"psychic
Magic Items
Tasha’s Cauldron of Everything
action, you can command the servant to take one of the actions in its stat block or some other action.
When a creature provokes an opportunity attack from the servant, you can use your reaction to command
instantly and leave behind no remains.
This does not destroy the servant permanently. Rather, 2d6 days later, its parts—left arm, left leg, right arm, right leg, lower torso, and upper torso&mdash
War Caster
Legacy
This doesn't reflect the latest rules and lore.
Learn More
Feats
Player’s Handbook (2014)
provokes an opportunity attack from you, you can use your reaction to cast a spell at the creature, rather than making an opportunity attack. The spell must have a casting time of 1 action and must target only that creature.
feats
Player’s Handbook (2024)
leaving your reach, you can take a Reaction to cast a spell at the creature rather than making an Opportunity Attack. The spell must have a casting time of one action and must target only that creature
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Basic Rules (2014)
Reactions If a monster can do something special with its reaction, that information is contained here. If a creature has no special reaction, this section is absent.
Yuan-ti Pureblood
Legacy
This doesn't reflect the latest rules and lore.
Learn More
Species
Volo's Guide to Monsters
they don’t believe they have a reasonable chance of success. This reaction isn’t out of cowardice, but practicality—yuan-ti value their own lives much too highly to risk them when the
of evil that calls for them to butcher or eradicate all who oppose them. In keeping with their goal of domination, the yuan-ti would rather capture potentially useful opponents than kill them. They use
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Lost Mine of Phandelver
Reactions If a creature can do something unusual with its reaction, that information is contained here. Most creatures do not have special reactions, in which case this section is absent. Reactions are explained in the Basic Rules.
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Dragon of Icespire Peak
Reactions If a creature can do something unusual with its reaction, that information is contained here. Most creatures don’t have special reactions, in which case this section is absent. Reactions are explained in the Basic Rules.
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Monster Manual (2014)
Reactions If a monster can do something special with its reaction, that information is contained here. If a creature has no special reaction, this section is absent. GRAPPLE RULES FOR MONSTERS
Many
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Sage Advice & Errata
I have a readied action. Can I stop readying to take an Opportunity Attack? Or does the Ready action take a full-round commitment? Think of the Ready action as a preparatory action rather than a
commitment. By taking the Ready action, you’re giving your character access to a tailor-made Reaction to use in a given circumstance. However, you’re not bound to take that readied Reaction. As combat
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Dungeon Master’s Guide
. Protective Field. As a Reaction, when you or an ally you can see within 5 feet of you is targeted by an attack or makes a saving throw against an area of effect, you can use the Shield to create an immobile 5
-foot Emanation originating from you. When the Emanation appears, any creatures or objects not fully contained within it are pushed into the nearest unoccupied spaces outside it. The attack or area of
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Scions of Elemental Evil
Emanation appears, any creatures or objects not fully contained within it are pushed into the nearest unoccupied spaces outside it. The attack or area of effect that triggered the Reaction has no effect on
to 10 feet directly away from yourself. If the creature is your size or smaller, you can also knock it down, giving it the Prone condition. Protective Field. As a Reaction, when you or an ally you can
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Hold Back The Dead
Emanation appears, any creatures or objects not fully contained within it are pushed into the nearest unoccupied spaces outside it. The attack or area of effect that triggered the Reaction has no effect on
to 10 feet directly away from yourself. If the creature is your size or smaller, you can also knock it down, giving it the Prone condition. Protective Field. As a Reaction, when you or an ally you can
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->D&D Beyond Basic Rules
. Protective Field. As a Reaction, when you or an ally you can see within 5 feet of you is targeted by an attack or makes a saving throw against an area of effect, you can use the Shield to create an immobile 5
-foot Emanation originating from you. When the Emanation appears, any creatures or objects not fully contained within it are pushed into the nearest unoccupied spaces outside it. The attack or area of
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Flee, Mortals! Rule Primer
includes a melee spell attack, the creature can use their reaction to make a melee spell attack against the creature, rather than making an opportunity attack. Utility Spells In addition to combat
table. Casting Times Superscript Casting Time A 1 action B 1 bonus action R 1 reaction + Longer than 1 action (see spell description) For example, a spellcaster’s utility spells might appear as follows: 1/day each: expeditious retreat ᴮ, mage armor ᴬ, phantom steed ⁺
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Player’s Handbook
by leaving your reach, you can take a Reaction to cast a spell at the creature rather than making an Opportunity Attack. The spell must have a casting time of one action and must target only that
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Planescape: Adventures in the Multiverse->Morte’s Planar Parade
edicts, hurling bricks at troublemakers and subduing them by causing the streets to sprout grasping cobblestone hands. When dabus communicate, rather than speaking or signing words, they create esoteric
Attack: +5 to hit, range 90 ft., one target. Hit: 7 (1d8 + 3) bludgeoning damage.
