Search Results
All Results
Characters
Compendium
Spells
Items
Monsters
Vehicles
Forums
Returning 35 results for 'continue ritual grasping to have reaction'.
Other Suggestions:
continue ritual grasping to have rejection
Monsters
The Book of Many Things
Demonic Ritual. Brusipha can spend 3 hours performing a ritual that summons 1d3 + 1 barlgura;barlguras or 1 hezrou. She must sacrifice a Medium or larger living creature to Baphomet during this
ritual, and the ritual can be performed only at night. The demons vanish at dawn.
Labyrinthine Recall. Brusipha can perfectly recall any path she has traveled.Multiattack. Brusipha makes two Eldritch
Monsters
Van Richten’s Guide to Ravenloft
Pseudopod. The horror’s limb attack deals an extra 9 (2d8);{"diceNotation":"2d8","rollType":"damage","rollAction":"Corrosive Pseudopod","rollDamageType":"acid"} acid damage.
Grasping Tentacle
. The horror’s limb is a grasping tentacle. When the horror hits a creature with this limb, the creature is also grappled (escape DC 16). The limb can have only one creature grappled at a time
Monsters
Van Richten’s Guide to Ravenloft
","rollType":"damage","rollAction":"Corrosive Pseudopod","rollDamageType":"acid"} acid damage.
Grasping Tentacle. The horror’s limb is a grasping tentacle. When the horror hits a creature with
horrors might continue to haunt the misty netherworld between the Domains of Dread, or they might slink forth into other realms to slake unnameable hungers.
Customizing a Horror
An unspeakable horror
Monsters
Van Richten’s Guide to Ravenloft
.
Corrosive Pseudopod. The horror’s limb attack deals an extra 9 (2d8);{"diceNotation":"2d8","rollType":"damage","rollAction":"Corrosive Pseudopod","rollDamageType":"acid"} acid damage.
Grasping
Tentacle. The horror’s limb is a grasping tentacle. When the horror hits a creature with this limb, the creature is also grappled (escape DC 16). The limb can have only one creature grappled at
Monsters
Van Richten’s Guide to Ravenloft
":"Corrosive Pseudopod","rollDamageType":"acid"} acid damage.
Grasping Tentacle. The horror’s limb is a grasping tentacle. When the horror hits a creature with this limb, the creature is also grappled
eddies in the Mists sometimes gather such evils, forcing them into unique, misshapen bodies untethered from the laws of reason or reality. Such unspeakable horrors might continue to haunt the misty
Monsters
Van Richten’s Guide to Ravenloft
damage.
Grasping Tentacle. The horror’s limb is a grasping tentacle. When the horror hits a creature with this limb, the creature is also grappled (escape DC 16). The limb can have only one creature
, forcing them into unique, misshapen bodies untethered from the laws of reason or reality. Such unspeakable horrors might continue to haunt the misty netherworld between the Domains of Dread, or they
Monsters
Mordenkainen Presents: Monsters of the Multiverse
six eyestalks, a central eye (sometimes surrounded by multiple smaller eyes), and four small grasping tentacles near its mouth. It has color and texture variations similar to a true beholder.
A gauth
to drain. A gauth might employ creatures to bring it items that can provide it with sustenance.
When the ritual to summon a spectator goes wrong, a gauth might push itself through the flawed
Monsters
Bigby Presents: Glory of the Giants
action and Poisoning Rebuke reaction.
The object bearing the blood rune has AC 15; 30 hit points; and immunity to necrotic, poison, and psychic damage. The object regains all its hit points at the end
Gloom (Recharge 6);{"diceNotation":"1d6", "rollType":"recharge", "rollAction":"Creeping Gloom"}. The fomorian momentarily conjures grasping darkness in a 30-foot-radius sphere centered on a point it
Backgrounds
Guildmasters’ Guide to Ravnica
animate dead, plant growth
4th
giant insect, grasping vine
5th
cloudkill, insect plague
Golgari magic is often accompanied by a sickly green glow and a rotting
.
Ideals
d6
Ideal
1
Guild. My guild is all that really matters. (Any)
2
Stoicism. All of us are part of the cyclical march of nature, which will continue with
Monsters
Mordenkainen's Fiendish Folio Volume 1
can't make attacks with that claw against other targets. The crab folk has two claws, each of which can grapple only one target.The crab folk are the result of a magical ritual used long ago by a mighty
minds a few simple commands to help them with their tasks. She gave them the tenacity and toughness of a crab to augment their strength, grasping claws to help them claim the treasures she loved, and a
feats
you to ignore the material components specified for the spell, unless the component indicates a cost or is consumed by the spell.
As a reaction, when you take damage, you can temporarily negate an
one-third the damage you would have taken, whichever number is higher. On a failed save, you immediately take the negated damage. You must continue to make a Constitution saving throw at the end of each
Yuan-ti Pureblood
Legacy
This doesn't reflect the latest rules and lore.
Learn More
Species
Volo's Guide to Monsters
cannibalizing their victims, and then performed a sorcerous ritual while writhing in pools filled with living snakes that enabled them to mix their flesh with that of serpents, becoming like the gods in
can transform an individual into a more powerful type. The cost and time required to perform the ritual is prohibitive, and as a result most yuan-ti never get the opportunity to undergo such a
Feats
Strixhaven: A Curriculum of Chaos
You have learned how to summon a Strixhaven mascot to assist you, granting you these benefits:
You can cast the find familiar spell as a ritual. Your familiar can take the form of the mascot
attack of its own with its reaction.
If your mascot familiar is within 60 feet of you, you can teleport as an action, swapping places with the familiar. If your destination space is too small for you
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Player’s Handbook
next turn. If the reaction interrupts another creature’s turn, that creature can continue its turn right after the Reaction. In terms of timing, a Reaction takes place immediately after its trigger
Reactions Certain special abilities, spells, and situations allow you to take a special action called a Reaction. A Reaction is an instant response to a trigger of some kind, which can occur on your
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->D&D Beyond Basic Rules
next turn. If the reaction interrupts another creature’s turn, that creature can continue its turn right after the Reaction. In terms of timing, a Reaction takes place immediately after its trigger
Reactions Certain special abilities, spells, and situations allow you to take a special action called a Reaction. A Reaction is an instant response to a trigger of some kind, which can occur on your
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Tyranny of Dragons
attack and defend himself while he wears the Mask of the Dragon Queen. He need not even be alive for the ritual to continue, as long as his body wears the mask and remains in the sanctuary.
Performing the Ritual To successfully bring Tiamat from the Nine Hells into the world, the Red Wizards must successfully focus the summoning ritual for 10 rounds after the adventurers enter the
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Van Richten’s Guide to Ravenloft
nestled among treacherous cliffs and grasping forest. In the blood-painted caverns hidden beneath the temple lies a stone altar bearing the still-beating heart of Darklord Chakuna. Here, an aspiring
Darklord can perform a ritual to consume Chakuna’s heart and take her place as ruler of Valachan, or destroy it and loose the sapient rage of the rain forest on anyone trapped within the domain’s
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Rise of Tiamat
attack and defend himself while he wears the Mask of the Dragon Queen. He need not even be alive for the ritual to continue, as long as his body wears the mask and remains in the sanctuary.
Performing the Ritual To successfully bring Tiamat from the Nine Hells into the world, the Red Wizards must successfully focus the summoning ritual for 10 rounds after the adventurers enter the
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->D&D Beyond Basic Rules
Casting Time Most spells require the Magic action to cast, but some spells require a Bonus Action, a Reaction, or 1 minute or more. A spell’s Casting Time entry specifies which of those is required
another one using a Bonus Action on the same turn. Reaction and Bonus Action Triggers A spell that has a casting time of a Reaction is cast in response to a trigger that is defined in the spell’s
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Player’s Handbook
Casting Time Most spells require the Magic action to cast, but some spells require a Bonus Action, a Reaction, or 1 minute or more. A spell’s Casting Time entry specifies which of those is required
another one using a Bonus Action on the same turn. Reaction and Bonus Action Triggers A spell that has a casting time of a Reaction is cast in response to a trigger that is defined in the spell’s
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Player's Handbook (2014)
Beast Sense 2nd-level divination (ritual) Casting Time: 1 action Range: Touch Components: S Duration: Concentration, up to 1 hour You touch a willing beast. For the duration of the spell, you can use
your action to see through the beast’s eyes and hear what it hears, and continue to do so until you use your action to return to your normal senses. While perceiving through the beast’s senses, you
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Out of the Abyss
to the center of Araumycos’s territory where Zuggtmoy’s ritual is set to take place. When they are sufficiently close to the epicenter of the ritual, the characters will be able to enter rapport with
attack. Basidia warns the characters that they must be on their guard for a reaction from the vast fungus. Once the characters have entered rapport, they must seek out Araumycos’s sleeping mind and
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Sage Advice & Errata
—a cantrip which doesn’t require a spell slot. Can you cast a Reaction spell on your turn? Yes, but you must abide by the rule of expending only one spell slot to cast a spell on your turn. For
spell as a Ritual require Concentration if the spell doesn’t normally require it? Concentration is required when casting any spell, including a Ritual version, for longer than 1 action. Once the casting is complete, the spell requires Concentration only if its Duration entry says it does.