Grasping Ground (Recharge 6). The dabus causes a 20-foot-square area of ground it can see within 60 feet of itself to
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Flee, Mortals! Rule Primer
Action-Oriented Creatures The solo and leader creatures presented in this book are designed to be bosses: enemies who can take on an entire party by themselves or with a handful of underlings. Rather
opportunities to act and move when it’s not their turn. Thus, each action-oriented creature has at least one special bonus action and reaction, as well as a special section with villain actions that let them
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Player's Handbook (2014)
one or both hands. When a hostile creature’s movement provokes an opportunity attack from you, you can use your reaction to cast a spell at the creature, rather than making an opportunity attack. The spell must have a casting time of 1 action and must target only that creature.
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Keys from the Golden Vault
holding or wearing it. In that instant, the shard solitaire becomes a flawed, nonmagical diamond worth 500 gp, and all the creatures and extradimensional energy contained within it are released at
stone appear in unoccupied spaces within 30 feet of that container, rather than inside its extradimensional space near the stone itself.
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Sage Advice Compendium
the fighter’s turn, and if the attack qualifies, it can use Sneak Attack. Both of those options rely on the use of your reaction, so you could do only one of them in a round. Because you get only one
reaction per round, you’re unlikely to use Sneak Attack more than twice in a round: once with your action and once with your reaction. For Sneak Attack, what if another enemy of your target was 10
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Acquisitions Incorporated
Gift of Gab 2nd-level enchantment Casting Time: 1 reaction, which you take when you speak to another creature Range: Self Components: V, S, R (2 gp) Duration: Instantaneous Jim Darkmagic is said to
growing up on the family farm? We’ve all been there! But rather than being beheaded for an honest slip of the tongue, you can pretend it never happened — by ensuring that no one knows it happened. When
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Xanathar's Guide to Everything
, mounting or dismounting a creature costs you only 5 feet of movement, rather than half your speed. Unwavering Mark Starting at 3rd level, you can menace your foes, foiling their attacks and punishing them
creatures nearby. If you or a creature you can see within 5 feet of you is hit by an attack, you can roll 1d8 as a reaction if you’re wielding a melee weapon or a shield. Roll the die, and add the number
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Uni and the Hunt for the Lost Horn
. Interpose Shield. If you’re subjected to an effect that allows you to make a Dexterity saving throw to take only half damage, you can take a Reaction to take no damage if you succeed on the saving
use of your Second Wind to push yourself toward success. Rather than regaining Hit Points, you roll 1d10 and add the number rolled to the ability check, potentially turning it into a success. If the
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Tasha’s Cauldron of Everything
starry form, rather than transforming into a beast. While in your starry form, you retain your game statistics, but your body becomes luminous; your joints glimmer like stars, and glowing lines connect
finish your next long rest, you gain access to a special reaction based on whether you rolled an even or an odd number on the die: Weal (even). Whenever a creature you can see within 30 feet of you is
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Player’s Handbook
Harmony with the Cosmos Bards of the College of Dance know that the Words of Creation can’t be contained within speech or song; the words are uttered by the movements of celestial bodies and flow
. Your base Armor Class equals 10 plus your Dexterity and Charisma modifiers. Agile Strikes. When you expend a use of your Bardic Inspiration as part of an action, a Bonus Action, or a Reaction, you can
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Dungeon Master’s Guide (2014)
condescending noble might wish to see a group of upstart adventurers fail so as to keep them from becoming rivals for the king’s attention, thwarting them with slander and scheming rather than direct threats
, or Intimidation skill might apply to the check. The creature’s current attitude determines the DC required to achieve a specific reaction, as shown in the Conversation Reaction table. Conversation
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Waterdeep: Dungeon of the Mad Mage
pentagram and the space above it (a cylinder 20 feet high and 40 feet in diameter) are contained within a permanent antimagic field (see the antimagic field spell description in the Player’s Handbook for
shield, you benefit from the following properties. Winter’s Friend. You are immune to cold damage. Deadly Rebuke. Immediately after a creature hits you with a melee attack, you can use your reaction