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Player's Handbook (2014)
the start of your next turn. If the reaction interrupts another creature’s turn, that creature can continue its turn right after the reaction.
to lower a drawbridge. Reactions Certain special abilities, spells, and situations allow you to take a special action called a reaction. A reaction is an instant response to a trigger of some kind
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Basic Rules (2014)
. The opportunity attack, described later in this section, is the most common type of reaction. When you take a reaction, you can't take another one until the start of your next turn. If the reaction interrupts another creature's turn, that creature can continue its turn right after the reaction.
abilities, spells, and situations allow you to take a special action called a reaction. A reaction is an instant response to a trigger of some kind, which can occur on your turn or on someone else's
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->D&D Beyond Basic Rules
means the spell requires Concentration, R means it’s a Ritual, and M means it requires a specific Material component. Level 1 Ranger Spells Spell School Special Alarm Abjuration R Animal Friendship
Wind Wall Evocation C Level 4 Ranger Spells Spell School Special Conjure Woodland Beings Conjuration C Dominate Beast Enchantment C Freedom of Movement Abjuration — Grasping Vine Conjuration C
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Sage Advice Compendium
counterspell on him. Cornelius also has counterspell prepared, so he uses his reaction to cast it and break his foe’s counterspell before it can stop fireball. Does casting a spell as a ritual require
you like on the same turn. Can you cast a reaction spell on your turn? You sure can! Here’s a common way for it to happen: Cornelius the wizard is casting fireball on his turn, and his foe casts
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Waterdeep: Dungeon of the Mad Mage
10. Ritual Chamber Purple Flames. Black wax candles set in niches along the walls of this 20-foot-high room burn with a purple flame, filling the room with dim light.
Cult Ritual. Six cult fanatics
black energy run between the pillars and the cloud.
The cult fanatics are named Abberoch, Belora, Liana, Shanzo, Torfiana, and Uzalyn. They are performing a ritual designed to anchor one of
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Player’s Handbook
means the spell requires Concentration, R means it’s a Ritual, and M means it requires a specific Material component. Level 1 Ranger Spells Spell School Special Alarm Abjuration R Animal Friendship
Wind Wall Evocation C Level 4 Ranger Spells Spell School Special Conjure Woodland Beings Conjuration C Dominate Beast Enchantment C Freedom of Movement Abjuration — Grasping Vine Conjuration C
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Out of the Abyss
Development Another tunnel on the opposite side of the cavern heads off in a different direction than where Yeenoghu led his pack. Characters who defeat the remaining gnolls can continue on their way
without losing any more time. The close brush with Yeenoghu pays dividends to the adventurers by delivering two components of Vizeran’s ritual into their hands. The first is the heart of the goristro
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Acquisitions Incorporated
continue on, finally reaching the portal site. Splugoth is in control of the ritual and has defenses in place to prevent the meddling characters from thwarting his plans. As the characters face off
and research, the characters locate the ritual site, which they learn is in the small town of Red Larch. That settlement is the childhood home of Omin Dran and the stomping grounds of the
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Basic Rules (2014)
spell and can cast it as a ritual. The spell doesn’t count against your number of spells known. When you cast the spell, you can choose one of the normal forms for your familiar or one of the following
reaction. Pact of the Blade You can use your action to create a pact weapon in your empty hand. You can choose the form that this melee weapon takes each time you create it (see chapter 5 for weapon
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Player's Handbook (2014)
spell and can cast it as a ritual. The spell doesn’t count against your number of spells known. When you cast the spell, you can choose one of the normal forms for your familiar or one of the following
special forms: imp, pseudodragon, quasit, or sprite. Additionally, when you take the Attack action, you can forgo one of your own attacks to allow your familiar to make one attack with its reaction
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Hoard of the Dragon Queen
plans continue to move ahead as the Thayan exile Rath Modar and his Red Wizards bring expertise in summoning magic to the cult, preparing a tremendous blood sacrifice to empower the ritual. The alliance
to assist with performing the required summoning ritual, gathered the five dragon masks central to the ritual (see “Dragon Masks”), and persuaded or cajoled many of the oldest and strongest evil
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Rise of Tiamat
plans continue to move ahead as the Thayan exile Rath Modar and his Red Wizards bring expertise in summoning magic to the cult, preparing a tremendous blood sacrifice to empower the ritual. The alliance
to assist with performing the required summoning ritual, gathered the five dragon masks central to the ritual (see “Dragon Masks”), and persuaded or cajoled many of the oldest and strongest evil